X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

City Central International Hostel Reviews

No.300 Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
2450 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

The hostel looks great, and has this ambiance of nice hang-out place, where you can sip a coffee away from the crowds and heat, hang out and talk with some people or just get ready for some more Shanghai sights. The staff helped out with all kinds of questions, good short descriptions on the walls where to go. Feels like good value for money to stay in the private rooms, efficient AC to survive the heat. The breakfast was good in the "bar". Location fairly fast to get to downtown Shanghai.


83%

Everything was nice except forno internet in the room


100%

The best!!!


80%

NO WIFI IN THE ROOM


77%

In general the hostel is good, but the bathroom was not that clean. Location is good,. Food is good but a little bit overpriced for China. Wifi does not work good in the rooms, you will have to go to the reception to get signal. Staff is not that friendly sometimes, but others that are ok.


60%

Decent hostel! Breakfast is included which is nice.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

PROS: young backpacker atmosphere... large bar/restaurant good for hanging out... breakfast pretty good (make sure you mention if you like your eggs anything but overdone) CONS: lots of guests and therefore a somewhat apathetic staff. You don't get the personal touches like you do in smaller hostels (not even shown to room)..... 6th floor reeks of garbage, is a really ugly bare bones room,


83%

no safety box in the rooms, but safety box in the lobby Location: like 20 minute cab ride to the Bund/Nanjing Lu, really nothing interesting nearby, and nearly no restaurants Staff: mostly English speaking, one guy was a prick to me for no reason. He sure perked up when a pretty Chinese girl came up to the desk though. Fuck that noise. very youth hostel-ly, lipstick stain near my door. Nice bar. Clean some showers had good water pressure/heat, some didn't. relatively clean, not a problem

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Hostelworld.com was easy to find places to stay, and it is easy to make a payment. The only thing they need to fix is the descriptions of the rooms. They use awkward wording to describe things like how many beds are in a room, so sometimes it is unclear what you are looking at.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

I heard this place was better before they changed management, and it sure seems like it has the potential of being a cool place. The restaurant is a joke, they charge you so much for so little. Go next door food is better, although the atmosphere of the common space is nice. The staff is just okay, not the nicest nor the most special. The place is not clean though, public bathrooms are awful. They might be you in a scary dorm smells like cigarettes and stained walls, holes in the floor.


57%

몇번 이용해 봤지만 화장실은 냄새나고 청소가 제대로 안됨 .샤워 시설도 적음. 도심지 아니라 여행시 좀 불편 나머진 그럭저럭

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments. See you next time!

100%

Good location,good staff,everything is good.I am very happy to stay here!

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI nihao, we are so happy to hear that you have a nice stay in our hostel, as a biggest and one of the popular hostel in Shanghai, More and more customers would like to choose our hostel to stay, Definitely we will do everything better and better, thanks again! Best wishes. Amelia

71%

Everything was ok but there is an obvious flaw...why is everyone always at the first floor? There is no wifi anywhere else so everyone is stuck there fighting for places to sit down where there is wifi.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


29%

Incredibly rude staff, middle of nowhere, overpriced crap food! Stay at mingtown Nanjing road, cheaper and better


77%

The place is good except AC was not working in my room so it was really hot.

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Tanzania
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

I booked a six bed room and got an upgrade to a 4 bed room, due to availability. Asking the people in the hostel, many of them did so. They only have one 6 bed room. The beds were bigger than average in china. The room was clean and then bathroom was ok, you should bring flip-flops for showering though. Met nice people to check the sights and going for partying. I would recommend this place!

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

the staff knocked the door on 7:00 am to get the passport info, which they missed the day before. and did not even say sorry. that is rude.


100%

Great place to chill out, wash cloths, and grab some food.... overall excellent experience. ...

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI nihao, we are so happy to hear that you have a nice stay in our hostel, as a biggest and one of the popular hostel in Shanghai, More and more customers would like to choose our hostel to stay, Definitely we will do everything better and better, thanks again! Best wishes. Amelia

94%

Great place to stay in Shanghai, although not in the centre of the city itself it was really close to the subway so everything was in easy reach (and the subway is really cheap, much better than getting taxis). Fantastic atmosphere and the bar cocktails were amazing, definitely would recommend before a night out. Beware of little kitten that has a habit of trying to eat you, but other than that devil I will definitely be back! Also dorms were the best I stayed in in China.


83%

Lovley hostel! Very close to a shanghai metro stop but a bit harder to get taxis late at night back to hostel from city centre as it is a bit far out. Couldn't fault the hostel had a fantastic stay :-)

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(111 results)


View all Shanghai Hostels

Please give us your feedback