X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Sanlitun Youth Hostel Reviews

No.1 Chunxiu Lu(Gong Ti Bei Lu), Chaoyang District, Beijing, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
2752 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

The Hostel is ok. But not more than that. We had a double room with ensuite bathroom. Unfortunately it was not that clean, but not too dirty neither. The rooms itself were mainly clean, unless you looked under the beds. I think no one has cleaned there for a long time. So in total the rooms were ok. However, the first night we were in a room where the window was directed towards a discotheque. So we couldn't sleep until 4am. After we changed rooms it was much better.

  • 11th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

I never have a bad time here! Great staff, perfect location, and always good value for money. Many thanks for your hospitality!


54%

To start off our stay Sanlitun had confirmed three times that they would be at the airport to pick us up upon arrival-no one was there upon arrival. Used cigarette on the floor of our room, a bloody tissue, dust covering the floor, bunks, and air conditioning. The bathrooms were filth...don't know how to put into words! There were cleaner out door bathrooms on the main road. Bugs in the bed-small black bugs covering 4 bunks! They were very hesitant to accommodate once we found bugs.


71%

Incorrect location on travel maps

  • 5th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

The WIFI was just bad and only available in the lobby. That sucks!! Please improve that.

  • 4th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

The staff are not as unfriendly as many other reviewers said, but the wifi was really crap. i didn't understand why the wifi stopped working for so many people after midnight, and the staff were unapologetic about it. i mean, it's a hostel with a bar/restaurant, and they shut the restaurant AND the wifi at midnight, so people have to either go to sleep or go out. it doesn't make a lot of sense to me.


66%

Spacious dorms. Reasonably priced online but not for walk-ins. Also, they charge for everything: maps (free at tourist information centers), to use the pool table, etc. Laundry costs 20 CNY/kg and the restaurant is pretty expensive too. WiFi is erratic in the lobby and nonexistent in rooms.


91%

Spacious dorm room, clean bathrooms, a tour desk in the hostel, and a short walk to the metro and the cool Sanlitun village area. It was everything I wanted. The beds are standard Chinese, pretty hard. They also don't provide or rent towels for dorms, but the showers are really good.


60%

good position, nice tour good organized. the restaurant was too expensive and the stuff sometimes very cold and unfriendly, the cleaning compare with the Chinese standard was oK. the pick up service from airport was 260 yean that is really huge amount, i d suggest to look for something better.


97%

Perfect place, dont go for the hostel tours, staff a bit quirky but great nonetheless.


86%

There was really really loud music until 4am coming from the bar downstairs which made it really hard to sleep.


80%

Atmosphere and Location was excellent. Walking distance to bars in Sanlitun area. Really cute bar/restaurant. Our room had a terrible stench coming in from some business down below. The staff was a bit rude and unhelpful at times. We had a girl in our group without her passport as she's getting her residence permit and is with the bureau, but has a copy and government certified travel slip, however they were unwilling to accept this for her reservation and not willing to make an exception.

  • 23rd Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

Average stay. Not so much atmosphere but close to the drinking area in Sanlitun. They should think about making the pool table free of charge. Would stay again.


86%

Very nice place, with a lot of services and good staff.

  • 17th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Wifi always has horrible connection. How can you have two wifi servers on one floor for everyone in the hostel? The room key always had to be reset everyday which was annoying because my room was on the third floor. Don't understand how this hostel got the best rating. Don't believe everything you read...


46%

This hostel was average at best. Staff were not very welcoming and food was shocking

  • 4th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

A lot of mosquitoes and cockroaches all over. The hostel sounded very nice on hostelworld, but the level of English was mostly low which is a bit annoying; and they had no electric guitar (well it was broken, with no amp)! I cannot recommend this unless you have a good budget since you have to pay for everything, including the pool table. It looks very pretty at least.


91%

It is very expensive but the location and the atmosphere are very good.

  • 11th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great hostel and great staff. Perfect for anyone traveling alone lots of people to meet. Really friendly place and good location.

  • 10th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Needs better cleaning. Sweeping behind furniture and cleaning drains in bathroom would be a good idea. Helpful staff though.


(51 results)


View all Beijing Hostels

Please give us your feedback