Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1931 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1931 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Feb 2017
6.3

Huge hostel. Great location, just off Nanjing road, walking distance to Bund, beside metro station. Seems to be some long term residents there. The staff aren't very helpful, don't expect advice on tourist attractions etc. Not much of an atmosphere, seems to be a place people stay one night and head on somewhere else. Clean and seemed safe though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Feb 2017
9.4

Really nice hostel with a nearby metro. Bathrooms were clean and staff was friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
31st Jan 2017
10.0

Can't beat this location!!! I was amazed by how close to the subway and nanjing road, everything you need! The rooms are a bit crammed but they're clean and nice! Would definitely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Jan 2017
6.6

Our room was much too cold, we turned on the AC to the max, but that didn't help a lot. Even with really thick tights and a warm water bottle, it was still freezing while sleeping. The stuff was not really friendly and not that helpful. We had to leave early in the morning, so we asked in the evening before leaving if we had to preorder a taxi, they said it wouldn't be necessary, in the morning neither didi dache (uber) nor the normal taxi order service worked...

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Jan 2017
6.9

The hostel, while clean and comfortable, had fairly terrible wifi and was not concerned at all with creating anything social for its guests. It felt more like a small hotel. The dorms were awfully quiet and anti social and the wifi was only accessible in common areas. Nanjing road is a bit of a crowded location but great for subway access and the Bund as well. All in all, it's not a terrible choice but I would hope Shanghai has better hostels.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jan 2017
8.3

Nothing amazing, nothing horrible. The beds are comfortable and the location is really amazing which is what matters most. The staff seemed annoyed with us everytime we had a question, but it wasn't enough to ruin our day. The rooms are pretty small and right spaced, but have really amazing lockers to keep your stuff in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Jan 2017
9.1

Best hostel, very clean, good breakfast for a rasonable price (shanghai is too expensive), the staf is very helpully, but just if you ask them. The nicest one was a guy with glases, i think his name was Jason. Me and my friends spend a really good time there. Totally recomended.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jan 2017
8.3

nice place, great location, easy access to the subway. I've stayed here a number of times. whenever i go to shanghai, this is my go-to place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
6th Jan 2017
10.0

Our stay in this hostel was great. The staffs were so nice and the location is perfect. The rooms were clean and secure. I definitely recomend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2017
8.9

This is a good place to stay, when you are for the first time in Shanghai. Metro-Station is nearby and so are the tourist hotspots as Nanjing rd. The staff was helpful, they could translate several needs from English into Chinese, so we could for example easily get train tickets to Guangzhou. Very clean but in winter-time quiet cold since the window does not close well. Bathroom has anything one needs and was cleaned every day. Wi-Fi did not always work proper but all in all we can recommend it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.