Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sitting On The City Walls Courtyard House

  • 57 NianZi HuTong, JingShanHouJie, DongCheng District, Beijing, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.1
Superb 1,458 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
9.1
Superb 1,458 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.4
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 9.6
  • Atmosphere 9.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.8
Sitting On The City Walls Courtyard House Located at 57 NianZi HuTong, JingShanHouJie, DongCheng District, Beijing.
Sitting On The City Walls Courtyard House
China
Beijing Beijing 100009 57 NianZi HuTong, JingShanHouJie, DongCheng District
91% 1458
39.9291882 116.3980436
Sitting On The City Walls Courtyard House
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jan 2017
8.3

My second time in this hostel and definitely not the last one. Great atmosphere, super friendly staff, cheap beer(!!!), great location. Great value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2016
9.4

Truly incredible place. The staff was absolutely amazing. It's not super big, so book early. The location is amazing after you find it for the first time. Fantastic hostel, I'd stay there again any time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
10.0

The hostel is conventialky located along the perimeter of the Forbidden City so Taxi drivers are well aware of the street and address. The hostel itself is cozy and Ric (One or the two hosts) does everything he can to provide a comfortable stay. December can be cold in Beijing and it was pleasant to eat/drink at the hostel at a very treasonable price (and home-cooked food). The hostel also provides opportunities to see the Great Wall which we enjoyed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Dec 2016
9.1

Hostel is located close to the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square. You can visit both in the same day by walking. Just remember your passport. Rick and Rachel were very friendly and helpful at all hours of the day. They can book a tour of the Great Wall for you too. They serve food if you're not feeling like roaming the streets for something to eat. Cheap beer and water. Separate toilets and a two person shower. The other people staying at the hostel were not the party type.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Dec 2016
9.1

Hostel is located close to the Forbidden City and Tiananmen Square. You can visit both in the same day by walking. Just remember your passport. Rick and Rachel were very friendly and helpful at all hours of the day. They can book a tour of the Great Wall for you too. They serve food if you're not feeling like roaming the streets for something to eat. Cheap beer and water. Separate toilets and a two person shower. The other people staying at the hostel were not the party type.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Nov 2016
10.0

This is a really great hostel for the money. Perfect location close to public transportation, fantastic breakfasts, clean rooms. The guy who worked there (I forgot his name) was just awesome. When we arrived he gave us an extremely thorough rundown of Beijing, with map highlighting key places to visit and a fantastic itinerary. He was extremely friendly and was happy to answer all our questions. I definitely recommend staying here for your visit to Beijing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Nov 2016
7.1

Room small and a bit rough and ready, but staff polite, spoke good English and helpful. Location just north of the city centre in a quiet hutong not far from a metro station.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • katsrins
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Nov 2016
8.6

Staff were available 24/7 and were very friendly and wanted to help. They were very helpful with everything including calling taxis for me. The hostel is tucked away in a quiet alley and made me feel like I got a more authentic experience. Although it was hard at first to navigate the alley but once I figured out its location relative to Ping Pong Garden, it was very easy explore outside the hostel. Also the 8 bed dorm was huge. It was more like a couple rooms than one room with a bunch of beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Nov 2016
10.0

Love this place but a bit difficult to find. Follow the directions on the website. Although we absolutely had a blast walking around the area observing the daily life of the locals in the hutong area while looking for the hostel. Rick and Rachel were great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Nov 2016
7.7

Extremely helpful and friendly front staff. Very cute courtyard area. Bathrooms need to be cleaned more. The cleaning staff were not friendly and would turn on lights and be noisy while giving you dirty looks that you were still in bed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.