Hostelworld.com

Sitting On The City Walls Courtyard House

  • 57 NianZi HuTong, JingShanHouJie, DongCheng District, Beijing, China
Prices
map
reviews
9.3
Superb 1,362 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
9.3
Superb 1,362 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.3
  • Security 9.5
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.8
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 9.1
Sitting On The City Walls Courtyard House Located at 57 NianZi HuTong, JingShanHouJie, DongCheng District, Beijing.
Sitting On The City Walls Courtyard House
China
Beijing Beijing 100009 57 NianZi HuTong, JingShanHouJie, DongCheng District
93% 1362
39.9291882 116.3980436
Sitting On The City Walls Courtyard House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Apr 2016
9.7

Very nice and helpful staff, great place to enjoy beijing

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Apr 2016
9.1

Great, helpful staff!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
14th Apr 2016
8.9

Excellent staff, very helpful. A bit noisy in the dorm, and 24 hour check in means that you may be woken up late at night with new arrivals. Otherwise, this is a good hostel. Reccommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2016
9.1

Great staff who are willing to help in any way they can! It is located in the traditional hutong area, so the place is hard to find, but local folks will help you find the place. Make sure to have the address in Chinese for taxi driver. Close to many of the site's so that you can walk to many places. We had a double room The room is small and the price is much higher than other hostel, but we enjoyed the staff and the quiet location of this hostel. Very safe location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2016
9.4

The staff were really lovely and provided us loads of useful information when we arrived. The room was clean and the bed really comfortable. Perfect place to stay for a few days whilst exploring Beijing!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2016
10.0

Very good and knowledgeable hosts with an excellent command of English.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Apr 2016
9.4

I stayed in the mixed dorm. Pretty basic; key for the door, separate small storage locker (for valuables, bag won't fit). Great location! Quick walk to subway, ~30 minute walk to Forbidden City / Tiananmen Square. Staff will organize day trips (including the Great Wall), they are extremely helpful with recommendations and overall as well!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Apr 2016
9.4

Excellent atmosphere (courtyard with little fountain, other travellers, little bookshelf). Good location, near the center. Really nice staff with good English knowledge! Notably, staff showed creativity in making my stay pleasant: e.g. by giving suggestions for sightseeing itineraries etc. - this is a good step above the average! Guided tours to the great wall available. OK, the single room is very small. Doubles are more spacious. Dorm appears OK. All in all, a wholehearted recommendation!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th Mar 2016
8.9

My husband and I stayed here for two nights - great location in the hutong, walking distance to Forbidden City, MTR etc so really accessible to all Beijing sights. We booked our Great Wall tour through the hostel (to Mutianyu section) the night before and it was well priced and organized. Very informative staff, super helpful with all our Beijing questions, recommendations for where to eat etc. Quieter place, which was just what we were looking for!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Mar 2016
8.9

Nice hostel with a great location. When I came I got all the information I needed, even a written description of how to get to the different places by bus or metro. They have a really nice common area and you can by beer, coffee, tea, soft drinks, snacks and some food. The only thing I was missing was hook on the wall for jackets. The room ( single room) was very small, but cosy, but there were no where to put outdoor clothes. I would for sure book at Sitting on the Wall if I go back to Beijing

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.