Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 3140 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 3140 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Apr 2017
5.1

Good looking hostel. Prety clean. Plenty of showers and toilets. Definitely needs work when it comes to the staff. Check-in was very transactional with very little information provided. No city maps (only provided a hop on/off bus map to navigate), couldn't give me any food suggestions, barely any info on sites to see. My locker lock was broken and needed to be replaced. Stray cats roaming around, hopping on and off tables. Atmosphere was dull for solo travellers.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Apr 2017
8.3

This hostel has a great atmosphere, friendly staff, nice common areas and comfortable beds. Lockers (with padlocks) are provided, as is bedding, and towels are available for rent at 2RMB. They also give you your first coffee half price and the bar/restaurant has plenty of choice. Showers were hot. It was generally kept clean, with just the odd dirty corner, but nothing to complain about. Staff spoke good English. Location close to metro, though staying around Nanjing road would be better.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Apr 2017
8.9

Very nice hostel. Nice courtyard. A lot of Restaurants nearby. Metro station not that far away. Nice skyline view from 4th floor rooms, but you hear freeway. But comparativly calm. Very good deal.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2017
9.1

The place is a bit far from Du Pong airport. However, it's an extremely easy commute to get there--only one subway and across two streets.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • pramara746
  • Portugal, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Apr 2017
8.0

good place, but should improve on cleanliness!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th Apr 2017
10.0

Best hostel I have stayed at in China. Stayed in a spacious room, clean, bright nice timber decor / floor. Fantastic area to relax including both bar and table and chairs and sofa well away from the bar for those wanting quiet seclusion. Nice garden as well. Whole place has a great feel to it. It is not in the downtown area, but is well served by subway and a great new bus service #71 that has its own bus lane and gets you to the downtown area. Staff both friendly and helpful. Coffee good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Apr 2017
8.6

I stayed here on two different nights with a gap in between. The first night they gave my bed away as I was later than expected due to plane delays. However, they offered the couch at a reduced rate. Despite the offer we weren't best pleased. However, on the second night we had no such issues. The place is a little difficult to find, however, it's close to two metro stations. It has a bar and friendly staff. Beds are comfortable and are everything you'd expect for the price. I would stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2017
9.1

My 4th time staying at the hostel. Booked one of the deluxe private double rooms which was really nice - was almost like a little bungalow. The only complaints I had was that being the room furtherest from the common area the wifi cut in and out a bit, so I ended up going to the common area to do work. The food at the hostel was really average - I had some beef and egg dish one night and the breakfast.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Apr 2017
7.7

Not a bad hostel. Seems to have a fair amount of Asians, older people and large groups staying here so maybe not the best for solo travellers. Still possible to meet people in the nice bar/pool area. Showers are shared with the floor and quite cramped at times but staff are nice. Location is okay. Not too close to centre but on the metro line directly to the blund/shopping district. Lots of restaurants around the hostel.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2017
8.9

Very nice place. Will definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.