Hostelworld.com

Barnacles Quay Street Galway City

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 2,609 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 2,609 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5
Barnacles Quay Street Galway City Located at 10 Quay Street, , Galway.
Barnacles Quay Street Galway City
Ireland
Galway 10 Quay Street
88% 2609
53.2711736 -9.0541581
Barnacles Quay Street Galway City
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
10.0

Amazing !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there! Many thanks for your wonderful review, we appreciate this and your business. Looking forward to having you stay with us again soon. Regards ~ Team@barnacles

15th Apr 2016
10.0

GREAT HOSTEL. Best I have stayed in...Friendly and accommodating staff, clean, lots of space, and good security. The best part was it's location, exactly where you want to be in Galway!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi! Many thanks for your wonderful review, we appreciate this and your business. Looking forward to having you stay with us again soon. Regards ~ Team@barnacles

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2016
8.3

Really good location in the most action packed bit of Galway. It's noisy outside and sometimes the rooms are musty, but the shops, restaurants, st nicholas market, buskers, street performers, and all that are right outside the door. Plus you can meet people from all over the world over the free breakfast or in the lounge. Fun atmosphere and cheap-for-location price.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your nice review about our hostel, breakfast, lounge and location...! we appreciate your feedback. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. ~ Barnacles

27th Mar 2016
9.4

The showers never really got hot but everything else was great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your nice review about our hostel and staff, we appreciate your feedback. Our reception is open 24/7 and our staff are on hand to tackle any issues presented to us. Next time your by, let us know if you come up against any problems and we'll sort them out for you :) . Just show your security card to our night staff when you come back after midnight and they will let you in. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. ~ Barnacles

27th Mar 2016
9.1

Great great location! Nice staff too, free breakfast was lacking but it was free so no complaining! Fun place and near everything

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your nice review about our hostel and staff, we appreciate your feedback. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. ~ Barnacles

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2016
7.7

The staff was very helpful and friendly. The living quarters were hospitable and in the city center. The only complaint that I have is that one of beds close to the ceiling had mould and was dripping water.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there, Thank you for reviewing your stay, we appreciate your feedback. Sorry to hear there was an issue with the ceiling near your bed, this has since been resolved by our maintenance team. If you are coming to Galway again feel free to contact me directly to arrange a discount on future accommodation. We value your customer. Regards ~ Ann Barrett, Manager

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2016
10.0

Great place. Good kitchen and cool dining room. Friendly front desk staff and night staff. Only downside was doors locked at 3 am if you are out with the boys

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your nice review about our hostel and staff, we appreciate your feedback. Our hostel is open 24 hours and we have no curfew so you can come and go any time during the night. Just show your security card to our night staff when you come back after midnight and they will let you in. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon. ~ Barnacles

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Mar 2016
10.0

We booked a twin room. Hostel overbooked and placed us in 2 bed apartment instead. Great service. Friendly staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi there Thanks for your fantastic review. We are delighted you enjoyed our apartment, and looking forward to seeing you back again soon. ~ Barnacles

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Mar 2016
8.9

I cannot fault the hostel in any way. The facilities were good and clean with a kitchen available to use. The only thing I didnt like was the noise coming from the outside. This isnt the fault of the hostel, just have to deal with it for the location. For that reason only, I would find different accomodation next time

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for letting us know about your stay and thanks for your nice comments about our hostel. Our hostel is located in the Latin Quarter surrounded by all the best cafes, restaurants and bars people come to Galway for and sometimes it can be a little noisy outside, we do have complimentary earplugs available at reception or next time ask for a room at the back of the house and we will be happy to arrange this for you. Thanks for staying with us ~ Barnacles

  • star__flakes688
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
18th Mar 2016
8.9

Great location! Good hostel. Beds were a bit small. Great kitchen, and common area. Our room was a bit loud from the street pretty late. Earplugs are free though. Overall a good place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your feedback and we hope to see you again soon ~ Barnacles

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.