Hostelworld.com

Shanghai Soho Bund Youth Hostel

  • No.239, Da Ming Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Prices
map
reviews
5.8
Rating 84 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.4
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 5.4
  • Atmosphere 5.4
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.4
BOOK NOW
5.8
Rating 84 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.4
  • Security 6.8
  • Location 7.1
  • Staff 5.4
  • Atmosphere 5.4
  • Cleanliness 5.4
  • Facilities 5.4
Shanghai Soho Bund Youth Hostel Located at No.239, Da Ming Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai, , Shanghai.
Shanghai Soho Bund Youth Hostel
China
Shanghai Shanghai 200080 No.239, Da Ming Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai
58% 84
31.2462322 121.4939188
Shanghai Soho Bund Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th May 2016
6.9

the staff doesn't speak english, the rooms were smelling bad, there is no lockers which doesn't help at all, at list the location was good, we will recommend another place to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st May 2016
5.4

The soho bund youth hostel claims to an international one, but clearly it appeals to Chinese tourists. The staff knows very little English, there is no interaction but payment and there is no traveling atmosphere around. And the wifi connection was awful. I couldn't care less about cleanliness But a international hostel should have a more informative and helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2016
6.9

Location was good. Stuff are very friendly. The room has a strong smell. When we got in, there was still some rubbish on the floor, and water in the sink. The cups has tea stains in them. The air conditioning was not quite working. The TV reception was extremely poor. The hostel really should look at some basic cleaning standards.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2016
4.9

Our room was on the top floor. Calling it a room is a bit of a stretch though because it was more of a cardboard enclosure. The bathroom and shower were on a balcony outside with a plastic wrap you'd find on an umbrella covering it. Needless to say, it was terribly cold and taking a shower was an awful experience. The room only had 1 power outlet for all 4 beds, which btw were also quite uncomfortable. Also, no lockers. Nighttime entertainment was provided by local cockroaches. Keep looking!!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • marcelogranja6052
  • Brazil, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
17th Mar 2016
7.7

The staff in this hostel has a very limited English fluency. Don't expect much help

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Kazakhstan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Feb 2016
8.6

would be nice to have a soap in the bathroom and mirror in the room. Generally very goo place

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jan 2016
4.9

The location was very convenient for us. Very close to the bund. The view for us was good as we could see Pudong from our room window. However, the shower pressure was very low, the room was very cold and the electric heater took ages to heat it up, the beds where too hard (I do understand that that is the Chinese standard). The general atmosphere looked better in the advertisement than in real life. I have payed a lot less for generally better hostels in Shanghai.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Dec 2015
4.9

Did not enjoy my stay

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.