X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Hotel Cecil Reviews

derb Sidi Bouloukate, Djemaa El Fna, Marrakech Medina, Marrakech, Morocco

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
248 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

We booked the Cecil for one night because our first choice riad in the medina was fully booked. positive: central location in the medina, mostly clean negative: loud because its close to jama el fna (background music of snake charmers and other musicians), bad smell in the room after cleaning and constantly bad smell in the bathroom, very cold rooms (even at daytime in spring) on the ground level rooms, service could be better (couldnt find anyone for breakfast and breakfast was bad)


91%

Great Location just 20 meters from the central square. Great rooftop terrace overlooking the square. Friendly staff. Great value for the money.


97%

Cannot recommend this hotel enough! Great staff, location and value for money..loved it!

  • 6th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Good quality, clean budget hotel right in the middle of everything

  • 1st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Quite nice hostel. It is near to the main square and the hostel is flexible to our bookings. But the only bad thing is there is only one hair dryer in the whole hostel.


91%

Friendly staff, great breakfast. rooms were basic but charming and clean.


91%

Excellent location. Very kind and helpful staff. I will definitely go back to this place again.


91%

One of the best hotels I've stayed in, catering for travellers on a budget. 100 yards from the busiest square in Africa yet you wouldn't know it from the peaceful comfort of your room. Would happily recommend, was very impressed


80%

Great location, good breakfast, friendly and helpfull staf. Unfortunatly room wasn't very clean, we found two cockroaches. There was no towels.

  • 24th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The hotel is right in the city centre and excellent value. The manager and his staff were very helpful, advising us on which restraunt was best, booking taxi's, general tourist infomation and was particularly kind and helpful when my husband fell ill. Each morning we had a lovely breakfast on the roof overlooking the square. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are on a budget and want to experience the atmosphere of Marrakech.

  • 28th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
86%

The price and everything is good (about 220 mad/room) and the location is excelent, but you can pay 100 mad/room in good riads near Jmaa el Fna in Riad Zitoun street (2minutes by walk and in a direct street) :)

  • 14th Oct 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Absolutely exquisite hotel in an amazing location. Every window in our room looked out on the canal. It didn't feel like we were staying in a hotel, just a couple of rooms in a residential apartment block. Only a couple of other guests so making it feel very private and homely. Close to all the major sights but set back on the side streets so doesn't feel like you're right in the middle of tourism. Set on a gondola canal so you get serenaded in the morning. Boring typical Italian breakfast.


94%

Great place to stay! is next to to djemaa el fna, the owner is very gentle. rooms are good and also the price considering bathroom and airconditioning inside.

  • 22nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

impersonable but good location. No real coffee with breakfast just a nescafé sachet! air conditioning only worked after we took off the casing and found a hidden switch.. Warm breeze through the window in the morning smelt of urine!

  • 22nd Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


29%

This hostel is a nightmare. My experience: 1) Is really difficult to find. 2) If you want to pay with euros be prepared for screams and bullshit from the "owner" 3) the pluming and air conditioner are damaged and they stink the room with an odor I cant really begin to explain 4) beds- dirty 5) towels- dirty 6) staff- dont understand you. My friends even got stuck for an hour in their room because the key didnt work!!! Dont go!!! Dont recommend it!!!!

  • 16th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

I absolutely loved my stay in Hotel Cecil it was clean , simple right next to the main plaza. This was the best hotel experience I've had while traveling the breakfast was good as well. Most importantly I fell in love with the staff they were all so sweet and helpful they made sure I went to the best places to eat good authentic food , good hammam experience, day tours etc. I loved the staff especially the guy with green eyes and glasses. aww! Sweet gentleman! Totally recommend it!!


74%

Centrally located near the main square (Jeema el Fna), though some noise at night from the square. We used a room with private bathroom and AC. We had booked for 2 single beds but got a room with 1 big bed. We wanted to change our booking (same number of nights, but different nights because we have decided to book a 2 day/1night tour), changing was not a problem. Not all the staff speak English, some only speak French. Breakfast is included, breakfast is okay, although some change in breakf


86%

great location right by the main square and friendly staff. we returned back here for a couple more nights when we returned to marrakech. nice terrace with view over square


94%

Hotel Cecil was exceptionally good value for money and in a perfect location (right on the Place Djama El Fna). The staff were friendly and one member of staff walked us down the short alley to the hotel one night as there was a drunk man hovering around. An excellent hotel!

  • 29th May 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Clean, tidy and comfortable. Good price for relaxed Riad right by the main square.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(118 results)


View all Marrakech Hotels

Please give us your feedback