X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Sitting On The City Walls Courtyard House Reviews

57 NianZi HuTong, JingShanHouJie, DongCheng District, Beijing, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
1244 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 93%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 94%Staff
  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

The hostel was in a really nice hutong which was a cool experience, but the hostel lacked basic things that nearly every hostel I've ever stayed in offered for free. What they did offer they would always charge a deposit fee. Not a problem, but kind of annoying. The floors, especially in the bathroom, were dirty. Worse than all of that though was the location. The hostel was terribly hard to find. I speak decent enough Chinese that I was able to ask some of the locals for help.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks being here.U booked 1 night in Dorm, we so confused about your review, is there really such a strange thing to deposit for a safe-box & door e-key in a hostel if u really traveled a lot as mentioned?We offer free local call,bilingual map,Wifi and computer, regularly clean dorm bath every 2 hrs.Talking about difficlult to find here, you didn't follow our trans information on web,it shoule be a challenge for anyone trying to find a new place who get off subway 4 km away.Anyway.Best Wishs

80%

It was so peaceful here, it seemed that no one else was around. The staff provided a great list of things to do and directions of how to get there, some tips and advice and a free city map! I got the single private room, and the bed was very comfortable. Drinks were very cheap here, and it the first hostel in Beijing where the wifi actually worked! The location is a bit far from the subway line, so it took time to get out, but the alley all around felt very safe and the residents friendly!


97%

We had a wonderful time in Beijing, thanks to the heart-warming "home" at City Walls. Really clean rooms, bathrooms, the most comfy beds in China, and cheap beer (only 4 yuan for a generous bottle). Most of all, Rick made us feel so welcome; he was the heart of City Walls, always patient, helpful, and friendly, with a great sense of humor! We met some really nice people there too! The hutong area was interesting, and really laid-back.


97%

One of the best hotel I have ever been into. Great staff, perfect location close to the forbidden city. Nice atmosphere and nicefood plus many well organized excursion . Highly recommended in beijing :)

  • 3rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

While you can find cheaper hostels in Beijing, you would have a hard time finding better staff than at Sitting on the City Walls. The place is wonderful. They provide lots of ideas for itineraries and are happy to point out the bus and metro routes. The staff was also very helpful in pointing out what not to waste money on and how to avoid scams. Really excellent place.


71%

The staff were helpful, but the hostel is just a little too far away from the subway. The breakfast wasn't great though - underdone bacon and the scrambled eggs oily and odd tasting. A pretty hostel though and in a nice area.


94%

Sitting on the city walls is a tranquil oasis in busy Beijing tucked away in a Hutong. Its a great hostel, if a little expensive for a private room. But the dorms are competitively priced and are easily the best dorm I've stayed in in Beijing. Comfy beds, great clean bathrooms, and respectful dormmates:) The location is perfect for walking around the ancient city. The staff are fantastic and the coffee and beer are cheap. The courtyard is a beautiful place to chill out. Highly recommmended.


100%

The owner was really helpful and friendly. He had really good recommendations.


89%

Staying in a Hutong is definitely a unique experience. The interior patio is well decorated and it´s a great place to relax after a long day of sightseeing. Staff is very attentive and the hostel is very well located, within walking distance of several main attractions.


100%

Couldn't recommend this hostel more! Friendly staff,excellent location, good value and lovely atmosphere.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Very nice and helpful staff. No noise at night. Very clean. Good matresses. Clean linen.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • All Female Group, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Staff was so helpful planning our trip and gave us great advice for Beijing. The info sheet with major landmarks written in Chinese and directions with public transport was outstanding. Our room was very nice, especially the bathroom which was quite spacious. A little expensive for a hostel (same price as equal accommodations at Holiday Inn for private twin beds).


97%

Great location in the Hutongs, close to main attractions. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, they provided a map and list with great recommendations for restaurants, things to visit, and organized a nice trip to the Great Wall. The recommendations for the restaurants can be 100% trusted. The only thing that could be improved: our room could have had a little bit better ventilation, sometimes it smelled a bit of mold because of the bathroom attached to the room


80%

Staff was very nice and hepful with great English


100%

by far one of the best hostels ive ever stayed in. food was great location was good but above all the staff was excellent went above and beyond to help you in any way they could. thank you guys so much for everything. HIGHLY recommended


94%

Hostel staff were very friendly and helpful. Their travel notes about local transport and suggested tourist circuits were extremely useful, as was the fact that they spoke such good English. Their willingness to assist guests was demonstrated when they arranged for our accidentally left-behind items to be sent to Shanghai. They also booked a restaurant for us and a taxi to the train station. The hostel itself is in a wonderful location, close to the major sights but hidden in a hutong.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

The hostel is located in the city centre within walking distance of main sights. You have a selection of cheap restaurants nearby too.The staff is friendly and very helpful. They advise you well whenever you have a query. The hostel itself is very clean, comfortable rooms and the breakfast menu is cheap and varied. The only minus point for me was that the internet is slow and it took a while to upload a few pictures.

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Overall the place was fantastic. Great service from the staff, all of them which spoke decent English, which helped out a lot going to Beijing for the first time. The room was neat and clean, basic, but was exactly what we're were looking for since most of the time we went out traveling around the city. The hostel felt secured, with a key and padlock for our door when we left and a keycard to make the front door to the place open like magic. Happen with the stay and would definitely recommend it

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

I was really nervous about staying in a hostel. But I was so glad that I chose this hostel to stay at. The location is so close to public transportation and tourist sights that it was almost impossible to turn down. The employees were really kind and helpful with everything from giving directions to offering tours. They give you a free map and even recommendations for what to see and to better plan your stay. I was worried when I found the neighborhood, but it's actually a very safe place.

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

I absolutely loved this hostel. The 8 bed dorm is two stories and has two toilets and two sinks - very convienent!! Although it took me a bit to find it, I was able to walk to the Forbidden City, Wangfujing shopping street and night market, and almost any other attraction in the city. There are also quite a few bus stops nearby and a metro station is about a 15 minute walk. City walls is one of the best hostels I stay in and 100% recommend it!


1 2 Next » last »
(40 results)


View all Beijing Hostels

Please give us your feedback