Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 3213 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 3213 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Apr 2017
9.1

Had a nice stay here! Staff were super helpful and friendly. Wifi's pretty annoying though and only really covers the lobby area - and some rooms that are close enough. Good location though only a few mins from Nanjing road and a metro stop. Bathrooms were overall clean, but toilet paper bins could do with being emptied a bit more often. Overall would recommend for price and facilities otherwise! Thanks!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • NDiamond
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Apr 2017
8.9

Great atmosphere in this hostel with a nice common area. Had a great time and met some cool people around the pool table. Location is central right by a metro and the beds were pretty comfy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
10.0

This is my favourate hotel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2017
7.4

You get what you pay. Beds are uncomfortable but liveable. There's a lot of noise, walls are so thin you can hear people showering. The showers are not very clean, I did see a roach walk by, wear flip flops and try to do it as fast as you can. However if you can overlook that, location is superb, you won't get closer to the bund for this kind of money. Breakfast is decent and cheap, but they don't have it on Sundays

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2017
9.4

Great location. Had 2 rooms as we travelled with teenagers, and both were good. Breakfast were meager compared to other hostels we stayed in China.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
5th Apr 2017
8.6

Great location! The showers could probably do with an upgrade but that's definitely not the end of the world. The hostel has a bar and a very spacious 6th floor balcony which I can imagine is fantastic during the warmer months.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2017
7.7

Overall, the location is wonderful; you are so close to the street markets, The Bund, Garden Bridge, and Nanjing Road (everything I really wanted to see in Shanghai). The staff is very helpful and kind. However, the bathrooms were not clean. The toilets advertised that they get clean daily but it smelled purely of urine and had stains on the seat. The showers also had lots of stain so shower shoes and quick rinsing was a must. In my opinion, the hostel emulated Shanghai's cleanliness.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • leeleeholden
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Apr 2017
8.0

Great accomodation in an excellent location. Only issue we had (arriving at night) was finding it! We didn't realise it would be inside a large building on The 6th floor- that's what the 6F meant... oops! Our room had a great little balcony with a view.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2017
10.0

Blue Mountain Bund Youth Hostel is in a great location and has a great atmosphere to meet other travelers. All of my expectations for a hostel were met or exceeded. I would recommend this hostel for any person traveling to Shanghai for the first time like me.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
9.1

Staff was helpful with assisting me when I lost my phone in the city. Luggage storage seems haphazard with stuff stored all over the common area, but it works.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.