Hostelworld.com

City Central International Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 2,845 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 2,845 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.5
City Central International Hostel Located at No.300 Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai.
City Central International Hostel
China
Shanghai 200063 No.300 Wuning Road, Putuo District
75% 2845
31.2407285 121.4214348
City Central International Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
8.9

I didn't like that you couldn't bring your own food or drink into the restaurant. There wasn't an area to eat otherwise. Food at the restaurant was awful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Apr 2016
9.7

Only had a very brief overnight stay, staff were helpful, location is excellent, they stored my suitcase before I checked in for 10 yuan/night, which was really useful. Close to the subway, just be careful if you want a taxi, it's the main hostel in the area so a lot of taxi drivers turn their lights of while going past or just don't stop, walk up the road until after the next junction if you're having trouble catching one.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Apr 2016
5.7

We had a lot of problems because our card wasn't working and it didn't work for two days. The common area was empty even during weekend and the music was too loud. No wifi in the rooms and very loud people all around. I have seen better hostel even if we are in China!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
8.3

Clean, friendly and comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Mar 2016
6.0

GOOD - Affordable - Near good metro station - Know English BAD - Room was extremely smelly. Clothes, even those not taken out of the baggage got that nasty tobacco smell. - Wifi didn't reach our room (4th floor). Luckily we had a laptop with connections (they provide you with an ethernet cable). It was a PITA to set up sharing of wifi from the laptop to the phones though. - No shampoo, even when it was said in the description of "Superior twin rooms". - Only 1 chair (a stool really).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Mar 2016
8.6

Standard Hostel - near the subway, hot shower, locks on the doors, oxygen in the air. No complaints, would probably stay there again...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2016
4.3

This hostel was just awful. The staff was not friendly and the location was terrible. When I asked the staff for help, they made it seem like I was asking them for a kidney. The rooms were freezing and the heater barely worked. I would not recommend anyone to stay here because there are way better options in Shanghai for the price. The washer/dryers were also terrible. Avoid this place.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
10th Mar 2016
8.3

I stayed at City Central for 6 nights in the 4 bed lady dorm room :) it was totally fine! I trusted my roommates enough so that we all had our things laying around. The only thing you should know about this hostel is that it's a party hostel! All people talked about was drinking or getting drunk. The cantina here was as expensive as in America, and the Internet is pretty poor :/ But it's fairly close to the caoyang metro (something like that) station which is dope

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
8th Mar 2016
6.0

No wifi and imporsonal personnel. I don't need or care for much, but I will dislike a place with these two things! Apart from having no plugs around the bed (you want your phone close not a cross the room at night) everyrhing else was great. But I cant handel rude personal or having no wifi at all!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Zimbabwe, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Feb 2016
10.0

My sister and I stayed here for nearly two weeks when visiting Shanghai. Great location, easy walking to the Caoyang metro, friendly and helpful staff, immaculate rooms with great shower and plenty of hot water, Great heating and extra duvets on request. Loved the blackout curtains. Only problem was the loo which blocked twice but this was quickly sorted out. The public areas were good and I enjoyed the massage chairs. We were there over Chinese New Year and invited to the staff party! Thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.