Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 1962 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 1962 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
10.0

This is a great hostel right near the metro stop on line 2 (which connects Pudong Airport to Hongqiao Railway Station) and in a calmer street near an active walking mall. It's walking distance from the People's Square where the Shanghai museum is. Coffee is served in a public area on the first floor, and the second floor has another public area with a pool table. The atmosphere was relaxed, quiet, clean, and safe. Easy and enjoyable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2017
8.3

Great to have an elevator, but my room at the end of the hall was beyond the range of the hostel's WiFi.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th Mar 2017
6.6

Great location, very central. Walkable distance to the Bund and the subway. Staff were ok, just doing their job, nobody tell you where everything is. Not a very social atmosphere, people tend to keep to themselves. It was ok.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Mar 2017
9.7

great place! great location! very clean, friendly staff and cheap, tasty breakfast.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • emanuellh
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2017
8.9

It's a súper hostel for the price, with excellent location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Feb 2017
8.0

I stayed here for a long layover and it worked out well. It was a great location so I was able to see the city in a few short hours, and it was very close to a metro. However I wouldn't have stayed here any longer than one night. The beds were rock hard and sheets/pillow cases were stained and ripped. Also they don't accept credit cards, which they should probably put on their main page. I didn't hang out in the common space but it seemed pretty small and quiet (there's a bar though).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Feb 2017
6.6

The location is great, but there is no wifi in the rooms - only in the common areas which really annoyed us as the common areas were really cold and it didn't say that when we booked the hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
21st Feb 2017
10.0

A beautiful room (the deluxe was well worth the extra money), so much space and even a little reading room! We couldn't fault the place, from its convenient location to walk to the Bund, the shops of Nanjing Rd and the subway.. delightful😀

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Feb 2017
6.3

Huge hostel. Great location, just off Nanjing road, walking distance to Bund, beside metro station. Seems to be some long term residents there. The staff aren't very helpful, don't expect advice on tourist attractions etc. Not much of an atmosphere, seems to be a place people stay one night and head on somewhere else. Clean and seemed safe though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Feb 2017
9.4

Really nice hostel with a nearby metro. Bathrooms were clean and staff was friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.