Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Barnacles Quay Street Galway City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2,792 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2,792 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4
Barnacles Quay Street Galway City Located at 10 Quay Street, , Galway.
Barnacles Quay Street Galway City
Ireland
Galway 10 Quay Street
87% 2792
53.2711736 -9.0541581
Barnacles Quay Street Galway City
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Sep 2016
9.4

A bit noisy from the street but it is in a prime location so I just suggest ear plugs if you go to bed early

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Sep 2016
5.1

Noisy, small room, small bed,

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • whitlock19837548
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
14th Sep 2016
6.3

Very centrally located, I would suggest staying off this main street, if it wasnt music being played at night, it was drunken people shouting, and then the cleaners making the room noisy all night. Also, the water pump made a frequent load noise. I probably wouldn't have stayed here if I had known there were guitars in the lounge. Twice I had to leave the communal lounge due to being annoyed by guitar playing Good breakfast included in price. Solid bunk bed. Underbed storage which is lockable.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Sep 2016
9.7

This is a great hostel located in the busiest part of the city - right where the action is! The accommodations are very clean and the staff at the front desk were always very helpful. The street is quite loud at night but I was surprised when I closed the window that the room was quite quiet, considering!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Sep 2016
7.4

Wifi didn't work and walls thin so woken up by noisy room beside me. Overall it was good though

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Sep 2016
9.1

Cool area, good for the price

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2016
6.3

Booked a private room and when we got to the room there was another person in the room. The group had planned on getting ready and heading out. Doing all that quietly cause someone was sleeping, wasn't a great start. Our room smelled very bad too. But it looks like the other rooms we walked past where all brand new and looked fine, think we just got a bad room. Location is great, couldn't ask for more that side of things. Probably main reason I'd maybe recommend is cause of location.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. According to our records, you booked a room for 6 but reduced the number of guests in your group to 5 before arrival. That means you no longer booked all beds in that room and we sold the other bed to someone who wanted it, that's all. We apologise if there was any odour in the room, we were not aware. We encourage all guests upon check-in to let us know if anything is not to their liking and we endeavour to solve these issues. Team@Barnacles

2nd Sep 2016
10.0

The hostel is in a perfect location, the staff was great, and the beds weren't bad! Definitely recommend Barnacles!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Heyo! Thanks so much for the review! Perfect score for Barnacles Hostel Galway! :) Wish you all the best on your travels, thanks again Team@Barnacles

1st Sep 2016
8.9

Great location, excellent employee staff, very clean and modern 14 bed dorm was very noisy and everytime somebody walked around my bed would shake starting at about 5:30 in the morning The breakfast is pretty much water and carbohydrates Bathroom floor was constantly wet from water from the shower

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Though it is said that we have excellent staff who work really hard to satisfy our customers needs, our location is unparalleled and cleanliness is one of our utmost priorities.. I'm not sure if this is the hostel you stayed with! We have never had a 14 bed dorm and our breakfast is a little more than water and carbohydrates (actually a self service buffet with toast, butter and jam, cereals, eggs *PROTEIN , fruit & juices, teas, coffee) Thanks again Team@Barnacles

30th Aug 2016
10.0

Hands down favorite hostel. Great location, friendly staff, excellent facilities. The rooms were TINY but I wasn't in the room much so whatever. Right on Quay street, which is the heart of the city. Its fairly loud at night because its right downtown, but they also give out free ear plugs so it wasn't an issue. Kitchen was immaculate, and the common room was very cozy. Lovely hostel, highly recommended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.