Hostelworld.com

May De Ville Backpackers Hostel

  • 1 Hai Tuong Lane, 24 Ta Hien str,Hoan Kien District, Hanoi, Vietnam
Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 509 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 509 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel Located at 1 Hai Tuong Lane, 24 Ta Hien str,Hoan Kien District, Hanoi.
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
Vietnam
Hanoi Hoan Kiem 10000 1 Hai Tuong Lane, 24 Ta Hien str,Hoan Kien District
83% 509
21.0343788 105.8517801
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
9.1

My second stay at May De Ville and it is still a great place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2016
8.9

Nicest hostel I've stayed at in Hanoi. Showers are pretty good, beds are comfy. Wifi can be pretty spotty but certain floors are always working. Close enough to everything but in a nice quiet spot. Free breakfast is amazing. Bus ticket price is pretty inflated but that's to be expected. Atmosphere isn't really there but it's not really a hostel. Will stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2016
9.4

Loved this spot. I had a private room, and found it extremely comfortable and accommodating. Located on quite a busy street (so not as accessible), but totally worth it. Felt like a hotel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
19th Apr 2016
6.9

This hostel is right downtown where all the rest are, so location is fine. Breakfast was great. The lobby and halls are very clean and professional looking. The room we were in was extremely narrow, though, which made it a little awkward. Not a big deal for $5 a night, just unusual. My real complaint, and the reason I marked low on "Facilities" was the wifi. The hostel is littered with routers, but they almost never worked. It was extremely frustrating trying to book a flight out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
18th Apr 2016
8.9

Great thing if you want some luxury beside the ordinary backpacker hostels. Comfy beds, great and clean bathroom and the included breakfast buffet is not bad. But be aware, it's more like a big hotel with one dorm room, not like a hostel at all. It's located in the old quarter with a 'food street' within a few metres and a nice lake in walking distance. For that price it's unbeatable and I would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
9th Apr 2016
8.0

Good location right on bai hoi corner, but don't worry it's not loud at the hostel. The entrance is down a little side street and looks like a hotel. My 6 bed dorm was rather snug, not much space but it did the job for one right. Booked a trip down to Tam Coc with them which was really good!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Apr 2016
6.0

It's OK but I didn't really enjoy my stay. The price is pretty good, the beds are adequate, and the bathroom, although very small, is above average for a hostel. The free breakfast is also probably better than standard, but I think some reviews on here overrate it. The dorm room itself is very cramped, and they refuse to leave the A/C control in the dorm room, meaning if you want it turned on or off or then you have to go down seven floors to reception and wait for them to send staff to do it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2016
7.7

basic place, not a ton of ambiance. pretty good selection at breakfast but basic quality, nothing special.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Apr 2016
9.4

Really lovely hostel! Looks like a 5* when you walk in. The dorm rooms could do with some attention. Broken blinds, hanging wires, dirty walls & mouod. Didn't make much of a difference to the stay. Beds were comfortable. The shower was amazing (ensure in every room), lovely free breakfast. The staff were incredibly helpful with booking tours and things. I booked a trip to Sapa and Halong Bay. The tour guide in Halong said she'd never seen anyone get the trip as cheap as I had it. Recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Apr 2016
9.4

It's located middle of the old quarter or market place, so kind of loud during the night time, but staffs are very very kind, helpful. And especially the buffet style breakfast, you will miss that. I kind of regretted I didn't stay after the first night. lockers are good and everything was perfect. you have to stay seriously.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.