X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

St Kilda Beach House @ Hotel Barkly Reviews

109 Barkly Street, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
269 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 78%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 68%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

The hostel is clean, talking about all the common areas. The rooms are untidy as well as the bathrooms inside the rooms, but that is not the fault of the hostel is about the people living there. The breakfast is nice and pancakes on Wednesday is awesome. The bathroom in the bar is clean and the people of the hostel is really kind. The location is very convenient if you are planning to spend some time in the beach. The transport is close and easy to get there. The hostel is good for the price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our facilities...we are constantly working at trying to keep all the backpackers belongings tidy.. lockers, drawers, tubs and weekly deep cleans help but its an ongoing process. We hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels!

89%

Really good hostel and it's nice that the breakfast is for free:)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review!

97%

Had a great time staying here. The rooms and bathrooms were large and nice. The general bar area downstairs provided and great meeting area and had drinks/food deals on daily! There was plenty of hostel activities going on (BBQ, FIFA tournaments, quiz, karaoke) - was great fun! Was in a good location near good streets such as acland road, fitzroy street and trams into the centre!

  • 10th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and comments. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope you have fun on the rest of your adventures!

94%

Cool little hostel in st kilda. Only a 5 minute walk to public transport and shops/bars, everything you need really. They have a pub downstairs which has great happy hours and cheap food everyday. i stayed here over the weekend and they had a backpacker party in the nightclub upstairs which was really cool too. Id definitely recommend this place to anyone. the beds were comfy and the rooms clean too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review and comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We wish you the best for the rest of your travels.

91%

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Location is great near shopping facilities and public transport.

  • 21st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review and comments. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

100%

Rooms were big and bathrooms massive they were in the rooms tho so had to wait for a bit sometimes to use bathroom. Reception helped me get a job and knew everything i needed to know. In a good spot in St Kilda. Breakfast was awesome and had pancakes on wednesdays! We won bar tabs at trivia was so fun!

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and comments. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Good luck for the rest of your travels. Kind regards Management.

69%

The kitchen is very dirty, not enough knifes, forks and spoons, and most of the pots and pans are very old! Its really cheap to buy some new stuff, and its easier to clean and people clean there dishes more if they are new. Location is very good and the bar is really nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and comments. Our kitchen is cleaned twice daily and a weekly deep clean is carried out thoroughly. We try our up most to keep the kitchen fully stocked and as tidy as possible, we can only reinforce this to our guests as much as we can. The kitchen is a constant ongoing issue and we work at improving this all the time. Glad you enjoyed our central location.

80%

Rooms are nice and clean, but very dark. Breakfast could be better, it's just toast and jam, coffee, tea and milk...

  • 5th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and comments. Our rooms are cleaned daily and a detail clean is carried out weekly - we think that this helps keep our rooms in a good state. Free breakfast is provided daily and we feel like it is of good value - especially as being free. We also have free pancakes every Wednesday!

20%

2 words......BED BUGS!!!! bed bugs, bed bugs, bed bugs! DO NOT STAY HERE. we checked into a room that had just been fumigated for bed bugs but clearly they didnt do a good enough job because as soon as i hopped into bed i got bitten. i was given another bed by the guy on night duty, but when i went down in the morning to complain about it and ask for a refund the staff couldnt seem to care less. i asked to see the manager but he was extremely arrogant and rude and not willing to give me a refund

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and all of your comments have been taken on board. I have spoken to the manager who you dealt with on the day about this incident and we believe that the situation was dealt with appropriately. We understand that bed bugs are a horrible thing to experience and we deal with any case of reported bed bugs as our pest control company advises. We handle any instances with bed bugs as per our policy and as use the best products on the market and follow a strict pest cont

83%

Love this hostel! Probably the best hostel I've stayed in in the whole of Oz. Most staff are awesome although a couple can sometimes give the feeling that they're bored and fed up with working there which makes you feel unwelcome but overall it's a great place :)


34%

Messiness in the room is the fault of the guests, the fact that the bathroom had urine on the floor & stank most definitely is. These things come with the territory of a party hostel. We were treated very badly when we asked to move and were told the smell "is not that bad". Why should it be bad at all? The manager was then very rude until she realised she would have to apologise then she was all smiles. Got a full refund but should not have to put up with such treatment. Ruined our afternoon

  • 31st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review and comments. Our rooms are cleaned daily and we carry out a deep clean on all rooms weekly. I apologise for how you feel the situation was handled. We always try and accommodate guests wherever we can if they are unhappy with their room etc. The room as you have described isn't acceptable and we pride ourselves on having strict cleanliness guidelines - this will be followed up immediately. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.

66%

The rooms were good just very noisy fri/sat//sun nights. The wifi connection wasn't great but it was ok. All the staff were pleasant and helpful except one girl on the bar who when I asked if there was anyone on reception to sell me wifi she looked really put out and rolled her eyes at me. Apart from that everything was good!

  • 31st Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review and comments. As mentioned on all our booking sites throughout the weekends and public holidays our rooftop bar is open and noise travels through to the rooms. It is good to hear that you found our staff friendly and helpful (the comment re the bar staff has been followed up) I apologise for any inconvenience caused throughout your stay and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels.



View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback