Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mingtown Etour International Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 2030 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 2030 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
5th Sep 2017
7.7

The male staff at night was very, very unkind and rude to me. My AC was not functioning but he simply told me off saying I didn't know how to use it. We ended up sleeping in the hot weather. Next morning I complained to a girl at the reception and they checked and found out AC was indeed damaged. They changed my room, which was good. I'm very grateful to her. Everything else, e.g. room, location, etc... were good. Thanks!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Aug 2017
9.4

Fantastic place. Everything you could ask for in a hostel. Only down side was that there was no safe in our double room. Sharing a bathroom was completely fine: between 3 rooms, and hardly ever saw anyone else. Best place to stay in Shanghai!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Aug 2017
8.9

Love the atmosphere at this hostel, quite funky. Our room was old but very comfortable and clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Aug 2017
7.7

Very well located right next to People's Square and the metro, the guesthouse is decent (food is quite OK), setting with a fish and turtle pond is amazing, though cleanliness could be improved in the rooms, and the staff isn't always the most friendly. Nothing out of the ordinary in a big city, though comparing to smaller ones it's sub par. it's a good choice to stay in Shanghai though, very practical to get around!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Aug 2017
8.6

Great rooms and cleanliness but no atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Aug 2017
8.3

The location of this hostel is perfect, around 5 min walk to people's square subway station, where 3 subway lines intersect. Strong AC in my room. The cafe on the first floor is comfy, which is good for a laidback night after a long day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
8.9

It takes around 15 minutes to actually reach the subway station People's Square from the hostel, because after entering exit 11, which is the nearest one, you still need to go through a shopping hall to the subway station. There are some local variety stores right beside the hostel so it's quite convenient to get water. You can even find some of them selling fresh fruits. The staff is kind but it seems like they cannot fully understand your English. The wi-fi is poor in the room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • mattbishop8956
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2017
8.3

I really enjoyed my stay and would come back. It's a little slow, but if you're not in a hurry its beautiful

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 20 reviews
26th Jul 2017
9.1

I think overall its a good place it needs to work on the ac in the second floor of the cafe but overall ok. Staff are charming, one of them is a little cheeky. It is an above average hostel but I think the coffee coupons they offer at check in should not have a time limit.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2017
8.3

Rooms are a little old and bathrooms could be cleaner but overall I enjoyed my stay! Nice atmosphere and the restaurant there makes for a good hang out place. The hostel is at a great location in Shanghai, close to the bund and clubs plus easy way to meet new people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×