Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 2156 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 2156 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
10th Aug 2017
7.4

Cannot fault this hostel for cleanliness, and it was useful they had laundry machines in the hostel. Rooms were an OK size, and were cleaned every day. However, the staff were polite but not really friendly, and the hostel really lacked any kind of social atmosphere. It felt more like a hotel. So ok if you want a stopover or just somewhere clean, but not a place to meet people at all.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Aug 2017
8.3

We had a private ensuite room. It was very big for hosting two people and the bathroom was clean and functional. Big upside: a proper shower. However, the linens had some stains: I am sure they have been washed many times but it is never comfy to find stains where you gonna sleep. The hostel is perfectly located, 5 minutes walking from East Nanjing Rd subway and the main street. Overall it was a very nice staying ans I would recommend it for budget travellers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2017
8.6

Good value with a great location. Staff very friendly and helpful. The only problem is with the Wifi which is weak in the rooms and is almost non existent at night when everyone is using it. I will stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2017
7.7

This hostel has a large amount of turnover. People come and go often and they are usually the party-type, but the location was perfect - so close to the metro. The locker was large and big enough to fit my pack. There were huge beetles in the shower, but that's my only complaint.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2017
9.4

Great and convenient place for short stay in Shanghai. Just one minute walk from subway and near all attractions in centra Shanghai. Would stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Jul 2017
8.9

Excellent location, on Nanjing Road just a short walk from both the Bund and People's Park. The staff were friendly enough but didn't speak great english and some of them didn't seem to know that much about Shanghai (e.g. they hadn't heard of one of the most famous bars that you go to for a view over the city). But the dorms were nice with good bathroom facilities. The downstairs area was pretty nice and had a decent atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
9.1

Our room was on the second floor which meant our wifi wasn't the best and our bed was also uncomfortable as you could feel all the springs. However other then that was happy with the location, food and staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2017
6.0

Don't expect ANY English to be spoken by the staff. None. Many Chinese people stay here, not many foreign tourists. Also, it is far from the metro and difficult to find.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jun 2017
6.9

It's an alright hostel. The location is fantastic, it's only a couple blocks from the metro line that runs between both of shanghai's airports. Other than that not much to rave about. I've stayed at much nicer hostel in shanghai for a similar price. It serves its purpose so enough though as a place to sleep close to the sights

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • ignatiusega
  • Indonesia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
9.4

Located in the central of shanghai, near by the metro station (can be reach by walking). Even it's a small hostel but they have an elevator that help us to carry our luggages into the upstairs. The staffs are helpful, could speak english fluently, and they're serving delicious foods. 9/10.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.