Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Barnacles Quay Street Galway City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 2958 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 2958 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2017
4.6

We stayed at barnacle for one night, after several days in ireland, we got a room for two, the shower is Terrible, you need to press a button to get water that stopes every minute and you can't change the water temperature, the water were cold. The shower isn't broken! This is just it is! The room isn't cheap so you don't get the value for your money.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Apr 2017
8.6

Great location! the staff were very helpful too. Gave me some tips like where to venture off to that you won't get on a tour map, like the pubs in Salthill. Also they recommended one tour company (I think it was called the Galway city company) for the day trip to Connemara. I stayed with two girls who were on the other tour with a different company and they had a bad experience compared to the to the one I had that day so thanks to the staff for that help! One con: the common areas are quiet!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
9.1

Had a great stay here at the weekend, the lads at reception were all so sound and good craic! Right in the middle of everything, wish we could have stayed longer!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Apr 2017
9.4

The staff here was amazing and super helpful, and the private rooms were small but cozy and had all you need.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • joanneedwards9970
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Apr 2017
8.0

Great located hostel, staff were really helpful recommended a place to eat and where was good to do on that night. Fair sized rooms.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Apr 2017
9.7

Great location, great rooms, great staff. Ideally situated across the street from Quays pub, which has great live music every night. Special thanks to the super kind/awesome staff, especially Anthony for showing us a great time. We hope to be back real soon!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
5th Apr 2017
8.6

The location couldn't be better - right on Quay street. The hostel itself is small-ish and a bit dated. It is clean but looks a bit dingy due to the carpeting and colourful bedding. Also the bathrooms are very small and older. The beds were ok but the pillows are extremely thin. Might as well have slept on a towel. On a positive note, being in the heart of pub districts the room was very quiet at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2017
9.4

The hostel was in a great location and very easy to get to. The staff was so friendly and very helpful with anything/questions I had! Since it is in the main part of Galway it was a bit loud (people outside at bar)!at night. Other than that is was really great

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Trinidad And Tobago, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Apr 2017
9.4

What an amazing place! The location is literally right in the heart of one of the busiest and most eventful streets in Galway I would say. The room was rather cozy but the beds could definitely use an upgrade. Definitely would recommend staying to anyone interested.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Mar 2017
9.4

Great area right in the heart of where the action is, but that does come with the price of having to put up with the noise at night. Would definitely book again though! Lockers under beds where great

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.