Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Barnacles Quay Street Galway City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 2,760 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 2,760 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5
Barnacles Quay Street Galway City Located at 10 Quay Street, , Galway.
Barnacles Quay Street Galway City
Ireland
Galway 10 Quay Street
88% 2760
53.2711736 -9.0541581
Barnacles Quay Street Galway City
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2016
6.9

Mixed feelings after staying in this hostel. Some good aspects: great location, friendly staff, clean rooms. However, there were some annoying features. Our room was very humid and stuffy even with the window open. The room needed a fan. Breakfast was very poor: only two cereals to choose from, no fruit such as apples, bananas etc. There was very limited seating in the breakfast area, nowhere near enough to accommodation the large number of people staying in the hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Aug 2016
6.3

room carpets stained. build up of dust and hair at baseboards. allergens. too hard too clean carpetting. suggest vinyl or tile flooring. room humidity rises considerably at night; needs better ventilation. breakfast too crowded; Milk runs out without staff service. staff should retrain on creating helpful demeanor toward hostelers; a bit too cool coming off as arrogant. bring earplugs if light sleeper . . . on Quay St in thick of Latin Quarter near 24 hr carousing.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Aug 2016
8.9

Everything is good but the noise from outside bar is a bit loud. Even closing window and ear plugs didn't help.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Aug 2016
9.1

Dead centre, clean, comfortable, wonderful kitchen area. Bring earplugs if you intend to sleep, but I don't recommend sleeping in Galway. There are just too many bars you should try. Very, very, very good hostel!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Aug 2016
9.1

Best located hostel in city center. The staff is great, they informed us about the best nearby attractions like food & drinks. Only thing is that there is a lot of noise outside until at least 3am since it is the busiest street in Galway. Other than that, great hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2016
5.1

Staff member on the night shift was exceptionally bad tempered and rude. Location was great but very very noisy outside until late and then again became noisy very early, so we didnt get much sleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel and informing us of below-standard performance from staff. I am sorry for our staff’s poor behaviour. Can I ask that you provide some more information on this incident please? The location is great, indeed, and that also means we are in the middle of the action during busy nights like the bank holiday weekend that you stayed with us. Galway has a habit of partying hard and partying late, and the street facing room windows have all been fitted with sound-proofing screens and we have rooms that are deep in the building if anyone is uncomfortable sleeping streetside. You are welcome to return to us and we would appreciate the chance to accommodate you again. To help us to improve this staff situation please contact me directly at sean@barnacles.ie Regards Seán@Barnacles

31st Jul 2016
4.3

If you're looking for a place that doesn't change their sheets or clean the bathroom this is the place to be! I personally saw the staff come in and remake the bed the person the night before stayed in and didn't change the sheets or clean the bathroom. My comforter was dirty as well. I would make a point to tell people not to stay here, it is an unethical, immoral business and absolutely disgusting. It's also extremely loud as it is in the center of town so very difficult to sleep.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel and highlighting a very serious breach of our hostel practices. I apologize profusely for your bad experience and we have already began to look into it. It goes without saying, but you are welcome to return to us again and we would appreciate the chance to accommodate you the way we are supposed to. Now, may I ask you for just a few more details? This could help us find the best solution to improve this situation. Please contact me directly at sean@barnacles.ie

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jul 2016
8.6

Barnacles was great, located in a fun spot if you're into people watching, late nights, etc. Happened to walk in on a couple doing their thing in the middle of the afternoon when I needed to put my stuff in the room, but that was more of a 'them' problem than a hostel problem. I would definitely recommend staying here if you are heading to Galway.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for leaving us a review. Yes, we are in the best location for people watching, late nights and more. And by more I don’t necessarily mean catching “a couple doing their thing” as we cannot always guarantee it. But hey, this is Galway. Thank you so much for recommending Barnacles to others and hopefully we’ll see you again in the future. Thanks Seán@Barnacles

12th Jul 2016
10.0

Stayed in 6bed female ensuite. It was a great place. Nice, well kept, clean and with good kitchen and day room. Close walk to all action. About 10-15 walk to bus station and Eyrie Sq. my favorite hostel so far. Wish they were all like this.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jul 2016
8.9

Located in great area. Helpful receptionists. Cages under beds, which I think is essential in a hostel, as well as bed lights and your own wall plug, next to your bed! :-) They have it all, and also wall hangers in the bathrooms. Breakfast was poor tho, But I would recommend this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.