Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sitting On The City Walls Courtyard House

  • 57 NianZi HuTong, JingShanHouJie, DongCheng District, Beijing, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.2
Superb 1475 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.2
Superb 1475 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.7
  • Atmosphere 9.1
  • Cleanliness 8.9
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Mar 2017
10.0

We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff were friendly and very helpful with where to go and how to get around including shows/restaurants and attractions. The location was very central and in a traditional Hutong so yout get a better feel for how people live. Handy for breakfast/dinner great coffee and cheap beer!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Mar 2017
8.9

Definitely I will stay again if in Beijing! Great location, friendly staff with lots of spot on suggestions and tips for newcomers. A little hard to find the first time around, but worth it. They offer a good Great Wall tour as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2017
8.3

Overall this place is great because of its location, extremely helpful English speaking staff and price. Book all tours with hostel as they are great. It is in a building which is over 100 years old which means things such as showers and toilets aren't fantastic but they do the job. It does however give it character. Would not recommend to young travellers looking to party, more for the 25 and overs wanting to do site seeing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Feb 2017
8.9

Great location for visiting the main attractions (forbidden city etc.) and very helpful staff. Only downside was it was very quiet but they may just have been the time of year as was early March.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Feb 2017
9.7

Lovely little hostel located very close to the Forbidden City . Traditional house with a peacefull central courtyard. Staff were extremely helpful with laundry, printing of tickets and general advice about getting around Beijing. Double ensuite room was slightly on the small side but that did not matter as the central courtyard was such a pleasant place to hang out and meet fellow travellers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Feb 2017
9.7

Location could not be better. Any better and we'd be staying in the Forbidden City. Very friendly and helpful staff. Great food for a hostel. No cons that I can think of.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Feb 2017
9.1

Excellent location very close to: the forbidden city; metro station and bus stops. The boss is very friendly and gives excellent advice on sightseeing in Beijing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Feb 2017
9.4

Rick is a great host, My buddies and I had a great time here. Rick was super accommodating to our Hijinx, gladly hailed us cabs and translated addresses for us. This hostel is NOT a party hostel however and is a little more quiet than some others. This is made up for by the friendly atmosphere however, and in my experience everyone was still very friendly and approachable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
7th Feb 2017
9.7

Rick and company were fantastic, they will help you with anything and they know the city and site details intimately. I would recommend visiting the great wall through this hostel also. I would comeback without a doubt. Regards Conor

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jan 2017
10.0

The place is beautiful! The owners are super nice and extremely helpful too. The location is perfect, and sits very nicely among ancient housing. Beer is cheap, the beds are comfortable, and the shower was always hot. Nothing could have been better!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.