X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Youth Hostel Van Gogh (Chab) Reviews

rue Traversiere 8, 1210 Bruxelles, Brussels, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
4320 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

The hostel itself is nothing special and a bit disappointing for the price I payed (stayed in Brussels another night in a cheaper but nicer hostel). However, it's v clean and conveniently located next to a metro station and walking distance (20 mins) from the centre. They also have Use-It guide-maps for all Belgian cities - they are awesome and take you to super interesting places but can be hard to find, and it's especially useful to have them in advance to plan ahead. wifi isn't great.


83%

I liked this place. Kind staff and nice premises.


63%

Stayed two nights in the eight-dorm. The staff were friendly and informative; however unfortunately, the hostel itself was a disappointment. To operate the showers (located in a basement across a courtyard), you had to press a button every 5 seconds. The door to the room buzzed incredibly loudly every time someone entered the room, which meant you were woken up throughout the night. The floorboards creaked. The wifi only worked in the lobby. Much room for improvement, but set your standards low.


83%

Place was comfortable and warm, not that close to the centre, but walkable. Bar was excellent and pleasant. Would stay again but would look for a closer hostel first.


63%

Unfortunately, I would not recommend this hostel based on several issues: -> Breakfast buffet was the bare minimum - low quality toast, butter and one type of jam. Furthermore, 7:30 is too late for commuters to outside brussels. -> Blankets were rudimentary and not very comfortable -> Biggest issue: Showers were antiquated and take a long time until they get warm. When I complained, the staff offered only the suggestion "wait for five minutes, press repeatedly" - this is not acceptable.


83%

The Hostel is well located, staff in general very helpeful and nice, the bar at night has very good atmosfere, with good music and a good bartender.. but breakfast is terrible, with lausy coffee and orange juice, margerine instead of butter, bad cheese and ham, no fruit.. and so on.pity Facilities in general are good, as there is all one can demand, like lockers, kitchen to cook your won food. Besides that my stay was very pleasant..so if in need will stay there once more..


49%

Wifi not always working - you can't blame too many users get a system fit for purpose. When it did work it was ok. Breakfast nothing to write home about - they used a juice machine tasted artificial. Poor atmosphere and had to extract teeth to get tourist Info. On the plus 1min walk from mtr but would not stay again


46%

Don't stay here. You are locked out of your own room for hours each day. They have a terrible system and never know who is coming or going, which leads to your bed being stripped every day even if you will be there a week. The rooms are dirty and cold. The mattresses are not mattresses but just plastic sleeping pads with a bit of foam in the middle. They don't allow outdoor alcohol so they can overcharge you for their poor selection. Wifi is great if you are lucky enough to get it to work.

  • 29th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thanks for your comment. Of course we know who's check-in/out! The 1st day we explained you that if you don't want your bedsheets to be removed each day you just put smthg on the bed! The matresses are new since december last year! We do not allow alcohol from outside while the bar is open and DO NOT OVERCHARGE we have the cheapest offer compare to dowtown! It is just common sense you don't bring your own drinks when you go to a bar... The beer selection is only the best belgian beers :)

74%

The Van Gogh is conveniently located near the boticanical gardens, so it's close to get to the metro, bus, and tram stop there. The rooms are in a separate building across the street that has no security, but the staff at reception were really accommodating. There are some really cool maps of Belgium in the lobby area. The room itself was clean, there was a sink in the room, but bathrooms and showers are in the hallway. Nothing special, the cost is fair considering it includes breakfast.


86%

Stayed for four nights. The hotel staff is very very nice and friendly, particularly the bar and reception folks. Greetings to Jorge and Victor, from the bar and reception, respectively. Very good chaps! The rooms had no frills, whatsoever. There was a sink inside, a small open-front wardrobe with a rack for guests to hang their coats or other clothes (but almost no hangers). Bathrooms were a bit far from the room. Breakfast was good enough, I suppose.

  • 27th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Clean sheets and a shower that's not stained with mould would earn a better score.


63%

Location was very good and the lady behind the reception was extremely helpful. However be aware that the hostel was much, much more basic than we were led to believe and an extra jumper might come in handy!

  • 18th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Hostel in excellent location with the Botanique metro station 2 minutes away that will take you to the Grand Place within 15 minutes. Hostel is 5 miutes (3 stops) bus ride to the Brussel-Noord, one of three major railway stations in Brussels. Taxi journey from Grand Place, for those wild nights out, will cost you roughly 12 euros. The hostel itself is very clean with all communal areas being cleaned daily. As this was my first trip into Brussels I found the staff to be friendly and helpful.

  • 15th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

It was great being able to walk around the town and come back to the hostel, but it can be a far walk to the main sites although there are a couple of things to do near the hostel. The wifi was horrible, had to go to the main place every time to send or receive anything

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Decent breakfast to me!

  • 9th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

I really liked the free breakfast, that was good, but the wifi was horrible and there were only two outlets in each of the rooms.


63%

The level of cleanliness would definitely get to the clean freak. There are no power points near the beds which is quite annoying, nor is there WiFi in the rooms. Although the room is crammed and the showers are down a flight of stairs that you get to via walking past the common area and meals area in your night-time attire, if you are like us and don't spend much time AT the hostel, then none of this will bother you.


97%

Great environment and facilities, good location, and very clean. Loved the bar and staff was very helpful.


66%

Not really special. I liked the atmosphere a lot but low value for money.


83%

It was a centrally located hostel close to most attractions of Brussels. The staff were very helpful and cordial. The atmosphere was good. Morning breakfast was also useful. The card based security to locker room and dorm room was good. One also has the option of buying dinner at the hostel. There is generally some programme going on at night in the common area. The lockers could have been better / more secure.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(113 results)


View all Brussels Hostels

Please give us your feedback