Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

NgocThao GuestHouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 3203 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 3203 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • marianzaldivar2878
  • Philippines, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2017
10.0

I was traveling with my brother who has stayed in Ngoc Thao six years ago. The owner and staff were so friendly and helpful, very flexible to our needs. The environment was also very welcoming, got to meet a lot of travellers living in the place. The location is very accessible to the District 1 tourist strip as well as shops, a mall and a park, also walking distance to spots such as the local markets.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2017
6.6

They charge tax, which doesn't seem to be spelled out. After hours anyone can walk through the open door

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. When you checked in, we only minused your deposit 15% online, you paid before. We didn't charge tax. And at night we need to close the door for safe, if you want to go out our reception will open it for you. The reception works 24h. We hope to see you again.

9th Aug 2017
8.9

Nice hosts Good location Good price Great value Five stars

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
9th Aug 2017
10.0

Best hospitality I've experienced my entire trip! Great free breakfast, location, and facilities. I absolutely plan on coming back here. They were very helpful in arranging my forward travel as well, and arranged for a fun day trip to the Mekong delta as well. Definitely check this place out if you visit Saigon.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Aug 2017
2.9

Please do not stay here. I checked in late like 2-3AM in the morning. However the staff were all asleep so I had to knock the damn door for a while. The room condition was not good either. You have to bring your own locker, which is very annoying. The bathroom was an epic. No lights, no shower curtain at all. Next day I checked out and found a better one near this guesthouse. Please have your staffs professional and check your facilities regularly such as bathroom lights

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
31st Jul 2017
8.6

Ngoc Thao is down a funky alleyway in district 1, a 2 minute walk from the nightlife and pretty close to most tourist attractions. The day tours they organise are cheap and worthwhile. Free breakfast is great and the place is very clean. Not a place to party but still pretty easy to meet people in your dorm. Mrs Ngoc was lovely and checked on me when I was feeling ill. Would recommend if you want somewhere homey to stay

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
30th Jul 2017
9.4

Overall a really lovely guesthouse. The owners were so friendly and helpful - they spoke English well, gave out free maps and booked very reasonably priced tours. A lovely cooked breakfast was provided every morning as well as tea and coffee throughout the day and cold and hot drinking water. From the guesthouse you could walk to all the major attractions in the city. Only negative is as a solo traveller the atmosphere was a little disappointing - very little communal space to socialise.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jul 2017
10.0

This is a great family run hostel, with service better than your average hostels and the family were really lovely, especially the main two women who were always super helpful and smiley! Breakfast was great with various tasty options and free hot drinks and water throughout the day. We had a double private room which we'd recommend for travelling couples, great shower, fridge, complimentary towels and they made our bed every day. The location was amazing too, right in the heart of city!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
26th Jul 2017
8.3

A bit pricier that competitors, small lockers, perfect location, friendly staff, good AC, medicore wifi. Dorms are in a 6th floor, no elevator. Water stopped working during one night, but it was fixed in 2 hours. Affordable trips to the tunnels and Mekong Delta as well. Recommended!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jul 2017
8.9

Great guesthouse. Family run which means the staff are extremely friendly! They let us check in early and get into our room and also use their shows and facilities after we had checked out. Super cheap tours of Mekong delta (~$10) and Cu Chi tunnels (~$5). Great location in the backpacker district but not too noisy. Twin private has no window so it's quite dark but who spends time in their room in Saigon! The laundry was the best we've done in Vietnam, so fresh and clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.