X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hanoi Old Town Hotel Reviews

95 Hang Chieu, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi, Vietnam

Reviews & Ratings Explained

92%

Rating
95 Total Reviews
  • 94%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Good location, clean comfortable hotel great staff would sat again


100%

My friend and I stayed at Hanoi Old for 4 nights and absolutely loved it! Great location and the free breakfast í amazing


100%

Super hotel, with very friendly and helpful people. an absolute must to book trips from hotel because they make sure you have a nice time

  • 13th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

When we arrived at the Hotel a water pipe was broken in our room - so we were told. They arranged a transfer into the Ha Long Hotel for free where we got an equal room - supposedly... The room was OK, bathroom was really hot. We could store the luggage but could not take a shower after check out (train left late at night - we would have taken an earlier one).


37%

Just a warning that if you book this hotel you may not be staying at this hotel. Had arranged an airport transfer with the hotel, sure we were dropped off at the 'hanoi Old Town' hotel but once we paid everything we were rushed off with no explanation into a taxi. This took us to another hotel (mind you we had to pay again) with a completely different name. This hotel demanded they keep our passports, I called up the original hotel for a reason y, they said air con was not working. DNT STAY HERE

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear jacqueline Thank you so much for your review on hostelworld.com 1st at all . We applosize for your unhappy stay at our hotel during your time in Hanoi . I would like to say some words about your situation. On your check in date , unfortunately the water syterm in the room which we reserved for you broken and we have no room at 1st hotel to change for you so we have booked the 2nd hotel at the same company which seems better than the 1st one. One again sorry for this out of control case.

100%

Our stay here was really great! The staff was incredible, they spoke good English and had recommendations for everything we wanted to do. We utilized their service to book tours for Perfume Pagoda and Halong Bay 2-Day Cruise, both were highlights of our stay in Hanoi and well organized. The rooms were clean with good air conditioning, a major bonus in the humid climate! Definitely worth the money!!!

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

A fine hotel with large rooms and very helpful staff. We booked trips to Ha Long Bay and Sapa from the hotel which were good and recommendable,

  • 1st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Good staff - not too pushy, friendly and helpful. Adequate room. Good atmosphere and general facilities.


100%

Great location, helpful staff, and comfortable room!


86%

Great place to stay because the staff were so helpful and friendly! Lan showed us a bunch of local places to eat, and all of those places had amazing food (just what we were looking for). The location is right in the centre of the old quarter in Hanoi, and the street next to the hotel is Dong Xuan - the night market. Great place to stay, highly recommend.

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The staff was very helpfull, great location in the middle of the old town.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

There are better hotels for this price in the same area in Hanoi. Staff tried pushing tours on us as soon as we walked in! They kept coming to our room so we didn't feel like we had privacy. They woke us up at 8am telling us to go for breakfast (that served until 10am). Breakfast wasn't the best at all! Rooms weren't very clean ( we told staff that there was a cockroach in our room and they said its because its raining. Only plus is that it is right in the centre of old town,

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Smith Thank you so much for your review on hostelworld Your review help us to improve our service But we have alittle misunderstanding Frist at all . As you know Vietnam is Tropical country it is rainning alots . Thia is good condition for cockroach go from outside to hotel .We not use Chemical drugs to kill cockroak because we worry to your heath. Secondly .We wake up you at 8a.m for breakfast to make sure you not miss your flight at 11a.m for your international flight .

100%

Great hostel, very kind and helpful staff! Rooms are clean and great location in the Old Quarter.


100%

Really good hostel. Great location and the staff really helpful and friendly, helped book our train tickets and trip to halong bay. Definitely worth a stay.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Nice, basic hotel, helpful staff.


91%

Great hostel. No complaints.


100%

Had a great stay here either side of a wonderful Ha Long Bay trip (booked through the hotel). Very friendly staff who go out of their way to be helpful: they stored our luggage whilst on trip and even went to get us Pho Bo when they had run out at breakfast. Big clean rooms with A/C and a fridge, great wifi and good value for money when you consider the breakfast you get with it! It is in a great location in Hanoi's Old Town close to some of the nicest shopping and street food spots!

  • 11th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic Hotel, Great service and a brilliant atmosphere. Would highly recommend.

  • 10th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

My two brothers and I used Hanoi as a base for travels around North Vietnam and ended up staying here a total of three times. We stayed in a different triple room each time, and each was a comfortable, air-conditioned retreat from hot and crazy Hanoi. For the price, I would highly recommend and definitely stay again. Great location. Very friendly and helpful staff.


83%

Very central location in old town. Noisy at night but that was to be expected. Staff were helpful when you asked for something but didn't go out of the way to do anything.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(57 results)


View all Hanoi Hostels

Please give us your feedback