Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 2,847 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 2,847 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.6
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel Located at No.615 Lane, ZhaoHua Road, Changning District, Shanghai.
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
China
Shanghai 200050 No.615 Lane, ZhaoHua Road, Changning District
87% 2847
31.2117921 121.4204692
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
6.9

Right choice for backpackers who want to visit Shanghai. Cozy and friendly atmosphere. Location was good near to main road and street foods. Staffs are nice (Thanks Sally for your hospitality). Will definitely return if i had chance.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2016
9.4

While there is always room for improvement, Rock and Wood hostel earns its reputation as one of Shanghai's best hostels.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
19th Sep 2016
8.6

Good hostel, slick bar downstairs. You could only consume food and drink you bought in the bar in the hostel communal areas, which was fairly pricey. Friendly and helpful staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2016
8.0

The location is pretty cool - not on Nanjing road in the mad hustle and bustle, but in a leafier neighbourhood. Is a 10 min walk to the nearest metro station, which was fine for me. There's a nice garden and bar area. There was an interesting mix of people - some seemed a bit more longer term, as in they were living there for a few weeks whilst searching for an apartment.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Sep 2016
9.1

The hostel is well located with lots of good street food vendors close by and easy to get to by metro. The common area is very beautiful with a pond. The rooms are small, but homely (ours had no window to the street, so no traffic noise at all and the aircon made it nice and cool inside. The bathroom was clean, the bed comfy. Towels got changed daily. While they have a fridge for guests no outside food can be consumed in the common area, as they have a restaurant/bar operating.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Sep 2016
8.9

This is a great hostel. Easy to access, nice and helpful staff, and comfortable atmosphere. The only thing made me a bit less satisfactory is the en-suite I booked has no window to outside but to corridor instead, and the light inside room is too dim and no one replace faulty bulb of table lamp.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Paraguay, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
9.1

Easy to find . Safe. Lovely común área good place to meet People

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Sep 2016
8.9

This is a nice place to stay. The staff were very helpful in booking a flight for me when I was having problems with my credit card. Overall I would stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Sep 2016
8.0

Highly recommend to pepople who come to shang hai! The staff are very nice,, a big common area for making friends and they are servicing good coffee! Ever knew that a hostel would care about the coffee!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Sep 2016
4.6

The hostel only had one reception who always seemed to be rushed. I was on the 4th floor with no lifts and I found the hostel dark. My back pack was full of dirty dust which it would have collected from the floor. The rooms were not up to my standards of cleaness at all. Also, wifi connection was so poor in my room. Aside that, I did enjoy the pizza in the evening.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.