Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 1,067 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 1,067 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 7.0
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel Located at No.35 Yong Shou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai.
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
China
Shanghai 200021 No.35 Yong Shou Road, Huangpu District
76% 1067
31.2296284 121.4811730
Mingtown People's Square Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
5th Nov 2016
6.0

Location was great - in the heart of the city. But, the inside was disgusting: Garbage all over the street in front sothe hostel smelled, the walls and ceilings were crumbling inside the dorms, plus the mattresses and sheets were stained. They did have a cafe which was nice but it was cold and not to mention a RAT nearly ran over my feet INSIDE this building!!! Toilet paper rarely available, no soap. Would NOT stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Oct 2016
8.9

Perfectly located, nearby everything by walk. It is value for money however a lot of humidity in that hostel, you can notice it on the walls …

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Oct 2016
8.3

Great location near People's Square.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Oct 2016
6.9

Private rooms are located inside the building, separated by floors. "Fake" windows face the floors which and isolation isn't enough so it can be loud if people are taking showers or blow-dry their hair late at night. It's kinda noisy when guests are coming home late at night between 1am and 4 am. Staff doesn't seem to make sure people try to be silent after 23pm. Location is ok. Close to DaShiJie subway station. The Bund isn't too far either, you can walk there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Oct 2016
8.0

We had a wonderful stay at this hostel. Just make sure that you are aware of the 5/10 minute walk from the metro to the hostel. If you walk from the People's Square subway stop, make sure you get off at exit 1, over the bridge onto the left side. It's easy to find - but perhaps just a map handy on your phone. Our room was fantastic - we booked a private double room. Better than what you get in most hotels. It had a MASSIVE bed and was extremely comfortable! Thoroughly recommend this for anyone.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Oct 2016
6.0

A hostel in an old Shanghai district. Around it is authentic but you need to cope with smells and noise. The hostel has mold and it smells humid. It is just acceptable for 1 night. There are far better hostels in SH. The subway station is far to walk and most taxi drivers didn't know the address.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Sep 2016
9.4

I had a great one-night stay at this hostel. It was incredibly clean. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location was great, near many restaurants and a couple subway lines.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Sep 2016
8.0

Finally i cancelled this reservation, because of the Typhoon. But the staff is really helpful with me.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Aug 2016
8.6

clean, friendly and great location!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Aug 2016
6.0

Wifi was too slow to ever connect a VPN. Dryer was broken. Air con also broken - when we told reception twice about this they did nothing about it. Food in the cafe was disgusting but very cheap. Clean beds but no windows in the tiny dorms which got pretty stuffy. And so much mould in the bathrooms. Oh and the whole hostel stank of sewage. But apart from that a very good location - we walked everywhere most of the time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.