Hostelworld.com

Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 2,900 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 2,900 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel Located at 6F, 350 South Shanxi Road, , Shanghai.
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
China
Shanghai 200001 6F, 350 South Shanxi Road
86% 2900
31.2394809 121.4813661
Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th May 2016
8.0

Location and value for Shanghai were great! Really close to a metro stop, can walk to the Bund, not far from Yu Garden. Atmosphere while we were there was so/so but may have just been the current guests. Common room has a bar and decent amount of seating. Rooms are nothing special but decent sized and clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th May 2016
9.7

This place is great

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th May 2016
8.9

Nice place. I was a little uncomfortable walking down the street at night by myself - in a somewhat dark location. I only stayed here one night and it was all I needed for that. Locker was large - could fit both of my suitcases - lock was provided.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th May 2016
10.0

My stay here was fantastic. The hostel is very close to good, cheap food (and provides western breakfasts if you so desire), it's very close to the subway, making the entire city quite accessible, and also close to the Bund (hence the name), making morning walks along the river irresistible. The hostel has a projector that they use to show movies in the evening, so if you aren't the night life type, never fear, there'll be people there watching that you can chat with. I liked this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
12th May 2016
8.9

The hostel is near a metro,maybe 5mins walk. The place is clean,and they keep your bags the day you check out.the food is overpriced. The only downside was that only a few of the staff spoke English well enough but most did not,so many things were lost in translation.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th May 2016
6.9

Hostel was fine. Stayed in a 3 bed private. Room was small, but typical for China. Location was excellent, staff were okay. Don't bother with food from the hostel it takes forever and is overpriced. Overall I would stay based on the location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th May 2016
9.4

Positives - very clean, perfect location, friendly staff, big comfy beds and accompanying big locker with padlock, lots of showers, sinks and toilets Negatives - not a very social atmosphere, you can't bring in your own food and drink in common areas and some of the hostel food and drink is overpriced Would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th May 2016
4.0

Above 8 rating is misleading. Deserves around 6.5-7 overall. No common room, only a big disorganised bar with highly overpriced items (5 Rmb for 500 ml water bottle???). No wifi in the room or nearby place, only in the bar area. Towels are not included. Security is bad, Someone threw away my 1 shoe and left 1 behind, I asked and they said "We gave a locker, not our problem if you loose your shoe from our room". Go figure. Its on 6th floor, good luck with carrying your luggage when lift is out.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
5th May 2016
9.4

Nice hostel. Lies on the 6th floor. Had a private room for 3 days. Nice air con in room. Friendly staff. Good location very close to metro line 2 station which makes it easy to get around. Lots of small and cheap Chinese street restaurants on the road outside with excellent food. Would recommend this hostel and would be happy to stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th May 2016
7.4

The ONE gripe I have was this: nowhere in the e-mail I received giving directions to the hostel did it mention that the hostel was actually located in a hotel complex, meaning there were zero signs outside with the hostel's name on it. I walked up and down the road several times before looking up the hostel on my TripAdvisor app and realizing my oversight. I was a little annoyed about that, especially since I was travelling alone. Otherwise, the hostel was clean, quiet and well-managed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.