Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

May De Ville Backpackers Hostel

  • 1 Hai Tuong Lane, 24 Ta Hien str,Hoan Kien District, Hanoi, Vietnam

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 705 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 705 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
9th Sep 2017
9.7

Great choice for accommodation in Hanoi

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Aug 2017
9.7

Excellent hostel, although it felt more like a hotel! Our private room was very clean and spacious. Breakfast includes lots of options and the staff are very friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
23rd Aug 2017
8.6

Recommended by a friend because it was very close to the night life, however not a hub itself so you could be sure of a quiet night. For the price it's a dream, however for solo travellers its definitely a no go, since there is no atmosphere whatsoever (unless you are happy to attend other hostel social nights). One downside is that the showers are in the actual bedroom, so there's no way of not being a bother when needing to shower/go to the toilet at night. Overall a nice comfortable place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2017
3.1

Terrible service. Room smelled like wet trash, but they would not move us or explain the source. Shower wouldn't drain, but the man sent up to fix it didn't speak English at all and merely shrugged his shoulders and walked out when we tried to explain the evident issue...Then the entire street flooded leaving the lobby under 2 feet of water. The staff did nothing to explain what was going on, how they were handling it, how long we could expect to be STRANDED, etc. Also charged us excessively.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Jun 2017
7.7

Great for price in the dorm rooms but this is really a hotel not meant for backpackers. It had no social atmosphere or anyone to chat to. If you're staying for one night and just want peace and quiet, this is a good place to stay. It's right in the old quarter so a great location and the hotel is very clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jmoehring01044415
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
25th May 2017
4.9

The staff was very unpleasant to deal with- i felt like I was imposing and an inconvenience to them. I would ask a question and they would blatantly ignore me. The bed I was assigned also had dirty sheets on it and had not been cleaned (they did however change the sheets upon my request). I disliked this hostel so much that I switched to a different one for the remainder of my stay!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
19th May 2017
9.1

Perfect location, right at ancient town, breakfast is ok, staffs are great, reasonable price. But the space in Dorms is narrow, not clean indeed. It's ok for staying 1 or 2 nights and good for backpackers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
17th May 2017
9.4

We had a fantastic stay, staff were very helpful and friendly and the hostel felt very luxurious compared to typical backpacker hostels. Great location too. Breakfast average, could do with some more western options like cereal and yoghurts. Bathrooms could do with extra cleaning - hair on the floor, but overall would definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th May 2017
8.3

Location was the most highlighted. The room was nice and clean the only thing was the shower we found it dirty(not enough lightning and shower head didn't work properly). Super polite and helpful staff. We booked tours with them and happy with the their offers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
13th May 2017
8.9

I booked this hostel in the hope that it would provide a clean, quiet reprieve from the busy backpacker culture in Hanoi. I only stayed one night and I managed to catch up on sleep and have a great breakfast the next morning for great value. The dorms are in a hotel so they are clean and tidy and the beds are very comfortable. However there is no communal area, no social atmosphere at all and no organised activities, so don't stay here if that's what you are after.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×