Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

May De Ville Backpackers Hostel

  • 1 Hai Tuong Lane, 24 Ta Hien str,Hoan Kien District, Hanoi, Vietnam

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 667 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 667 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2017
9.4

Nice staying during my Vietnam Trip. Kind staff and very big nice room in the center of old Town in Hanoi. Lily and Sahra from the Hostel travel agencie did a lot of effort having a good Trip around Hanoi.....Thank you

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
8.6

Really nice hostel in a good location. Would recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Mar 2017
6.6

Very little atmosphere, but a good base for arriving or leaving Hanoi. Breakfast wasn't great western food wise, but pretty good views. Close to a lovely lake.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • finbarab95
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Mar 2017
9.7

No complaints what so ever about this place. Everything was truly very excellent. One tip though, it's called a hostel on here but when you arrive it looks like and is called a hotel. Don't go to the other place in Hanoi with the same name you'll be at the right place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
8.6

Our stay at May De Ville was good considering the fact we paid 5$ for a bed in a 6 bed dorm. The room was ok. It was a bit dirty and it was very humid and smelly. The bathroom was decent, but don't expect your things to stay dry! Everything gets wet in there haha! They have a tour desk and they offer great tours at a very reasonable price. The lady was very nice and spoke English very well. There were no surprises in our tours! I highly recommend you book your tour with them if you go to Halong

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • misshadlow
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Mar 2017
9.4

I very good hostel/hotel all round, wifi, location, staff and clean rooms were all good and above usual standards for Asia. Although stay in the 10 bed dorms they are nicer than the 6! Would stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
23rd Feb 2017
8.3

The location is perfect , directly in the old quarter. The beds are really big and comfy I loved them. Just the bathroom is not really private because you can hear really everything from inside and the stuff (especially the men) are sometimes really unfriendly. But the breakfast is one of the best ones we had in our whole trip and you cannot say anything against this hostel if you look at the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
10th Feb 2017
7.4

Perfect location, but it's not a hostel but a hotel so it's hard to meet people if there are no nice people in the room. The rooms are very small and the beds are shaking. Good breakfast but no backpackers atmosphere at all.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Feb 2017
6.9

Nice clean hostel with small 6 person dorms. The dorms are long and narrow which makes things a little awkward. The lockers weren't very secure for your belongings as they were wooden and falling apart. Also the bathroom is like frosted glass so is not very private. Not that easy to plug in your phone and stuff and there's no lights or curtains near the bed. But for the price you pay it was fine and good value for money. The staff were pretty helpful too although not super friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Raiyanchoudhury
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
25th Jan 2017
9.1

Fantastic place! Clean, friendly staff, a great buffet breakfast and the location is perfect. Only downside is that the bathroom is slightly see through and they don't provide free towels. Highly recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.