Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shanghai Hidden Garden Youth Hostel

  • No. 840A, Lane 834, Pudong Avenue, Lujiazui District, Shanghai, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.7
Good 412 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 6.4
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
6.7
Good 412 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 6.4
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 5.7
  • Facilities 6.5
Shanghai Hidden Garden Youth Hostel Located at No. 840A, Lane 834, Pudong Avenue, Lujiazui District, Shanghai.
Shanghai Hidden Garden Youth Hostel
China
Shanghai 200120 No. 840A, Lane 834, Pudong Avenue, Lujiazui District
67% 412
31.2391874 121.5271139
Shanghai Hidden Garden Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
8th Oct 2016
8.3

To get to the hostel you need to go down a dark alley. At night it might be a little dangerous. But the location in the city is good. It's very close to Pearl Tower. And the facilities are clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Oct 2016
8.3

Good staff

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
2nd Oct 2016
4.3

The staff were friendly but that was about it. The location is in a dismal back alley near a construction site. What you will save in money you will make up for in needing to buy everything else. There is no soap in the bathrooms, the floors were absolutely filthy and the the mattresses were old and decrepit. The shower room I was using had no door. Honestly unless nothing else is available avoid shg. I take no pleasure in giving a bad review but this hostel needs a wake up call.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
1st Oct 2016
3.7

There were giant cockroaches inside the dorm. The door didn't lock, which let in mosquitoes. The bathrooms were probably the worst I've experienced in China. The district is within walking distance of tourist highlights but the area directly around the hostel is grungy and unkempt, and I can promise at night it looks like the trash itself is moving. I checked out a day early. For the money, it's a place to stay. For safety and any kind of comfort, I would not recommend it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Oct 2016
6.3

I wasn't expecting anywhere to lavish when I booked this hostel but it was a bit of a surprise. I was put in a dorm which was over all okay but we had no lock on our door and people just seemed to walk in and out, and we had no lockers. The showers and toliet facilities were exceptable but weren't the cleanest. It is also hard to find. The directions given on the website are not very helpful. It is down the bottom of a lane which isn't well lighten at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Sep 2016
5.4

SHGYH has potential, but at the moment left plenty to be desired. The whole place could use an update to give it a more comforting vibe. There were holes in the wall of my room. Many of the movies they claim you can watch for free are just empty DVD cases. I would compare it to a cheap motel in the US. It didn't help that a metro line was being constructed on Pudong Avenue. Once complete, they will have an excellent location. It could be a really nice place, but needs a fair amount of work.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
3rd Sep 2016
4.6

This hostel was extremely dirty. We were originally put in a room that the staff claimed the air conditioning unit was working. It was not. The room was hotter than outside. When we did move rooms we saw multiple cockroaches and we're give some bug spray to contend with them ! Not a great experience. So much potential as a hostel but really no effort put in !

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
22nd Aug 2016
7.1

The beer fridge isn't cold but the price is good so if your trying to save a little coin stay here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Aug 2016
6.3

Just stayed a night here ´ cause I had to go to PVG. It´ s about 15 minutes from the nearest subway station, the neighborhood is not very nice, and the place lacks of cleanness. The bathroom didn´ t look clean and smelled. The staff is very friendly and speaks English. This would be one of the last places I stay again in Shanghai unless there´ s nothing else.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
15th Aug 2016
7.4

The shared bathroom reeked of stale urine, a situation doubly troubling because the bathroom was in the dorm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.