X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Yiu Fai Guest House Reviews

Flat E, 5Th/F, 66-70 Nathan Road, Hong Kong, Hong Kong

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
637 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

Very small room. there are no windows at all.


77%

They did not accept a card but only cash even though they had not let me know. Except that, I was satisfied with my stay.

  • 29th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The Yiu Fai Guest House consists of two sets of rooms - the older accommodation and the more recently renovated rooms. When I booked I was under the impression that the price was for the newer rooms unacceptable - landing with damp patches and over-flowing bins. So I lost my deposit and had to book another room at higher cost in the newer section of building.

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Less than 10 steps walk to MTR station!!! Famous hong kong cafe is just downstair and convenience store, cafe and etc are all within walking distance.It took me a while to find this place as the building signboard is quite small (but that's hong kong standard), and only first day, after that i can't appreciate enough for the location. Well, it wasn't many stars kind of hostel. but it is what i have paid for, definitely good for sleep and clean yourself up.


80%

Actually they put me on the other Hostel on the 10th floor instead of Yiu Fai Guest House. Location is excellent, near by to the Bus stop from / to Airport They clean the room everyday and change towels

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Excellent location but no atmosphere. We're placed in another room/guesthouse than what had booked for. Looked very plain and basic and tiny room. Staff didn't know much English which didn't help when trying to pay for bill. Room had everything we need - own bathroom, towels, good wifi and 24/7 security. Lifts were terrible and slow but worked. Tried to spend as little time possible in room and was fine!


97%

The location is very good for that price and its room space is not that small, you can enjoy a clean& tidy environment there. The server there is so nice. In total, it's the place to be for a good price.


46%

Picked this hotel on location alone and this did not dissapoint but upon arrival we found Beds were rock hard , room was very small and air conditioning didn't work very well , we spoke to staff about issues but due to them speaking little to no English they could not help us in anyway and could also give us no information about Hong Kong (places to see/go or book taxis ect ) so unless you are fluent in Cantonese and like sleeping in a prison like room then steer clear !

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

we read that this hostel was hard to find but we found no problem, A21 bus from the airport then get off at stop13, 100yard walk into the hostel and a sign to the 5th floor....the lady was friendly but with no English, but this wasn't a problem, the room was small but everything we needed and clean bathroom/shower....great location for trains and buses and just round the corner from a must see bar, the eye bar!! all in all a great stay in Hong kong...no atmosphere as no common room though.......


74%

Very small room without additional space for our belongings like eg.table. If they do not write about window it means it does not exist in this kind of room, or it exist but it is impossible to open it as there is something like. a holl (i am not able to call it but there is no daylight and fresh air) so you feel like without window.


86%

가격대비 엄청 만족스러웠던 게스트하우스 콘센트 어댑터도 2개나 구비되어있어 편리했음.

  • 24th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Price for Single bed room was okay. Facilities are working but old. AC very loud if switched on. Annoying fake watch sellers in front of guest house.


91%

We have stayed there before and would stay again when travelling to Hong Kong. Next to the Metro, opposite to the direct bus to the airport and on busy Nathan Road for all your shopping & food. Friendly people, boiling water, microwave & fridge available in the passage outside your door, comfortable clean bedroom and plenty of hot water in the shower. What more could you want ?? Andrew, Ron & Lois Evans, Melbourne, Australia Septmber, 2014.


66%

For a hostel in Hong Kong it is average, but the location is good. There is no common room or nice atmosphere, people that work there can barely speak English! Oterwise it is ok for a downtown hostel because you don't spend too much time in the room.


97%

Difficult to find, signage was wrong and confusing with arrows pointing the wrong way and a doorman that didn't speak any English. But once we finally found it we were very happy with the room. It was super clean and exceeded our expectations. It was private and pretty quiet and the cleaning ladies were great. No common room to hang out, its more just for a good nights sleep at a convenient location that's safe. Met all safety standards.

  • 8th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Perfect location, Good price, totally satisfied!!

  • 7th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

The 3 bed rooms do not contain 3 beds - you get a single and a small double! Apart from that Yiu Fai Guest House is clean and cheap - you get what you pay for. No complaints apart from that though.

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The room was much better than expected: small but has everything you need, comes with TV, very strong wifi, hair dryer, towels,tooth brush,slippers, etc. It's more of a hotel than a hostel. Washroom is tiny but very clean. Truly value for money considering it's HK we are talking abt. Exit D1 of MTR is closed for renovation so come up from D2 instead, turn backwards and walk towards the main road, then turn right & walk straight till u see Standard Chartered Bank. Only 3mins fr walk MTR Exit D2.


91%

The room is quite spacious for a Hong Kong standard. Although, the room looks old, the beds were comfortable. The room has built-in cabinet, a television, a dresser, free wifi, one adaptor for charging electronic gadgets and hot and cold shower. They also provide toiletries and change the towels everyday which is not common for hostels. I'm not sure if they also change the beddings everyday but when we came back at night, the room was already cleaned and our beds already fixed.

  • 2nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

we had a very pleasant stay. the room was clean and the shower water pressure was strong. they provide us hot water dispenser so that we could easily cook instant noodle. the staff were also nice. and the most important that it is located just above the Tsim Tsa Tsui MTR station which made everything's easier. we went to Avenue of Star, Harbour City just by walking trough the subway. perfect stay and perfect short holiday!

  • 30th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(29 results)


View all Hong Kong Hostels

Please give us your feedback