X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

St Kilda Beach House @ Hotel Barkly Reviews

109 Barkly Street, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

63%

Rating
308 Total Reviews
  • 58%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 59%Staff
  • 58%Atmosphere
  • 58%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

49%

Disgusting and creepy


54%

Very wird hostel .. The cleaner broke my guitar and i found it on the floor .. The sink in the room was broken .. Like stuck .. We tell the fact to the recepition and nobody try To fi it.. Never Again in my life

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, I apologise for the delay in maintenance, I assure you the problem has now been fixed. In regards to your guitar, we do have storage space allocated for valuables - did you see Housekeeping or your room mates move or damage your belongings? If so, please feel free to contact management directly at anytime.

29%

Very lousy hostel. If you are not a drunk British you won't have any fun Or sleep Don't take room 108 !! An absolutely mess No sleep , drunk people Location is horribly. Far away from everything

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are a 5 minute walk from the main streets of St Kilda and a 10 minute walk to the beach. As stated online, we are a 20 minute tram ride from the CBD and I apologise if this affected your stay. We do have staff on hand 24 hours a day to assist in any way and we do enforce our no drinking policy as much as possible, security is a high priority and we wish everyone to have a comfortable stay!

80%

Great stay at St. Kilda. Our room was very dark and there was barely any lighting in the hallways/ bathrooms but overall positive experience.

  • 1st Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for your feedback, I've passed on your comments to management and our maintenance team. We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip!

43%

Based above a proper dirty bar, with p*ssed up locals wandering around the front. 10 minute walk to tram and then 20MIN tramride (outside of free zone) into city centre. Girls on reception were excruciatingly rude. They seemed to be really matey with a few patrons who'd been staying there a while and then just came across as belligerent to everybody else. You can find much cheaper, much nicer hostels in Melbourne. Also OTT charges for WIFI. No value for money, very cliquey, very noisey. Awful.

  • 28th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Apologies for your unpleasant stay, we do state online that our WI-fi comes at a charge and that we are an entertainment venue. Directions for the hostel do include a 10 minute walk form the tram stop - please be assured your comments have been passed on to management. Happy travels!

77%

Staff is friendly, location is fine (if you're happy to be in St. Kilda). The beds themselves are plastic and make the worst noise but the rooms are clean and the bathrooms is ensuite, which is nice unless everyone in the room is getting ready at the same time. Rooftop bar is hopping so if you want sleep stay on the lower floors. Free breakfast in the restaraunt downstairs, basic but nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, Happy and safe travels!

83%

Good hostel in St.Kilda If you love beach, you can go to St.Kilda beach in 15 min by walk. at this room,it has own bathroom. it's very convenient. highly recommmend

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for your comments, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Happy traveling!

66%

i've been to much worse places, but especially the kitchen is simply a disgusting mess. the rooms are alright though (i liked the fact that bathrooms are in the rooms). the best thing about his place are the people you meet there: warm, welcoming, well chilled and party-orientated.

  • 6th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, please be assured we do all we can to keep the kitchen clean - 2 of our lovely backpackers clean it twice a day. We're glad you enjoyed the company of our guests, we like them too! Happy travels.

83%

Nice hostel. We had an enormous big private room. Clean

  • 13th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Enjoy the rest of your travels! Regards, Management.

31%

DO NOT STAY HERE! Riddled with the biggest bed bugs I have ever seen. They are the size of baby cockroaches and when the room was fumigated they were still crawling around! The staff don't care and will not offer any clothes washing facilities or refund! Their response 'it is not the hostels fault' yet because of their bed covers it is evident that the bugs live in the walls. I have experienced the worst week of travelling of 6 months covered in around 100 huge painful bites resulting in scars

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. In response to your comments about staff not caring that is far from the truth, your situation was dealt with professionally and as best as it could have done. You were given free accommodation with a greater value than any laundry. Our sincerest apologies that you were so unhappy with your stay. We react professionally and with speed to any complaints about bed bugs. Regards, Management.



View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback