X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Habitat HQ Reviews

333 St Kilda Rd, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1070 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Clean rooms and friendly, helpful staff, did feel a bit dull in the evenings though, nothing really organised and a bit cliquey at times.


83%

Overall was happy staying at Habitat. Staff and facilities were great. Toilets and showers clean, bed was comfy, if a little creaky. The place had a nice vibe.

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback, it's great to hear you that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thanks for letting us know about the bed, we have maintenance staff on hand to fix all these little issues! Happy and Safe travels, The Habitat HQ Team

97%

Habitat has been my home away from home! I planned to stay a week and have been here for six. The staff and guests have become family and has made my experience in St Kilda more than memorable. Clean, welcoming, and staff is so helpful. Thank you HabitatHQ!

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Hello, I had a really good time on Habitat HQ, was a really clean hostel, I really enjoyed it. For me, the best hospitality place in Melbourne.


69%

All rounder hostel big kitchen nice showers, internet is free which is a bonus. Really annoying that there is no place to store your luggage before or after check in/out and you have to pay for a locker.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate all the feedback we get. We're sorry that you found it annoying to have to pay for the locker to store your bags after checking out, we do think it's the cheapest in Melbourne for $2 for 6 hours! We offer free luggage storage while you are waiting to check in though, so I'm sorry if you didn't take advantage of this service. Good luck with the rest of your travels, The Habitat HQ Team

91%

Definitely one of my favourite hostels, as I was there for Christmas they put on lots of events and evening activities as well as a BBQ on Christmas Day!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback, it's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We love running events for all our guests, and we're happy to hear that these were appreciated by you during your stay! Enjoy the rest of your travels, The Habitat HQ Team

100%

top stay....loved the courtyard to have beers in!!

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Refreshingly Excellent - I've had a few negative experiences in various hostels across Australia and needless to say this is not a member of the dishonourable list. Every dynamic of the place is executed with a friendly yet professional attitude and that is what is reflected within the atmosphere amongst the guests. Everyone is extremely friendly with each other and never at any point are you intimidated by the prospect of a 'clique' forming. Sinead at reception - absolute diamond.

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for leaving a review, we love to hear such positive feedback! It was awesome having you stay with us, and we hope that you come back to visit again in the future! Safe and Happy travels! The Habitat HQ Team

89%

Friendly and helpful staff. Long distance to the beach when walking, especially after a drink or two. Comfortable night sleep and would still book here if I was in town

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, it's nice to hear you enjoyed your time with us and found our staff helpful and friendly - this is something we pride ourselves on! Good luck and safe travels for your time in Australia, The Habitat HQ Team

83%

Overall we were very happy with our stay at HabitatHQ. The sink in the girls toilets were often dirty and some blocked. I very much liked that we were able to leave the car on site so that we could take the tram into the CBD.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we appreciate hearing all feedback! I'm sorry you found the sink in the girls bathroom blocked and often dirty, we have housekeeping and reception staff that work 24 hours, so we will address this issue and ensure that it doesn't happen again. We're happy to hear that you took advantage of our free carpark, it certainly saves you money on parking! Good luck and safe travels, The Habitat HQ Team

94%

I've spent 2 months in this hostel and each day has been a pleasure. The staff are excellent and will go above and beyond to make your stay memorable. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a fun time in Melbourne and I will 100% choose Habitat when come back. Great people, great memories.

  • 15th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks so much for your review, it;'s great hearing such positive feedback! We loved meeting you and having you stay with us for long, hopefully we will see you back here again in the future! Safe and happy travels! The Habitat HQ Team

94%

Hands down the best Hostel I've stayed at. Booked in for a week, stayed for 3 months. Great people, great staff and great facilities. Don't bother staying anywhere else.

  • 14th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

They have no freezer this is the only think I would complain about. The free parking space is perfect and the hostel looks from the first moment perfect.

  • 14th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

I stayed in Habitat HQ for a couple of months when I initially started travelling and I would definitely recommend it. The rooms were clean and open, and the facilities were the best that I have experienced. Some of the staff were really pleasant, whilst others not so much. I guess it depends on whether or not you get along with them, or they do you. The kitchen and common area were always welcoming and very spacious. Overall a great hostel which I would recommend to anyone.

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

What a great place to stay. I love the FREE WiFi....Staff were so friendly and helpful and i actually managed to have a good nights sleep even though there was a event going on in the lounge. good facilities and clean bathrooms....one of the best

  • 10th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

One of the best I've ever been.


80%

Decent hostel but be aware of all the young partiers.


100%

Had a great stay, really helpful staff and fantastic value! Room was clean as were the bathrooms and I met some great people. extended my stay and will definitely be back

  • 26th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


1 2 3 Next » last »
(58 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback