Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Youth Hostel Van Gogh (Chab)

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 5673 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 5673 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2017
7.7

Great place, but in a really sketchy area- like lots of people just hanging out there at night because they didn't want to walk anywhere. Don't plan to travel from the metro station to the place alone at night. On Sunday morning I saw a prostitite in a window and several drug deals in the 10 minute walk

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jun 2017
8.3

The community aspects, location and bar were great but I wasn't impressed by the price of a room for two people (I booked a private room thinking two people could use it but was charged double on arrival.) I don't usually stay at hostels, I'm more of an Airbnb person and I've found you get a lot more for your money using that site when there is more than one of you to split the costs. That being said if I was a young 20's solo passenger then this would be an excellent place to stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2017
2.3

Awful given key cards but ground level windows and doors left open multiple times. Anyone and everyone was walking in and out. Very out of the way. Unprofessional, had a naked child that belonged to a staff member climbing on everything. Huge party until well past 3 am right next to all the bedrooms, so basically paid to not sleep at all. Only 2 bathrooms for everyone, which ended up covered in urine and drink. Some random person sleeping on the lobby chairs. Awful experience, waste of money.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • ciaramangan
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jun 2017
7.1

Good place for one or two nights. Good value for money and pretty great location. Only thing I would say is the room was roasting hot, no soap in bathrooms and the toilets were pretty unpleasant.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jun 2017
10.0

Clean sheets, nice breakfast. Clean shower.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • aleimohr9661
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Jun 2017
6.9

Pretty decent for the price, the hostel is about a 15 minute walk from the main centre and the free breakfast is pretty nice. It's inconvenient that the lockers are in the main lobby, the showers aren't great and the rooms get pretty warm. Overall worth booking if you need something cheap, but ideally come with friends I didn't find it was a very social place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2017
5.7

The majority of my stay was relatively alright seeing as I did not spend my time there. The rooms can be stuffy but can be fixed with an open window - unfortunately be prepared to get mosquito bites! The bathroom facilities provided are certainly poor - be sure to pack your own soap, shampoo and towel. The shower was terrible and spouts water from a crappy shower head and gets water everywhere but your body.. The bathroom also has an unpleasant smell. Also recommend to bring your own lock too.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Jun 2017
9.1

Very nice place, nice garden, well served breakfast! The staff at reception could be a little nicer, but maybe they were just tired. Clean and quiet room. 30 minutes walking from the city center, a little uphill, but it is ok :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2017
5.4

Pros: good atmosphere Cons: showers only have one temperature setting, and it's so hot the showers are essentially unusable. Wifi on the first floor doesn't work Location is bad, abandoned buildings and homeless people everywhere Rooms don't have any lockers/bins/anywhere to put any of your stuff

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jun 2017
6.0

It is okay if you just want to sleep in hostel. Location is perfect but there is no more good things. Rooms were hot and athmosphere was cold and unhappy.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.