Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

May De Ville Backpackers Hostel

  • 1 Hai Tuong Lane, 24 Ta Hien str,Hoan Kien District, Hanoi, Vietnam

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 679 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 679 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • jmoehring01044415
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
25th May 2017
4.9

The staff was very unpleasant to deal with- i felt like I was imposing and an inconvenience to them. I would ask a question and they would blatantly ignore me. The bed I was assigned also had dirty sheets on it and had not been cleaned (they did however change the sheets upon my request). I disliked this hostel so much that I switched to a different one for the remainder of my stay!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
19th May 2017
9.1

Perfect location, right at ancient town, breakfast is ok, staffs are great, reasonable price. But the space in Dorms is narrow, not clean indeed. It's ok for staying 1 or 2 nights and good for backpackers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
17th May 2017
9.4

We had a fantastic stay, staff were very helpful and friendly and the hostel felt very luxurious compared to typical backpacker hostels. Great location too. Breakfast average, could do with some more western options like cereal and yoghurts. Bathrooms could do with extra cleaning - hair on the floor, but overall would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th May 2017
8.3

Location was the most highlighted. The room was nice and clean the only thing was the shower we found it dirty(not enough lightning and shower head didn't work properly). Super polite and helpful staff. We booked tours with them and happy with the their offers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2017
9.4

Nice staying during my Vietnam Trip. Kind staff and very big nice room in the center of old Town in Hanoi. Lily and Sahra from the Hostel travel agencie did a lot of effort having a good Trip around Hanoi.....Thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
8.6

Really nice hostel in a good location. Would recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2017
7.4

Location is good..but congested dorm room no place for bags.. bathroom is semi-transparent or glass walls covered with non transparent paper.. I dont know why it is designed like this.. also saw a bedbug in my bed.. bathroom is very small.. breakfast is great..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Mar 2017
6.6

Very little atmosphere, but a good base for arriving or leaving Hanoi. Breakfast wasn't great western food wise, but pretty good views. Close to a lovely lake.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • finbarab95
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Mar 2017
9.7

No complaints what so ever about this place. Everything was truly very excellent. One tip though, it's called a hostel on here but when you arrive it looks like and is called a hotel. Don't go to the other place in Hanoi with the same name you'll be at the right place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
8.6

Our stay at May De Ville was good considering the fact we paid 5$ for a bed in a 6 bed dorm. The room was ok. It was a bit dirty and it was very humid and smelly. The bathroom was decent, but don't expect your things to stay dry! Everything gets wet in there haha! They have a tour desk and they offer great tours at a very reasonable price. The lady was very nice and spoke English very well. There were no surprises in our tours! I highly recommend you book your tour with them if you go to Halong

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.