X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

HI-Vancouver Central Reviews

1025 Granville Street, Vancouver, Vancouver, Canada

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
1651 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

The location is good and easy to find.The breadfast is great.


83%

A pretty standard HI affiliated hostel. Everything runs very smoothly and while the facilities are a bit on the old side, they are fairly well-maintained. Everything is pretty clean and good standards are maintained. The complementary breakfast is generous (cereal, bread, muffins, juice, coffee, etc). Surprisingly quiet on the Saturday night I stayed, interestingly.


83%

Met great people there and enjoyed some Cheerios.


86%

Easy to find from directions given. Very central. Local area a bit seedy especially at night but once in the hostel everything is fine. Very good washing and drying machines. Building obviously old but everything works and was clean.

  • 7th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Excellent staff! Extremely helpful! Being able to check a bag the morning of checkout is also a huge plus! Thank you for making my first visit to Vancouver such a breeze!

  • 3rd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

I would recommend to visit Europe..the value for money - It was good standard hostel, but the price was too high.. I spent $43/night (incl. tax) which is (to be honest) too much for shared room.

  • 3rd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The kitchen facilities could be larger and include a stove, but the cleanliness--for an older building--was great! The bathroom/showers have all been redone, and the wi-fi was super! I slept very very well, and I had a blast: thanks!!!

  • 1st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

Kitchen is always the soul of HI Hostel and the stove is the soul of a kitchen. HI-Vancouver Central would be perfect with a regular kitchen instead of an express one.


91%

Enjoyed our stay at the hostel very much! Good location, good breakfast (even pretty crowded as the kitchen is too small for so many people) and helpful staff.

  • 27th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Have stayed there before and will stay there again. Very convenient.


91%

The internet connection is worth slapping the IT tech in the face, even when you find spot where it's running fast, it's gonna disconnect every 5-15 minutes and needs new login. Besides that, excellent clean hostel with nice staff. And free breakfest!

  • 23rd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Good place for people keen to party as many pubs, bars and clubs are close by. It's location is most likely it's highlight. 4 share dorms are average sized and equipped with lockers for your belongings. Be aware of street noise when you sleep with open windows and having a room facing Granville St. Breakfast (included) was simple but always had enough bread, apples or muffins available! Average Washrooms and Wireless though.

  • 18th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Four people dorms, free breakfast (but few chairs and tables available in the cafeteria) and individual washrooms (in the corridor) are appreciated. However, corridors don't smell good, Internet WIFI can be really slow sometimes and washrooms could be cleaned more often. Staff is nice/helpful and the hostel is really well situated. Be aware that the price is the price with membership (25$+tx). If you're not a member, it will cost you 10% more.


77%

Accommodation is expensive in Vancouver. Hi-Hostel provides inexpensive clean accommodation. I stayed here four nights. Didn´t have any issues. Nothing made it truly memorable but it did the job.


80%

Staff were brilliant, very friendly and helpful. Wifi was terrible, I had a small video sent to me by my family that took numerous DAYS to download. The wifi would constantly cut out and if my laptop wasn't in the weirdest position in the corner of the room it wouldn't even pick up the wifi, which when you're trying to book the next leg of your journey is beyond frustrating!


57%

The best thing about this hostel is the location, very central. I didn't like this hostel for many reason. First, the facilities: no place to cook (no oven at all), the kitchen is so small it can fit only 14 persons sitting doen. At breakfast which is only for 2 hours, it's hard to sit. The carpet smells. There is no place to put soap in the shower. Most staff isn't very helpful. You always gets an average answer that something is right. I think would try the other location in downtown.


89%

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this Hostel, beds were comfortable and the rooms were a decent size. The bathrooms were clean and there was always plenty of the free breakfast provided. Would happily stay here again.

  • 12th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

The aircondition in our room was really disgusting. If you turn it on it smelled like rotten meat. The internet was to slow in my eyes and it was not that great that you always have to sign in the internet. But nevertheless a good hostel in thwle middle of vanvcouver.

  • 11th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

lovely place, very clean and encourages mingling. Only issue was thy have no parking available. Then again if you aren't driving then its not big deal.


94%

The location was very convenient and the staff were really helpful. Would definitely stay here again!

  • 3rd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(49 results)


View all Vancouver Hostels

Please give us your feedback