X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel Reviews

No. 258 Tianjin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
994 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

It's really expensive compare to the service and rooms

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

The room was really great and large, really clean, with nice design. A bit humid at the 3rd floor maybe due to the laundry Nice staff speaking fluent english ! We enjoyed our stay :-)


63%

Had a bad smell in the hallway, but the rooms where nice and clean

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Overall good hostel, especially the location. The staff is friendly and speaks English. The twin rooms are nice, nearly hotel standard.


71%

Wifi sucks, staff was unfriendly, not very willing to help, and didn't know much to do in Shanghai. Exceptional location. Not a good place to meet people, and as a person traveling alone, that was very important to me. Would not stay again


86%

La ubicación era buena, de todas formas volveríamos, el staff hablaba inglés muy bien y la comida era buena, cerca de los lugares principales y el metro. Todo bien si te tocan compañeros de pieza limpios.


100%

Honestly, one of the highlights of my trip: they had great breakfast food and did a good job creating a community of boarders that were a lot of fun to get to know.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

97%

가격에비해위치나시설,청결면에서우수했던곳 커플여행이었는데서로다른호텔2군데,그리고밍타운에서묶었었음 근데둘다밍타운이최고라고꼽았음~~물론호텔이예쁘고고급스럽긴하지만 밍타운도깔끔하고예쁘고시설다다갖추어져있음 위치최고!!다시가도여기묵을듯

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

77%

Breakfast takes too long to get done. Kitchen closes from 1pm to 4pm. The network was bad. No free map, and info about directions was not very clear sometimes. Location is excellent.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

97%

We had a comfortable stay here in this nice hostel which is in a great location and despite our room facing the road it was very quiet in the room. The staff were very helpful in sorting out transport for leaving Shanghai. The bathroom was always clean in our shared 6 bed dorm. The kitchen is sparse with eating utensils but that is not a problem if eating out and there are many eateries and corner shops close by.

  • 22nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

71%

Location was great, just a street away from the East Nanjing Road subway station. Place is clean and theres no shortage of showers. But the staff were pretty unwilling to help with any questions and seemed a little rude sometimes

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

83%

Everything you need. Close to train line and walking distance to the bund. Comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

77%

Staff were good, English was a barrier when getting our key deposit back. Hallway smelt bad when we first arrived the first night but after that seemed OK. The private twin room with private bathroom we stayed at was nice, good size space. They say to leave the towels in the sink if you want them to change, which they did except for 1 night so we had to go back down to reception. The location of this place is one of the best things about it

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

91%

i met good people in the hostel. Nanjing youth hostel gave me a great memory. if i go to Shanghai again, i will be staying there definitely.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Belluna
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

97%

Great location, great facilities. Wifi is shockinggggggg

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

77%

뭐 시설이나 청결은 고만고만하구요. 난징동루역이 바로 근처에 있어서 접근성은 상당히 좋습니다. 와이탄은 걸어서 10분 15분정도 걸렸던거 같은데 가는길이 번화가고 잠깐 야경보러 설렁설렁 걷기도 나쁘지 않았네요. 도미토리에서 이것저것 따지기 그렇잖아요? 시설은 평균에 접근성좋으니 만족하면서 지냈네요.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

94%

Very nice place, I loved the atmosphere at the Cafe/bar downstairs. The springs on the mattress stuck out and were a bit uncomfortable, and they didn't have towels for rent/use by guests. Otherwise, great experience!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

100%

A small room but very clean, staff were friendly and you can't beat the location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

100%

This hostel really does have a fantastic location, it is one street behind East Nanjing Rd and less than a 2 minute walk from the metro station. Modern hostel with a nice bar which serves food too.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

86%

Everything was nice, have no complaints. Stuff was very friendly and helpful.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(60 results)


View all Shanghai Hostels

Please give us your feedback