X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Yesinn @Fortress Hill Reviews

Flat B, 15/F, Front Block, 294 King's Road, Fortress Hill, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
3206 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

the flush toilets was bad, and no person take us to the from the information desk.

  • 14th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Dahai lin, I would like to thank you for giving our hostel (yesinn fortress hill) a review, were very sorry for such bad experience specially that when you were here our building was under renovation. We will take this as a lesson. We are always happy to serve you again and do our best to maintain and upgrade our hostel. We hope to see you again! Cheers, Steve

80%

It was so noisy during middle of the night when 1 of the room has a late check-in and she was complaining about the bedsheet, and outside was like making so much noise for the cleaning, and gosh, it was 1am+!

  • 9th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sue Jing Hoong, I would like to thank you for giving our hostel (yesinn fortress hill) a review and we will take this as a lesson. We are always happy to serve you again and do our best to maintain and upgrade our hostel. We hope to see you again! Cheers, Steve

71%

The air-conditioner was not functioning well as it was not being service at all. The last night of my stay, water leaking from the air-conditioner.

  • 9th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Lim Hwee Tin, I would like to thank you for giving our hostel (yesinn fortress hill) a review, were very sorry for bad experience, we take this as our lesson. We are always happy to serve you and do our best to maintain and upgrade our hostel. We hope to see you again! Cheers, Steve

74%

I've stayed for the weekend, it was value for money considering the expensive hotel rate in Hongkong. The place was small as expected but clean, they have several apartments so you will be redirected to another building. The female staff was friendly enough to answer my questions, but other staffs were stiff and could be more friendly. Location is good near bus, tram and MTR station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Agunf Rian Pradeka, I would like to thank you for giving our hostel (yesinn fortress hill) a review we will take this as a lesson specially for better friendly staffs. We are always happy to serve you and do our best to maintain and upgrade our hostel. We hope to see you again! Cheers, Steve

74%

Generally this hostel is not a bad choice (considering the price). However a remarks why we were not fully satisfied: - The room we booked had a shared bathroom of which the switch to turn on the boiler (for warm water) was located in the other guests room. This was quite anoying especially since there where no other guests and we needed to bother the reception (located in another building) to turn on the hot water.

  • 8th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sven Van Oosten, I would like to thank you for giving our hostel (yesinn fortress hill) a good review. Were very sorry for bad experience, we will take this as a lesson. We are always happy to serve you and do our best to maintain and upgrade our hostel. We hope to see you again! Cheers, Steve

71%

The wifi of 5th floor is very weak. The tv remote was missing. The building is under renovation and the flushing system may not work. The young chinese girl reception staff needs help in the service delivery.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Jacqueline Chen, I would like to thank you for giving our hostel (yesinn fortress hill) a review. Were very sorry for the building renovation and we take this is as our lesson. We are always happy to serve you again and do our best to maintain and upgrade our hostel. We hope to see you again! Cheers, Steve

77%

mattress was hard and firm. we was told by the staff that there will be daily cleaning in our room, but throughout our stays, no cleaning was done. The staff should at least clean the dust bin in the room daily. Thank, Shufen

  • 7th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Shu Fen Hor, I would like to thank you for giving our hostel (yesinn fortress hill) a good review. We are always happy to serve you and do our best to maintain and upgrade our hostel. We hope to see you again! Were very sorry for such bad experience, we will take this as our lesson. Cheers, Steve

80%

Clean and simple, the room & ensuite was literally as small as it could have been but that's all we needed. Felt fairly secure because of door codes & fairly solid lock on room door. We did get taken to somewhere other than the building given on confirmation email / website, but only 3 mins walk away and on same road. Air con a bit noisy but did the job - we didn't need it on overnight anyway (Early November). Overall I'd recommend it!

  • 6th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Paul, I would like to thank you for giving our hostel (yesinn fortress hill) a good review. We are always happy to serve you and do our best to maintain and upgrade our hostel. We hope to see you again! Cheers, Steve

89%

The hostel are tidy rooms and strategic location. It is near to MTR's Fortress Hill.

  • 4th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Tri Gunadi Se, I would like to thank you for giving our hostel (yesinn fortress hill) a good review. We are always happy to serve you. We hope to see you again! Cheers, Steve

86%

Thank you to yesinn@fortress hill staff for your friendly service.

  • 3rd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sofie, I would like to thank you for giving our hostel (yesinn fortress hill) a good review. We are always happy to serve you and do our best to maintain and upgrade our hostel. We hope to see you again! Cheers, Steve

49%

As compared to my stay in Dec'12 (4-bed private rm in Continental Mansion), this experience was terrible. When I made the booking (3-bed private rm in Continental Mansion), there was no warning that the building is undergoing renovation which caused the flushing system to malfunction throughout my stay. Moreover, on my 1st day, the heater overheated and when I informed the staff, they instructed me to use the common toilet which was unacceptable as I have paid for private washroom!

  • 3rd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Pui Lan Tong, We would like to thank you for response and review to our hostel. We will take this as a lesson, to upgrade our service and maintain our hostel. Sorry for the building renovation happening during your stay.

74%

For place that only for sleep, this hostel is a nice place to stay. Room in female dorm a little bit too small, but still ok. Bathroom, ok but hot water not working so well. No common room to sit and rest, also no kitchen to used. Wifi also sometimes off suddenly. But overall still ok because this hostel is clean and hv good location. Will consider to comeback here if will go to HKG again someday

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sofie, I would like to thank you for giving our hostel (yesinn fortress hill) a good review. We are always happy to serve you and do our best to maintain and upgrade our hostel. Since our building is under renovation including the common room, were encountering water problems and wifi disconnection. Were very sorry for bad experience. We hope to see you again! Cheers, Steve

60%

It's better to serve a breakfast like hostels in singapore do

  • 2nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Hey there, Sorry for the delayed reply. It was a great experience. The staffs were hospitable and professional, especially Steve. The atmosphere was comfortable. If I went to HK., I would definitely choose Yesinn again.

  • 2nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sofie, I would like to thank you for giving our hostel (yesinn fortress hill) a good review. We are always happy to serve you and do our best to maintain and upgrade our hostel. We hope to see you again! Cheers, Steve

83%

Stayed in a 8 bed dorm for females, it was really nice and clean. It was just full on of the night when I stayed there but I think it can be a problem that it is just one bathroom when it is 8 people in the room. Otherwise the hostel is nice, and it is just a few minutes walk to the metro. It seems like there isn't much to do in the area where the hostel is but it is so easy and cheap to take the metro.

  • 1st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sofie, I would like to thank you for giving our hostel (yesinn fortress hill) a good review. We are always happy to serve you and do our best to maintain and upgrade our hostel. We hope to see you again! Cheers, Steve

69%

There are ants on my bed the second night of my stay. Water was dripping in the toilet. There was renovation works carrying out during my stay and the place is dusty

  • 30th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Small. Simple. Clean

  • 30th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

It was my first time to HK, and this location is excellent for a vistor.

  • 29th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Staff was ok, the room very small (it's Hong Kong...). The toilets were broken and haven't been repared during the four days we stayed. We asked for a double bed but in fact it was a twin bed. When we asked to change (at least the sheets), the staff said "yes, yes" but did nothing. However, for Hong Kong, it can be considered as a good choice. In an other city (mainland China or wherever in Asia) it wouldn't worth 5 dollars...

  • 28th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

I stayed in this hostel because it was a little cheaper than those in Causeway Bay. I would not go back, because it is a little further away from things and I was unaware that you pay for distance in metro and it is not a flat fee ride. The hostel is really hard to find and when I was there under alot of construction. Also the toilet in the dorms did not work, so we had to use the public one. Not what I wanted. It often created a smelling room. Nice hostel, but there are better ones


(106 results)


View all Hong Kong Hostels

Please give us your feedback