X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Hotel Kaminarimon Asakusa Sensoji Temple Reviews

1-18-2, Asakusa, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
49 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Awesome little budget hotel. The building is kind of cool in a weird 80's kind of way, but the real appeal is the location and the staff. Both are awesome. It's clean, and great in general.

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

very nice location!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Our hotel is very close to the station and the entrance of Kaminarimon gate. Also, there are many places nearby to go sightseeing or shopping for traditional Japanese souvenirs. We hope you will visit Japan again and to serve you again soon.

100%

Unfortunately, we couldn't go to Japan and had to cancel last minute. I had to email and call them several times about some issues. They were really quick to respond and their emails were in well-written English. The staff were really kind and understanding about our situation and helped us cancel our reservation with ease. P.S. they wouldn't let me submit a review without rating everything. Their "staff" rating is the only one I can answer truthfully.

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. It was very unfortunate that you were not able visit Tokyo. However, we are glad we were able to help you through emails and phone calls. Though, we have few fluent English speakers, we will do our best in our English. We hope you will visit Japan soon and will be delighted to serve you.

100%

The Kaminarimon hotel was perfect for our first night in Tokyo. The location was very handy and the staff so nice. We could not ask for a cleaner place. Highly recommended !!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are glad we were able to satisfy you during your first night in Tokyo. There are many places to visit and go shopping for traditional Japanese souvenirs near our hotel. We hope you will visit Japan again and to serve you again soon.

100%

this hotel is soo good value and friendly, and you are right in the heart of asakusa literally 2 metres from the kaminarimon gates! top marks

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Our hotel is very close to the station and the entrance of Kaminarimon gate. We are very glad we have satisfied you during your stay here in Tokyo. We hope you will visit Japan again and to serve you again soon.

66%

The best thing of the hotel was the location, very close to tube station. I was expecting more, considering the price. The hotel has no character and lacks a nice atmosphere. I really like the Japanese style rooms but the room at this hotel lacks character, it wasn't particularly nice.


71%

Curfew at 12


89%

The location of the hotel was excellent, but customers would find it easier if there were better directions to the hotel form the train station. It would also be great for your customers if they had the option to use the shower (not the bath) in the shared bathroom once they arrive. Most customers will have travelled for a long time and would like to freshen up. I think allowing this would make customers grade this hotel better. Other than this, the hotel was very nice and it was nice to stay.


97%

My only complaint was the women's common bath was very small and not very hot. The staff was wonderful and even moved our luggage for us when we had to change rooms (planned move we knew about ahead of time when booking). The private bath Japanese style room i highly recommend. GREAT location right next to the temple.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Our hotel is very easy to locate and access for those who have a lot of lugguage. Much appologies for the bath water temperature. We will try our best in satisfying all guests. We hope you will come visit Japan again and to serve you soon.



View all Tokyo Hostels

Please give us your feedback