X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Mingtown Nanjing Road Youth Hostel Reviews

No. 258 Tianjin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1015 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Please , correct the sorting of the reviewing items and make staff comes first as the are the key of that Hostel ,,, very special regards to the lovely people in reception ,,,, with no exception hahahahahahh

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

77%

Wifi was switched off in the middle of the night... my mom was very ill in the hospital and I had to call home (14 hours time difference) and I wasn't able to. There was a security guard sleeping on the sofa at the entrance. he didn't speak english and when someone asked him in chinese about Wifi, he said he had no idea and went back to sleep. Breakfast was very disappointing, if you have for fruit, they will give you 5 small pieces (not exaggerating.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

100%

Amazing location, hotel quality for a hostel price! Nice job:)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

54%

Good location if you want to be downtown, and some helpful staff, but also some very unhelpful staff. Room smelt strongly of stagnant water, and had cockroaches. The wifi did not extend into the rooms. The communal sitting/eating areas were pokey and small.

  • 13th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

80%

No very clean but staff were nice and location was perfect near of everything and the metro

  • 1st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and suggestions to our hostel,we will try to improve and welcome your coming again and you can recommend Mingtown to your friends^^

89%

We just had a little issue regarding our booking but they found a solution.


100%

All the best for this hostel! Regards, Zivko


74%

most of all, the location is best. just 2~3 minutes distance from metro 2/10 line and East nanjng road. also Waitan is 10~15 minutes distance by walk . most of staffs are very nice. there english isn't good and always housekeepers are talking to Chinese, but i feel warm. however some strange smell distinguished me(but someone said "you can smell it this in the hong kong ") and this hostel did not accept credit card, also you pay deposit(200 yuan). before you check in, check your balance.

Owner Comment (Hide)
we will strive to improve, thank you for your advice and support.

86%

Very good :)

  • 26th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
we will strive to improve, thank you for your advice and support.

91%

Perfect location - less than 5 min walk to train station and 10 minute walk to the Bund and People's Square. Pudong, the old town and French Concession are all a short train ride away. Very cheap by western standards. Also clean and relatively comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
we will strive to improve, thank you for your advice and support.

94%

For many years still my favourite hostel in Shanghai.

Owner Comment (Hide)
we will strive to improve, thank you for your advice and support.

91%

Good place, very central location close to the Bund

Owner Comment (Hide)
we will strive to improve, thank you for your advice and support.

83%

Great location, nice and clean rooms, good bar. I think the only thing to improve is the staff, since they are a little apathetic.

Owner Comment (Hide)
we will strive to improve, thank you for your advice and support.

100%

perfect place to stay in Shanghay ! very clean, nice staff and the opportunity to buy a beer and drink it at the bar or outside is priceless !

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
we will strive to improve, thank you for your advice and support.

80%

I have been here for 2 nights. There is no better hostel than here. Very close to line 2

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
we will strive to improve, thank you for your advice and support.

29%

Poor service, staff was unkindly, showers and toilet was dirty, wifi was slowly, only location is good,close subway

Owner Comment (Hide)
抱歉给你带来的不便,我们会努力改进,很感谢您的建议和支持。

74%

Excellent location, 1 min walk from metro station and Shanghai's biggest shopping street is just downstairs. 5-10 mins walk to the Bund which is really convenience. Not much interaction inside the hostel but if you love to stay in a lively heart of big city this is perfect. Bathroom and toilet were inside the dorm shared by 6 of us. They clean it every morning so cleanliness is ok too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
we will strive to improve, thank you for your advice and support.

83%

Didn't get the room I booked because the room had a bit of flooding due to rain the previous 2 days. However the staff sought to call me up in advance and warn me I couldn't have my room but had to share with 3 other girls and there was no problem.

Owner Comment (Hide)
we will strive to improve, thank you for your advice and support.

66%

Good central location, with a variety of places to eat out just around the corner. The staff were not very attentive, but could speak acceptable English. The room was clean and quite spacious, with free internet downstairs. The only major problem was the building work next door. The walls were so thin that it was as if somebody was in the room hammering and drilling right next to me. For 4 nights from 6:30am till 12:30 at night the noise continued. Recommended only after the work is completed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
we will strive to improve, thank you for your advice and support.

83%

I've stayed in the Mingtown youth hostel in Nanjingroad, Shanghai for 5 days in early Apr 2014. The hostel has a best location to travel Shanghai - We could get to the Nanjingdong-ru subway station on foot within 5 minutes, and the Bund within 10 minutes! And the staffs are very kind and empty our wastebasket and change the towels everyday (For changing the towels, you should put the used towels in water basin before you leave the room.). The room has a card key, and also a door lock.

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
we will strive to improve, thank you for your advice and support.

(62 results)


View all Shanghai Hostels

Please give us your feedback