X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

City Central International Hostel Reviews

No.300 Wuning Road, Putuo District, Shanghai, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
2425 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

It was a very good hostel, but it was too far away from the things I wanted to visit.


71%

I found a cockroach and the service was slow, other than that, it was fine.

  • 16th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Although a good hostel with a great bar/restaurant this was a very noisy place. We were in a private room but were woken several times each night by people chatting/shouting in the corridor and common area. Not good!

Owner Comment (Hide)
we are really glad you are satisfied with the staying in our hostel,and we will try to make all the guests like you be willing to come to spend a special time with us in Shanghai, we also expect to see you again. Really thanks for your comment.

80%

Good location close to a subway-station and an area with lots of small restaurants, helpful staff and clean rooms. Would definitely stay here again.

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

An excellent hostel, considering the price. Good enough location close to the subway; nice and helpful staff; great bar/restaurant on the bottom floor. The walls in the rooms are a bit thin though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so appreciate that you give us a highly recommendation, thank you very much! We will give some big discount to the repeat customers, we will try our best to improve and do good service for all people who have been stay or will stay in our hostel. Yes, we made our hostel like a small world in the past few years, and we will hold more activities and more party in the new year what can make everybody easily to talk with each other. Hope to see you next time! Amelia

100%

The bed is very very and very confortable……i love it!!!!!

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI nihao, Thanks for your good comments,as you know, we always have the best staff, good service, comfortable room, best atmosphere,and the lowest price,we are quite close to metro line3,lin4,and line 11,you can easily get to Hongqiao/Pudong airport, Renmin square, The bund, Zhongshan Park,and etc..See you next time! Amelia from Shanghai City Central hostel

100%

The hostel was in a great location, very easily accessed from the subway. Our room was very clean and the beds were comfortable, not the hard beds that are usually found in China. It is a very foreigner friendly hostel. The restaurant/bar in the lobby was very well designed and a comfortable environment. We would definitely come back!

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so appreciate that you give us a highly recommendation, thank you very much! We will give some big discount to the repeat customers, we will try our best to improve and do good service for all people who have been stay or will stay in our hostel. Yes, we made our hostel like a small world in the past few years, and we will hold more activities and more party in the new year what can make everybody easily to talk with each other. Hope to see you next time! Amelia

66%

The location is quite good. But first, before we arrive I email the hostel staff some important questions but she never reply me; second, the bathroom smells REALLY REALLY BAD (private bathroom); last, it is quite obvious that the staff are more friendly to non-Chinese, which makes me feel a bit uncomfortable. I will not share the details here but I guess this is not the best way to run an international hostel. I won't recommend this hostel to others. All ppl should be treated equally.

  • 11th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Our room in the hostel was very clean and the cleaner would come in every day to change the towels. The bed was comfy and the room was a good size. The staff spoke good English and were very helpful. The hostel is in an excellent location, it is on Metro line 3/4/11 which is fairly central, and is only a 5 minute walk from Caoyang Road station. The food was very nice and reasonably priced. They actually have a dryer which works fairly well and they kindly kept our bags for us free of charge.


94%

Very Chinese ! Their bar room is impressive! Guest room is quiet & bright, while the commom area is brilliant & cozy! 很有中國味的旅店!房間安靜、明亮🙏🙏🙏,客廳大氣、舒適👍 One of the best hostel in Shanghai!. It would be nice, if there is kitchen for guest to use. Thank you for everything! 上海優質青年旅舍!如有廚房,對長住的旅客,是一大福音。謝謝每一位工作人員,辛苦了!


80%

We ended up not staying at this hostel. I answered good as it wouldn't let me just respond that we didn't stay there. We did stay at a hostel in shanghai that was quite excellent.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

Pros: -Decent location -Friendly staff Cons: No warm water when I took a shower Lights in my room didn't work Buggy WiFi


100%

i really felt confortable...it was like being part of a large, young, international family!! thank you for everything!!

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your highly recommend! We hope everybody have a good stay in our hostel!

97%

A very good hostel, with friendly helpful staff and clean warm rooms. The only problem you might find is that the wifi is slow.

Owner Comment (Hide)
HI nihao, Thanks for your good comments! We will be better and better, see you next time! Regards Amelia from the hostel

83%

Everything is very good. Too bad on the day we stayed, the hot water isn't working

  • 22nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice and big rooms, clean bathrooms, very helpful staff. Location is good for Shaghai, close to the metro (line 3,4,11), but not in the center. Wifi is very poor in the rooms, and the breakfast serving is slow.


86%

Nice people, excellent facilities at coffee shop and bar, good location close to Metro station: a great address in Shanghai!


74%

Very conveniently located. Short walk to metro. Dorms are clean and bathrooms are ok, food good but a little pricey. Staff friendly but not very good English.


83%

Decent clean hostel, paid for single room and got upgraded to double for full week. Air conditioning unit outside window was very noisy and hard to sleep. Food was decent, and convenient. But yeah, a little more expensive than restaurants nearby. Washing machine rubbish, clothes soaking wet, no spin function, was told to ring clothes by hand. Close to subway.


89%

A very lively place, where you can meet a lot of people. The location is actually not bad, as you have a subway just around the way and a huge market just behind the hostel. It is just a bit in the outskirts, that is why I don't give a full rating. Security. there are lockers in the room, a key-card system and lockers in the reception area. The staff was, with one exception really friendly and helpful. The only drawback was the cleanliness of the public toilets and bathrooms. So many people ...


(105 results)


View all Shanghai Hostels

Please give us your feedback