X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Youth Hostel Van Gogh (Chab) Reviews

rue Traversiere 8, 1210 Bruxelles, Brussels, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
4531 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

A good hostel with everything need and helpful staff.

  • 16th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

The hostel was a very stereotypical hostel, which is great. However the staff was awful. Every time my friend or I asked a question about a place, or a quick route, or even a great place to get Belgian food the staff acted like it was a chore to help out and provide advice. Sometimes they didn't even answer the question even!

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

No electricity plug ins in the buildings.


57%

The shower room needs a door to screen water. Also I couldn't control the volume and temperature of water. I had to push it all the time.


89%

I really apreciated my stay at Youth Hostel Van Vogh! The hostel has a very welcoming ambient with snooker table and a bar where you can prove the belgium beers. The breakfast and the rooms were nice too and as far as I have searched, this is one of the cheapest hostel next to the city center. The only bad part is that the wifi signal doesn't reach the rooms so I needed to go to the public areas to use it. But I sure recommend this hostel :)

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Located very centrally in Brussels. However, the area is quite rough, which I did not realise until we arrived. The twin room was spacious and clean, but there are rubber sheets on the beds, which is quite offputting, and the walls were so thin we could literally hear every quiet conversation being had next door. The staff were friendly and the bar was atmospheric. Finally, the showers were freezing each time we used them, which made for quite a rude awakening! Basically, don't expect five star.


80%

For the price and location, it was worth the money. The wifi doesn't work in the rooms, only the lobby which was a bit annoying but the bar in the lobby was awesome and the staff at the front desk were very helpful. The rooms were what you would expect of a hostel and the showers/bathrooms were fine too. Overall, I would stay there again. The location was an easy walk to the center of the city.

  • 5th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

One slightly odd feature of this hostel was that it had only 2 power outlets in a 10 bed dorm and these were positioned weirdly (one behind a metal bed post and another by the in-dorm sink) meaning nowhere to charge phones etc while also feeling secure. The staff were nice enough and the location was a short walk from the centre but facilities and price were not amazing. A basic, but fine, hostel.

  • 3rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Really nice staff, nice hostal, nice breakfast.

  • 3rd Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

I think that this hostel is good for a one night stop but I wouldn't stay any longer as a solo traveller. The bar keep was a nice chap and good for a chat and recommending beers. Breakfast was ok but not the best.


80%

Brussels is just not my place. The location is quite sketchy, at least for my taste. I was not to fond of the location, but Brussels is a bigger city so I should have taken that into consideration. Everyone is really nice, so that's a plus. The facilities are great too and you get wifi in your room, which I quite enjoy.


83%

A bit dingy but it is a hostel so I don't typically expect a lot other than everything to work. And it did. Location is about 15 minute walk from the city center which isn't bad. Staff was friendly. Bar keep was good company, as I was more or less traveling alone. Did the free walking tour they have a pamphlet for at the front desk and that was brilliant. Decent spread for brekky. I would definitely come back because the service was great.

  • 18th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

loved it here. had good facilities had hot water for shower. the faculty was super nice and helpful!!!

  • 16th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Nicely located. But the daily lock out is kind of a hassle. Showers were not warm but overall this is a good bargain for Brussels and a good location. Also the bar is cheap and friendly.


74%

Rooms are simple but ok. We really liked the bar and location. However often there was no warm water in the showers, which is not too much fun when you travel in winter.

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Negative points are: - It is far away from the center by foot. - A restoration for this building a must! - Improper sink at the room. Makes the room look like somewhere in the ghetto - There is no soap at all! - You have to push the button to turn on the light every 10 sec at the restroom. Genius! - High price for an old facility. You can hear the noises on the floor - Heater turned off automatically or by the stuff and you find yourself frozen in the morning - Holes in the sheet

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Really nice hostel, next to the subway station, staff really friendly and helpful, nice comoon area, bathrooms and rooms clean. Nice kitchen (could have a larger refrigerator).


37%

The room was awful, it was dirty and poor. We had something like a bathroom but I could hardly call it bathroom. Everything was miserable. The blankets looked like they had never been washed. I hope that I will never come across such a place. Only the personnel was nice. They were very helpful and understanding.


71%

Phillipo, the guy of the bar was really nice! The bathroom is not so good and don't have towels.

  • 28th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Pretty good hostel, about 1km from the main train station. Not much of a place to hang out, but they did have a bar. One downside was that there weren't any individual lockers in the rooms. There was a free luggage storage room/lockers, but as it was in a separate building from mine, I didn't end up using it. The rooms were clean, but there wasn't any soap in the bathrooms, hence the lower mark on cleanliness. Breakfast was good, if just the basic bread, cheese, jam/butter, cereal, coffee & tea.


(101 results)


View all Brussels Hostels

Please give us your feedback