Hostelworld.com

Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 2,615 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 2,615 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 8.3
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel Located at No.615 Lane, ZhaoHua Road, Changning District, Shanghai.
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
China
Shanghai 200050 No.615 Lane, ZhaoHua Road, Changning District
85% 2615
31.2117921 121.4204692
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
17th May 2016
8.3

Well the place is good for what you pay, is not too close from the city center but you have the subway close. As for the facilities, I stood in a 4 bed room, it was clean and comfortable and also had locker for your stuff. The bathroom is big and clean and also the showers. The staff only the boys were kind and helpful, there was a girl who was rude.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th May 2016
10.0

Brilliant hostel!! Staff are very friendly and speak brilliant English. Rooms are clean and aircon works perfectly. We had a private room with ensuite which was great, although near the communal showers so did get a little noise and woke us up in the mornings (we needed to get up anyway). Drinks are pretty cheap and so is food! All good! Lovely social area with very relaxed feel :) Would highly recommend to anyone!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

WOW! Thanks, that is very important for us!

  • Anonymous
  • Wales, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
14th May 2016
8.0

2nd time I've stayed at this hostel. Location is not very central, but it's close to a metro so easy to get everywhere. Our room this time did not have a window (basic twin private) and we were told about that on check in. Only slight issue, is there is no bathroom door. So, unless you're not too comfortable with the person you're sharing a private room with, maybe best to ask when you book, as the last room I stayed in did have a door. The burger here is good, and half price coffee card!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th May 2016
9.4

Stayed here twice, and would stay again. :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • huangpaula8794
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
12th May 2016
10.0

One of the best hostels I/we've ever stayed in. Booked 2 nights, stayed 3. The hostel itself is an attractive building, the staff are amazingly helpful and most speak English. Rock & Wood is set in a quiet side street only a few minutes walk to a variety of restaurants and beautiful parks, close to buses and taxis. Rooms and bathrooms clean. Bedding clean and fresh. Coffee very good. Hot chocolate excellent. Food very nice. Highly recommend Rock&Wood.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th May 2016
10.0

This hostel is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in! The staff was amazing, the atmosphere was delightful and the rooms were probably the best you'll find for such a price in Shanghai. It's also really conveniently located near 3 of the largest metro lines in Shanghai, which is a huge bonus. Next time I'm in Shanghai, I will stay here again for sure.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

wow; thanks! see you next time!

9th May 2016
9.7

Great place, perhaps make the music playlist more diverse :-)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th May 2016
7.4

Close from 2 metro stations the location is good. Rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. Bar is overpriced and staff are not so friendly, the girl in the morning is very friendly and helpful but the guy is not so friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2016
9.4

Definitely the nicest, best put-together hostel I've stayed at in Asia. The full-service bar by the Koi pond was a huge plus but I really appreciated the cleanliness and how friendly all the staff was to me (especially when they found my lost passport!). I was in Shanghai for four days and mostly hit places around the green line, so the location was good. Kind of a small hike to get to the subway, but whatever, there's good street food on the way there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2016
8.9

Good like always!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.