X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

City Central International Hostel Reviews

No.300 Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
2627 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

I think they need to arrange at least 2 staff at the reception, it took around 15 mins to wait for check-in/check-out


97%

Great hostel, friendly staff and great atmosphere


51%

Hallways always smelled bad. The was from bathroom

  • 7th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Classic Shanghai hostel for budget travelers. The lobby has very limited seating, but the location is nice, and it has a certain charm to it.


89%

The hostel had a very friendly atmosphere. The staff we're extremely helpful and offered a variety of different trips :). However the location was a bit out of town the subway was very close.


46%

The hot water was inconsistent which was pretty frustrating In the middle of winter. The wifi was abysmal and only worked in the bar or foyer, not in our room which was on the first floor. I felt like their only interest was money which was reflected in their service. Will not return or recommend.

  • 14th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The facilities are very nice, and clean. The only problem was that a foreign college decided to house its students their and they took over the small cafe which is like a common ground, as they did their speeches which was very inappropriate that allowed must of us to leave. The dorm rooms have a heater but no remote, so it kept going nonstop. The staff were friendly and nice. I would stay again.

  • 19th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Food and beer is too expensive. The hostel is very nice and the atmosphere too!


86%

The hostel is not central, but it is close to the subway and the distance from the hostel to central shanghai was really no problem. There is one change to rewch line 2, and frim there you can travel to places of interest very easily. Alternatively, taxi is cheap and also convient. The staff were really helpful and positive, they do a good job! The room was really clean and comfortable enough. Just hard bed (but in china harder beds are popular!). Hey, for what was £10 for one night !


94%

I always stay here! I love it. Friendly staff, good food and very close to the subway. Love you, Matt from Sweden.

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


46%

It was a very disappointing stay. The whole place stinks cigarette the moment you walk into the front door. Ppl just smoke everywhere there - in the room, corridor, bathroom. Everywhere. I only stayed the night but bcos I had previously booked and paid. The beds itself are ok tho and bed sheet clean.


66%

Decent location and pretty close to subway. However, poor showers as water pressure was lousy.

  • 2nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel! The bar & restaurant is fantastic,the food is incredible tasty with comfortable room lived, and Amelia is amazing friendly and helpful,very convenient to the metro, would stay again and highly recommend.

  • 25th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Staff extremely friendly and helpful. On my first night I was allowed to switch rooms as one guys snoring was actually unbearable. The next two nights I had a private room, comfortable bed, quite fast internet connection. The hostel bar area, is a great way of getting chatting to other travellers. Yes, crossing the road to the hostel can take some time, but this is China. Also, check out the shopping mall opposite, for some cheap eats :)


77%

Recently stayed for 3 nights, the first in a 4-bed dorm and the other 2 nights in a private room. On the first night, the receptionist allowed me to swap rooms as one guy's snoring was unbearable. Staff very friendly, private room comfortable, with decent internet speed. Easy to get talking to other travellers at the hostel bar :)


63%

The reception tended to have problems understanding requests in English and turned out to be mostly unhelpful. The rest of the hostel was nice. A fine place to stay, but a little bit out of the way.


89%

Friendly English speaking staff. Clean premises. nice bar for hanging out with friends.


37%

This hostel is brutal. Yes it's cheap, but it also has the feel of a prison. The showers are bad, the staff is slow and not very friendly..and unlike many hostels out there, they don't rent towels...oh wait let me rephrase that, they tell you they rent towels for a depoist of 40 RMB, but when you go to return the towels another staff member says... no we don't rent towels, you own that towel now. I would never stay here again.

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Friendly and helpful staff, good location, clean rooms, good value for money.


26%

The location of this place is awful. Called the 'City Central' but way out on line 3 and well away from the city centre. Awful busy road (6 lanes of crazy traffic) to cross from MRT. Hostel itself nickel and dimes over everything. Drinks/snacks twice the price of the local shops for the same thing, they charge for a padlock for the lockers, plus for towels as well as using internet! No soap in the showers either and were out of loo paper when I needed. Staff next to useless and unsecure

  • 7th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Indian Ocean Territory
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(53 results)


View all Shanghai Hostels

Please give us your feedback