Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

City Central International Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 2952 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 2952 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 7.3
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
4th May 2017
8.3

This hostel is really close to the metro, so its easy to get around the city. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hostel atmosphere was a little quiet, but I appreciated that as I was only in the city for a short weekend of sightseeing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Apr 2017
8.0

The staff were really helpful and the atmosphere was fun. It's very close to a metro stop, but not the closest to popular locations

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2017
8.9

I find traveling solo at 78 that staying in hostels is good for me. I meet many people most speak English which is nice. I found in China that young people were generally curious about older people traveling. This is a great hostel and I will certainly stay there again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Apr 2017
10.0

It's great place, awesome atmosphere, great staff, clean and cheap. Cool bar and common area. Wifi great in the common area but not exsistent in rooms.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alexandrecarrier5177
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th Apr 2017
7.7

I recommend this hostel in Shanghai. It is located in the western part of the city, close by a subway station where three different lines cross (this is very useful in Shanghai). Breakfast is not included, but there's a nice market where good food is made, in the street right next to the hostel. The rooms are typical hostel rooms. Bathrooms are located on each floor and can be used by anyone in the hostel. I highly recommend the use of flipflops.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
8.9

Have used this hostel many times on trips to Shanghai, it fulfills every need you have. It's basic, but clean and I would definitely revisit.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2017
10.0

Awesome location, nice staff, big clean beds, good service and a cool bar. Perfect! I can strongly recommend this!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Feb 2017
3.7

The front desk help barely talked to me and seemed upset to have a customer, he was more concerned about answering phones. My room was beside the staff room and I smelled smoke from there regularly as well as very loud talking. My room faced the patio and all conversations from outside were heard in my room. I did not feel safe in the room. I felt I was a burden as a customer. They also processed my bill wrong and I had to go back and pay more money for a room I did not like or want to stay in.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jan 2017
10.0

Old timer guest here since 2013. Nice accommodation for a budget traveler. Best thing is they're accepting international credit cards. Highly recommended if you are not choosy with people whom you're going to be with the same room if you plan to book for a mixed dorm type :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Peru, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
5.7

Kahfhbfgj

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.