X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hanoi Old Town Hotel Reviews

95 Hang Chieu, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
305 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Extremely helpfull staff, they gave us lots of helpful tips. Room was very nice with AC & hot water. Breakfast (choice of 7 options) was tasty. Overall very good value for money. I wouldn't book the tours (Halong Bay etc.) through the hotel though, they are way overprized.


100%

Very friendly helpfull and patient staff. They are able to arrange anything from night train/bus tickets to tours. Located at Old Town, great for discovering Hanoi. Hanoi Old Town Hotel is definately a great home in a foreign town

  • 24th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Brilliant hospitality. Felt looked after the whole time.

  • 21st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Very good stay, the staff were very helpful and polite. Booked a Halong Bay trip with them which was great! Beds are a little hard & the shower slightly too powerful (a bit painful) however I would definitely recommend this hotel as it was well worth the money! The location is spot on, everything is within walking distance which was perfect. Hanoi is a brilliant but crazy place! We loved it!


91%

Very helpful and eager to help. Helped a lot that they also do travel stuff. Booked a great trip to Halong Bay for us.

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Very lovely staff, its a very good place to book tours.


100%

HOTH is the best hostel that we have been . They offer free beer on Friday , The good time to chat with other people . The most important part is the staffs , They are very friendly and helpful they helped us to boom Halong bay and Sapa with good price and nice trip. Recommend this hotel


89%

Incredible Staff. Great Breakfeast and good Internet. Was satisfied with everything. Computers in the lobby do not work that well.


100%

Hanoi Old Town Hotel is just absolutely brilliant! The location is great, in the middle of the Old Quarters, facilities were dependable and it's definitely safe. But what makes the place a stand out it's the staff. They simply go leaps and bounds and become friends who look out for you. Mina, who is amazing, will make your tour of Hanoi so effortless (you can book everything here!) and assist you anytime (my guide for Sapa did not turn up at 5 am and she saved me!). They are the best !!!

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

My name is Yang and I experienced an excellent stay here. The staff especially Mina were very welcoming and made our stay here so much better. She helped us book our tours to Halong Bay and Sapa at very affordable prices and even arranged for a taxi to send us to the airport at 5am on the way back from Sapa even though we had already checked out the day before and were not going to stay at the hostel. She even took me and my friends out to town for dinner and coffee. 5/5 stars here.

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

For $17, well worth it. Great location, pretty clean (there is housekeeping every day). Atmosphere seems nil though, although there is a "free beer Friday" from 5-7 on Friday that could probably be good. The staff's English was good. The free breakfast is okay, because it is free, but in terms of quality, I would never pay for it.


97%

Incredibly helpful staff! Rooms were very nice as well. Great location.


86%

A great place to stay in Hanoi - a good location in the Old Quarter, very friendly and helpful staff, and clean rooms with good facilities.


63%

Don't book trips through the staff, they overprice! Not the best hostel/party atmosphere, hard to meet people.


100%

Canh and Anna we're so lovely and welcoming they felt just like family! Location is great about a 5min walk to the cheapest beer spots and 7mins to the lake. They helped organise both our trips to Sapa and Halong bay. The rooms are great value for money and they also told us the best places to eat! Would defiantly come back again. :)

  • 6th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

The hotel was very helpfull When we arrived after Boeing scamed and after your trip to ha long Bay. We could be in a room to shower for free. The wifi was Working all fine.

  • 6th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Really great hostel - ideal location, GREAT STAFF (Pho/Minna!), clean rooms with large beds (the twins have 2 double beds). Overall one of the best places I have stayed in Hanoi. Really, really recommend.


91%

This is a clean, simple low-budget hotel. Very quiet despite the hustle and bustle outside. I stayed for two separate bookings. The room on the top floor was not great and definitely needed a make-over but the other room I stayed in was absolutely fine. You have to pay for breakfast but it's good value and there's a nice range of western and American dishes. Lovely, helpful staff. Maia was really professional and full of information about the area, restaurants, booking my next trips etc.


94%

Hanoi old town hotel was a really great hotel with a sweet and helpfull staff. They where forthcoming and smiling anytime we had a question - they helped us a lot with booking tours to Halong Bay and Sapa.


94%

We stayed here for one night in a double room. The room itself was very big, clean and all the facilities were working. Most importantly, the staff were incredibly helpful and also very friendly. We arrived to Hanoi at 7am and Anna managed to provide us with a room by 8am, which we really appreciated. They also helped us book tours to Halong Bay and Sapa. Mr Canh was also very helpful during our stay! The location is good, just a short walk to most attractions and it's good value for money.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(82 results)


View all Hanoi Hostels

Please give us your feedback