Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Blue Mountain HongQiao Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 713 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 713 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Apr 2017
6.3

Got 2 mosquito bites. Dorm room was damp, muggy, and very messy.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Apr 2017
8.6

The hostel is near metro line 2, and although it's not in the centre, it's really easy to find and the metro brings you to all the main sights within half an hour. There are some nice simple restaurants nearby and places that do Chinese pancakes and steamed buns for breakfast. The staff pointed this out, as the hostel doesn't serve food! Not a problem though, with aforementioned options and a supermarket nearby. The staff are really friendly and speak English :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Apr 2017
8.6

Overall this was a great place to stay! Extremely close to the subway station which made getting to different parts of Shanghai easy. The movies at night were a lot of fun and a good way to have some downtime!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Apr 2017
8.9

Good place, good people, great great staff, the building could do better im maintenance but overall it was a good experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2017
7.1

The lounge seating is not particularly comfortable and there is no "quiet" area. The drinks were not very cold in the refrigerator. The double private room was quiet and comfortable but to relax properly I walked to the local Starbucks (8minutes). The location is convenient for the train station, airport and city. The local noodle restaurant (at the end of the street) is excellent.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Apr 2017
6.6

Okay for the price but this hostel is not as pleasant or clean as the other blue mountain in shanghai

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2017
8.3

The hostel is 2 subway stops away from Hongqiao Airport and is very near the Beixinjing subway station, so very convenient to get around Shanghai. The hostel itself is nice and a good place for the price. The staff are friendly. I would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kayaway692771
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Globetrotter
  • 57 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
10.0

May be bit away from central but line 2 metro connects with all main sites and only $5 US for each ride. A carrefour supermarket three stops away. Oh delightful. Brown bread. Cheese and butter plus salad veg. Most comfy beds in China. Good showers. Real cheap restaurants right next door with great food.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • liankilloran
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
5th Feb 2017
8.3

Great beds and spacious lockers. Hot water dispenser but unfortunately no cold water. Bathrooms were very nice and they had awesome shower heads for the tall travelers. Seems like people smoked in the toilet stalls though, a bit gross. Staff was super helpful and answered our questions. Location is great since there are many cheap restaurants. Also near a metro station and convenience store. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to others!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th Jan 2017
6.9

Even though my rating isn't amazing, I had fun at this hostel. For Chinese New Year the staff made two massive hotpots for the guests and we had a great time. The staff is superb, but I can't say the same about the location or cleanliness. I wouldn't stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.