Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 2,774 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 2,774 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.5
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel Located at No.615 Lane, ZhaoHua Road, Changning District, Shanghai.
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
China
Shanghai 200050 No.615 Lane, ZhaoHua Road, Changning District
86% 2774
31.2117921 121.4204692
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Aug 2016
8.3

A quiet, well-equipped hostel in a decent part of town, ~10 minutes from two different subway stations. Lockers were free, beds were comfy, showers clean and hot, and there were lots of guidebooks to borrow and peruse over a cheap, cold beer in the bar. As a solo traveller, I found the atmosphere a little dead, and the staff a little colder than at other hostels in China, though not unfriendly. Would stay again if I were in a group.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Aug 2016
9.4

Great hostel! The staff was very helpful, there was a big common room where you could sit down and have some coffee or beer and talk to other people that were travelling. The furniture was well mantained and looked like as it was new. The bed was comfortable and the showers and toilets were ok. The only thing is that the floor was not always clean, specially under the beds, but apart from that I totally reccomend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
10th Aug 2016
7.4

Good for getting the metro, but if you want to go out in the centre after the metro shuts it will cost you 40 yuan + to get back to the hostel. Comfy beds & good showers. Showers only on the 3rd floor. Good restaurant with good atmosphere and friendly staff. Big lockers and room to keep belongings

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
9th Aug 2016
9.4

We stayed in a private room which was really clean, comfortable and had a window which made it bright and sunny! The walk to the Metro only takes 5 minutes which is great, baring in mind it's not the closest hostel (proximity) to the centre of Shanghai. The bar area was good for socialising and the food/ drinks were okay prices for a hostel. Had a great relaxing stay here and would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
4th Aug 2016
7.7

Hostel is clean and well kept. The atmosphere is different to other hostels, as there doesn't seem to be a lot of mingling between groups. Bar staff are very nice and speak good English, however the staff at reception speak less English, so should you encounter the smallest problem you may enter difficulties (it feels like you are bothering the staff and they don't really want to help). Ample facilities, but could do with putting more activities on in the evenings/advising on day activities.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I'm sorry to leave you such a bad experience, as well as valuable suggestions, we will solve the problem, look forward to your stay again!

4th Aug 2016
8.9

I'd definitely recommend this hostel. It's exceedingly clean and the housekeepers are always busy! (They're the best staff members by far!). The hostel is close enough to the metro. The only thing that I would say wasn't good about this place was the front desk staff: they spoke good English but were rather brisk and rude with their answers like they were bothered by the guests and also the wifi didn't work for me at ALL in the common room, which is really just an overpriced coffee hou

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • annafeebrunner4731
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
2nd Aug 2016
8.9

Staff were extremely helpful and nice. I've stayed in both the 4 bed room and the 8 bed room, and I definitely prefer the 8 bed room - the other one is a little small and gets stuffy in summer. The common area is huge and lovely but I found the music too loud to work properly. The miniature library is a nice touch!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
31st Jul 2016
9.1

The staff and atmosphere made this hostel. The girls at the desk were very helpful and wanted to get to know you. The bar area was great for just chilling and meeting other travelers. The downsides were the distance from the metro (15 minute walk) ; however it was on the main line to all the sites. The wifi connection was also quite poor both in the room and social space (couldn't even connect to the lobby Internet).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2016
9.4

I loved staying there. A very exciting atmosphere, with all the amenities. Staff is very helpful and hostel is very clean and beautiful l. Must stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Jul 2016
8.0

A very nice place to sit and relax, extremely clean and comfy beds and rooms. Staff were helpful, food was ok. Really great social environment. However its very far from anything. Youre looking to be paying around 40-50 RMB to get to anything in a taxi and its a little drunk walk to the nearest metro line.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.