Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 2080 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 2080 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jun 2017
5.7

Positives: great air conditioner, hot water in shower, felt safe, good wifi, elevator, very cheap. Negatives: a dark, damp, sad place. I was disappointed based on other positive reviews and a recommendation from Lonely Planet. If you have a little extra to spend, look elsewhere. Shower full of hair all the time, bathroom dark/ dirty. Whole place was dimly lit and smelled like mold. Tourist map of city was not free. Cash deposit on top of room fee. This was my only hostel experience in China.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Jun 2017
7.7

Good central location, made some friends here so was social enough. Staff were pretty cold except for one guy who helped me with some directions.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jun 2017
5.1

Location is quite good, close to Nanjing Rd and the metro. However, I arrived quite late to find a local man eating food in the room. The room felt like it was 40 degrees Celsius. My new room mate had also taken all of the pillows from the other beds and put them on his own bed. When I went back down to reception to complain, they told me it was probably best that I change to a single room (which I had to pay extra for). The single room was not worth it. I don't recommend staying at this hostel

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
1st Jun 2017
8.0

This hostel was in a great location: really close to nanjing road, the museum, peoples park and the subway so you could get anywhere in the city and to and from the airport very easily. I think the staff here was the weakest part of the hostel, there were no complimentary maps or any suggested activities or any organized hostel events, which made it not that easy to meet people. The lockers were very big though and the value was pretty unbeatable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th May 2017
8.3

Location was awesome and the private room we stayed in was massive and felt more like a hotel. Unfortunately the staff were not friendly or very welcoming which was a shame. Also the security is questionable as the reception desk is tucked away to the side so can't see who is coming through the doors and up the stairs to the rooms -lots of cameras everywhere however. Would stay again based on value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th May 2017
8.6

So, at first, we though the neighborhood wasnt really nice but it's actually so well located that you can't really complain. The staff is so so... they really do the strict minimum to accomodate you. Also their english isn't super good. I know, you'd expect that from any places in China but it can be anoying if you want to book an acitivity. Beds are regular. You have a restroom for each room wich is nice. Theres an elevator too. I'd recommand​ it since theres no other better options apparently.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
27th May 2017
6.9

Convenient location close to the metro station and 15 minutes walk from the Bund. A big problem was that there is no Wi-Fi in the room. This made planning my stay or contacting other people very difficult. Also, there are only two showers and toilets for 12 people. Although this gave a private semi-ensuite feel, it made mornings and evenings very frustrating. Showers are only 1m sq with no protection for clothes hung on the back of the door, such as a screen or curtain, so my clothes got wet :(

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
26th May 2017
8.3

Security is good, tap card to access your room and a physical key to access your locker, big enough for my carry on sized back pack. Location is great, one street over from Nanjing Lu and a 3 min walk to the subway. Staff were perfectly fine, spoke good english, not mean but could be friendlier. Atmosphere was pretty weak, few overseas travelers, mostly Chinese traveling for work or study. Not filthy but could be cleaner. Very good price for location. Has everything you need, laundry, towels etc

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd May 2017
6.9

Location is good, but the staff there is not that friendly. Room is still fine value for money overall

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th May 2017
8.9

Amazing location, next to the main street, 100m from the metro station, plenty of shops and restaurants. Wifi available in all rooms, small terrace to dry your laundry. 6 beds female dorm wasn't to spacious, but acceptable, clean, working AC. Shower and toilet for one room only, very convenient. Not expensive food and drinks in the lobby, helpful staff (although not very good English). The only minus - making a top bed (putting a quilt cover) when you arrive exhausted late in the evening.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.