Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 2013 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 2013 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Apr 2017
10.0

Is always my preferred stay in shanghai as it is near to the metro station and near to the main attraction as well as a lot of eateries and convenience shop besides. Highly highly recommended to everyone although is a youth hostel but with same amenties as a 3 star hotel The staffs are very efficient and speak english. They provide baggage deposit service at cheap rates as well as able to accept my taobao items for me. Loving mingtang shanghai YHA!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2017
8.6

Clean and spacious room with an excellent shower. Pity they haven't got a credit card machine. Only visited briefly for an overnight stop.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
7.1

Nice location, comfortable rooms, not very friendly staff, not aceptting credtit card

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2017
9.1

The place in down a quite little alley. It is in great walking distance from Nanjing Road from all the shops. The facilities are extremely clean, and the staff makes sure the rooms are equipped with necessities, but bring your own towels and toiletries. The hotel also has a restaurant, but I only got latte's in the morning, which were delicious. Also, the wifi here is not that great either, so don't rely on that amenity. Overall great place for the price you pay per night!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Apr 2017
9.7

Great hostel got upgraded for free !!! Would always go here when I visit Shanghai.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2017
9.7

My favorite thing is that they have a hot water machine for making tea and there is ample room in the lockers. They are very well located near the pedestrian street & subway. What I like least was that the computer in the lobby can suddenly be out of service just by touching the computer & sometimes the keyboard & mouse works and sometimes it doesn't.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
10.0

Friendly stuff and good atmosphere.*****

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Apr 2017
9.4

Everything was great especially the location! I love the room decor too. Very cosy and homey!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Apr 2017
7.4

Overall the place was ok and the location was good but the staff weren't as friendly and helpful as other places we'd been too.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Apr 2017
9.4

Great hostel. Staff are helpful and speak English well. Common spaces on 1st, 2nd and 3rd floor are all comfortable, kitchen has all the equipment you need (but no ingredients like oil or spices). Rooms are very clean, lockers are large, beds each have a shelf, light and plug, and are comfortable. Location is very close to the Bund and E. Nanjing Rd, incl. the metro stop. Ming town has everything I look for in a hostel, would definitely suggest this place to a friend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.