Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 3,008 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 3,008 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.6
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel Located at No.615 Lane, ZhaoHua Road, Changning District, Shanghai.
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
China
Shanghai 200050 No.615 Lane, ZhaoHua Road, Changning District
86% 3008
31.2117921 121.4204692
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Jan 2017
6.9

Nice beds, good showers, clean, 15 min walk away from metro, the guy at the reception was very unhelpful. Would next time stay closer to the centrum

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Jan 2017
8.3

Not much to complain about. Very clean, relatively near to MRT station, staff at reception were all great. Bring your own toilet paper.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2017
8.3

This was my first time ever staying in a hostel of any kind, so keep that in mind, but I thought Rock&Wood was not in the best location. That is to say that it is a bit off the beaten path, but it is very conveniently located near the subway, so getting to points of interest in Shanghai is pretty easy, from Rock&Wood. I thought the atmosphere was fantastic, and surpassed what I was expecting and thought a hostel would provide. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Definitely a great place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
9.7

First time staying here. Hostel were great, clean, and comfy. Had a very good sleep there and the shower was great. Overall, satisfactory

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jan 2017
8.6

The hostel was great. The staff were friendly and the location was good. The biggest problem I found was with the WIFI which requires a different password from the lobby and the bedrooms. I was unable to connect up to my WIFI in the lobby. No problem in the bedroom..

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • adamkeithnz2895
  • New Zealand, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
9th Jan 2017
8.9

Great lounge area and outdoors. Also really good coffee. Room was pretty small but otherwise good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jan 2017
9.1

We just stayed overnight between two long haul flights but were able to have a good sleep at this Hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
5th Jan 2017
7.1

This is the second time im staying at Rock and Wood hostel. The plus side is the value for money and comfortable beds. The down side is that there is no lift and can be hard to lug heavy luggage up four flights of stairs. The quality of breakfast can also be improved.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 41 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
8.6

Seems like an architect designed the public areas, with a great garden and nice lounge area. The free pool table is a good touch. The library includes an extensive collection of Chinese fashion and design magazines, if by some chance that happens to be your thing. The stairs are a bit noisy but otherwise it is a fairly quiet hostel. The in-house restaurant is reasonably priced.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
10.0

Awesome place to stay - a bit outside central Shanghai but a quick metro ride away, which was important for me. It feels like a quiet little paradise. The atmosphere provided, with coffee, the bar, the pool table, and all of the tables downstairs was fantastic. I loved my stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.