Hostelworld.com

Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 1,018 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 1,018 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.0
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel Located at No.35 Yong Shou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai.
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
China
Shanghai 200021 No.35 Yong Shou Road, Huangpu District
75% 1018
31.2296284 121.4811730
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th May 2016
2.0

Absolutely terrible. Filthy, has a huge pile of garbage outside the front door. Ordered a double bed and even rang them to check up on it, when I arrived it was a single bed. Got into the bedroom and there was a cockroach! No soap or anything in the bathroom. I called another hostel and went downstairs and asked for my passport back, the room was unacceptable (I speak Chinese). The man refused as I had sat on the bed already making it dirty apparently. Eventually he made me pay 50RMB and I left.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
26th Apr 2016
5.7

One word: MOLD! The amount of mold this place has was mind blowing. It is everywhere from the floors to the ceilings. no hand soap in the restrooms, bed sheets have holes, AC didn't work. Only thing going for this place is their location!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2016
8.9

Very nice hostel close to the subway The staff didn't have the best English but were super friendly and helpful The food at the bar is great especially since it's very difficult to find a Western breakfast in China and the staff didn't mind us bringing our own drinks to the bar area Great hostel Recommend it

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Apr 2016
10.0

Nice hostel. Good locations. Great staff. Thanks a lot.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Apr 2016
7.1

Pas vraiment en face de people square mais à 10 minutes de marche. Pas d'ascenseur mais on peut avoir de l'aide pour les bagages. Personnel ok sans plus. Jolie auberge dans l'ensemble propre. Bref. Central et bonne adresse.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2016
8.6

Good hostel. Clean and in a brilliant location. A bit expensive but the location made up for it. Metro near and lots of street food

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
7.1

Rooms have no windows so they smell

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Apr 2016
5.4

Please renew the facilities and no windows is a No go!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2016
10.0

Great location and the facility was really nice. I loved the common area and cafe.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Apr 2016
5.7

Some staff is really nice but some.......

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.