Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 3248 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 3248 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2017
9.4

Nice people, freindly stuff, especially xiaogang

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th May 2017
9.4

The Blue Mountain Bund Hostel was great. Very conveniently located near East Nanjing station (on line 2 which connects both airports), all the shops and eateries along Nanjing rd and just a 10 minute walk to the waterfront to take in the sights of Shanghai tower and skyline at night. The staff were very friendly and despite their limited English were really helpful and even helped me to book tickets to see the Shanghai Acrobatic Troop. The only downside was the bathrooms were often not clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2017
8.6

The stuff is really helpful and sympathique with a very good English. Need cash for the payment. The room was clean, Lights inside are correct, modern and good lights . Close to the bund and to very exciting local places, foodstuff, shops and interesting local things and people. Nice tea shop just 1 minute walk with half the price of tea shops in Nanjing road. Also, taste the local food stuff, dumplings restaurant with local people.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th May 2017
8.3

Pretty good hostel. The location can't be beat as it's very close to East Nanjin Road station and is just a 10 minute walk to the Bund and the excellent night view. The private room I had was clean and spacious. The common area is nice with a good bar and there's usually people up for a good chat. Not exactly a party hostel but full of friendly faces. My only complaint would be the weak lighting in the room but nothing major.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Apr 2017
7.1

Great location as everyone says as it's only a few minutes walk to the main street. Good atmosphere and as a solo traveller I met a few people here to hang out with. Negatives were definitely around cleanliness and facilities, showers were the worst I've had from four months of travelling. Couple didn't have working lights and some smelt so bad that I didn't want to use them. Toilets and showers definitely need improving but aside from that it's a nice hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
27th Apr 2017
7.7

The staff at Blue Mountain were really friendly and helpful. Decent location for the Bund and East Nanjing Road Station. The bed was comfy and was plenty of space in the dorm with a huge locker for your suitcase. As you can't flush toilet paper, the toilets always smelt as the bins didnt seem to be emptied regularly. You also had to wait for ages in the morning to actually use the toilet as people used them to get changed in. Irritating that you can only use wifi in the lobby.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2017
8.9

Great location, good common space, fairly helpful staff. Enjoyed my stay here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
17th Apr 2017
7.1

location good, 10min walk to the bund and 5mins to metro. hostel rooms were not as nice for the price i paid when ive paid cheaper for nicer before. they said there was luggage storage, which literally meant leaving your stuff in a pile with others luggage with just a tag on it... no security whatsoever. rooftop was cool. staff were helpful... i just think it was more pricey than was worth but was a good stay just for 2 days

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
17th Apr 2017
8.3

The room was clean, the beds were comfortable and decent sized lockers and you can borrow a lock to lock them. All the showers and toilets are shared with all the rooms but I didn't have any trouble waiting to use either of them. Downside: no wifi in any dorms just the lobby which isn't a bad thing really. Dorm door was faulty, last night I stayed there the door lock was broken. Some of the staff were quite rude. 2 of them were super helpful though. Also provide a Shanghai Map, would be helpful!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
8.6

Friendly staff, good location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.