Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sitting On The City Walls Courtyard House

  • 57 NianZi HuTong, JingShanHouJie, DongCheng District, Beijing, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 1,421 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 1,421 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.0
  • Security 9.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.4
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.9
Sitting On The City Walls Courtyard House Located at 57 NianZi HuTong, JingShanHouJie, DongCheng District, Beijing.
Sitting On The City Walls Courtyard House
China
Beijing Beijing 100009 57 NianZi HuTong, JingShanHouJie, DongCheng District
92% 1421
39.9291882 116.3980436
Sitting On The City Walls Courtyard House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Sep 2016
8.6

My stay here is great, i met some of nice roommates here and the courtyard area is very comfortable to hang out. The breakfast was good and they do provide very useful map and information to travel around. The best is the Jingshanling Great Wall tour is really fun and extraordinary. Just i feel a bit far from the subway that you need to walk 15 to 20 minutes. It will be great if they do provide sandal in the shower room cause it is too slippery inside. Other than this overall is okay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • thomasowa9930
  • Netherlands, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Sep 2016
9.1

Great and very helpful staff. Location is very good. Room was excellent.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
9.1

Location very central and quiet, in an area where mostly locals are living. Staff very kind and helpful. Facilities (toilet and shower) a little bit awkward, and almost no room for ones personal matter, but beds very confortable and clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
15th Sep 2016
9.7

They have won many hostel awards and for a reason. This place was easy to fine because of good directions and the owners are awesome. There is breakfast and dinner available at the hostel which is nice after long days. There is also a nice space to hang out and relax. Would suggest this hostel to everyone I know headed for Beijing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Sep 2016
10.0

Great hostel. Really helpful staff they give you a map and point out all the main attractions and how to get to them. Great facilities and they provide decent food and drinks and good prices. One of my favourite hostels and best one I stayed in China.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jacobarneson487
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Sep 2016
9.4

Awesome place and awesome service. I stayed here about 7 years ago and it feels like nothing has changed. Well, except maybe the price. The owners are extremely helpful and friendly. Being greeted with Rick's smile after a hot day in the Beijing sun is always appreciated. I look forward to my next stay here and would recommend it to all!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Sep 2016
8.0

The hostel is in a good location, close to the main attractions, but is hard to find and quite far from subway. The hostel is very nice and clean, but a little too expensive for what you get.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • jimmybaileyemail1402
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
7th Sep 2016
10.0

Travelled 34 countries. This is by far the best hostel I have stayed at for all of the categories rated. Only addition I think I can add is that Rick and Rachel are two of the most amazing people you will meet. Much to see in China but I didn't want to leave the courtyard. Hanging out with R & R was the best part of my stay. I would throw the keys to my house to Rick and Rachel to stay when I am not home and know the place will be in a better condition than when I left. I now have a Chinese Fam!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Sep 2016
9.4

We thoroughly enjoyed our week in Beijing staying at Sitting onnthe Walls. The hostel is situated in a Hutong very close to the Forbidden City and other attractions. Rick, Rachel and crew looked after us all week offering travel tips, helping to arrange tickets and helping us sample the local scene. Would thoroughly recommend the place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Sep 2016
9.4

Rick & Rachel who run this place are super friendly & helpful with great English. There is a great social area to hang out in, the wifi works well, the shower water was hot and the rooms were kept clean. Breakfast and evening food are available at an extra cost - we only tried the breakfast and they offer a great range of western food (muesli, toast, eggs etc) along with things like noodles and dumplings. Didn't try evening food but it looked good. All reasonably priced.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.