X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Kilda Beach House @ Hotel Barkly Reviews

109 Barkly Street, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
276 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 82%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

Dark and dingy place, had a eally blocking the light in the room and then wasnt even electric ones. Kitchen was dirty and grotty. Everything about it was dark and depressing. The staff were ok, but nothing woo

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay. Our kitchen is cleaned twice daily and we try to promote a clean environment inbetween! We are working on improving the lighting in our rooms. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels. Regards, Management.

66%

Staff were always very lovely and friendly. Free breakfast at a hostel always goes down well, even if it is just toast and cereal. Rooms didn't seem to be cleaned often, was there 4 days, and only felt like it was cleaned once? Bathroom and kitchen were particularly gross. Hostel for some reason seemed unwelcoming, even though staff were pleasant. Loads of signs everywhere with many negative points, our room was very dark/dingy only lights on one side of room. For a few nights sleep the worst.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments and review. Our rooms are cleaned daily and a deep clean takes place every week. Our kitchen is also cleaned twice daily - your comments will be followed up on. The lighting in the rooms is something that we are looking at improving in coming weeks. Sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay, we hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

40%

I was disappointed that I was unable to stay here because I'm Australian, even more disappointed that hostel world has not refunded my booking fee as I clearly nominated my nationality when booking. I wouldn't use this site ever again

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comments. We are an international youth hostel and other alternative accommodation was offered for your stay. Regards, Management.

74%

Staff is friendly and helpful, they even hooked me up with a job down the street in a restaurant. Both me and my roomies had bunch of issues with the key card, it just randomly stopped working at times. There is no staff during the night, so we had to knock on the door until someone woke up because the card was broken. Lock in our bathroom was broken, but wasn't a huge issue. Pancakes on Wednesday are awesome, and he breakfast in general was great. Ask for room 108, it has two floors for 8 ppl.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us!

86%

The hostel is clean, talking about all the common areas. The rooms are untidy as well as the bathrooms inside the rooms, but that is not the fault of the hostel is about the people living there. The breakfast is nice and pancakes on Wednesday is awesome. The bathroom in the bar is clean and the people of the hostel is really kind. The location is very convenient if you are planning to spend some time in the beach. The transport is close and easy to get there. The hostel is good for the price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our facilities...we are constantly working at trying to keep all the backpackers belongings tidy.. lockers, drawers, tubs and weekly deep cleans help but its an ongoing process. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels!

89%

Really good hostel and it's nice that the breakfast is for free:)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review!

97%

Had a great time staying here. The rooms and bathrooms were large and nice. The general bar area downstairs provided and great meeting area and had drinks/food deals on daily! There was plenty of hostel activities going on (BBQ, FIFA tournaments, quiz, karaoke) - was great fun! Was in a good location near good streets such as acland road, fitzroy street and trams into the centre!

  • 10th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and comments. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you have fun on the rest of your adventures!

94%

Cool little hostel in st kilda. Only a 5 minute walk to public transport and shops/bars, everything you need really. They have a pub downstairs which has great happy hours and cheap food everyday. i stayed here over the weekend and they had a backpacker party in the nightclub upstairs which was really cool too. Id definitely recommend this place to anyone. the beds were comfy and the rooms clean too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review and comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We wish you the best for the rest of your travels.

91%

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location is great near shopping facilities and public transport.

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review and comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

100%

Rooms were big and bathrooms massive they were in the rooms tho so had to wait for a bit sometimes to use bathroom. Reception helped me get a job and knew everything i needed to know. In a good spot in St Kilda. Breakfast was awesome and had pancakes on wednesdays! We won bar tabs at trivia was so fun!

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and comments. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Good luck for the rest of your travels. Kind regards Management.

69%

The kitchen is very dirty, not enough knifes, forks and spoons, and most of the pots and pans are very old! Its really cheap to buy some new stuff, and its easier to clean and people clean there dishes more if they are new. Location is very good and the bar is really nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and comments. Our kitchen is cleaned twice daily and a weekly deep clean is carried out thoroughly. We try our up most to keep the kitchen fully stocked and as tidy as possible, we can only reinforce this to our guests as much as we can. The kitchen is a constant ongoing issue and we work at improving this all the time. Glad you enjoyed our central location.

80%

Rooms are nice and clean, but very dark. Breakfast could be better, it's just toast and jam, coffee, tea and milk...

  • 5th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and comments. Our rooms are cleaned daily and a detail clean is carried out weekly - we think that this helps keep our rooms in a good state. Free breakfast is provided daily and we feel like it is of good value - especially as being free. We also have free pancakes every Wednesday!



View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback