Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mingtown Etour International Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1987 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1987 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2017
9.1

The best things about this hostel were its location, price and the quality of the building. We stayed in a twin private room, with a shower (with decent water pressure, unlike other hostels), toilet (with flushing capabilities, unlike other hostels), a kettle, a desk and a TV which unfortunately had poor signal. The People's Park train station is close by and the surrounding area is nice to walk in. The food, drinks and laundry are fair prices. Would've liked more power sockets in our room 🔋🔌

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2017
6.6

Just one night here on a 17 Shanghai stop over. The showers were pretty dodgy, no hot water and lots of mold. The bar was pleasant and the location good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2017
8.6

Good hostel. Has everything you need. Friendly reception. Location and security are good. Cleanliness is decent. They have old style furniture in the private room and the corners had layers of dust. Not too fond of the restaurant though. The waiter was disinterested, service was slow, overpriced, and the food not spiced (got breakfast). I would return to this hostel, but avoid the restaurant.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jun 2017
8.6

This hotel is really great ! The dorm rooms are huge with air con, the beds are soft, the lockers are big, the restaurant is good value and the location is very great. Only downside, the public showers and toilets are really small, with no place to put your stuff inside the little room. However, this is only a minor problem: the hostel is beautiful and clean, and the atmosphere is great!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Jun 2017
9.7

I like the location because it Central, close to the subway, post office and neighborhood convienence stores very close. The restaurant bar is a great place to relax and socialize. Reasonable prices. I look forward to staying here on future visits.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd Jun 2017
7.1

The location is both central and also lively, with the sound of playing kids from the neighbourhood kindergarden. Staff was both helpful and competent both when we spoke Chinese or English. Strangely, the reception felt unwelcoming both in terms of the room and the staff. Bar/cafe are nicely designed but given that it was the most expensive room in our three week trip I would expect a bit more in terms of overall atmosphere and hospitality.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th May 2017
7.4

Stayed here on a long layover and it was just fine. Clean; nice communal areas if you can avoid/don't mind all the dang smoking. It's a little tucked away so be careful when making your way there. I nearly kept on walking past the entrance because it is sort of down a short alleyway off the road where the hostel's address is, and I didn't see a sign that specifically said the name of the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
30th May 2017
6.9

I appreciated the very thorough directions provided by the hostel. It was accurate and pretty easy to get to. Bathrooms were okay, not great. Don't forget to grab your toilet tissue from downstairs or the community area. Could be a problem. Bed was okay. I was only there for a 15hr layover and it was tolerable but nothing great. Sheets and beddings had stains. Gross. Wifi wasn't that good and staff don't speak English the way you would antisipate so keep that in mind. Location was good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm very sorry that only the staffs at the reception and some of them in the bar can speak English and their workin time is 7:00-23:00. And the sheets may have stains, but it doesn't mean it's not clean, they are all have beed wahsed and disinfected.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th May 2017
9.7

Unfortunately I was only staying at this hotel for one night after I flew into Shanghai. I really wish I could have stayed longer. The hostel is beautiful but it's kind of hard to find. You can't beat the location though. It's really close to people's park which was gorgeous. It's right off the metro line so getting around is really easy. It's quiet too. The room was nice couldn't figure out how to turn off one of the lights. It has ac and double security doors which was nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd May 2017
9.7

Excellent place. Helpful employees. Would recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.