X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Broadway Hotel n Hostel Reviews

230 West 101 Street, Broadway, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
3898 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 75%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

'kitchen' was a microwave with no bowls/dishes that could be used in it.


77%

Friendly staff, close to Subway, very clean. Bathroom facilities adequate and wi-fi seemed a little intermittent, but all in all a pleasant stay and I would recommend Broadway H'n'H.


74%

Looking for a cheapish place to stay in NYC that is not too far from the centre then this is a good choice. Not really a hostel as lacks atmosphere. Right on Broadway subway line so really easy to navigate the myriad of New York City! In a really laid back suburban area with excellent choice of bars and restaurants. A good choice for anyone!


80%

Very close to subway station.

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

This was my second time staying at this location. Great staff and wonderful location. Our room was clean and everything met our standards.

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Most importantly, you can meet interesting people there.

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

One of the nicest Hostels I've ever stayed to be honest. Clean, good location... What do u want more! We were really happy! But for the future it would be nice if they offer breakfast ...even if its just donuts or cereals :)

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

It's a good value. A little bit old perhaps. Not too fancy but comfortable in the end.


89%

Very nice hostel, easy to find. The rooms are spacious and clean, the only thing is that the bathroom wasn't inside the room, like we had selected. Safe at night and helpful staff.

  • 21st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

I stayed in the hostel in three different rooms and whatever bathroom i used on whatever moment, It was always in a pristine condition. The friendlines and helpfullness of the staff was not always as good as it could be, but satisfying.


94%

Had an amazing stay here! Wouldn't fault them and can't wait to come back and stay again!

  • 16th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

I liked the entrance hall and facilities there. Staff were very friendly and there was a lot of free information available (pamphlets, maps, etc) that was very useful. The only problem was the small size of the dorm - stifling. Larger rooms should be used for dorms - even two-bed dorms. The room I stayed in was hardly suitable for one person, let alone two or more. They are going for quantity (of people) at the expense of quality. I found it expensive for the type of accommodation it offered.


74%

The staff was friendly and helpful. Good location.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


69%

This was a bit out of the way in regards to location - had to get the subway everywhere. That said because it wasn't a touristy area, food was quite cheap and it was a nice area. It was a very clean hostel/hotel and I stayed in both a dorm and a private - the private was quite nice. I wouldn't recommend it as a solo traveller if you intend to meet people though, as this is more like a hotel in that aspect. Wifi only available on the lower floors but the nicest shared bathrooms I've seen!


49%

No laundry facilities, the beds are not very clean and have bugs in them. The showers on the top floors are rubbish, for a shared facility the showers are poor you are better standing outside in the rain as there is more power there than in the showers on the top floors. No wifi on the top floors is also an issue. My advise is pay the little bit extra and stay at a hotel with good showers and free wifi.

  • 12th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Great place, great room, great location! Close to tons of great places to eat and drink., close to the subway, and central park. The only thing that could be improved upon is the humid bathroom. Otherwise, everything was great.


89%

I did not like seeing other people's hair on my sheet . . .

  • 10th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


51%

The bathrooms always very dirty, disgusting! There was cat hair all over the hallway! I expected to pay an amount and had to pay almost $ 100 more! Stinky and dirty hotel!

  • 9th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

The hostel is well located by the subway. The rooms are not very big but it is very clean and quiet. We enjoyed our stay in this hostel.

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


66%

Great location so I guess that's why it's the cost it is but they don't have much to say they have a kitchen (just a kettle, fridge and microwave with no cups to make coffee/tea) and eating out in NYC everyday can be costly.


(73 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback