Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Youth Hostel Van Gogh (Chab)

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 5,169 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 5,169 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.1
Youth Hostel Van Gogh (Chab) Located at rue Traversiere 8, 1210 Bruxelles, Brussels.
Youth Hostel Van Gogh (Chab)
Belgium
Brussels rue Traversiere 8, 1210 Bruxelles
77% 5169
50.8542923 4.3680095
Youth Hostel Van Gogh (Chab)
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th Jul 2016
6.9

A decent hostel with a good communal area to meet other people, which is important when travelling alone. Dorm rooms were fairly basic and a bit of a pain not having a toilet or shower in the room but not a massive problem. Slightly out of town so is a little walk into the centre, but is ok as a location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Jul 2016
7.1

During my stay at this hostel I had to choose between being kept up all night by the heat (closing the window) or being kept up all night by drunk men in the courtyard (leaving the window opened). The shower was nowhere near the room- it was across of small field of grass, through a conference room (which had about 40 people in it), and down a flight of stairs. The kitchen was pretty crappy. The staff was friendly and the bar was cheap.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Jul 2016
8.0

Very nice environment, the personnel is super nice. About a 15 minute walk from downtown. Bring your own towel because there are none. There are lockers, you can get a lock for a 6 euro deposit which is nice, they are big enough.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
7th Jul 2016
6.9

Pretty much no security and its a bit of walk from most sights in Brussels. Helpful staff and a bar on the ground level were nice. Gross showers tho.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Jul 2016
8.6

Staff were extremely helpful and very friendly. Ok location - close to Botanique metro. Area felt fairly safe, hostel has a buzzer to get in after a certain time. Great atmosphere - bar, restaurant, garden, sitting area. Room wasn't very nice - had an ensuite with a toilet that didn't really flush, a light shining right into our bedroom, hard to get the suitcases into the room (very small and had a weird table in the way). Shower was very hot with no setting. Good stay overall though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2016
8.3

Its a pretty nice hostel. Bed was comfortable, room was clean. Breakfast is alright you can have cereals, some toast materials like bread, ham, salami, yellow chsese and coffee and tea. Staff is helpful. Showers and toilets were useful and clean. It is 15 minutes walking distance to center. I met some cool people in hostel too. I was happy about my stay in general

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2016
8.0

It's a cheaper place so the facilities match, but I never had issues. It's a little towards the outskirts, but still only took me 20 mins to walk to the old stock exchange/center

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
1st Jul 2016
6.3

Floors in the room were lopsided, and showers had no hot water controls and if they weren't used stayed cold for a long time, wasting water waiting to warm up.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • ritaarouca5690
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Jun 2016
6.3

not very clean, cold showers, no internet in the rooms, not enough toilets> Couldn't spend more than 3 nights there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jun 2016
6.6

We didn't go out as we were only there for 1 night but it was close to the central astations so it was quite central! There was a bar in the hostel! And free breakfast included in the price so that was great in terms of value! My bed stunk of wee and the whole Room did so i'm not sure how clean that was considering nobody had pissed themselves! But- saying that, none of us complained or spoke to the staff so they didn't have the oppertunity to help us! Only 2 toilets for the whole hostel??

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.