Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 2,945 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 2,945 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel Located at No.615 Lane, ZhaoHua Road, Changning District, Shanghai.
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
China
Shanghai 200050 No.615 Lane, ZhaoHua Road, Changning District
86% 2945
31.2117921 121.4204692
Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
9.4

Great hostel, i always stay here when I am in Shanghai.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
4.6

The staff on the phone and arrival was Not polite and didn't help me or answer any of my questions. The reason why I booked the room was because me and my husband decided to fly to Shanghai last minute to enjoy my birthday in a different city. I booked a double bed room and was sent an email with booking confirmation for a 6 dorm bed. When I got there I was told our room had a problem and we had an "upgrade" to twin room which was cold dirty and not what we wanted.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Nov 2016
9.7

WOW I have stayed at alot of hostels and this is the best one by far!!! the showers were better than my own shower at home. REALLY AMAZING VIBES a little hard to find but deff worth it

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Nov 2016
9.1

Everything was ok.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Nov 2016
8.3

Great Hostel! Nice Staff, clean rooms, comfortable mattresses, in a quiet street but not to far from the city center.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Nov 2016
8.9

Easily one of the best hostels I've stayed in. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the location was very nice and had a massive mall 10 minutes away, and there were tons of friendly people I met while staying here. First time I've had this soft a bed in a long time! Definite recommend if you are looking for a hostel in Shanghai.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Nov 2016
9.4

Close to the subway.The staff were very nice and good at English even Cantonese.The atsmophere was warm.The standard room was small but the bathroom was very nice.Like the decorations in hostel and we can get the discount of the coffee shop in it.Slient and comfortable.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your good comments, hope to see you next time!

5th Nov 2016
9.7

Overall an excellent hostel. The staff were very helpful, rooms and bathroom facilities were quite clean, and the lounge/bar/patio area was well organized. Some reviews complain about the wifi, but I didn't have any problems either in my room (3rd floor) or the lobby/lounge area. The surrounding area is quite nice, parts of it are very modern but you're so close to the French Concession where you can visit and older part of Shanghai. I would stay here again, personally.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Nov 2016
8.6

nice and modern hostel.great coffee!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Russia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
1st Nov 2016
8.6

Nice place. But it felt more like hotel than hostel. Almost no people downstairs, very quiet. The first night i arrived i was alone in my 8-bed dorm..So if you expect hostel atmosphere probably that's not the right place( Also the staff was not very friendly. Everything else was fine

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.