Hostelworld.com

Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 2,568 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 2,568 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel Located at No.615 Lane, ZhaoHua Road, Changning District, Shanghai.
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
China
Shanghai 200050 No.615 Lane, ZhaoHua Road, Changning District
84% 2568
31.2117921 121.4204692
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
29th Apr 2016
8.0

The most boring hostel I ever stayed at! It's very nice and clean and has a beautiful outdoor space and a huge dining area with pool table and bar, but there is hardly anyone there and the music they play puts you to sleep. Food is good and rather cheap. The location is not the best but it's 10 min from closest subway station and within 30 rmb from the nightlife in the Puxi area. The staff tries to be helpful but they don't know much when you ask for recommendations. WI FI is horrible!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Apr 2016
7.4

Pros: Great hostel, lovely common room, nice staff, easy to get to the metro. Cons: NO BATHROOM DOOR. No privacy in a double twin room. Our room smelled really bad of cigarettes, even though its non smoking, hostel is difficult to find.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Apr 2016
7.7

I stayed for four nights, and very much enjoyed it. It's not a party hostel - the atmosphere is very relaxed and it's a good a place to socialise, but if you're looking for something more upbeat you'd want to look elsewhere. The rooms were basic but pleasant. The biggest drawback is the location - it's a 10 minute walk to the nearest metro station and then several stops to the city centre. However the area is very quiet, and if you don't mind a walk there's no reason not to stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Apr 2016
8.9

Location is hard to find and the underground line 2 is 15 minuten walk away. This is the only disadvantage of Rock and Wood. The staf was perfect, we loved the atmosfere in the hostel. It felt like coming home.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
27th Apr 2016
10.0

Love this hostel, brilliant seating area and outdoor area. Room nice and clean. Staff helpful, easy to get to.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

thanks!!! hope to see you again!

  • hy881130
  • China, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2016
10.0

Great place overall!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks! hope to see you again!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Apr 2016
9.7

Very good hostel. Quite a sedate atmosphere with soft music in the day and a great evening play list. Food and drink prices very reasonable. Rooms and bathrooms are really nice and clean and they have incense burning all the time to get rid of the nasty smells. Really friendly staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
24th Apr 2016
8.3

A great hostel (although more expensive than I'm used to paying). Easy to find, in a nice neighbourhood with a nearby metro station to allow you to easily access rest of the city. Rooms spacious. Very clean. Comfy beds. Staff helpful & speak good English. Common area a lovely place to meet new people and the garden is super nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks! how can we do the better atmosphere? would you have some good suggestion!

  • jnanakorn7503
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Apr 2016
8.3

I had good experience, i think you should a door that can scan our hostel cards so that we dont have to ring the bell and wake up the guy to open the doors, i came in both nights at 4m and had to wake up the guy...and also...when i left at 6am, i had to ring the bell for him to let me leave, I left at 6am to the airport so there was no one to return my 100rmb and i left the key and keycard on the desk . if I told them earlier that i was leaving at 6am they would have be able to check me out

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your comments, about the deposit, we will send email to you, pls let us know how can we refund it to you? we hope to see you next time! Sally

  • sedatingthesky
  • Russia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Apr 2016
8.0

Very nice place, slightly overpriced in my opinion, but it is Shanghai afterall. Lovely garden and very good European breakfasts. The staff might consider providing a pickup service from the airport - the taxi fares are way too high if you arrive in the middle of the night.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.