Hostelworld.com

Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 2,671 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 2,671 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.4
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel Located at No.615 Lane, ZhaoHua Road, Changning District, Shanghai.
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
China
Shanghai 200050 No.615 Lane, ZhaoHua Road, Changning District
85% 2671
31.2117921 121.4204692
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
25th Jun 2016
10.0

Awesome hostel, loads of friendly people and staff, the room was lovely. Only fault was there wasn't an elevator so getting to the top with all our luggage from a year abroad took a few trips. Highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2016
5.4

Staff is not very friendly,but location is pretty good!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2016
6.6

Some of the staff are very anoying. They make u fell like they are making u a favor to host u there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Jun 2016
10.0

A really nice hostel. Friendly staff, comfortable room with normally cool roommates from every corner of the world and spacious common area, location not necessarily heart of the city but not far from the subway and really convenient to go anyway. Great atmosphere. They have a lovely and proud cat greeting people from time to time. The meals here are not bad either, spaghetti and the Spanish breakfast are the best.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2016
8.9

Rock&Wood is a nice place to stay in Sanghai, I highly recommend it. Nice coffee, comfy beds and good people. The only thing I didn't like was the French Breakfast with sugar on the fried bread, and was very oily too. But, when I'll visit Shanghai again I'll definitely go there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2016
10.0

I only stayed for one night, but this place was nice. I arrived late but the staff was friendly. The lobby area was an excellent community space and the place was incredibly clean. The main inconvenience was having to walk downstairs to shower, but that was honestly okay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jun 2016
7.7

For a large city the value for the money was nice. The main lobby/garden alone was worth the stay, very relaxing, bar & coffee at hand for reasonable prices. Rooms nothing exceptional but Air con worked well. A bit out of the way but once you're there easy to get around. Overall no complaints.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
15th Jun 2016
8.3

Clean room, not the comfiest bed though. Close to the tube station so easy to get places. The price to buy a map was a bit expensive but the beers were fairly cheap and they did breakfast! Wifi on the 3rd floor was terrible in our room but maybe that was just the position of our room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • dennisdienst1995
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
13th Jun 2016
8.6

Rock & Wood is a really cosy place quite Close to frensh concession. Although quite large, it is silent at night and I always had a good sleep. Both the bar-style common room and the outside area are perfect places to relax, chat and playing with electronic devices, since there are more power sockets available than guests. The staff is professional and friendly. Rooms and showers/toilets are very clean. Safe luggage storage. Good coffee. Nothing to complain. Definitely a place to be!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2016
9.4

Great hostel. Staff speaks english (some better than others) and are helpful when you need any assistance. The facilities are clean and very well maintained. Nice place to meet other travellers, with spacious common area and close to the subway station (- 10min) and the French Concession (15 min). Highly recommended.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.