Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Rock&Wood International Youth Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 3186 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 3186 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.8
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th May 2017
9.7

By far one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Great clean facilities, helpful and kind staff. The only thing is location, its a bit far from the city center, but when taking everything is taken into account it is totally worth it. Will stay here again the next time I go to Shanghai.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th May 2017
6.6

Location is really poor, unsafe for single female traveller like me. Indeed a 15min walk from the metro (Zhongshan park exit 7) and at the end of this alleyway that has zero street lighting(I had to rely on my phone torch). But also means it's quiet. Warning: There are NO LIFTS so if you're given 4F, be prepared for heavy lifting. Also a sign that says pls dont throw toilet paper down the bowl to avoid chokage. No showers on 4F either. Staff did not tell me that, had to discover myself.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
19th May 2017
9.4

Wo de mingzhi shi Chen Liang I have been coming here regularly since August, it is my favorite hostel in Shanghai when I want a week away and I have stayed at 5 hostels in Shanghai. What more can I say?

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2017
8.9

Really lovely staff who have good English and are kind and very accommodating with requests, cheap, good bar where you can hang out all day, lovely terrace and garden. Easy to get to from both train stations and only a short metro ride to the French Concession. Would highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th May 2017
9.4

Really nice place with an amazing staff. Loved the private room. And the staff where extremely helpful! I would go back only for that. Only down side, wi-fi never really worked for me in any platform and TV was not working at all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th May 2017
9.4

I've stayed at a few Shanghai hostels and this is hands down the best. Decent location which makes taking a cheap taxi doable. Clean, safe, decent food and vibe makes it worth it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Francoislabonne
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
10th May 2017
9.4

Fun place to stay, great common area. Overall good experience!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th May 2017
7.4

Location is alright, pretty close to the subway. Beds are ok, but could feel the springs in my bed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • templemax
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th May 2017
7.4

Do not go to China although this place is nice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th May 2017
9.4

Room was moldy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.