X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

City Central International Hostel Reviews

No.300 Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
2472 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

우선 싱글룸 이용했는데 가격대비 방도 깨끗했고 청소상태도 좋았습니다 늦게일어나서 잠깐 나왔다 들어갔지만 방청소도 깨끗이 되있었구요 호스텔 내부에있는 카페겸 레스토랑에서의 식사도 괜찮았습니다 가격은 쪼금..쌧던거같지만^^; 가장 가까운 지하철 역까지 약 이백미터? 안팍입니다 시내 외각쪽에 있어서 근처에는 크게 둘러볼만한게 없었다는점이 아쉽네요. 스탭들 전부 영어 소통 잘됩니다. 방에서 와이파이는 잘 안됩니다 상해 거의 모든 실내에서와 마찬가지로..전반적으로 편안하게 쉴수있어 좋았습니다


77%

the girl work at the bar not so friendly. actually really rude. that disappointed me very much. but the room price is attractive, its good choice for travelers who has tight budget.


60%

The staff Don t sort out the problems, then Don t rent the towels you need to buy to them,the dryer is not working,if you need the computer you need to pay,you need to pay almost for every thing

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

I find absurd those computers, they're old and most of them doesn't work properly, plus i shouldn't have to pay nothing to use the internet, for sure not 1yuan per 15 min. And the wifi didn't work in my room, again, absurd the staff was great, thought.


60%

The hostel was alright except for some of the staff; especially a kiond of snotty, arrogant guy named Li. Otherwise it was okay.


46%

There are some good aspects but also many bad aspects. The bad: smoking is allowed everywhere, even in the dorm rooms. Toilet and showers get cleaned once every two days so the piss is smellable from the hallway. Some staff members were very nice but some were terrible. Also: laundry dryer works very poorly, two hours of drying yielded wet clothes. The good: short distance to subway. Pc's useable for a low fee.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Very convenient hôtel, but the workers are not polite, never smile, and are very noizy in the morning. Also they dont respect the "do not disturb" tag. All the rest was ok.


80%

Solid hostel within easy reach of all the most popular things to see in Shanghai. It's more like a big hotel but does have common areas in it which travellers frequent. Just don't expect an smaller hostel vibe. Good value for money though.


66%

it would be nice if they had a kitchen, and it would also be nice if they didnt raise the prices that much on weekends


100%

We had a great experience, the atmosphere was great and it was near the metro, which was also great!

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

It took 3 different rooms before I had a clean bed. The mattress was almost non existent. Things were just not right. My worst experience in a hostel


77%

Nice atmosphere and clean rooms!


89%

Wifi only in lobby, good lockers, great AC, comfy beds, but pricy for China (but well that's Shanghai I guess!). Extremely close to metro making it a very convenient location. Very international feel, lots of foreign travelers, and there is a place for KTV within walking distance ;). Only stayed one night but would gladly return.


97%

The hostel looks great, and has this ambiance of nice hang-out place, where you can sip a coffee away from the crowds and heat, hang out and talk with some people or just get ready for some more Shanghai sights. The staff helped out with all kinds of questions, good short descriptions on the walls where to go. Feels like good value for money to stay in the private rooms, efficient AC to survive the heat. The breakfast was good in the "bar". Location fairly fast to get to downtown Shanghai.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI nihao, Thanks for your best comments! City Central Hostel is a big, friendly, honest, popular hostel in Shanghai, all people who choose our hostel will find this is nice place to stay. Wish you have a nice stay in Shanghai, China. Amelia

94%

Very Nice and helpful straff the family suite is awesome! :)

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI nihao, we are so happy to hear that you have a nice stay in our hostel, as a biggest and one of the popular hostel in Shanghai, More and more customers would like to choose our hostel to stay, Definitely we will do everything better and better, thanks again! Best wishes. Amelia

83%

Everything was nice except forno internet in the room


100%

The best!!!


80%

NO WIFI IN THE ROOM


77%

In general the hostel is good, but the bathroom was not that clean. Location is good,. Food is good but a little bit overpriced for China. Wifi does not work good in the rooms, you will have to go to the reception to get signal. Staff is not that friendly sometimes, but others that are ok.


60%

Decent hostel! Breakfast is included which is nice.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(117 results)


View all Shanghai Hostels

Please give us your feedback