Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 3061 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 3061 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • matttamb
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Feb 2017
9.1

Incredible downstairs courtyard and entrance, definitely a change having travelled all over China. The downstairs acts as a beautiful library cafe bar where you can chill. Rooms were kept clean daily (a huge plus for Chinese standards). The only downside was the 4th floor was extremely busy with servant quarters, going in and out constantly and slamming doors. For the price of a 4 bed dorm, I'd want bathrooms inside the dorm, but know this is uncommon in China anyway. Beds were extremely comfy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Feb 2017
8.9

Bathrooms separate from the dorm room, nice offerings of western food and alcoholic drinks in the restaurant (about 25 kuai for a meal, 25 kuai for a drink), really nice environment in the common area. Friendly cat downstairs

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
14th Feb 2017
10.0

I come here regularly it is my go to hostel in Shanghai.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2017
10.0

The staff is incredible! Evan is the dude! I stay here every time I'm in Shanghai!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • celyn27849
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Feb 2017
8.9

Second time at the hostel, would definitely recommend it, will stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
8.6

Clean, comfy beds, bathrooms and shower rooms very clean, very spacious area downstairs for relaxing and so on. Pool table is great too. Wifi a bit patchy but otherwise no faults.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Feb 2017
8.9

Good clean place. A bit away from the city centre, but a 10 minute walk gets you to the metro. Would stay again easy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th Feb 2017
9.1

Stayed at Rock&Wood for one night in the female 6-bed dorm. The hostel was very clean, staff was friendly and spoke good English. Food and drinks might have the best value for money in Shanghai. The hostel is a bit far out but definitely worth the stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2017
9.7

This is the first hostel I have ever stayed at. I can say this is by far one of the best places I have stayed ever. It is comparable to some of the top hotels. The room is large, the bathroom is large, and the entire place is extremely clean. There is an awesome bar/grill with some of the cheapest food in the area. The breakfast is always worth it. The staff are all capable of English and helpful with sites to see and directions. Overall, one of my favourite parts of Shanghai.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Feb 2017
6.9

THe Hotel is okay, but the room was small, the window was opening on the Floor and the atmosphere is not very welcoming

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.