Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Barnacles Quay Street Galway City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 3019 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 3019 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.8
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Jun 2017
7.7

We were told there would be gluten free options at breakfast, when we asked the girl looked at us like we were crazy. Breakfast definitely needs different options. It is literally bread and cereal. Glad we didn't have to pay for it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi thanks for the review. Have to say, we are not sure you are talking about Barnacles Galway. We have no record of any gluten free guests for the dates you stayed, no record of guests asking reception for gluten free options either. Our breakfast (which is always included in the price) includes a little more than just bread and cereal; apple and orange juices, good coffee and great pancakes, herbal teas, honey, jam, chocolate spread etc. We have gluten free granola in reserve for any one looking for a gluten free option, we just need a friendly aul heads up. Please let us know who you were in contact with about the gluten free options. Thanks again for the review. Seán Barnacles

16th Jun 2017
9.4

My initial impression was extremely impressed due to its fantastic location on Shop Street --- right in the center of the action of the pubs and buskers, close enough to "local town" Galway and the main street where there are more tourists. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful in helping us know what to do and look for in Galway and around. the breakfast is decent; cereal, toast, and pancakes, plus a coffee machine for cappucino/latte/etc.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • nallainecalvo
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jun 2017
9.4

Great stay! I toilet for a 12 person dorm is pushing it a bit though lol

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Jun 2017
8.6

Staff was really friendly and helpful. The place itself was really quaint and perfectly placed in town-it even has discounts (restaurants/tours etc) for some of the places around town. Overall great stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2017
10.0

Had an interesting time in Galway, staff very friendly and helpful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Quality review! Thank you SO much! Cheers Barnacles

  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Jun 2017
9.1

Parking was an issue! A little noisy, but great and dependable place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

You should have given us a call! We have a deal with a nearby multi-storey. Easy to find, cheap too :) Cheers Barnacles

6th Jun 2017
8.0

It was exactly as it stated and I enjoyed my stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Jun 2017
9.1

I very much liked the kitchen. I liked how easy it was to find. Downside is that the music outside goes till pretty late so if you have an early morning ahead of you maybe request a room not on the street.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2017
10.0

best location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2017
8.9

I really enjoyed my stay here! I liked that there was a shared bathroom for each room. The hostel was perfectly located and the staff was incredibly nice! Would definitely stay there again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.