X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel Reviews

No. 258 Tianjin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1015 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Solo traveller, loved this place, very relaxed, quiet atmosphere. Felt safe and staff were very helpful. Recommend highly.

  • 12th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

I really enjoyed the time there Thank you so much guys

  • 4th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mongolia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Very easy taking subway and seeing shanghai night view.


71%

I've stayed there before and I didn't have a problem with the smell, but this time I read a comment from someone complaining about it--and they were right! The smell in the stairwell is disgusting and I wish they would do something about it because, overall, it is a good, convenient place to stay and the food is very good.


83%

Family room is awesome! 4 bed dorm ok, but a bit small, especially for guests with a lot of luggage. great Location.


89%

이 호스텔의 가장 큰 장점은 위치예요. 지하철 역에서 정말 가깝고 차기도 쉬어요. 와이탄 까지 걸어서 10분 그리고 관광지와도 가깝고 먹을거리도 많고 밤이 되면 호스텔 앞에 과일노점상 로컬 음식을 경험할수도 있어요. 하지만 방과방 층과층사이에 방음은 잘 되어있지 않았어요. 하지만 잠깐의 소란스러움 이므로 많이 예민하지 않은신 분이라면 큰 문제는 없을것 같아요

  • 30th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

It's really expensive compare to the service and rooms

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The room was really great and large, really clean, with nice design. A bit humid at the 3rd floor maybe due to the laundry Nice staff speaking fluent english ! We enjoyed our stay :-)


63%

Had a bad smell in the hallway, but the rooms where nice and clean

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Overall good hostel, especially the location. The staff is friendly and speaks English. The twin rooms are nice, nearly hotel standard.


71%

Wifi sucks, staff was unfriendly, not very willing to help, and didn't know much to do in Shanghai. Exceptional location. Not a good place to meet people, and as a person traveling alone, that was very important to me. Would not stay again


86%

La ubicación era buena, de todas formas volveríamos, el staff hablaba inglés muy bien y la comida era buena, cerca de los lugares principales y el metro. Todo bien si te tocan compañeros de pieza limpios.


100%

Honestly, one of the highlights of my trip: they had great breakfast food and did a good job creating a community of boarders that were a lot of fun to get to know.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

97%

가격에비해위치나시설,청결면에서우수했던곳 커플여행이었는데서로다른호텔2군데,그리고밍타운에서묶었었음 근데둘다밍타운이최고라고꼽았음~~물론호텔이예쁘고고급스럽긴하지만 밍타운도깔끔하고예쁘고시설다다갖추어져있음 위치최고!!다시가도여기묵을듯

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

77%

Breakfast takes too long to get done. Kitchen closes from 1pm to 4pm. The network was bad. No free map, and info about directions was not very clear sometimes. Location is excellent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

97%

We had a comfortable stay here in this nice hostel which is in a great location and despite our room facing the road it was very quiet in the room. The staff were very helpful in sorting out transport for leaving Shanghai. The bathroom was always clean in our shared 6 bed dorm. The kitchen is sparse with eating utensils but that is not a problem if eating out and there are many eateries and corner shops close by.

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

71%

Location was great, just a street away from the East Nanjing Road subway station. Place is clean and theres no shortage of showers. But the staff were pretty unwilling to help with any questions and seemed a little rude sometimes

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

83%

Everything you need. Close to train line and walking distance to the bund. Comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

77%

Staff were good, English was a barrier when getting our key deposit back. Hallway smelt bad when we first arrived the first night but after that seemed OK. The private twin room with private bathroom we stayed at was nice, good size space. They say to leave the towels in the sink if you want them to change, which they did except for 1 night so we had to go back down to reception. The location of this place is one of the best things about it

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

91%

i met good people in the hostel. Nanjing youth hostel gave me a great memory. if i go to Shanghai again, i will be staying there definitely.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Belluna
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(62 results)


View all Shanghai Hostels

Please give us your feedback