X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Barnacles Quay Street Galway City Reviews

10 Quay Street, Galway, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
2246 Total Reviews
  • 85%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 99%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

decent hostel, loved the area it was in.

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel, perfect location, free breakfast, all the needed amenities, private bathroom in each room! It has the best ratings for a reason


80%

Great hostel. In thé city center. Just one problem one night thé fire alarm rang and there was nobody at the réception, we tried to find someone during 30 mn I think It s à bit dangerous.

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

This spot is where you want to be in Galway. Stayed elsewhere for the first few days of my stay, and I was missing out. Stay at Barnacles.


100%

Perfect place right in the middle of Galway. Warm place and extremely clean, couldn't believe the cleanliness. Lovely place

  • 19th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Heating was not working in the private apartment. But the staff gave us an portable heating device.

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Hi our stay at Barnacles was very Central a great location to stay at. Very clean.staff were friendly and very helpfull.we would stay there again no problem.

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying with us. We are really happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. See you again soon ~ Barnacles

69%

It was good untill the 2 spanish tourists arrived in at 4 am woke everyone up then proceeded to forcefully flirt with the girl in the room even though she was making obvious efforts to ignore them and go back to sleep,when she closed her eyes and started to doze and ignore them one kissed her out of no were. Very uncomfortable atmosphere and could not sleep after,left as early as I could the next morning.

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there Sorry to hear about your inconsiderate room mates and the discomfort you experienced from their bad behaviour. This behaviour is not acceptable had you or someone in your room let us know about this at the time we would have removed the men in question. Again we are sorry to hear it spoiled your stay and we hope to get to meet you again under more pleasant circumstances ~ Barnacles

94%

The only thing that needs improvement is the quality of the breakfast Staff, location and set up, in general great

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your suggestion about breakfast we are taking on board. We have made additions to our breakfast over the past year and it now includes, 2 types of juice, 2 cereals, fruit salad, teas,/coffee/hot choc and bread and preserves but maybe its time for another relook. Thanks for staying us and kind comments about the other areas ~Barnacles

89%

Wonderful stay as always. The recptionists are so sweet! I must remember their names next time to give them proper kudos. Signed up for 4 girls in a 12 person room and got a 4 person room for the same price. The night porter was a bit rude and intrusive, but we were a bit loud so I can't really complain to much. Will always stay here when in Galway! Wonderful experience once again :) just wish I remembered a hand towel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for coming back to us, and we look forward to seeing you again soon. ~ Barnacles

91%

I first came four years ago and I liked the confort of the ensuite and the location of the hostel. This time, I have appreciated the brand new kitchen and the breakfast was good. Besides, the staff is always friendly and helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to see you again and glad to hear you like our brand new kitchen, we like it too:). We appreciate you returning to us and hope to see you again, and who knows what new stuff we will have done by then. ~ Barnacles crew

83%

The facilities and staff were awesome, but our room was really loud at night due to the bar across the street. There was also a bit of a weird vibe, but that may have been just caused by the people that were there when I was, which I realize is beyond their control.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for nice message about our staff, this will encourage us to keep working hard to make our guests happy. Our hostel is in a great location in the middle of Latin quarter, near all the great bars, restaurants and cafes and sometimes it can get a little noisy but its still the best location to be in the city. Not sure about the vibe you mention but hopefully all good now:) ~ Barnacles

63%

No hot water in some showers (for three days).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for letting us know about water temp in showers during your stay, and I apologise for the discomfort. Had you let us know this while you were staying we would have our maintenance department rectify it asap. Despite this I hope you enjoyed your stay with us and in Galway

94%

Was amazing

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malawi
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you. And we think you are amazing too!:)

100%

Everything is nice. You must stay in here!!!!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to hear you really enjoyed your stay at our hostel. Hope to see you again soon

60%

The beds were too short and the showers were automatic.

  • 14th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Kiribati
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
All our beds are the standard 180cm in length you find in most hostels. We are sorry to hear this wasn't comfortable for you. A few of our showers are automatic but the majority are not. Next time we can arrange a room without automatic showers for you. Thanks for staying. ~ Barnacles

71%

As you would expect for the money.... Good service, secure, warm, hot showers... Rooms quite compact....Gotta be out by 10:30 and you will have housekeeping knocking at the door then pretty much on the button! This is not ideal after a night out! Breakfast is 7-9:30... Wasn't up in time to have it.

  • 27th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thank you for staying with us. We have a late check out option until 12 noon, so next time let us know you would like a lie in and we will be happy to arrange this for you, and a coffee/tea when you get up :) ~ Barnacles crew

100%

Perfect!!!!


94%

Stayed in the 12 bed for 2 nights, Saturday and Sunday. Some of the nicest staff I have met, really helpful. Location is great as you are in the middle of town. Home feeling common room and a guitar! There can be lots of street noise as there are a couple bars just below. Wasn't too bothersome.


100%

Amazing place to stay. Perfect location to go shopping and also to go sight seeing. The staff is excellent and very helpful. The atmosphere is nice as well. You feel right at home while you're here.


« first « Prev 1 2
(32 results)


View all Galway Hostels

Please give us your feedback