X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Sanlitun Youth Hostel Reviews

No.1 Chunxiu Lu(Gong Ti Bei Lu), Chaoyang District, Beijing, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
2253 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Great hostel, not as big of a party atmosphere as I thought but I may have been unlucky with timing. No wifi except on the main floor needs to be fixed though, pretty inconvenient.

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

Always be careful when staying in hostels; my roommate tried to steal my laptop and i caught him as he was leaving the room. The staff is quite freandly in the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey lovely three chilian friends , we are so soory for that . Hope you spent a nice time with your friends duting your were in our hostel . See you next time . Have a good time ! Regards Sanlitun Hostel

63%

Staff lost my booking even though I called in 24 hours in advance to confirm my booking. Then attempted to downgrade me from the room I booked while charging me the same price.


74%

When it comes to customer service, I felt that it was hit or miss, depending largely on which staff member you speak with. The lines at the desk was often very long. Would be nice to have more staff members available to help out! Food was great there!

  • 20th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

A nice place to stay in Peking, good location, clean, friendly staff, good people and atmosphere.

  • 19th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Friendly staffs, clean beds, great location, overall good place.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

It's a great hostel in a good location, delicious food and good atmosphere, I like it very much.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much , see you very soon ! Regards Sanlitun Hostel

46%

Your staff needs to be more friendly and not as hostile towards people who arrives at your hostel (they might be tired after the long trip and thereby a little slower in understanding what you'll have to say). I might have been unlucky and gotten one of your not as friendly receptionists (she might have been stressed). But the experience i had with her was very unpleasant and made me move to another hostel the day after. Not a good start for a person who just landed in China.

  • 15th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

It was the first hostel I went in China that had those tiny mattress, rooms are just clean enough. I did like the hall with the little bar and the restaurant. The food was find, expensive but it's almost the same price than all others places.

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The hostel is very nice with good security (room doors, lockers, and 24/7 staff). It has a decently prices restaurant attached to it with a small bar that is great for breakfast or lunch, and relaxing in the evenings. It's also a good hang out area to meet people. The hostel has desktop computers available but you need to pay for them (if I recall it was 1 yuan/15 minutes which isn't expensive, just annoying). One big complaint is that the WiFi (slow to begin with) only works on the first floor.


60%

In China there are different standards when it comes to cleanliness and comfort, but Sanlitun is under average compared to other hostels in bigger cities in China. Ofcourse the main lounge where they make money off of selling food and beer is clean, just wish they could pretend to care about the other facilities such as shower and toilet. Shower is downright disgusting and the few toilets they actually have rarely have any toilet paper. Staff is helpful and we met some cool people though.


74%

Security: Lockers in dorms too small for a carry-on suitcase, and the latch quite feeble. I asked them to hold my bags til I'd come back for them later in the day, and my bags were tagged and stored, but when I picked them up the tags weren't checked and they let me take whatever I wanted. Very good bar and food menu, and good common areas with pool table, but sofa by pool table was bug-infested. Location great, staff nice as well as bilingual, but upkeep was wanting.


37%

Not one that i would recommend, linen was not clean, staff not helpful to the point of rude. Overpriced meals that you wait and eternity to receive.


97%

Great atmosphere. Cathy was very helpful.


66%

화장실. 샤워실안좋고 지하철역 도보15분정도구요 . 버스정류장은가까움. 가격싼맛에 가기좋아요


97%

I live just outside of beijing so when I stay in beijing I always stay here. It's cheap, but clean, rooms are nice, atmosphere is great you get to meet so many people. The only thing that's not to great is no wifi jn the rooms. :(


89%

It was my second time on Salintum Youth Hostel and it was very good!!!


83%

Nice hostel, no problems. Only stayed for one night - it was fine.


100%

Great staff & facilities! the only negative was the grumpy lad taking orders in the coffee shop! he really needs to cheer up some :)

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

The restaurant was quiet expensive for a hostel.


(117 results)


View all Beijing Hostels

Please give us your feedback