X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel London Reviews

Compton Place, Off 37 Tavistock Place, WC1, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
3041 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Nice hostel, perfect for short stays and young people. The spaces (bedrooms, bathrooms, showers) are very tiny, especially for the toilet/showers, you don't know where to put your stuff to take a shower and two people are already too many. Also, a bit annoying the fact that, as all doors (bedrooms, bathrooms, showers) close automatically (if you don't hold them from closing) starting from 5:30/6 am, the hostel becomes VERY loud and if you're a light sleeper, it's hard to keep sleeping.


89%

Got put into a 13 bed dorm even though i booked a 10 bed dorm well in advance. Unsure why this was as if i wanted to stay in a 13 bed or more i would have booked it and at that rate. Wish i was told about the breakfast option on checkin and paid in advance i didnt realise this until someone told me the day i checked out so was eating at cafe down road. Everything else was great. Could it be possible to get a hook inside the showers too to hang valuables (room card etc) when showering


74%

Todos os banheiros são nojentos, os quartos não possuem circulação de ar e fedem insuportavelmente! Nunca mais eu volto!

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Clean room, awesome staff, the bar at night was very fun to drink at. Overall great place to stay


97%

Sehr modernes Hostel und sehr sauber!!! Die Lage ist ausgezeichnet. Wir hatten einen super Aufenthalt.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

My only complain is that there's only 1 elevator in the hostel and sometimes it's used by the staff to move stuff around, also the breakfast card is a trap shouldn't have bought it LOL. Other than that, great hostel in general.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thanks for your review after your stay! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay overall and we appreciate your comments and suggestions. See you again soon at Generator London. Nate - Guest Relations Executive

91%

Great friendly staff who were very helpful. Great bar where the drinks are cheaper than when you're out in town. Security 24/7. they overbooked, but compensated by giving us a new (bigger) room.

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for your great feedback after your stay with us. It's good to hear from you and we hope to see you back in London again really soon. Best Wishes, Nate - Guest Relations Executive

69%

Was quite a nice hostel but be prepared to wait ages for anything here. Everyone checks in at 2 and it took the lady 25 mins just to check us in, I felt sorry for all the people lined up behind us. We waited 45 minutes in the line for breakfast and others waited much longer. Also make sure you take your card out with you, the security guard tried not to let us in because we didn't take our individual room keys out, nobody told us this! Other than that, hostel was nice, woukd go again


97%

modern, clean hostel with bar and everything you might want and need in a great location... however... whoever designed the showers- especially on the ground (first) floor- deserves a big slap! Will take someone with long hair forever to wash hair under those silly showerheads- and those who don't want to will get them wet anyway, no privacy whatsoever and on the ground floor if you step out of the shower and someone opens the door to the toilet/showers everyone in the hallway gets an eyeful.


54%

The room was extremely noisy at night, because the club kept screaming all night long. The heating system didn't work, making the room super cold at night. The toilets was far from our room, and what's worse, not enough hot water for shower. One of the safeguard was not friendly at all. Otherwise it was generally good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, I was disappointed to read some of your feedback after your stay, as we aim to achieve a top notch service for all our guests. We appreciate your feedback and I will make sure the team here gets to see your comments. Thanks again for choosing Generator and we hope to see you again soon. Nate - Guest Relations Executive

91%

O hostel é lindo, limpo e o ambiente é ótimo. Os pontos negativos são: A recepção nunca tem troco; A comida pedida no restaurante demora em média 1h para ser servida (o preço e a qualidade são bons, porém 1h pra uma pizza é demais)


74%

Excelente servicio y clima. Muy atentos quienes trabajan en la recepción. He notado agresividad por parte de los encargados de la seguridad de la disco que pertenece al hostel.

  • 3rd Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for your great feedback after your stay with us. It's good to hear from you and we hope to see you back in London again really soon. Best Wishes, Nate - Guest Relations Executive

97%

Have stayed here several times and certainly will again! Best hostel ever!!!


83%

地点离euston和kings cross步行不到十分钟。走到大本钟一带需要半小时,途经牛津街,中国城,leceister广场,特拉法加广场等。算是不错的位置。特别安全。住的十人混住,床很舒服。就是走到冲凉房和厕所有点距离。早餐一般,不值得花4磅吃一顿

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for sharing your feedback with us! It's good to hear from you and we'll see you again soon! Nate - Guest Relations Executive

100%

Loved it! My first hostel experience and the bar scene was awesome, bathrooms were clean, the people staying seemed friendly too. The security guard at the door was also very attentive. I highly recommend this place based on location, cleanliness, and friendliness of other visitors

  • 25th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for sharing your feedback with us! It's good to hear from you and we'll see you again soon! Nate - Guest Relations Executive

74%

El hostel es enorme! Tal vez falto un pock de simpatia a la persona que me hizo el check in, y podria haber alguna actividad de integracion, ya que tiene muy buenos espacios comunes, pero es tan grande q la gente se pierde.


80%

Too big, Kind of wanna be backpacker/Globetrotter atmosphere. Can't escape the chiiling music...but anyway, a Lot of places to hang around.

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your feedback, it's good to hear from you and I will pass along your comments to the team here in London. We hope to see you again soon. Best Wishes, Nate - Guest Relations Executive

89%

It would be great customers can leave their luggage free. I'd like you to fix space to leaving it somehow.

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thanks for sharing your feedback with us! It's good to hear from you and we'll see you again soon! Nate - Guest Relations Executive

100%

Excelente hostel, parece hotel de 4 estrellas

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. We look forward to seeing you again at Generator London soon. Best Wishes, Nate - Guest Relations Executive

100%

What a great stay!

  • 15th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for your comments! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and thanks for choosing Generator London. Best Wishes, Nathan - Guest Relations Executive

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(130 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback