X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Home Travellers Motel- St Kilda Reviews

32 Carlisle Street, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
955 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 83%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

46%

Receptionists were extremly unpolite. They did not make you feel comfortable. If you wanted to know something they did not make an afford. I won't go there never again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Raul! That actually really shocks me because I thought we had a really nice conversation when you came to borrow the basketball from me at reception and we had to inflate it before you left. I even mentioned to my colleague later that you were a really nice dude. None the less, we do pride ourselves on our report with guests here and I am sorry you you felt that you did not receive that curtsey I hope you find what you're looking for out there. Sincerely, Alex

97%

Such great atmosphere at this place, made many friends in my short stay. So close to the beach, which is perfect during summer. There's always something happening in St. Kilda. Come italiano in australia posso dire che sono stato davvero bene. Home Travellers Motel e' l' ostello ideale per backpacker, familiare e divertente. :D

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey Benny! You have been a pleasure to have stay with us! Thanks for brightening up the atmosphere with your personality and your chats in reception and thanks for the kind words in your review too! I hope to see you back here again or maybe in Italy next time! Al

46%

Unfortunately, I have to say that this is the poorest hostel I've yet to stay in. There seemed to be a "regular" crowd that was very exclusive. They tended to loiter around the front of the hostel, creating a bad first impression. The hostel is located in what seems to be a spotty neighbourhood, and it wasn't incredibly clean. My roommates also seemed to be long-termers. On a more positive note, I was greeted by an incredibly friendly receptionist!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! I'm sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Maybe it is because I work here but in all honesty I actually find it very easy to talk to everyone that stays here. Sometimes I introduce new guests to our long stayers to help break the ice a little, sorry if we missed you! Hehe, I can see what you mean about people hanging out the front but (secretly, shhh) that's actually because the shop across the road transmits free wifi. ...Anything to save a dollar, huh! :P take care!

86%

I had a very nice stay here. The hostel is Not to big the rooms are nice and clean and You have enough space for your luggage. The hostel has also laundry kitchen and TV room. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The location is in St Kilda and there Are a Lot of pubs bars and restsurants around ;)) To the beach is it ten minutes; ) i liked it there and the St Kilda area also; )) thank You guys nice greetings from franzi from germany

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Franzi! Thanks for staying again and thanks for your review! Enjoy Easter in The Alice, be sure to find the Kangaroo with eggs in its pouch ;)

83%

Awesome hostel! Literally is like a family in that place! Other local hostels probably had better facilities and stuff but this place was crazy fun, and full of easy going people! Would recommend it to anyone and would definitely stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Ian! I hope Hamilton Island and the rest of your holiday goes accordingly! Alex

100%

I stayed in this hostel couple of weeks on and off. Always coming back. Amazing stuff always happy to help you. Hostel byitself really clean (kitchen is clean twice per day, rooms every day). Really nice atmosphere, a lot long terms (not surprise because in my opinion is the best hostel in St Kilda!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for staying again and again...and again, Anna! I hope your flight landed home safely and without turbulence! I also hope that your basketball injury heals with great speed and accuracy!!!! It was really nice having you here, I'll look you up on Facebook! See you in Poland! Al

20%

An in-situ teenager tv reality show.


74%

Not a bad hostel for australia but have stayed in better in south america, hate the fact that you have to pay for internet. Also very over populated with long term workers/travellers..Drinking goon every night of the week so therefore treat the hostel as a doss house.. No room in the Fridges in kitchen due to TOO MANY PEOPLE LIVING THERE


89%

Shops, restaurants, the beach and trams are very close! If you search a hostel with a family vibe; this is it. Kitchen is big enough, most dorms have a tv where you can watch dvd's (rent them for free) just incase you wanna stay in your room on a rainy day. Free bbq on sunday witch is great! Because of the calkboard on the entrance you're always up to date for what's going on in Melbs. Huge compliment to the guys at the reception! Nicest staff you'll ever see. I loved my stay! Greets Jonas


91%

Great little hostel, would stay again!


63%

Considering the money you pay for a stay in the hostel, and the world we live in today. I felt it was unfair to pay 2 dollars for 250 mb on wifi, especially when they cant even keep the ceiling clean, it doesnt help that their owner lives in Queensland. Apart from that its a great hostel.


71%

Not a bad hostel but not an awesome one either. Good: close to the beach, supermarket and trams. Could be improved: no lockers, no wifi, nowhere to wash or hang your clothes. Far from the city so you'll need to take the tram (extra cost). Will stay in the centre next time.


1 2 Next » last »
(32 results)


View all Melbourne Hostels

Please give us your feedback