Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sitting On The City Walls Courtyard House

  • 57 NianZi HuTong, JingShanHouJie, DongCheng District, Beijing, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1,443 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1,443 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.8
Sitting On The City Walls Courtyard House Located at 57 NianZi HuTong, JingShanHouJie, DongCheng District, Beijing.
Sitting On The City Walls Courtyard House
China
Beijing Beijing 100009 57 NianZi HuTong, JingShanHouJie, DongCheng District
91% 1443
39.9291882 116.3980436
Sitting On The City Walls Courtyard House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Nov 2016
10.0

This is a really great hostel for the money. Perfect location close to public transportation, fantastic breakfasts, clean rooms. The guy who worked there (I forgot his name) was just awesome. When we arrived he gave us an extremely thorough rundown of Beijing, with map highlighting key places to visit and a fantastic itinerary. He was extremely friendly and was happy to answer all our questions. I definitely recommend staying here for your visit to Beijing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Nov 2016
2.0

One of the worst experiences I've ever had at a hostel. The man working, one of the owners, drank too much and acted aggressively towards me and at least one other guest in the morning. Upon my return, his coworker apologized on his behalf which I accepted. However, later that evening he re entered the lobby and gave me a menacing look and she told me this happens often and to ignore him. I will never stay there again and felt scared for my safety. I switched to Leo Hostel the next day.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
15th Nov 2016
7.1

Room small and a bit rough and ready, but staff polite, spoke good English and helpful. Location just north of the city centre in a quiet hutong not far from a metro station.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • katsrins
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Nov 2016
8.6

Staff were available 24/7 and were very friendly and wanted to help. They were very helpful with everything including calling taxis for me. The hostel is tucked away in a quiet alley and made me feel like I got a more authentic experience. Although it was hard at first to navigate the alley but once I figured out its location relative to Ping Pong Garden, it was very easy explore outside the hostel. Also the 8 bed dorm was huge. It was more like a couple rooms than one room with a bunch of beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Nov 2016
10.0

Love this place but a bit difficult to find. Follow the directions on the website. Although we absolutely had a blast walking around the area observing the daily life of the locals in the hutong area while looking for the hostel. Rick and Rachel were great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Nov 2016
7.7

Extremely helpful and friendly front staff. Very cute courtyard area. Bathrooms need to be cleaned more. The cleaning staff were not friendly and would turn on lights and be noisy while giving you dirty looks that you were still in bed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Oct 2016
9.1

Rick and Rachel were very helpful and made us feel safe, secure and welcome. There is mould that should be removed from the ceiling and the common area is a little cluttered. The location is central to sights in Beijing and it is an experience to stay in a Chinese hutong. I would stay at this hostel again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • camillahilton
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
15th Oct 2016
9.1

For Chinese hostels the quality is good. Dorm is basic but the beds are clean. Bathroom is dated and again very basic but clean. Owner speaks excellent English and is very helpful recommending local sites and restaurants. Courtyard common-area is a great place to chill out and they do great cheap food and coffee. Did the Jinshanling Great Wall Trip which was fantastic and avoided all the crowds. Difficult to find (adds to the charm) so check directions before and have Chinese address handy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
9th Oct 2016
9.4

Great hostel tucked away near the forbidden city! Staff were very friendly and helpful and spoke excellent English! Had great facilities which were decently clean. Only issue was ground floor dorm is a thoroughfare for the first floor dorm so everyone walks through the room - can be a little annoying with inconsiderate guests but overall it was ok.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Sep 2016
10.0

Fantastic place Rick and his Wife were so helpful nothing was too much trouble definitely recommend. Nice to be in the middle of the old town too lots of atmosphere and close to the Forbidden City.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.