X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Generator Hostel London Reviews

Compton Place, Off 37 Tavistock Place, WC1, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2761 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Great stay! Definitely will go for second visit.

  • 10th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Les toilettes ont été bouchées 2 fois pendant mon séjour, je pense dû à un mauvais calibrement chasse d'eau - système. Pour le reste, pas de remarques particulières, bien !

  • 6th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

More variety in the breakfast buffet would be very welcome but for the rest, overall everything was very good !

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Perfekte Service an der Rezeption!! Keine Probleme bei der Kommukation, auch wenn man hörbehindert ist!! Wir werden sicherlich gerne wieder kommen!! Danke!!

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Great hostel! Felt like staying in a hotel but easier to meet people :)


100%

Bairro tranquilo, perto do metrô. Com opções de alimentação próximas e supermercado em frente a estação de metrô. Os quartos são um pouco abafados no verão, mas pelo preço vale muito a pena a estadia.

  • 3rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The location is pretty good, but you steel need to spend a few minutes to find the hostel. The shower room is a little inconvenient because there are only two hooks outside for each person. Over all is nice in this cheap price to book somewhere to live in London

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Auberge agreable et propre. Le personnel etais tres gentil et pret a aider. Mon sejour a ete plaisant. Petit déjeuner n'étais pas a mon goût mais les autres plats dans la journée sont très bon

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Will definitely make a return visit in the future and comes highly recommended. Within walking distance of good transport links and within walking distance of many tourist attractions.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey there, Thank you so much for the great feedback! We hope to see you again really soon at Generator London. See you soon Nate - Guest Relations Execuitve

69%

Security guards everywhere made me feel like I was in a prison. I've stayed at various hostels where there was much less security and I felt just as safe. Rooms are apparently only cleaned when someone leaves so if no one in your room leaves then you have to empty your own trash and mop tbe floor. The hostel is very big so I didn't find the atmosphere condusive to meeting people. Overall it was ok, but definitely not great.


94%

This was my first hostel experience and wasn't sure what to expect. I thought it was great. I stayed on the wonderland level. The wifi was great the bathrooms were always clean and the dorm was quite spacious. The bar and cafe were very sociable and easy to meet people. Will 100% stay again on my next visit.

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The location is really nice, just 750 meters from the train station. The cafe/bar has good good and service and nice staff. We stayed at a three person room which is a little bit small that we couldn't all open our luggages at once. And there was no personal light and plug by the room. The bathroom was clean but there was no hanger or shelf in the shower room which is not very convenient. The wifi was pretty good in all the building. They had an elevator but the reception is on 1st floor.


89%

Great hostel lots of fun and very clean! There is no kitchen to cook yourself any food so in booking you need to allow extra money for buying it! However they do have a cafe with nice food! The showers are either boiling hot or stone cold all the ones I tried the temperature regulation did not work! And I tried 2 different floors. That being said of all the hostels I've stayed in London this has been the best so far!


94%

Didn't know what to expect from a hostel was pleasently surprised. Clean and tidy with plenty of security and a good atmosphere I highly recommend.

  • 25th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Good location and bar was good but I found a few of the staff quite rude and the 6 bed dorm was absolutely tiny. Barely enough room to walk through it to the end bed.


89%

Loved the hostel- great for first time stays as it has everything you need. With so many people around all it takes is a conversation to make new friends.


100%

On fréquente l'auberge depuis 5 ans maintenant (tout les ans pour le carnaval de Notting Hill)et là avec les travaux de rénovation rien a dire, bonne cuisine, lit plus confortable, salle média avec mini cinéma super cool et le personnel toujours aussi sympa. La seul "surprise" qu'on ai eu est que le petit déj soit maintenant payant (£5/personne/jour) alors qu'il était gratuit avant.....

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The hostel was ok. it is new-ish, lots of space and is clean. It has a bar (with food) and all the facilities you would need. What I didn't like was that it was probably too big. Guest age ranges from probably 4 years old to 80. The rooms were a let down too, no power points to top bunks or fresh air. 4 quid breakfast was poor, don't get it I stay at hostels to meet people and for that hostel 'vibe'. I probably would have rather to pay a little bit more to stay in hotel than stay here.


83%

El Hostel está bien ubicado, con buena zona común, cafetería y bar. Lo que no encontré agradable en lo absoluto es la excesiva seguridad, parece una cárcel, además que te cobran por todo llámese lockers , adaptadores de enchufes, si te pasas de las 10:00 en el check out no puedes entrar más a tu habitación, etc. No es un mal Hostel, pero es demasiado inglés quizás para mi.


71%

The Hotel is Not easy to find at the First Time. I lost my charger in the room, but they couldn't find it. I went to Hostel again and want search in the room, but they wouldn't let me in. That was Not fine. U had to walk 10 min to the Tube. Thats ok. Any other things are ok.

  • 21st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(195 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback