Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

King's Joy International Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 1,240 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 5.9
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 1,240 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 5.9
  • Atmosphere 6.2
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.5
King's Joy International Hostel Located at No. 81, Meishi St., Xuanwu District, Beijing.
King's Joy International Hostel
China
Beijing 100051 No. 81, Meishi St., Xuanwu District
72% 1240
39.8948966 116.3946640
King's Joy International Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • anitajain63
  • India, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Jul 2016
8.6

My stay here was amazing. The location was perfect as it is very near two subway-metro stations and right in front of the bus stand. Its near this really nice local market where you can enjoy a night walk. It's 10 minutes walking to the forbidden city and the sqaure. My room was clean and the place was nice. Just one thing, the staff wasn't very friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2016
5.4

Showers and toilets dirty. Staff- some were unfriendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jul 2016
6.0

If you're looking for a cheap bed in Beijing in a convenient location, this is it. However, it offers nothing else. Much of the staff were almost willfully unhelpful, sometimes even outright rude. This was really disappointing after dealing with so many wonderful people working at other China hostels. Also, only some rooms come with a kettle so you'll have to buy potable water. If you spend another 20rmb/night on a room, you can get an all-around much better stay out of other hostels in Beijing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2016
6.0

Great location, poor service

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jun 2016
7.7

The main drawback is the lack of English-speaking staff member. Other than that, it is a very nice place to stay. Rooms have a reasonable size, are clean (everyday) and tidy. Lockers are small, so, if you plan to travel with large bags, consider this. The location is perfect, right in the heart of Beijing city. Forbidden City and Tian'men Square are a 10-minute walking, subway is easy to access (two stations from different lines within walking distance). Plenty of local food restaurants nearby.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Jun 2016
4.9

The hostel is more of a hotel. Tiny common area with one couch but no free facilities. Had to pay for the tourist map. The people working at the "tourist info' counter could not understand English. Although personal bathrooms was cool, they were filthy. No soap no toilet paper, moldy shower curtain. Bad cleaning staff and unfriendly reception. Did not see other people staying there because rooms are isolated. Prices were like a hostel, but the vibe was not traveler friendly at all.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th Jun 2016
9.4

The location is great. Qianmen subway station is literally less than 10 walking from King's Joy. Tian'anmen Square is also very close and reachable by walk. I stayed in a 4 beds room with the ensuite bathroom, which were both daily cleaned by the staff. The wifi connection was great and the staff very helpful. Good value for money. I'd definitely go there again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2016
9.4

Nice place, good beds, great location, very affordable, each bed had plug ins, security was good, would definitely stay at again ☺️

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2016
2.0

racist hostel ever , i booked it first and already payed, then i called them in english , the stuff was really nice at beginning , she said yea , u can come here and have a look, but after she asked me where am i from, i said i'm from china, then her attitude changed so quick, oh u cannot stay here ,cause u r chinese , i was WTF. and i said i already payed , she's like sorry i cannot help with that. Good LUCK for this place!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jun 2016
5.4

my trainers were stolen,only staff had access to room.They must have thought I'd checked out but i moved rooms.The reception staff are doin a scam, the receipts dont always match up with what you pay, the price for my dorm is supposed to be 35 yuan a night, some people were charged 70,the most I payed was 60. Cleaner accidently hit me with a door and laughed, constant lies from staff even if they told you a different lie that morning, staff memebers had a 20 minute shouting arguement outsid room

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.