Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Youth Hostel Van Gogh (Chab)

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 5549 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 5549 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
7.4

Friendly staff and a good atmosphere. An old building so you hear​ footsteps from everyone. Party atmosphere throughout the night.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2017
8.9

Small and dirty rooms, good kitchen, good wifi, 15 min walk to city center, half of my showers were lukewarm, fun atmosphere, and overall great value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
4.0

It was one of the worst hostel I have ever stayed, our room was beyond dirty. Brussels prisons might be cleaner :/

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
11th Apr 2017
2.0

As a solo female traveler, this was the least ideal situation to be in. The location is not in a good neighborhood, and the conditions in the building are far worse than any motel for the same price. I had to leave my things in lockers far away from my room, the showers had hairballs in the drains so the water rose above my ankles, and the blankets have clearly never been washed. And for a youth hostel this was not the case, people of any age there. Absolutely disgusting. PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Apr 2017
9.4

Really great hostal. Actually the pictures does not give it justice, it is even better in real life. Coolest staff ever.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Apr 2017
8.3

easy to find, kitchen was an added bonus, nice to cook your own food, washing facilities are useful, wi-fi signal could be better but it's ok most of the time. rooms were a little dirty/dusty, I was sneezing a lot from the dust, cleaners could improve. rooms are cheap though, atmosphere is nice, relaxed. location is great, easy to get to the centre and easy to go to some of the surrounding neighbourhoods, lots of nice little markets and bakeries around. great for the price and convenience.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2017
7.7

The quality of wifi was bad. But there was no complain about other stuff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Apr 2017
8.3

My room had enough space, it was okay. Room temperature was good. The bed wasn´'t the best thing ever, but it was okay to sleep in for the night. I could hear the people out of my room, but I´'m a heavy sleeper, so it didn´'t bother me too much. The location is good, there´'s a 10 minutes walking station that takes you directly to the center of main atractions. The Botanical Garden is about 5 minutes wlaking, a really nice place! Overall nice and clean place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Apr 2017
6.9

Good breakfast and nice bar with diferent kinds of belgium beers. The satff was helpfull but coulve been better. Location is good, not in the city center but a decent walking distance and theres a metro station next to the hostel. No lockers in the rooms which makes it a bit uncoomfortable. The showers have warm water and are pretty ok. Not the best place to stay if youre traveling alone and are looking for friends.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2017
7.4

The hostel it's not well identified. When you get in the reception, you'll discover that the buildings nearby are also part of the hostel. which it's quite confusing and not give you the feeling of safety. the bathrooms are terrible. If you want to take a shower there's a specific area where do you have to cross all the hostel to take it. The internet it's terrible. the signal it's very weak and it's not fast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.