X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mingtown Etour International Youth Hostel Reviews

No.55, Jiangyin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1513 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Great staff and nice bar area. The dorm I stayed in was clean and had nice-sized beds and lockers, however the lighting was very poor, to the point that flashlights were necessary. The shower and bathroom area was also very dim.


74%

The location is the best thing about this place. It's incredibly close to Nanjing road, the main area for shopping, as well as walking distance from the French concession. The staff are nice however inability to provide a map was a bit unfortunate. The wifi here is TERRIBLE. It doesn't work at all. None of the toilets are supplied with toilet paper which is ridiculous. The showers are hot with good pressure but they have extremely poor lighting. The rooms also lack lighting.


100%

I believe the best in the city: location is the simply perfect at People's square, there is nice staff who speaks good English, good food and friendly atmosphere. Strongly recommended.


60%

There were not enough washrooms on our floor. Although there were more on the 3rd floor, you had to walk outside in the rain to get there, and those 2 were taken as well. The rooms and bathrooms were poorly lit, there was no place to hang anything except for in the showers. The beds were comfortable, but old. Because of theft, there wasn't an A/C remote in the room and at 10:30pm they sent a guy from staff into the female dorm to shut it off. Bar and common area was very nice.


66%

The room was simple but nice, the lounge area with the garden and the bar are pleasant, the bar is a bit overpriced but expected in a hostel. The hostel is in a central location and a quiet area. Just lack of atmosphere. The staff can speak enough english.


97%

Excellent location in the heart of the city within walking distance of the subway station, banks, and coffee shops as well as the Bund. I absolutely loved the people I met at this hostel -- this hostel really attracts an international crowd and I met people from all over the world. The bar is also super chill and plays a diverse selection of music. A few cons: the dorms are not well lit and get very dark when the sun sets; the wifi only really works in the bar and isn't too great in the dorms


74%

Great location with friendly, English speaking staff. Lovely common room bar area which serves food. Our room was basic but nice, however the bathrooms were dark and smelt very much of damp and mould. Still, a nice hostel in a central area of shanghai.


86%

Fantastic location, right by People's Park, but tucked away in a small side street so doesn't feel too crowded. Rooms were basic but clean, although showers aren't brilliant. Atmosphere was quite lacking - there weren't many people in the bar / public areas at breakfast or in the evening and the hostel doesn't seem to organise social events. However, the staff were INCREDIBLY helpful, spoke great English and booked train tickets / flights and called other hostels for me. Amazing - thank you!


74%

리셉션 체크아웃시 직원이 한명이라 붐벼 대기시간이 좀 길었던것과 카드결제만 되는 점이 불편했습니다. (During check out, there was only one staff at the reception so it took awhile for me to check out and also not accepting card was big down fall for me)

  • 25th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you. We believe we are doing better and better!

91%

Good hostel, great location, mixture of traditional and modern architecture with good facilities. I enjoyed staying in room 201. But it should have a soap dispenser. Thanks

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

The hostel's common area is very beautiful! Unfortunately the Prices at the bar are expensive, but the Barkeeper was very friendly and advised me to buy Drinks at the reception (there they are much cheaper!).


69%

The area is nice but it was impossible for us to connect with their WiFi for 4 straight days on our US iPhones. Other then that, nice place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We'are so sorry about the WiFi didn't work very well. Now we already upgraded the network speed to 200M, welcome back again and have a better experience.

94%

Great hostel with pretty cool common area and garden-like open space. Awesome location as it's walkable to the Bund, and People's Square is a central area. It's got an old feel to it, so if you're looking for somewhere more modern this is not it. The only thing I noticed is the lighting is pretty dim in the bathroom area and in general-- wonder if I missed a light switch?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your suggestions, we are going to be better and better.

89%

El hostel es precioso, limpio y genial, lo único que le puede faltar es que incluya en desayuno y que el Staff no sea tan borde, mas alguno que otro ( pero especialmente la chica...). La decoración, salas comunes, y habitaciones en general limpias, bonitas y cuidadas. Un hostel muy bien localizado en el medio de people square. Muy recomendable


77%

It was raining for the whole of our stay at the hostel but the outdoor seating area and communal areas look like they will be very beautiful in nice weather. The directions the hostel give you are spot on. The breakfast was reasonable but the soft drinks like cola and soda were very over priced which stopped us chilling with some drinks etc. staff have very good English and the cats are cute-

Owner Comment (Hide)
I'm sorry that you didn't have a good time here. We are glad that you left the comment, it helps us getting better and better. Thank you!

60%

he room was facing a basket court and you could hear everything from 8.00 o'clock in the morning. extremely annoying. The internet sucked, but looks like in the whole city is crapy. the staff was very unhelpful and rude as well. Anyhow, the location, room quality and price are good


71%

The best thing in this hostel is the location but you need to remember that you are in China so it will be difficult to find anything better paying almost nothing. The atmosphere is not good once there is no place in common where you can meet and talk to people but a bar that is overpeiced. Rooms are extremelly hot and you need to ask them to turn on the air everytime otherwise you you melt away.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Our hostel is free to have a sit in and you can have the free water from the bar. And because all the remotes in the dorm are kept by the reception, the air-condition will be turned on only if the reception has been informed. We are so sorry that you didn't have a good time in our hostel.

69%

Both the sheets and my room had the pervasive smell of damp mildew throughout my 3-day stay. The wi-fi wouldn't work in my room either... had to go to the cafe/bar area to use the internet and even then it was unreliable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so sorry that you didn't have a good time here. Because of the building with the long history nearly 100 years and the rainy sticky season (黄梅天)one time a year in Shanghai, the room is full of humidity. Please come back in autumn again.

69%

The location is great. Could do with providing fresh towels every 3 days, especially for people staying there for 5+ nights. Wifi in room and bar very poor and this is a big issue when traveling around China as you need the Internet to do some research.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Towels changing and room cleaning will be arranged only if the reception has been informed. And the guests can take the clean towels, toilet paper and with no charge from the reception. We are so sorry about the poor wifi in the room and the bar, but we also have a public computer at the reception to use for free. Thank you for the comment, we believe we are doing better and better.

100%

Great common area, central location, friendly service, and good food. My only recommendation is to improve the wifi—it was difficult to connect and extremely slow except in the middle of the night. Overall, a very good hostel.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(54 results)


View all Shanghai Hostels

Please give us your feedback