X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Nomads Byron Bay Reviews

Lawson Lane, Byron Bay, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1135 Total Reviews
  • 73%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Staff weren't very knowledgable on the local area etc. but great hostel for partying and socialising


83%

Good hostel and really good location but the kitchen is disgusting! They organise nights out and free entry which is good


71%

It's in general a good hostel, in a good location, but I have seen more friendly personal in other hostels around the world and for the same money I have stayed in better hostels. Generally hostels are very very expensive in Australia and don't offer as much as other hostels around the world. Nomads organises nice events though in the night and if you like to party its a good place to meet new people. A week after my stay there, I stayed in a hostel called Aquarius, I found that more beautiful!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Stefanos, Thank you for providing feedback on you recent stay with us. I am pleased that you thought it was a good hostel in a good location, however I was disappointed to read your comments about our staff. I will certainly pass your feedback on to the team here, as we do make a huge effort to provide great customer service and ensure all of our guests have a pleasant experience. Thank you again for your comments. Kind regards, Sam B

66%

Thankfully the location of the hostel and the amount of bathrooms and kitchen space at the hostel outweighed the fact that the dorm we were in was hotter than the sun because of the broken AC. The room smelled like cabbage and smelly socks.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Edward, Thank you for your review. I do aplogise that the air-conditioning in your dorm was not working while you were staying with us. Unfortunately maintenance issues such as this cannot be foreseen, however when they do happen we make every effort to fix it as soon as possible to minimise any inconvenience to our guests. If you are not comfortable in your dorm room for any reason, I would suggest seeing reception as they would be more than happy to move you. Kind regards, Sam B

46%

Quite good location, right next door to aldi and a five minute walk from the beach. But the cleanliness of the hostel was appalling! The showers were gross, doesn't look like they've had a thorough clean for a fair few years. We had a cockroach in our room and reception were not helpful when I told them about it, didn't seem phased so must be a regular occurrence. And the room stunk of wee with horrid stains. Not worth the money we paid was $20 cheaper at the yha for a smaller much cleaner room!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, although it is written in a detrimental tone I do take all valid feedback on board to make any necessary improvements. We do put a lot of effort into keeping the cleanliness standards of the hostel very high so I was disappointed to read your comments. I can assure you we do clean all of our bathrooms and showers thoroughly twice a day and we have regular routine pest control conducted in the hostel. Enjoy the rest of your travels in Australia. Sam

43%

This is a perfect place if you like to party, every night. Stuff everywhere, people everywhere and a way too small kitchen for the amount of guests.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. I apologise if the hostel environment was not what you expected it to be. We do provide a great environment for our guests to enjoy themselves, while always enforcing noise policies to ensure guests who do not wish to participate in the partying do not get disturbed. Kind regards, Sam B

60%

Unfortunately the whole place was quite dirty when we stayed, corridors smelt of puke and sweat, room was very messy (granted that is highly driven by occupants), bathrooms and kitchen were dirty (the latter seemed to be suffering from perpetual puddles in multiple areas). The bedroom had small lockers for valuables but half of these were broken. The crowd is young and the hostel massive but having stayed in similar places i know it's not impossible to maintain basic cleanliness. Probably worth

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Silvia, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I apologise if you found the hostel "messy" even if it was as a result of other guests in your room. We do put a lot of effort into keeping the hostel clean and go through each room every day to keep them tidy. I apologise that the stay did not meet your expectations, I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels in Australia. Kind regards, Sam B

1 2 Next » last »
(27 results)


View all Byron Bay Hostels

Please give us your feedback