Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 3097 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 3097 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th Mar 2017
9.7

My stay at Rock & Wood was pretty relaxed. The hostel was good, clean facilities and the staff was available and helpful. I had a good breakfast at their cafe. The location is not exactly central, but it makes up for it by having buses, and subway stations nearby. The rooms all have key cards and big lockers. The beds are comfortable. I would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Mar 2017
8.3

I stayed in a room with double bed. This hostel is great! the only problem was I had tu use a translator to understand the air conditioning system as it is all in Chinese and was getting cold air

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Mar 2017
6.3

Location was OK for me as I was only staying one night. Cleanliness level is acceptable. Ambiance was good enough tho. Pros: very close to hongqiao station Con: not so close to city centre. For the price it's decent enough

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
7th Mar 2017
7.4

The hostel was cheap and easy to find, close to a metro station on the main (green) line. Beautiful lounge, nice rooms and showers, but the staff could barely speak English and understand our requests, so that we couldn't really book any extra tours. Cleanliness was ok, internet was unbearably slow or didn't even work. Internet traffic in the lounge is checked by the police, identification is assured through your passport number, so be aware if you care about your privacy!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Mar 2017
9.7

Pleasant atmosphere!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Mar 2017
10.0

Highly recommended to anyone who is on a budget trip in Shanghai. Many friendly staffs and you wouldn't have much problem communicating in English. Location is easy to find as well. P.S Be sure to try their dumpling soup and walk down the streets in the morning to experience the peak hours of Shanghai!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • matttamb
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Feb 2017
9.1

Incredible downstairs courtyard and entrance, definitely a change having travelled all over China. The downstairs acts as a beautiful library cafe bar where you can chill. Rooms were kept clean daily (a huge plus for Chinese standards). The only downside was the 4th floor was extremely busy with servant quarters, going in and out constantly and slamming doors. For the price of a 4 bed dorm, I'd want bathrooms inside the dorm, but know this is uncommon in China anyway. Beds were extremely comfy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Feb 2017
8.9

Bathrooms separate from the dorm room, nice offerings of western food and alcoholic drinks in the restaurant (about 25 kuai for a meal, 25 kuai for a drink), really nice environment in the common area. Friendly cat downstairs

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
14th Feb 2017
10.0

I come here regularly it is my go to hostel in Shanghai.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2017
10.0

The staff is incredible! Evan is the dude! I stay here every time I'm in Shanghai!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.