Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Hanoi Old Town Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 789 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 789 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.4
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • kirstyhalvorsen
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Apr 2017
5.7

You get what you pay for. We just spent one night here before moving on. This was very cheap and the room was grubby and run down and smelled bad. The bed was as hard as a table - no exgeration. Reception staff lovely and good English and good location but I wouldn't recommend this to anyone.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
17th Apr 2017
9.7

Definitely good value for money - facilities are decent, rooms nice and clean plus the staff were also very friendly and helpful. They helped us get $20 compensation from our Halong cruise as we were disappointed with the standard of Apricot cruises. The property is situated in the heart of the old quarter and only a short walk to loads of good bars/ restaurants.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
10.0

Couldn't have asked for more! The staff are the most helpful staff I've ever encountered. They helped us with so many things... We had issues with a flight booking which on 2 occasions they were able to help us contact the airline and fix. Lily personally helped make sure our travel arrangements moving forwards beyond Hanoi were in order. And even on an unexpected early return trip from sapa they let us stay in the lobby and provided showers. I'd write more if the character count would let me

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
10th Apr 2017
8.9

Good value for the location. Rooms are simple and clean. No safes in the rooms. Staff were helpful and when there was an error made, they promptly refunded an airport transfer to make it up to us. Not the best breakfast. Not super social--would be hard to be a solo traveler here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Apr 2017
10.0

First of all I have to comment on the amazing staff - they were so friendly, welcoming and helpful, and nothing was ever too much trouble. Special mention to Lily for going out of her way to help us organise our bookings and generally making us feel at home - she helped us book both a trip to Halong Bay and a bus to Hue for cheaper than the travel agents. Hotel itself was great, in an excellent location with clean and comfortable facilities. Would highly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
4th Apr 2017
10.0

Great Hotel and very friendly staff. Located in the old town the hotel is a short walk away from everything. We are planning to come back to this place later on our trip!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
9.7

This is more of a budget hotel than hostel so perhaps not for you if you are looking for a party hostel to meet other backpackers. However, we were arriving in Hanoi at 2am and the staff were so helpful. They arranged a private car to pick us up from the airport so we didn't have to worry about it. They offered to help us organise our onward travel and other accommodation if needed. The bedrooms were lovely- clean, air con, ensuites and a minibar. Lovely stay- would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
9.4

Had an lovely time staying at the Hanoi Old Town Hotel. Staff were so welcoming, friendly and helpful. Went out of their way to help us when my girlfriend got sick (honey lemon tea at no extra cost!) and when we arrived back in Hanoi following a trip to Halong and needed to find another hotel for the night. The room (503) was nice and clean with a steaming hot shower and a fridge. We were right on a corner and had two windows giving great street views. Memory foam mattress was hard but okay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mitchellwhite
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th Mar 2017
6.9

We didn't spend a lot of time at the hostel but the main area we was about a 15-20 minute walk from The room was clean and spacious but The bed was rock hard so not a comfy sleep. The staff was nice and helpful if needed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
25th Mar 2017
10.0

We had a great stay here, staff are really friendly and helped us booking a great tour to Halong Bay. Location is excellent, room was very big and really clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.