Hostelworld.com

Barnacles Quay Street Galway City

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 2,635 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 2,635 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.4
Barnacles Quay Street Galway City Located at 10 Quay Street, , Galway.
Barnacles Quay Street Galway City
Ireland
Galway 10 Quay Street
88% 2635
53.2711736 -9.0541581
Barnacles Quay Street Galway City
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2016
8.0

Little small for us big fellas, but very neat tidy , well priced and great location, would definitly stay again

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2016
10.0

Very secure + prime location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there. Thank you for reviewing our hostel! Yes, It is severely secure and most premium location. Regards Team@Barnacles

16th May 2016
7.1

The staff was amazing but when we arrived to the hostel we found that the sheets weren't clean and the beds smelled like sweat. I bought a private 4 bedroom that was big enough for 2. Laundry is expensive as well

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
13th May 2016
6.3

Seems like a great location because it's right on the Main Street, but if you plan to sleep you'd be better off picking someplace a block or two away. The loud partying until 2 was tolerable; the incredibly loud street cleaning at daybreak was what really got to me. They do provide earplugs but honestly maybe just try somewhere else (most other places are more affordable as well).

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel. It was uncharacteristically sunny over the weekend you stayed and the locals do lose their minds whenever the sun appears, so this weekend may well have been a bigger party weekend than usual but it was the weekend. And people party on weekends :) I cannot however explain the unnecessarily early activities of the street cleaners but i would guess that they need to operate when there is as little activity on the streets as possible. The rate you paid was the weekend rate and i can believe there was another property or maybe multiple properties offering cheaper rates but i would be very surprised if it was by much more. Thanks again for the review Barnacles Team

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2016
10.0

This was my first experience starting in a hostel and I can only hope that my next few live up to Barnacles. The staff were great, the location perfect, and the facilities wonderful. I will definitely return the next time I'm in Galway.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

YES  Its great to hear your first hostel experience was so good. It really does make our work worthwhile to know this. Thank you. And do visit again! Galway is a great city with lots to do and hopefully you will get to visit again in the future. Thanks for staying at our hostel. Regards ~ Team@barnacles

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2016
8.3

A very nice hostel in the Middle of the PubStreet. Only I you want quiet in the room then ask for a room that is not at street side

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I like how you've renamed Quay Street as Pubstreet ;) Thanks for taking the time to review us, and please visit us again. We'll make sure to get you a quieter room next time. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay. Regards Team@Barnacles

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th May 2016
9.7

One of the better hostels I've stayed in. Has WiFi in the rooms, as well as a small ensuite bathroom for the 6 bed female dorm. Plug-ins and lights right beside the beds, and cages for bags underneath. Beds are close to each other but the location in excellent. Would stay at again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thank you for your excellent review of our hostel and nice comments about our facilities. Thanks for choosing our hostel and we would gladly welcome you back! Regards ~ Team@barnacles

8th May 2016
8.3

Good location, surrounded by lots of restaurants and bars. A ten minute walk to the train station. Staff were not the best. Made me wait until 3:30 to check in even though check in time is 3pm. Whenever I was at the desk getting help if someone new would walk up behind me they would stop helping me and help the other person... which I've never encountered in a hostel. Breakfast isn't the best, there's no protein. It's a good hostel but if I would return to Galway I would not stay here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th May 2016
8.9

Great location in Galway's medieval streets. Kitchen was nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th May 2016
8.9

The location was amazing. The only critique I would give is that the shower drains were clogged so the entire bathroom would basically flood everytime someone took a shower, which was pretty gross. Other than that everything was perfect!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thank you for taking time to review our hostel, our housekeeping team have taken care of the shower issue. We are very sorry that this was not prevented and we will make sure to take better care with maintenance from now on. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. We are glad you enjoyed the rest of your stay and you are welcome back anytime :) Regards Team@Barnacles

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.