X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nomads Byron Bay Reviews

Lawson Lane, Byron Bay, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
1394 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 79%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

A fun well organised bunch of Travellers who are out to make your Time just as good as their own Anything you want to do Hit up reception

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the awesome review Jason, stoked to hear you had such a good time !

49%

Rooms, hallways and bathrooms had an awful stench. Real party hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback Andrea, you'll be happy to hear we are currently in the process of getting all our carpets cleaned which will hopefully help with any strange odours ! We hope you enjoyed your stay with us and joined in some of the awesome parties !

86%

The hostel was definitely the most cleanest hostel I have ever been in. Super quiet in the room, comfortable bed, air conditioned room. The bedding was super clean as well as the bathroom facilities. Loved the location. Although the price was super high so I don't think I will stay again. $50 for one night in an 8 bed share is pricey!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback Chelsea, it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay so much ! in future if you book via nomadsworld.com we offer great deals and discounts online !

91%

A lively place, especially on the weekend. Jacuzzi and hammocks within the private open area where you can meet new people, smoke and drink. Staff are very informative. Check it out!

Owner Comment (Hide)
YES thanks Philip, stoked to hear you made the most of all our awesome facilities. Hope to see you again soon.

74%

Great place to stay in, good atmosphere

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great feedback Patrick !

83%

The guy who checked me in was super nice and greeted me with a smile! Forget his name but blonde. AC didn't work however when I told reception same guy took care of it right away. Beds were comfy, Trivia was fun, and the beer pong tournament was so fun! Staff are all so nice, kitchen spacious and fully equipped. The girl who picked me up from the bus was so energetic and positive! Nice first impression. Modern rooms and showers. Some clubs promoted are not so good. The weekend price so expensive

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Debbie, stoked to hear you had a great time, and took advantage of all the awesome activities we offer. I will let the staff know they are doing a super duper job. Happy Travels !

60%

pretty much your average aussie party hostel. When I was there it was full of sports teams for a tournament and was flooded with huge rugby dudes. Totally threw the ratio off. It's clean though and the location is good. Kinda pricey especially on the weekends.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your response legend! As we have such a great location in town, and are known for our awesome vibe, we are of high demand over this period for the end of season sporting trips and as we love everyone here at Nomads Byron Bay, we try to welcome all. Make sure you come back and visit us soon !! We will have to give all our house-keepers a big high five for their amazing work at keeping this place clean! Lots of love, the Nomads Family :)

86%

Nice hostel. No real atmosphere though, when I was there they didn't offer any activities to give people chance to socialise like most hostels do

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Scott, unfortunately you only stayed with us one night and it was a Monday. Monday does tend to be a little quieter as most people are recovering from the weekend. We hope you'll come back and visit again soon as we have an awesome activities guy and heaps of stuff going on from chilled out yoga sessions to nightly DJ's in the courtyard !

63%

lockers were broken so nowhere secure to leave stuff when I arrived before check in. Staff were fine but not particularly helpful or friendly. hot tubs not hot, just tubs. I wouldn't bother with the rental bikes either - spend some money and get one with gears elsewhere!


83%

The location is perfect, staff are super friendly, & if you're into parties and drinking, the atmosphere is great. 1st night was pretty average as people were banging on dorm doors well into the night. If there was decent security, this could have been stopped early on. Everything was clean, and heaps of facilities (incl a kitchen!). One of the pricier hostels I've stayed at. I would stay again but would avoid the weekend to get good value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your review! We appreciate every bit of feedback we can get. We love our atmosphere here at Nomads Byron Bay and we are stoked you enjoyed it too. In response to the security, we absolutely agree and have recently looked into this and made some changes. Definitely make sure you come back and visit us here and we can show you!! Bring the best high-fives you have got :) Big love from the Nomads Family x

94%

I had a great time at Nomads Byron. The hostel is really well located, near to everything which is very handy. The staff is very friendly and always keen to help - special thanks to James. The 8-bed room is okay and the bed&linen are clean, but the room's carpet wasn't that good, but no big dramas at all as most of the time I was out enjoying the beaches, restaurants, pubs, etc....shared bathrooms are clean as well. Overall, I had a good experience with Nomads...definitely will come back. Thanks

  • 3rd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We love that you love our hostel as much as we do! Thank-you so much for your great review. We strive to have a fantastic team here at Nomads Byron Bay and we love James too! The carpets are certainly something we are looking into currently - nothing like a good ol' fashioned Spring clean. We look forward to seeing you when you are next in the beautiful Byron Bay. :) :) :)

60%

The staff was really nice, especially one of guys who worked at the counter. Half of the kitchen stove tops didnt work, and there was no control of who was coming in and out of the hostel. So it seemed like there was a lot of drunk local wondering the hall at 5am

Owner Comment (Hide)
We think our staff are fantastic too! It is very important to us to have a friendly, approachable team here at Nomads Byron so we are glad to hear you felt the same. We are very sorry if it seemed there was no monitoring of who came in and out of the hostel as that is why we have security, and check ID's after 11pm - We will certainly take that into consideration though and make sure all of the above are being actioned!! Come back and visit our beautiful family sometime soon! Love Nomads Byron

80%

Great balcony room 201-206 facing towards the beach/town. Sliding doors & flywire allow for fresh air during day and night. Perfect location to everything! Some cabinets & fixtures require repair. Good kitchen space and outside area. Very comfortable beds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Isn't it such a beautiful view of such a beautiful town! Thanks so much for your awesome review legend we appreciate every bit. We have got our groovy maintenance man on the look out for any potential fixtures and or cabinets that may need a little love. Big love from the best family, The Nomads Byron Bay Family :) :)

100%

Great atmosphere around the hostel in the day and night. Excellent location, definately the best hostel we have stayed in. Staff are extremely friendly and make sure everyone is involved.

  • 23rd Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We couldn't agree more with you! Thank-you so much for your awesome review - please make sure you come back and visit us sometime soon :) !!

77%

We encountered some difficulties with our beds on the night we arrived but the manager was very forthcoming and refunded our stay and to make up for the trouble even let us stay one more night free of charge. very professional response and we appreciate it very much. the hostel has a laid back atmosphere and is more on the party side of accomodations. after the small troubles, we had a pleasant stay there and would stay there again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so happy you had such a positive outcome to your situation. We always strive our best here to provide the best customer service and are stoked that we could help make any situation better. Make sure you come give us all a big high-five when you come back our way as we would love to have you stay again! Thank-you, lots of love from Nomads Byron Bay !

89%

Nomads was pretty sick. Sociable people, good vibes, friendly staff- special shout out to Jason for setting us up and giving us the down-low on where to go. Cheeeers

  • 19th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so happy you had such a great experience here with us at Nomads Byron Bay! We love the sociable and friendly vibe we create here at Nomads and are stoked you got to be a part of it! Big love from the Nomads family :) :)

89%

Friendly staff in a great location with outstanding facilities!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank-you, thank-you and thank-you again! We hope to see you in beautiful Byron Bay again :)

49%

Dirty, small rooms, poor doors, loud, dirty toilets

  • 15th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Excellent location, well equipped kitchen, clean beds and clean bathrooms. Only negative points would be the carpet in 205 smelled like it could do with a clean and at weekends this hostel is very loud. This was fine for me but for quieter people it would maybe be a bit too much.


100%

This hostel is amazing! It is located right in the middle of Byron bay and so close to the beach. All the staff are really friendly and the sunsets and sunrises that you can see from the hostel are really beautiful. I will definitely be coming back to Nomads Byron Bay.

  • 6th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(42 results)


View all Byron Bay Hostels

Please give us your feedback