Hostelworld.com

Generator Hostel London

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 3,644 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 3,644 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.6
Generator Hostel London Located at Compton Place, Off 37 Tavistock Place, WC1, London.
Generator Hostel London
England
London WC1H 9SE Compton Place, Off 37 Tavistock Place, WC1
82% 3644
51.5262476 -0.1249051
Generator Hostel London
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Syria, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
10.0

First time ever traveling solo and staying at a hostel, absolutely loved it. Staff was very helpful with everything. Recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay in London, especially solo travelers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • madilcannon
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2016
9.1

The Generator was a great first time hostel experience. I felt extremely safe and everyone at the front desk, restaurant, and bar was great! The room was a bit smaller than I expected, but we didn't spend much time in the room either so it wasn't really a big deal. On the day we left (at 4:00 A.M.), our taxi didn't show up and the guys at the front desk made sure we had a way to make it to the airport in time for our flight. Overall really great experience!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th May 2016
9.7

Great spot, fun times, good location. Room was a little small but what can you expect. Would definitely recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th May 2016
9.4

only stayed for one night, but the bar is great and the beds are super comfy

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey, its great that you were comfy in your bed we know it can make a difference when you are travelling. Hopefully you can stay with us for longer next time. Best wishes - Generator London.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th May 2016
9.1

Great hostel. However staff at the front were not as helpful as we would have liked. Almost none spoke fluent english and every question i had wasn't resolved. Also my room card didn't work twice, in which i was told by the staff not to keep the card in my wallet or next to my phone. Found this a little silly, where else are we meant to keep the key card if i can't in my wallet? Overall would stay again but let down by the communication skills of the staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th May 2016
10.0

Outstanding, simply a giant 'backpackers friendly 'machine

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey! We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you again soon. Best wishes - Generator London.

  • Anonymous
  • Croatia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th May 2016
9.1

Exactly what a hostel should look like.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hey thanks for your feedback! Hope we see you again. Best wishes - Generator London.

13th May 2016
6.0

PROS: Nice bar and lounge area, beds with lockers situated underneath, location in a quiet area within walking distance to two metro stations. CONS: This hostel is purely about making money: the prices at the bar are not cheap, you have to pay £5 for a padlock or a towel, and I've never been to a hostel in which you had to PAY to store your bag for the day. Showers are small, not very private, and the floor around them is always wet. There are no electrical outlets in the bathrooms, either.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • mg21093
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th May 2016
9.1

As far as London pricing and location goes this is as good as it gets. The security is like no other - there are even security guards outside! Spacious rooms and good bathrooms as well as cool bar and cafe - it's all you could need in a hostel. Would highly recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th May 2016
9.4

Excellent hostel, 5 minutes from St Pancras and a short walk from Covent Garden. Couldn't be better placed. Nice facilities. However, maybe there could be some activities organised for lone travellers to meet others

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi it is lovely to hear from you after your recent stay with us. Yes it is great to be located in the city centre, we hope you enjoyed Covent Garden. We do activities at our bar or play movies in our cinema room, have let our events manager know your thoughts regarding single travellers. Best wishes - Generator London.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.