X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mingtown Etour International Youth Hostel Reviews

No.55, Jiangyin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1631 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Great Hostel, clean, and cosy ambiance.


71%

Good : location / price / room / food Bad : Athmosphere and staff. Not welcoming for an hostel.

  • 15th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

The hotel was in reform and they didn't told us.

  • 28th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

I could not sleep well cause the room was too cold and smelt by painting rooms newly. I might not choose the hostel again if I go to shanghai.

  • 26th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Excellent location. Readily available hot water, good functioning heater in room, clean bedsheets, clean functioning water kettle, good clean toilet and hairdryer, great atmosphere in common area.

  • 19th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much!

54%

We were at the hostel during winter time, it took two days to get proper heating in the room Housekeeping came to the room for the firs time on the third day of our stay We ask for a taxi to Honquiao international terminal and it took us to the domestic terminal (which is further away and more expensive) Besides the fact the staff is friendly and polite, the best thing about this hostel is the unbeatable location it has

  • 15th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Staff helpful and fluent in English


80%

Thank you.

  • 10th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


77%

Unfortunately there was some constructions going on in the backyard, which was not announced on the website or to us prior to our arrival. Besides, the backyard with it's little café is very cute and cozy although the couches need to be replaced urgently and the café wasn't heated. The shower in our private room was cold! After asking at the reception we were told to "let the water run for 20 minutes (!) before it gets warm". This is ridiculous and an unnecessary waste of water.

  • 28th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We're sorry for the inconvenience and unpleasant stay. We do have had mentioned "The hostel is under RENOVATING since the 16th of November, 2015." in the property description. We also have signs at the reception and room area. We told you the hot water recycling system turns-on on the clock each hour, because if the recycling system always turning-on is a waste of energy. We've suggested you to take the shower on the clock or you need to wait for a long time.

26%

This is the worst hostel ive been at. Very rude staff, not knowledgable about the city other than the metro stations. Restrooms are horrible. None to barely english.


74%

As a hostel itself is really not bad. Staff is good, serio and professional . The kitchen cannot be really called really with this name, because it's in the of a from the bar to some rooms. During my stay there were improvement works :probably that was the reason. The hostel is full of workers that live there, creating not always good situations for visitors. Because one of them's bad behaviour, I preferred to move and change hostel.


66%

Bathrooms and washing facilities poor. Hostel was so cold even the bar. great location


100%

If you are travelling to Shanghai, that's the place to be!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for the compliments.

77%

We stayed 3 days at this place. We choosed it for the location and it was a good choice for that. reason. We had a double-bed room with a private bathroom. We had enough space in the room but it was dark because there was no sufficient lightning, The furniture was hold, and the hot water was not avalable almost all the time. The staff spoke english well but they couldn't help us much. The contact was not to inviting. We wouldn't return to this hotel mostly because of its location.

  • 23rd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm sorry for the hot water supply system. We have hot water for 24 hours, but it needs more than 15 minutes to come out. And now the hostel is under renovatting and we are changing all the lightings in the rooms. We would like to have you back again and give us more suggestions.

63%

We couldn't really put our finger on it but neither of us got a great vibe from this hostel. The room was good with 2 doors (as we had a shared bathroom) for security. Some staff were nice, others could be less polite. The bar was cool but too expensive for us. Great location but lacking atmosphere.


100%

Great hostel, great location, really good value for money so close to the center of Shanghai. I would definitely stay here again. Even had comfy beds! The only negative I would mention was the breakfast. Didn't have time to explore Shanghai for breakfast so ate from hostel. Breakfast was cheap but not great quality. The baked beans were stone cold!!

  • 13th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

Staff rude and unhelpful. Dirty, no lights, and the kitchen and laundry facilities were seriously lacking. Location was a five minute walk from Peoples Square and the metro line.


60%

We booked it because of the Location, which is really excellent. BUT there is no real kitchen, it doesn't even deserve that name. The staff always occupied it, there were no dishes to even eat your own food. The WIFI is simple HORRIBLE, we tried to book flights for our next destination but simply couldn't do it. The common area looks super nice, but again : You are not allowed to bring and eat your own food, but where to eat when the kitchen is always occupied? Staff played pool, maps cost15RMB

  • 31st Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The common areas of the hostel are great. Good food, pool table, plenty of seating, and wifi. Unfortunately the wifi didn't work in the dorm room. This is also the first hostel I've stayed in that didn't have a free tourist map - you'd have to pay 15RMB. Also, three girls were living in my room, so that was a bit weird and their belongings were kind of everywhere. Easy to get to the subway which takes you anywhere in the city.


94%

We really loved this place, location was excellent, restaurant was good value for the money, just awesome!👏


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(53 results)


View all Shanghai Hostels

Please give us your feedback