Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 3267 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 3267 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Jul 2017
7.1

For a windowless room you should really add more lights! We were happy to save money and take a windowless room but we had one tiny flickering lamp and a dim light by the door. Not great. I stayed at this hostel in 2015 and found that the prices have gone up but the amenities are looking run down. Still a beautiful hostel with a great vibe, clean, great staff. Just pricey when you're so far from everything and the rooms aren't great.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 37 reviews
11th Jul 2017
6.3

We didn't enjoy our stay here. Bed was uncomfortable (even by Chinese standards), staff were not particularly helpful, hostel food was not good and the staff could not provide us with basic information. You are asked to pay for a map?? It was loud around our room late at night due to other guests. We would not come back.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
9th Jul 2017
8.0

We extended an extra night and had to move rooms because the hostel was full. In the morning when we went to check into our new room they tried to tell us they were overbooked and we had to take a more expensive room. Fortunately I had their confirmation email for the room but they were still hesitant to give us our room. Other than that the hostel was fine. Clean and spacious. Good size lockers. Close to the metro lines.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2017
8.3

The location is pretty convenient, the hostel is within a ten minute walk to the subway on Line 2. The atmosphere was pretty good, was relatively easy to meet people. Our four person room was a bit small, but everything was clean and new. And comfy beds! The only slight annoyance was the semi apathetic attitude of the staff. When it was a downpour and we needed a cab, they didn't help us in getting one, or give suggestions for how to get one. Very hands off staff, but overall a pleasant stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
1st Jul 2017
7.7

Nice hostel, great location. Frustrating staff at front desk was really unhelpful and then gave us directions to a place that had closed down. There were construction works going on next door which killed the ambience, although the facilities of the hostel were nice. Would recommend this place, but maybe not for the next few weeks until the jackhammering is done!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2017
9.1

Really nice hostel, great atmosphere, the food was good and the beers were cheap. Defently would recommend it for a friend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jun 2017
9.7

The staff were extremely helpful and courteous with any questions and requests. The cafe was also reasonably priced and portioned for a quick meal. Directions were easy and clear. Would definitely visit again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • trissybell125019
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
26th Jun 2017
9.4

This is a really nice hostel. The atmosphere is great for relaxation and meeting new friends. The rooms are good and the place was always clean, including the bathrooms. The neighborhood is pretty quiet and the hostel is within walking distance of two metro lines. Overall, a really nice place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Jun 2017
6.6

I usually choose to stay at Rock and Wood because of my experiences each time. Friendly staff, quick an easy check-in, great coffee and good food. Everything is usually pretty good, however, this past weekend we had a couple issues. 1, our room had a distinct sewer/washroom smell and I approached the front desk but nothing was done because all of the rooms were booked up. 2, there was a family staying across the hall from us, and their child cried for 4-5 hours non-stop. Impossible to sleep!!!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2017
8.0

I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel. The big bar area was great to meet new people since I travelled alone. The wifi isn't that great, but I didn't really mind. The breakfast was nice and was not too expensive so I enjoyed that!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.