Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Barnacles Quay Street Galway City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 3088 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 3088 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Aug 2017
8.3

Fantastic location, friendly staff, clean place and secure storage of valuables. However, you should advise people to bring a padlock for the storage cage under each bed. Also, during the height of the tourist season, 9:30 a.m. seems too early to finish with the 'free breakfast', considering Galway is hopping till very late at night, especially at weekends. Also, some soap in the dispenser in the bathroom would be nice. I would stay again and would recommend Barnacles.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2017
9.1

I higly recommend this hostel. It is a great place to stay in the very heart of Galway.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2017
9.4

We had a lovely stay at this hostel. Location is perfect, front desk staff are lovely. Will definitely be back again. Thanks !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2017
10.0

2nd time staying here. Freaking love this place and will 100% be coming again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Aug 2017
9.7

Got a nice compliment on my mustache when i walked in so that was nice. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2017
10.0

Great place in Galway!! Location cant be better, beds are confortable and warm, clean room, clean bathroom, great professional and kind staff!!. i skip breakfast but im sure was good. Thank you so much! ill stay here again and recommend ir for sure!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2017
9.7

Great hostel for its central location to all the bars/shops. Great staff to help with any locations on where to go or what to see

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Jul 2017
9.4

Centrally located (literally the same street) in the best part of the city. Dorms are small but do the trick. Great lounge area, nice & helpful staff. One of the better hostels in the area

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Jul 2017
8.9

Nice hostel with a good kitchen and friendly staff. If your room faces the street, it will be extremely noisy at night due to the quay st location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2017
2.0

You charged me after saying it was cancelled and there would be no charge.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.