X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

City Central International Hostel Reviews

No.300 Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
2539 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Very convenient hôtel, but the workers are not polite, never smile, and are very noizy in the morning. Also they dont respect the "do not disturb" tag. All the rest was ok.


80%

Solid hostel within easy reach of all the most popular things to see in Shanghai. It's more like a big hotel but does have common areas in it which travellers frequent. Just don't expect an smaller hostel vibe. Good value for money though.


66%

it would be nice if they had a kitchen, and it would also be nice if they didnt raise the prices that much on weekends


80%

The place is nice, with a really cool bar to chill out, and most of the staff is very nice, but one person at the reception is very cold, and even unpolite.


97%

We stayed several times at this hostel and were never disappointed. The staff is friendly and always helpful even though we changed our reservations last minute sometimes. (sometimes they were a little bit slow) The dorms are okay (matress a little bit hard) but the VIP rooms especially the family room with 4 beds are great! Great value for money (dorms are not much cheaper). Thank you City Cenrtal International Hostel for so many great Shanghai Trips. :)


100%

We had a great experience, the atmosphere was great and it was near the metro, which was also great!

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

It took 3 different rooms before I had a clean bed. The mattress was almost non existent. Things were just not right. My worst experience in a hostel


77%

Nice atmosphere and clean rooms!


89%

Wifi only in lobby, good lockers, great AC, comfy beds, but pricy for China (but well that's Shanghai I guess!). Extremely close to metro making it a very convenient location. Very international feel, lots of foreign travelers, and there is a place for KTV within walking distance ;). Only stayed one night but would gladly return.


97%

The hostel looks great, and has this ambiance of nice hang-out place, where you can sip a coffee away from the crowds and heat, hang out and talk with some people or just get ready for some more Shanghai sights. The staff helped out with all kinds of questions, good short descriptions on the walls where to go. Feels like good value for money to stay in the private rooms, efficient AC to survive the heat. The breakfast was good in the "bar". Location fairly fast to get to downtown Shanghai.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI nihao, Thanks for your best comments! City Central Hostel is a big, friendly, honest, popular hostel in Shanghai, all people who choose our hostel will find this is nice place to stay. Wish you have a nice stay in Shanghai, China. Amelia

94%

Very Nice and helpful straff the family suite is awesome! :)

  • 23rd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI nihao, we are so happy to hear that you have a nice stay in our hostel, as a biggest and one of the popular hostel in Shanghai, More and more customers would like to choose our hostel to stay, Definitely we will do everything better and better, thanks again! Best wishes. Amelia

83%

Everything was nice except forno internet in the room


89%

Comfy beds, and good vibe here! Had some trouble finding the place at first (traveler's weariness...), but a friendly neighbor pointed me down the alley in the right direction! Good water pressure, clean rooms, overall great spot to stay!


100%

The best!!!


80%

NO WIFI IN THE ROOM


77%

In general the hostel is good, but the bathroom was not that clean. Location is good,. Food is good but a little bit overpriced for China. Wifi does not work good in the rooms, you will have to go to the reception to get signal. Staff is not that friendly sometimes, but others that are ok.


60%

Decent hostel! Breakfast is included which is nice.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

PROS: young backpacker atmosphere... large bar/restaurant good for hanging out... breakfast pretty good (make sure you mention if you like your eggs anything but overdone) CONS: lots of guests and therefore a somewhat apathetic staff. You don't get the personal touches like you do in smaller hostels (not even shown to room)..... 6th floor reeks of garbage, is a really ugly bare bones room,


83%

no safety box in the rooms, but safety box in the lobby Location: like 20 minute cab ride to the Bund/Nanjing Lu, really nothing interesting nearby, and nearly no restaurants Staff: mostly English speaking, one guy was a prick to me for no reason. He sure perked up when a pretty Chinese girl came up to the desk though. Fuck that noise. very youth hostel-ly, lipstick stain near my door. Nice bar. Clean some showers had good water pressure/heat, some didn't. relatively clean, not a problem

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Hostelworld.com was easy to find places to stay, and it is easy to make a payment. The only thing they need to fix is the descriptions of the rooms. They use awkward wording to describe things like how many beds are in a room, so sometimes it is unclear what you are looking at.


(126 results)


View all Shanghai Hostels

Please give us your feedback