Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mingtown Etour International Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 1889 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 1889 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Feb 2017
6.0

Hostel is too cold in the Winter, as everything is open and the Windows have big gabs. Even for China. Toillets and showers are nice and clean,but not enough. If you step out of the shower you are directly on the outside corridor. Very cold and no privacy. Not a social hostel and a lot of Chinese people. But the location is great!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
14th Feb 2017
9.7

I'd recommend this place. The café inside the hostel has lots of comfortable seating and it's a great place to socialise throughout the day. The pool table is free to play and they also have a nice outside terrace for when you want to have a coffee in the sun. The room was a good size, with individual plug and lamp and the heater (as it's winter) was good, quiet and set to the perfect temperature. Shower was good & toilet clean (just tiny). Free towel, lock and use of hairdryer which was great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much, and welcome back again.

  • annebruun
  • Denmark, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
5th Feb 2017
10.0

We had 2 nights in a double room with shared bathroom - cost almost the same as two dorm beds. The location is absolutely perfect, 30 minutes from the Bund on foot, 5 from people's square, metro and the museums. The staff is very helpful. The bar is a little expensive, but they cook good food - one breakfast is enough for 2. If you like sightseeing, the red double layer busses stop at the Marriott. The 'Muslim Noodle Shop' just around the corner (look at the map in the reception) is veeery good!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you for the compliment.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
27th Jan 2017
9.4

Great place, really cool dining and hang out area! My room did have an odd smell and the location was a little difficult to find but other than that it was a great stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much, we'll checking out the dorm room you stayed and get rid of the odd smell.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Jan 2017
9.7

The hostel is beautiful and in a perfect location, it's really close to the metro and in the centre but far enough off the road so that you can't hear any traffic noise. The bar does western and Chinese food at reasonable prices and caters very well to vegetarians.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for the valuable comments. See you next time.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Jan 2017
8.9

The staff were so friendly and kind. I loved the location too. Overall, I would recommend it and long to go back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much! See you next time.

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
23rd Jan 2017
7.7

Staff were vague and disinterested overall. Couldn't even suggest how one might book a bus from Shanghai. Taxi was not booked as promised from an early departure. Self catering is only a kettle and microwave + fridge. Lovely bar and drinks. Good areas to relax. Careful of beds in double room, we had to demand to move rooms as the bed was appalling. Worst I've had in a hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're very sorry for the experience. Because it's during the Chinese New Year's Holiday, it is really very hard to get a taxi in the very early morning, there were very less taxi drivers out there. And the bus ticket only can be bought from the bus station.

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Jan 2017
6.6

Staff was terribly unfriendly (applies for the guy at the reception especially). Felt not very welcome.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We're very sorry for it. We believe he'll getting better and better.

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
10.0

second time staying here and yet again it was one of the nicest, cleanest hostels I've stayed in China. This time I arrived late and the security guard happily let me check in and leave luggage, and even helped me practice some mandarin! Breakfast was nice in the morning and all the facilities were clean

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much, welcome back again!

8th Jan 2017
9.1

Great location & fun atmosphere. On-site bar & restaurant was very convenient, lights and outlets in every bed, and several amenities (towels, slippers, hair dryers, etc.) available for use free of charge. Overall one of the better hostels I've stayed at!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you, this is really an encouragement!

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.