X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Amistat Beach Hostel Reviews

C/ Amistat, 21-23, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
573 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 85%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

This is a pretty good hostel. It's a very nice short walk to a beach that isn't crowded. There's a big kitchen where you can cook your own food if you want which is nice. The rooms and bathrooms are all clean. Its close enough to some clubs that if you miss the last metro at night, you can just have a nice 20 min walk down the beach back to the hostel. The only problem was that it was very close to the center of the city, but the beach made up for that fact


57%

The people at the desk were rude and not very knowledgeable about the area. Also, they don't give you blankets and I was cold all nigh. Im paying to stay overnight so the least I expect is a blanket and not a bed sheet. Never staying here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, We're very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay in Amistat. All of our recepcionists are raised and born in Barcelona, so they know everything about the city. About the rudeness there is no excuse to that. If there is something that we want in Amistat is that the guests feel like home. We have to apologize and we are going to take meassures on that matter, be sure that it wont happen again. About the blankets we rent them in the front desk for 3'5€ Thanks for your comment

43%

Staff wasn't friendly or welcoming. It's a good location to the beach but that's it. No community armosphere either. Not impressed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for your comment :) We are very sorry you didn't have a good impression of the staff and the atmosphere. We really work hard to make our guests feel at home. We hope you have nice weekend!

89%

Located in a quiet streat close to the breach. The metro station is not far, otherwise walk to the center is about an hour. The kitchen is equipped with the basics, but one or two more proper knifes for cutting vegetables would be great, as there is only one at the moment which is not very good for it as well. Alcohol is forbidden at the place, but they organize pub crawls etc. Perfect location if you want something a little bit more quiet to relax.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola and thanks for the nice review! More kitchen equipment, noticed! In Amistat we try to improve everyday our facilities based in the experience of our guests, so, muchas gracias and safe travels!

97%

Had a great stay, actually stayed longer than originally planed very helpful in extending my stay. I did move hostels and come back because they where fully booked one night but staff was very quick to recommend other hostels close. Dorms are comfy and secure. Breakfast wasn't great but there is a bakery right there which is amazing! OH and the beach is so close!!! Location is prefect! Definitely will be going back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey thanks for your nice comment, it was an absolute pleasure having you in Amistat, if you come back to Barcelona you know where we are, :) Best Regards!

100%

very nice, near the beach.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey amigo, thanks for the review! Yeah! that is our signature, nice and near the beatiful beach of Poblenou :)

97%

The staff at Amistat Beach Hostel are some of the most helpful people. If you are unfamiliar with Barcelona, tell them what you are looking for around the city and they will show you the way.

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Absolutely wonderful girl working at the counter. Keep her she's awesome.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Ohh thanks a lot!! We really appreciate your nice words about her! We hope to see you soon again!! Take care!

89%

Went during winter, would be excellent location in summer as it is a close walk to the beach. Otherwise metro to other parts of town. Staff were excellent and helped with sightseeing. Excellent facilities. Full kitchen- shame some people didnt clean after themselves properly. All toilets and showers outside of the room. Would be good to be checked more often. Overall a great stay


91%

Amistat Beach Hostel was amazing. We paid for a four bed room with an ensuite and were so happy. Great people and very close to the beach. I would highly recommend to any of my friends.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for the awesome comment! It makes us happy to hear that you had a good time with us, really =). We hope to see you all again, maybe this summer! Thank you again, and have safe trips!

83%

The only thing which I didn't like was that at night the common room is closed very early.

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! We just try to follow the rules in the neibourhood and don't make too much noise. 11pm is pretty good time! Thanks for your review and take care!

89%

Near the beach but far from all the monuments and stuff. The hostel overall is very good though

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola and thanks for the comment next time you have to check out better the area of Poblenou, our neighborhood. It's true that is a little bit far from the center, but is a very cultural, historic and interesting area, with lot's of catalan restaurants and bars in the famous main street of Rambla del Poblenou. And don't forget the Beach! only a 3 minute walk from the Hostel! Poblenou Rules!

83%

The experience was far better than I expected since this was my first time staying at a hostel. Staff was super helpful and the hostel's facilities were very high in quality.

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sudan
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Thank you so much for your great feedback. We are so glad that you had a beautiful experience in your first experience in a hostel. Hope to see you again soon! Take care :)

100%

One of the best hostels I have ever stayed.....

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Absolutely happy that you enjoyed Amistat Beach Hostel that much. See you soon hopefully! Best of luck! :)

69%

They don't give you a blanket which is stupid because the climate controlled rooms suck, and the deposit is way too much for the key..10 euro, and they don't allow alcohol..other than that it's next to the beach and metro stop so it's very accessible

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there! you have blankets for rent available at any time in the front desk for 3'5€ (which is the price that costs us washing them). The deposit of 10€ that all guests pay at the check-in, is for the key and the bed sheets, if you return both at your check-out we give you back the 10€, easy and simple. We don't allow alcohol in the common areas because the law in Spain forbids its consume in any kind of Hostel facilities.Take care and best regards

100%

Amistat is definitely the best hostel I've ever stayed in. The cleanliness is incomparable, I mean it. It is cleaner than my own house. Cleaning staff work twice a day, which is very difficult to find in a hostel. Toilets and showers are always clean, it's amazing. The shower room is large and spacious, with some 10 showers, so you'll never have to queue. The rooms have large lockers that are safely locked with key cards, so your belongings are always safe. I'll be back for summer!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your great review! We are really happy to hear that you had a good stay with us. We wait for you this summer =D Have a good week!

94%

One of the best hostels I've stayed at - very clean and safe. Nice lockers, sheets provided, free wifi, and breakfast included. Xavier at the front desk was really helpful and gave us tons of great suggestions for stuff to do. It is kind of far from the city center, but very close to the beach and a metro stop, so its very easy to get everywhere around the city. Plus, you get to see a more residential side of the city and experience the city like a local.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola amigas! thanks for the nice comment!. It was an absolute pleasure having you in Amistat, if you come back to Barcelona, you know where we are. :)

86%

I thought this was a great place! The staff spoke English so it was easy to ask directions and advice on where to go and places to visit. They also have a free map and recommended places to hit, so that was really convenient and nice. The people who stayed there were mostly teens and were pretty cool and friendly. It's a lovely place near the beach and within walking distance from the metro station, so traveling was no big deal. I loved my stay there. Very safe, friendly, and welcoming.

  • 19th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hola and thank's for the nice comments! Hope to see you again soon!

54%

Showers were grotesque; smelled of urine and had absolutely no privacy. Rooms were tiny with no hooks for coats or towels. (However, each bed did have a personal lamp and plug in which was convenient.) Walls are paper thin so you can hear any conversation going on in the room beside you. Only hostel I've ever been to that required additional payment to rent a raty old blanket.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello and thanks for your comment, Our clening team cleans the showers at least 3 times a day.

94%

The best Hostel I've stayed. The facilities are really clean with a nice kitchen, nice toilets and reading light with socket in all the beds, also after Mid night the light inside the room does not work only one located to illuminate the floor, it really helps when late people arrive and wake you up. It was so good that I payed attention in the small details like when arriving the attendant only pointed to directions and the way the shower was design you can't get clothes inside the cubicle.


« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback