X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Youth Hostel Van Gogh (Chab) Reviews

rue Traversiere 8, 1210 Bruxelles, Brussels, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
3845 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

シャワーが使いづらい。

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

The only thing that didn't send me running from this place was that they served free breakfast. Even if the breakfast is a piece if bread and a cup of coffee, I am always happy getting anything. The wifi situation is terrible, the beds and sheets suck, the bathroom situation sucks. It's all pretty bad. I have stayed in a lot of hostels and can deal with a lot. I was really disappointed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your comment. Just to make it clear, the breakfast is exactly: bread with different kind of ham and cheese, jam, chocolate pasta, coffee, tea, milk, hot chocolate, different kind of juice, different kind of cereals, sorry you didn't like it. Concerning the wi-fi it is available in all the rooms, everywhere! Kind regards, Virginie

66%

The location of the hostel is not very safe. My friends got his mobile phone nearly stolen on our way going from the metro station to the hostel.

  • 25th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Comfortable hostel with many facilities! very safe and close to downtown place. great price and location.


46%

It's so noisy (there is no sound isolation whatsoever) it's impossible to sleep. You can hear whatever is being done or said in the other rooms. Internet didn't work the two days I was there. Breakfast is really cheap. You'd better offer a real fruit rather than the cheapest white bread and margarine.

  • 19th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

A great hostel: clean, the staff are helpful and the kitchen and bar really give it a good vibe. The showers and washrooms were great. The ONLY flaw was that the free internet they offer is hella slow and hella not worth the price.


77%

Hostel great, staff nice and helpful. Kitchen could of been a bit better, limited amount of utensils but there are loads of great places to eat out cheap in Brussels. Overall very decent hostel.


97%

Great Hostel! I felt very safe! The shower was very clean and the beds were comfortable.

  • 15th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

perfect organization


77%

The only think that bothered me was that the hostel is quite far from the city, although it is reachable by foot if you're up for a 15-20 minutes walk. We were on a budget trip so chose to walk plenty although we could have taken a metro, bus or tram as there were stations nearby. Other than that, i think it was worth the money staying here. Staff's were friendly and breakfast was included. Overall i had a pleasant stay here.

  • 11th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The cleanliness could be better. Also, there was a lot of noise during the night, which made sleep difficult. If Van Gogh could have "quiet hours" it would have made the experience better. However, overall, it was a pretty good deal for our money - about twenty euros for a bed and breakfast the next morning. It wasn't too hard to find, either, as it's only a short walk away from the metro.

  • 7th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

All in all a good hostel, but if you want to sleep in the morning it's just horrible. It's very loud so you can't sleep long in the morning. The staff ist not there from 13.00 to 16.00. But it's possible to let your luggage there. Our sink in the room was very dirty... For the next time I would search another hostel in leuven!


89%

Best place to stay. 2go4 is good but more expensive. Only con Chab has is that there s no lift.

  • 7th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

They really need new blankets and the shower was not so clean. The location was not the best, but it was okey for the money. You can walk to the citycenter. But the breakfast was good.

  • 25th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

A nice hostel overall, I was lucky to find it to be honest and on one of the nights I never realised that there were blankets to use. Also In one of the 8 bedroom a bed blocks the door, which was a bit annoying. Other than that a great spot and not too far from the centre plus the dinner was really nice!


46%

too noisy, suspicious neighbourhood. Took a private room and couldn't sleep because some frenchies were making noise until 4 am. The walls are so thin that one can hear someone walking in the next room


94%

Considering that in Belgium things are bit expensive, the offer breakfast and kitchen makes the place a good deal. It`s very close to Botanical garden and North train station, where have trains to the intl airport (BRI) for around 7 euros (and it takes around 30 min). The rooms and beds are OK. My only problem was in the shower, that was clogged.


34%

The only security this hostel offers is the keycard into your room. It's an open door policy so anyone in the area can come drink and walk right up to your room. So if a room mate doesn't close the door, you can be robbed pretty easily. There is locker storage on site but most are busted up. It's way too expensive for the cleanliness factors and the sleeping accommodations and it seems like you are inconveniencing the staff when you approach them


46%

It's a cheap hostel, so you get what you pay: poor location, awful bathrooms... The bath you have to press the bottom in order to get water


80%

The employees were very accommodating and willing to help us in any way possible.

  • 28th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(69 results)


View all Brussels Hostels

Please give us your feedback