X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Amistat Beach Hostel Reviews

C/ Amistat, 21-23, Barcelona, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
717 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Awesome place, close to a great beach. Staff was friendly. Met a lot of great people. Base sheets on the bed all seemed pretty dirty but they gave clean sheets to put on top? Showers are good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! nice to hear from you. Happy that you enjoyed our facilities and location. Always good atmosphere in Amistat!! Sorry about the bed linen but must be a mistake because we have a special cleaning Service and always deliver our bed linen clean and fresh.. Hoping to see you again in Amistat :)

63%

Great location next to the beach but not to town or nightlife. Didn't really feel like a hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! thanks for your comment. Sorry if you do not feel like our Hostel but as you can read other comments there is a very good atmosphere in our Hostel. Our staff is very helpful and friendly, we offer plenty of activities and our location is amazing less than 5 minuts from the Beach, 10 min walking from the Beach party in Barcelona and 20min by metro from the downtown. Sorry if you did not enjoy this experience. Best wishes,

100%

The ubication is Amazing!! Very near From the beach, and the Staff super Friendly:) i love it:)

  • 20th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks my friend! hoping to see you again very soon. Take care!

71%

the best location- near to the beach,easy access for metro,the staff are nice,the lobby area is excellent,the kitchen is nice but the bed was so small i cant even sit on my bed,i keep hitting my head,and the lobby area headed in the rooms are so dim light,at night it is creepy. and more the toilet was small and the light was creepy as well bec its automatic,it turns off when u r inside the toilet room,theres a bad smell in the toilet,and its small. but my stay was great,only juz excellent locati

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Many thanks for your feedback. We apologize if you did not enjoy some of our facilities. About the light in the toilet please note that are automatic in order to sabe energy, when it turns off you just need to make a slight movement so then the light will turns on. Also please note the bed bunks are the same size of standard bunks. All the bed bunks are made with the same height and wide. Thanks again! we hope to see you again!!

77%

It's a shame...this is a beautyful hostel. But there is sonething i don't understand. Why they have decided air conditioning must be on continuosly???? The temperature was too cold and i got a light sore throat with cough. The air conditioning was on when out was 17- 18 *C...you can imaging how cold the temperature was inside. Someone tried to ask to the crew to decrease but nothing happenied

  • 15th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, sorry about the Air Conditioning. Every room in its entrance door has some information about the correct temperature and about the air conditioning. Next time please ask again to our staff to help you if you do not feel any change. Many thanks for your feedback.

83%

awesome lockers. definitely a party hostel. don't stay here more than 3 or 4 days or your liver will pay for it. only good staff was Carlos. he rocked abd answered a billion of my questions and gave good suggestions. you could see they were cleaning all the time but there are just too many drunk people. showers are super shady. wear shoes you'll be fine. breakfast was really good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback! Help us to improve. There is many persons in our Hostel every summer, but every minute a cleaning service is checking and cleaning again. Maybe you share room with guests that has not been respectful and have been drunk all the time. Really sorry if you coudn't enjoy your stay because of that. ¡See you!

100%

Reall happy with everything provided.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Amazing! nice to hear that. Looking forward your visit again :)

71%

Good sides: the location is great, and so is the armosphere; they otganize many activities too. Bad sides: the room was ridiculously small. I usually don't mind, but this is the first time that it's so tight that you need to plan every little move. And they didn't clean the room, in the 6 days I was there, so the floor was obviously full with sand (it's a beach hostel...!)

  • 11th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! we clean the rooms at least twice a day! and if you see that there is sand in the floor, just tell our staff members and we will send somebody to clean your room in a second! Anyway, thanks for the comment and safe travels! Wew are glad that you enjoyed our activities and the beautiful neghborhood of Poblenou!

89%

A warm, friendly hostel. Very well presented. Great kitchen and bathrooms, love the free pasta and a good breakfast is included.

  • 10th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Nice to hear from you. Hope to see you again :D ¡Ciao!

94%

Although it is a little offset from the main area of Barcelona it is only a 5 minute walk away from one of the main metro lines that takes you right into the heart of the city. The staff were wonderful and the atmosphere was alive at almost any time of day. They have communal dinners that are followed by a pub crawl, as well as daily activities. It is only a short walk to a really really nice beach that its too crowded because it farther down than most tourists will bother to go.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Gracias! Thank you! Merci! Danke! Grazie! for your nice review! Come back soon and we will eat more Paella in our communal dinners!

100%

This was my first time travelling alone, I'm not going to lie, I was a bit worried, but of course I was fine! The hostal has great service who are happy to help at any time, it's very clean, has Freew Pasta, the hostal does group activities ( great way to make friends ), so do t worry and book this hostal! You WILL NOT REGRET IT!!!

  • 6th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Yeah!!! thank you very much for your super nice comment! it was an absolute pleasure having you as a guest and we hope to see you again soon! Hasta la vista! :)

71%

The hostel is good, the staff are nice and the activities that the hostel manage are really nice. The biggest problem are the bathroom, always dirty and wet.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hooooola and thanks for your comment. Yes, sometimes the showers can be a little bit wet in the summer but we clean them at least three times a day! Hope to see you soon back in sunny Barcelona :) Best regards and safe travels.

91%

I loved this hostel and all the staff. Will be coming back soon hopefully and staying here. There are two people that throw bar nights. I recommend going out with the girl cause she throws he best parties. For the staff I loved the one that worked the night we left (Aug 10). He was hilarious and even though we checked out let us wait quietly for our cab. Irs literally minutes from the beach and awesome. Only problem was that the showers could he cleaner as could the bathrooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! thanks for your nice comment! Yes! come back soon! we will wait for you near the beach, Amistat style!

97%

Awesome place, friendly staff, comfy beds, breakfast included, organised group activities such as beach games, dinners & going out for the night. Swipe cards to lock your luggage up, close to awesome beach. Highly recommended. Ps you can't take alcohol in which is a nice break if you're travelling for a long time!!

  • 4th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Gracias for your comment! Hope to see you again in Amistat very soon! Best regards!

60%

Location was nice that it was near the beach but it seemed dirty in the rooms and not the best facilities. The free pasta is make your own. Lights turned off automatically at 1130pm..it was weird. Wouldn't stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are very sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Our rooms and common areas are cleaned at least 3 times a day and we turn off the general light off the rooms at 11.30 but you have your own personal light in your bed! Anyway, thanks for the comment and safe travels! :)

77%

I enjoyed my stay here. Facilities were decent and the beds weren't bad. Location is a 5-10min walk to the beach. Lot of surrounding restaurants. One critique is they have "no alcohol" mentioned on posters all over the building and make a point of mentioning it at checkin. This seems somewhat intentionally left out in the description of the hostel as a lot of people were surprised about that when checking in. It is Barcelona.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Nice that you enjoyed our location and facilities. Regarding de alcohol please note that No alcohol policy is something that you are informed on check in time. It is the government that prohibits the consumption and possession of alcohol. Please understand is not the Hostel who has made this prohibition but we have to follow the government rules. Best wishes, Amistat Beach Hostel

86%

Ideal place to stay if you're looking for value for money and to meet other travellers on your travels. People have left negative comments regarding facilities and cleanliness, end of the day for what you pay you have to accept these things are going to be basic, I thought the food and the kitchen was totally fine, bit of toast, bit of cereal, tea, coffee and juice. The only cleanliness problem I found, was that sometimes the toilets didn't seem to be cleaned some days. Great staff, felt welcome

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi my friend! Thanks for your feedback, as you know, all your comments help us to improve. About the cleanless when the Hostel is full, it's hard to keep it clean, we have a cleaning Service all day but also we need the collaboration of our guests to keep it clean. You are more than welcome to visit us again! Best wishes, Amistat Beach Hostel

94%

Super cool and fun place for young travelers. Walking distance from the beach. Have to pay for towels though.


100%

This was an amazing hostel, very friendly staff, clean, safe and in a great location. though this hostel is alcohol free but the bars are really close and they arrange for pub crawl .So can't really complain.Near to to the beach and metro station.Would definetly recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for your feedback! It is a free alcohol hostel because law prohibits consum or sell alcohol in youth hostels, but you are right there are plenty of bars around to drink and party!!. Very glad that you enjoyed your stay! Looking forward to see you again!

86%

The location is great if you're looking for the beach, which is a 5 minute walk. The city centre is around 5 minute walk + 10 minutes by train, but not too much of a hassle at 2.15 one way. The staff www really nice and helpful for booking things and just generally answering questions and giving advice. Good wifi, decent breakfast with a well-equip kitchen, electronic lockers and AC. Would definitely stay again.

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Nice that you enjoyed your stay! hope to see you again very soon Best wishes

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(86 results)


View all Barcelona Hostels

Please give us your feedback