X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nomads Byron Bay Reviews

Lawson Lane, Byron Bay, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
1268 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 97%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

My stay was dismal! I did my research well or so I thought & chose Nomads due to location & air conditioned rooms. From the first day I had to contend with a broken aircon and sweltering heat which totally destroyed my entire week long holiday. I was uncomfortable and barely slept in the stuffy sweltering room. It was not repaired during my stay, though when I made the 2nd complaint they received mid week about it they had a repair man there looking into it. I will never stay there again!


77%

Good for partying. They rent cheap surfboards.


71%

Overall a pretty standard nomads hostel the onlyaom downside being having to pay over the odds ($41 for one night!) Simply because Byron was so busy. If they charge that price I expect the room to be a little cleaner than it was although the bathrooms and kitchen were very clean


51%

ive stayed here 3 times previous, but this will be my last. things stolen from room, we heard other people had had things taken the same day, found out a guy who was living/working there started a few days previous and he cleaned our room, dodgy! staff didnt seem to care. amenities were disgusting and cleaned only once a day, everything is old, all the doors slam, squeak or dont have locks in rooms and toilets. only good thing is the atmosphere in the afternoon for drinking and meeting people


91%

one of the best hostels i have stayed in for partying

  • 3rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Great hostel with overnight security etc. loads of people and quite a bit of night noise. Bathrooms pretty average both on facilities and cleanliness.


60%

Paid $60 for one night which was definitely not worth the money when you see the hygiene of the place.


49%

- Security good january 31, however some peoples slept on the floor january 30 ( 6beds = 8 peoples ). - My English is not strong and staff speak only English so sometime is not easy to explain something. - I found my door open, many time... - Expensive for the staff and kind of bedrooms but value for money about location.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

it was very noisy in our room (during the night) the bathroom wasn't very clean the price was hilarious for that offer!


63%

Very loud on the hallways during the night time. Lots of drunken people. Why is alc allowed in there?! - it's a party hostel

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Martin Sorry to hear the hostel was loud. We do do our very best to ensure that merry guests are moved along at 10pm (hence why our common areas close then) and are as quiet as possible when they return. Alcohol is allowed as we do not wish to impose on travelers personal preferences in what beverages they consume, we hope this has clarified that. We look forward to seeing you in the future. Sincerely, Nomads Byron Bay

100%

LOVED THIS HOSTEL! We were there over Christmas and had so much fun, one of the few hostels in Australia which isn't dry, so every drinks in the courtyard together before heading out. Would deffo recommend.


91%

Nomads is an amazing place to stay to meet new people and socialize. It is a very central location and has lots of cheap and accessible amenities (ie you can rent a surf board for 10 bucks a day). I highly recommend staying here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Noah you champion at life Thanks for your radical response and we're stoked you had such a good time here at Nomads Byron Bay. Let us know if you want to return and we'll party like it's 10,000BC YEEEEWWWWWWW

80%

kitchen is little bit too small for the size of the hostel. The rooms are pricy but the location is nice. The beds aren't wonderfull, but ok for one or two nights. wouldn't stay to long in this nomads


74%

Great place to meet people! Great location! Needs to be cleaned better and more frequently is the only criticism I have.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Josh Glad you had a good time here at Nomads Byron Bay!! Sorry to hear that the cleanliness of the facilities was not up to par for your stay here. I have passed your review onto the relevant departments to ensure such does not happen again. We hope to see you here again in the future Your friends, Nomads Byron Bay

74%

A nice bed and friendly backpackers and staff. Great location. Cleanliness and facilities could be better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Nikki Firstly, thanks for your time to review our hostel and we're glad you found our hostel friendly. We apologize that during your stay you found the facilities to be unsatisfactory, and we have passed your review on to the relevant departments. Let us know if you'll be returning and we'll make sure your stay is unforgettable Cheers nomads Byron Bay

77%

Good overall, but cleanliness is a huge factor to improve upon. The bathrooms are always dirty and the hallways smell of urine. Cleaning should be several times a day at the very least.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Wayne, So sorry to hear that your stay wasn't up to scratch. It's a real shame as we do clean the amenities multiple times a day. I have passed this message onto housekeeping to ensure it doesn't happen again. We appreciate your comments Cheers

94%

Such friendly staff and very close to the beach. We definitely are visiting again!

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey LEGEND!! Glad you had such a rad time here. Let us know when you'll be returning again and we'll bring the roof down!!! Keep on keeping on. We love you Your friends, Nomads Byron Bay

83%

A bit of a party hostel but still enjoyed a good night sleep. The four-bed dorm with ensuite was superb, new and clean. It was a lovely stay. However, kitchen should be open later than 10 pm.


1 2 3 Next » last »
(58 results)


View all Byron Bay Hostels

Please give us your feedback