X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Beach Village Backpackers Reviews

100/5 Moo 1, Baan Tai Beach, Koh Phangan, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
67 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

29%

This was by far the worst hostel we stayed in, firstly the whole place was dirty and the staff seemed reluctant to clean our bathroom everyday which I shared with 5 other people and if they did clean the bathroom it wasn't done to a good standard what so ever! The health and safety in the hostel itself is appalling and unfortunately I suffered an electrical shock from a light fitting that "shouldn't of been there" according to the hostel owner, who may I add did not seem to care.

  • 8th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

This "Hostel" is not a hostel - it`s more a kind of resort, but still cheap as a hostel. The rooms are in small bungalows not far from the beach. Air Condition is available and also TV. Unfortunately the beach is not good for swimming as the water doesn`t get deep enough. But there is a nice pool and a beach-bar. The staff is very friendly and you can book tours, taxis or whatever there - you can also rent motorbikes for only 200 BHT for 24h. The rooms do not have a safe or locker !!!


80%

This place was great! The pool area is brilliant, it's like being in a hotel. The dorm was good, only problem was the bins in the bathroom weren't emptied the whole time I stayed, which is not pleasant if they expect you to dispose of toilet paper in there. If you are travelling alone and not during the week of full moon party I wouldn't stay here as it was extremely quiet and hard to meet people. I've heard it's rammed for full moon though.


60%

Nice place but not very well managed. Cleanness should be improved a lot. Nice stay. Expensive food.


77%

This hostel was a fun place to stay and meet people. The atmosphere was great and the beach side pool was an awesome spot to hang out. The rooms were fine- just simple and clean with bunk beds. The staff was very helpful and nice. The restaurant was slow and the food wasn't the best but besides that, we had a great time here.

  • 13th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location and facilities, on first glance you might confuse this place for a 4-5 star resort (huge pool, long sandy beach, pool bar and beachfront club). That said, the washrooms are horribly dirty, restaurant terribly overpriced and the staff morose, at best. With a few improvements this is a 90-95% rated hostel/hotel, but ownership seems more worried about gouging clientele ($300 baht blanket deposit, $500 for key) then improving their facility.


94%

They need to improve the wifi.


86%

I stayed there when there was not full moon, black moon or half moon party at all and it was amazing. For that time, it was not a party hostel at all. The beaches were really empty and we had great sunsets on a sand bench which is really close. 200 bahts for a clean room with a pool outside. Only negative aspect: doors with holes, so be careful with insects. Location was quiet, 15 min walk to restaurants, bars etc.


83%

We had a standard bungalow. Simple, small but cheap. A peaceful location with pool and bar area really nice. Good value for money.

  • 30th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Best 4 days and best hostel of our trip so far. Couldn't of asked for more. Friendly staff and great atmosphere! Met so many people around the pool and at the bar. Gutted I can't go back for a few nights! Great place to stay for full/half moon party's!

  • 14th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

A 20 min taxi (100 Baht) ride to Haad Rin (Full Moon party). 25 min walk to the pier which there is a great night food market. Grocery store across the street. Right on the beach which has great views. If you want a place to chill during the day, this a great place. If you want to be in a party all the time, then look closer to Haad Rin.


94%

Amazing time, amazing place. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Facilities are constantly being cleaned. Food is good but pricey compared to outside meals average 40b.


94%

This place = wow! You really really never want to leave :-)


97%

Lovely place with lovely Swedish staff girl Teresa. The most helpful staff I have found during my one-month trip in Thailand. Teresa, if you read me, would you please marry me? :) Seriously, great place to stay, felt like at home, would have stayed longer if I could!


40%

THEY WERE OFFERING FREE DRINKS FOR POSITIVE REVIEWS ON THE WEB The pool bar and restaurant were really nice. There were no quiet places at all, not even at the beach. rooms are average and i stayed there for a week and they were not cleaned even once Hot water was never available and on new years eve there was no water at all The drinks and the food were expensive and they threatened to take our things bought outside the hostel on new years. Most of thestaff was rude and not very helpful.

  • 26th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. It is not the policy of The Beach Village to incentivise positive reviews on booking sites, we welcome all reviews and feedback. Room cleaning: we state that to have your room cleaned all you have to do is leave your key with reception. Our resort is a party resort and during busy periods this is our intention as this is a party island. It is also a policy that no outside food or drink are allowed on the resort, and our food and drink is competitively priced.

100%

Great spot for the full moon party, really enjoyed our stay. Any problems were sorted out asap by the staff.

  • 15th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the review! All the best, The Beach Village Team

94%

Loved this place and the staff! 100% recommend it - great dorms, clean and awesome pool beachside! So close I the BigC as well 5 min walk! Thanks Peter for the sweet stay! The Kiwis D3 :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
How can we forget you guys! Was great having you, all the best on your travels!

97%

F*****g DYNAMITE! Love Marc and Grant. Xxx

  • 14th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Cheers guys! Hope to see you again soon!

89%

There wasnt a party before the half moon party...and it's really chill during the day, but I really enjoyed my stay. The island is pretty boring so staying at this place was great!


100%

Best place in the world. The staff become your best friends. Awesome party seen....love it!!

  • 7th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Koh Phangan Hostels

Please give us your feedback