Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mingtown Etour International Youth Hostel Reviews

No.55, Jiangyin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained


1541 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:


We loved the building, the bar and the area surrounding it and the location. I wish there were more people enjoying the common areas, they are amazing! It's an awesome location, the beds in the privates were very nice, the ones in the dorms quite hard.


It used to be a better choice to stay, but now it feels like it is being run just for the money. The staff shows little awareness for the requirements of travelers and function only for registration. They show virtually no experience with guests needs in visiting their city. Be prepared to find such things as the location of a China Mobile office on your own. The location they suggest doesn't exist anymore. In fact it is in the opposite direction from the branch on Nanjing West metro station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so sorry for giving you the wrong direction, and thank you for letting us know our shortcoming. We always keep up updating the variety infomation the travelers needs, but sometimes we may not that accurate and immediate. But still thank you for the feedback, that is really what we need.


There were 2 pros to staying here: the location was absolutely perfect and the courtyard area was pretty. Other than that, this place was ranged from average - below average. The cleanliness was ok but it wouldve been hard to spot a murder scene in the rooms bc the lights were so dim. There was ac available, but the remotes were removed and supposed to be turned on at 9 pm by staff. That never happened. Instead my dorm left the windows open which allowed in mosquitos. Not fun. Also may have mice

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm sorr you didn't enjoy the stay here. The light in the room is by design, but we are still going to improve it. About the AC, you can ask the staff to turn it on whenever you need it. The electric mosquito repellent heater can be borrowed from the reception, and we have the "best cat" in town, never worry about the mice.


well situated near Shanghai museum and shopping centers in a peaceful street you can go on foot to old Chinatown and to rhe Bund to see Pudong by night


Charming, central and cheap- the perfect combination.


Best location minutes from people's square. The hostel is very nice, specially the common areas and the garden. Rooms are big but with almost no lights, not enough toilets and showers for such a big hostel. WIFI is poor.


Good hostel apart from the badly decorated rooms, horrible yellow walls and we had a room with windows that didn't close, chain metal box over the window, close to a noisy generator outside and annoying singing woman.

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay here. But the decorations in the room is ancient Chinese style, the color we chose for the wall is designed. You may don't like it, but they are not that horrible. The windows can be closed, and we would glad to help you if you asked us to help you to close the windows. We are between one kindergarten and a social community center which is built for the retired people to have some acitvities, such as singing or dancing. At least they don't sing at night.


Hostel has a bit of a dusty dim view with it. Other reviews are very accurate, the lights in the room are dim to the point where you actually do need a torch. It's located centrally near People's Square so it is very convenient but its at the end of quite a smelly alley! It's not that bad but would not recommend it for long term travellers.


Thank you great place but you should have toilet paper in the toilets


The place is great being near to subway and the Huang He street (foodie heaven). Common area is quite happening but the big group mainly consists of Caucasians only. There are washing and drying machine which is good but the fee is on the high side (8 yuan per use for each washing and drying). Lack of ventilation inside the cafe though which can be very sweaty on a hot day. In general, it's a nice and pleasant place to stay, though finding it can be a little tricky.


In general ok, but not enough toilets, people have to wait especially morning time. Bedroom is clean but hygienic condition in toilets is not satisfactory. Overall problems are all about toilets


Great location and nice common area, however the dorms are kind of dark even when the light is turned on.


Great staff and nice bar area. The dorm I stayed in was clean and had nice-sized beds and lockers, however the lighting was very poor, to the point that flashlights were necessary. The shower and bathroom area was also very dim.


Well located, cheap. Poor ventilation, much moisture. Spots of humidity on the ceiling.

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


The location is the best thing about this place. It's incredibly close to Nanjing road, the main area for shopping, as well as walking distance from the French concession. The staff are nice however inability to provide a map was a bit unfortunate. The wifi here is TERRIBLE. It doesn't work at all. None of the toilets are supplied with toilet paper which is ridiculous. The showers are hot with good pressure but they have extremely poor lighting. The rooms also lack lighting.


I believe the best in the city: location is the simply perfect at People's square, there is nice staff who speaks good English, good food and friendly atmosphere. Strongly recommended.


Best hostel bar ever. Feeling almost at home. Beds were not the best ever, but there was A/C in every single room. Location was a bit tricky to find at first, in an alley next to a kindergarden. I would go there again if I visited Shanghai.


We stayed here for our first week in Shanghai, and the general culture shock may have contributed to some of our impressions. Overall, this hostel was a pretty mixed bag - the yard features a little pond with kois, the restaurant/café serves decent breakfast (and other dishes) at comparatively decent prices for Western standard, but the overall cleanliness wasn't too good. At some point, somebody had defecated into one of the shared sinks, but that was quickly taken care of by the staff.


There were not enough washrooms on our floor. Although there were more on the 3rd floor, you had to walk outside in the rain to get there, and those 2 were taken as well. The rooms and bathrooms were poorly lit, there was no place to hang anything except for in the showers. The beds were comfortable, but old. Because of theft, there wasn't an A/C remote in the room and at 10:30pm they sent a guy from staff into the female dorm to shut it off. Bar and common area was very nice.


The room was simple but nice, the lounge area with the garden and the bar are pleasant, the bar is a bit overpriced but expected in a hostel. The hostel is in a central location and a quiet area. Just lack of atmosphere. The staff can speak enough english.

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(62 results)

View all Shanghai Hostels

Please give us your feedback