X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Youth Hostel Van Gogh (Chab) Reviews

rue Traversiere 8, 1210 Bruxelles, Brussels, Belgium

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
3838 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 76%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

Location 10 to 15 mins walking distance from Gare du Nord and around 20 to 25 mins walking to city center. We`ve booked a privete room for 2 with bathroom ensuite. The bathroom was a "small box" and no light in it, not exactly looking "that"clean. Breakfast limited to person, (5 slices of bread, one cup of juyce, etc). One of the staff was reading the Newspaper when I asked him something, he barelly looked at me, answered burocratically and kept reading the news. Kitchen was OK.


63%

Comparing the facilities with other hostels where I have stayed, the rates are pretty expensive. The only lockers are in a room behind the reception. The worst part was the shower: there was no temperature control for the water, there was only steaming hot water, and the other guests were complaining about it too. I believe that it is OK when hostels have some negative points, but they should at least offer cheaper rates...


66%

I don't like the facilities for shower there is no place to hang your cloth cuz some is broken and sometimes it will spill out cuz the the door is to slim but they have a very big kitchen and breakfast include(though is simple but still ok)


80%

What was great is the communal area which is very spacious and great. I was in the cheap dorm, which wasn't so cheap and it was a little rustic for the price I thought. The locker area needs a little money spending on it, but I was happy I chose the place. The staff are very helpful.


80%

clean and staff are very nice very near from the train station


54%

The lockers in the locker room provided (which I had to use as I came too early to check in apparently - even though the girls in the room said it had been clean and empty for a few days) were broken into and not very secure. It was a concern as a solo traveler to carry all of my important things and worry that I may not have stuff to go back to. Location is a bit dodgy with several weird characters trying to get me to get into their car. Clean enough, prison style rooms, showers outside etc.

  • 22nd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

This was a great hostel in a great location. My friends and I shared a private room which had it's own shower and toilet facilities which was great. Staff were really helpful when we were deciding where to go. Breakfast in the morning was excellent also. For the price we paid this really was great value and I would definitely stay again.

  • 7th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

The place looks great when you enter it and the staff was very nice and helpful. However, when we went to put in our stuff in lockers we were a bit disappointed. The lockers did not look safe at all, in fact they looked like they belonged in a prison :/ We stayed in a twin bedroom which was ok for what we paid, nothing fancy but also not too meager, It wasn't the cleanest room either but it was okay. For the price we paid, it was fine. Great atmosphere though and the breakfast was pretty good!


71%

The hot water supply and the breakfast can be improved. Overall it's a nice hostel!

  • 29th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


43%

I found the staff to be extremely rude and unhelpful. The room was disgustingly dirty and the hallways and bathrooms were worse. I would not recommend this hostel.


20%

I was supposed to arrive on the 26, instead I received an email saying "you didn't come the 25, so we debit your card". I've phone them, they didn't want to heard anything. I booked an other room in an other place.

  • 27th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

A nice place to stay, about a 20-30min walk (or quick metro trip) to the city centre. Very close to the Botanique metro stop. They have a nice bar with a good selection of Belgian beers, but it only opens after 6. Cheap dinner is served every night, and is quite tasty. Rooms are in a separate building across the road, and are nice enough, but a little cramped. Showers are fine, and beds are comfortable.


86%

The room wasn't ready until three hours after I'd requested (it was ready at 3pm; it's not like noon is absurdly early). This was annoying because we had wanted to take showers, etc, and were also waiting for other members of our party to show up, and had to sit in the lobby to wait for them instead of a room. I'm not sure why they ask when you will show up if they don't intend to have the room ready.


86%

My friend and I stayed for a weekend and had a great time. On first impressions it looked a bit dated and tired, but turned out to be a very social, friendly hostel, and only a 10-minute walk from Gare Central. The free breakfast is decent, the small bar has an impressive selection of Belgian beers, and (for €5 - 7) they serve a delicious home-made meal each evening. Also has a pool table, book exchange, free wifi etc. Rooms are basic but beds were comfortable. Definitely decent value for money!


37%

The hostel's shower is terrible! lukewarm (nearly cold water in WINTER). The shower was a nightmare. And the room didn't look like as in the picture on the website. It was dark and shabby. I was fairly disappointed with the hostel.

  • 20th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Communal area looks very unloved and is too dark. I didn't want to spend any time there. Similarly in the room. Not even a table, not even a chair, or, in fact, a window! I want a youth hostel to be a place I like to come back to, a safe haven where I can take a relaxing break from walking around all day not somewhere I want to avoid at all cost until I have to go to sleep. I loved the Theatre de La Vie just down the road. Try to be as warm and welcoming as them if you want people to come back

  • 9th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

The main problem was absence of WIFI signal in the third floor (where we had room off course).


91%

Perfect! just perfect , the place very clean the bed very comfortable and the best is that have someone to recieve you durng all night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Obrigado vocé!

77%

Mixed to good. Downside: we'd booked an ensuite double, but got a twin - still this might just be a miscommunication between hostelworld and the place itself, as there was no indication that actually had doubles; would have liked some form of bedside light (a cheap clip-on would be fine) for reading in bed ; free wifi was nice, but very limited in range - only really worked in reception, rather than bar, breakfast room, etc. But these are minor grumbles, rest was good, and shower excellent.

  • 5th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi After checking your reservation (8699xxxxxxxxx67), you indeed booked a twin room and not a double room 5th Nov '13 2013-10-26 Twin room (2 beds) Private Ensuite 2 6th Nov '13 2013-10-26 Twin room (2 beds) Private Ensuite 2 Hope your stay was good anyway Thanks

60%

The bartender is disrespectful, he insulted and intimidated me in from of the guest. Well, just unacceptable.


(69 results)


View all Brussels Hostels

Please give us your feedback