X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hanoi Old Town Hotel Reviews

95 Hang Chieu, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
304 Total Reviews
  • 92%Value For Money
  • 94%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Really great hostel - ideal location, GREAT STAFF (Pho/Minna!), clean rooms with large beds (the twins have 2 double beds). Overall one of the best places I have stayed in Hanoi. Really, really recommend.


94%

Hanoi old town hotel was a really great hotel with a sweet and helpfull staff. They where forthcoming and smiling anytime we had a question - they helped us a lot with booking tours to Halong Bay and Sapa.


94%

We stayed here for one night in a double room. The room itself was very big, clean and all the facilities were working. Most importantly, the staff were incredibly helpful and also very friendly. We arrived to Hanoi at 7am and Anna managed to provide us with a room by 8am, which we really appreciated. They also helped us book tours to Halong Bay and Sapa. Mr Canh was also very helpful during our stay! The location is good, just a short walk to most attractions and it's good value for money.

  • 29th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Good value for money. TV and AC in the room. Although the bed closest to the AC can get cold. Walking distance to all major attractions in Hanoi. There were no bikes to use even though the description said they have bikes.


69%

We had an okay stay here but full of inconveniences. The tour we book to Halong Bay was really good, no complaints there. But a few things happened that were really inconvenient and ruined our stay. A mess up in communication meant we had to check out and walk around Hanoi in the heat and look elsewhere!


77%

Great location. Not the most fun or social hostel. Helpful staff.

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Wonderfully welcoming and very helpful. Couldn't do enough for us. Would recommend as the best place in Hanoi if you need a friendly face and help. Comfort and value for money. Canh was especially helpful at all times.

  • 18th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Great team at Hanoi Old Town hostel, always willing to help and go that extra mile for you. Canh at reception was particularly helpful at organizing our trips to Ninh Binh and Ha Long Bay. I would definitely recommend this hotel. :-)

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Canh, Mina and Anna were the greatest! They helped us find the best food in town and recommended the best trip to Ha Long Bay. They were always smiling, happy, and helpful. Mina was a super hero in the service world.

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Woke up by room service at 7.30am after only arriving at this hotel gone midnight! Then re-disturbed a couple of hours later and then again 10 minutes later! My bf really lost his temper as we didnt sleep well due to the noise, but the girl couldnt speak a word of English and couldnt understand why we werent happy?! Girl on reception quite helpful, breakfast okay, clean rooms. Location okay but found the locals in Hanoi quite rude so didnt really enjoy my stay here.


91%

My partner and I had been traveling though Vietnam for 5 weeks and this was our last stop! The hotel is in a great location, close to the lake and restaurants (Beer St). The staff were great booking tours and answering all of our questions! Would definitely recommend this hotel to other travels!


94%

Great hostel, in the middle of the Old Quarter. Big, private room with bathroom for a great price. Staff was very friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful! I would recommend this hostel to all.

  • 6th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Definitely one of the best hostels we stayed at during our travels throughout Southeast Asia. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, and even made several recommendations on where we should visit in Vietnam. The room was both clean, comfortable, and the location was perfect! We were right in the midst of Old Town! We are usually light sleepers, but we didn't have any issues with noise from the streets. We would definitely recommend any fellow traveller to check out this place :)

  • 2nd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Uno de los mejores lugares que hemos estado en Asia! El lugar es agradable, un poco ruidoso pero no es tan grave. Lo mejor del lugar es la atención de la gente, sobre todo de Mina, ella nos ayudo con las excursiones, y todo lo que necesitábamos de la ciudad! Realmente genial! Recomiendo elegir las excursiones a halong bay en el mismo hostel porque son muy buenas!

  • 1st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The hotel is in a really good location and the staff there are so friendly and accommodating. They helped me organise my train ticket to Hue and my Halong Bay tour. Great stay!


100%

HOTH is the best hostel I have ever been . The staff speaks good English,Friendly.They took care us from beginning until check out. Mina and all staffs are my local friends


100%

Really good hostel! Very helpful staff! They help us a lot with the planning of our trip, not only in Hanoi, but for entire Vietnam! Nice rooms, super location, I recommend it to everyone who want to visit Hanoi!

  • 24th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

We would like to thank Mina and the rest of the staff for a wonderfull stay in Hanoi. The staff of thiis hotel can help you with everything you need and are always ready to help. Even when we got stuck in Sapa wiith a very serious case of food poisoning and I had to stay a night in the local clinic, they. Were able to change the already booked Halong Bay trip to a later date. Very professional and friendly staff!!!

  • 23rd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Best place I've stayed in all of Vietnam! Big, clean rooms, comfy beds, excellent location, good free breakfast, safe. Best part was the staff! So helpful at booking tours-we booked to Halong Bay and Sapa. Both were well worth the money (and reasonably priced) and included all transportation, luggage storage at the hotel and they provided us with showers between trips. They don't sell you too hard but book through them! You'll have a great experience. Thank you Hanoi Old Town!! We will be back

  • 21st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great stay at hotel - food for tour bookings and made everything easy. Would recommend


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(82 results)


View all Hanoi Hostels

Please give us your feedback