Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

May De Ville Backpackers Hostel

  • 1 Hai Tuong Lane, 24 Ta Hien str,Hoan Kien District, Hanoi, Vietnam

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 566 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 566 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.0
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel Located at 1 Hai Tuong Lane, 24 Ta Hien str,Hoan Kien District, Hanoi.
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
Vietnam
Hanoi Hoan Kiem 10000 1 Hai Tuong Lane, 24 Ta Hien str,Hoan Kien District
85% 566
21.0343788 105.8517801
May De Ville Backpackers Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Aug 2016
8.6

Very posh lobby. Room was very long and thin so wasn't very much room to move around! Did the job though and staff quick to fix wifi when it went down.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
7.4

It is not a party hostel. Which I liked. The location is really good but finding it for the first time was so hard!! There are a few hotels called may de ville, ive seen two of them before I got to the right one. Beds are good. There was a guy smoking in the badroom and the staff really spoke to him. Which was good aswell.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2016
8.3

Really helpful staff. Big comfy dorm beds with pull out draws you can lock. Right in the centre of old quarter - great spot!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • christophernixon
  • Northern Ireland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Aug 2016
9.1

Dorms are quite narrow but beds are nice and there is a lift. Buffet breakfast on the top floor was very good too and the staff were happy to refill anything that was used up. Wifi in the lobby is very good, elsewhere less so. Booked a travel package with them and they through in a free nights accommodation as well as a shower for when we returned from Ha Long Bay a couple of days later which you wouldn't get with the street travel agencies

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
23rd Jul 2016
6.0

This is a hotel- so, very clean but not at all suited to backpackers. No atmosphere at all, no common area, and things like laundry and drinks are expensive. Even for a hotel, it's not very good, WiFi kept cutting out, the air con is really bad if you're in the top bunk (and for some reason they won't let you have the remote control in your room), the breakfast was awful and the beds were hard. Its only redeeming feature was the location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
20th Jul 2016
9.7

Excellent value for money - when we fort arrived we thought we had accidently walked into an upmarket hotel rather than a hostel! The rooms are clean and comfortable if but the dorms a little cramped. The complimentary breakfast was lovely in their rooftop restaurant (although croissants/ bread should be avoided as totally dry) . Staff extremely helpful and booked our onward travel even going to the station to collect our tickets. Would reccomend this place to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • dennis_wroth4060
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Jul 2016
9.4

A hotel with dorms/shared rooms in a good location in a small side street. A delicious buffet breakfast is included which makes it really great value. It is a smart and well run hotel and all of the staff do a very fine job.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Jul 2016
8.9

Location is perfect - if you're backpacking and want somewhere cheap where you won't need to get any taxis because you're close to everything then book here - rooms are small and narrow but you're travelling so you won't really be in your room so who cares!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2016
6.9

I stayed two nights in the dorm here, and then moved to a private. The private room was just like staying in a regular hotel. The dorm had beds squeezed in so tight you could barely walk. The dorm bathroom was terrible, the glass was basically see through, yuck for a mixed-dorm. The location was perfect. The included breakfast was more than the normal hostel, but not amazing, and I got yelled at for filling my water bottle from the dining room cooler. Desk staff were unfriendly and unhelpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
10.0

Perfect locations in the old quarter, right in the middle of all the hustle bustle yet tucked away on a side street so the rooms are very quiet. The first room we got was large and perfect minus it's window's which were facing straight into a wall which made me feel a little claustrophobic. The second room had a perfect view. Michael who works there was incredibly sweet, caring and reliable and helped us more than anyone on our visit to Vietnam. This was the best hotel and best service.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.