X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg Reviews

Timorplein 21, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
1435 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 68%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

This place does what it says on the packaging. It is at a good location, nearby the metro and tram. The room is comfortable and clean. The breakfast is also great. It's a big hostel therefore there is a tendency to feel an atmosphere that is cold and sterile.


69%

Lighting in the room was too dark.

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


71%

Great hostel with friendly and helpful staff and great facilities. Very spacious communal areas with massive ceiling heights. Very clean and tidy throughout. Busses and trams into town took 10 mins max. Took advantage of the hostels cycle rental - highly recommended. Overall I was impressed and would visit again

  • 27th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Very good hostel, great facilites, friendly staff and the free breakfast is great, it is a bit far from city centre but u can take the tram or bus easily and nearby.


80%

Excellent location, right off Dam square and in the heart of the red light district. Simple facilities, good sized showers, small communal area on the landing where the WiFi works best. I would absolutely recommend it!

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Great open souvenir shop in the lobby; makes things a little easier and more convenient. Hostel looked like a nice college dormitory, was well kept with great amenities. The breakfast was amazing!!! The only thing I disliked was that there wasn't a locker in the room, or even an option to lock your things with your own lock. Even if you wanted to, you would have to pay for it downstairs in the lobby. That makes things a little inconvenient. Besides that, everything else was good.


60%

Very big, but a cold and aseptic place. Needed more tables and chairs in the room. Distant from the city centre (10 tram stops, 25/30 min by walk). Good and abundant breakfast.


89%

Nice hostel, a lot of facilities, very good breakfast. However, it is located about 3 km from the city centre


66%

The credit card readers "didn't work" when I checked in, which was not a reassuring sign. (The machines apparently could take European Maestro Cards though.) Make sure you read the FAQ carefully - you cannot bring food into the hostel, nor make yourself tea at night with your own tea bags (no hot water provided after breakfast). Also, you need to press a button every 10 seconds or so to get water in the shower. Walls are paper-thin, so may need to bring earplugs in case you get rowdy neighbors.


80%

I had a very nice stay at this hostel. Most of the Staff were nice and helpful. If I have to complain about something, the room I was in could use windows that can open wider. It lacks aeration.

  • 11th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great hostel, unfortunately a bit expensive


71%

The bedding was great, as was the breakfast and the bar. No complaints about that. However the wifi was almost never working due to how many people were logged on. When it worked I was surprised. Other than that it was fine and very clean! Still, nor sure it was worth the high prices.

  • 10th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


69%

The hostel overall was good, clean and felt secure of rthe most part. At the front door you had to either insert your key or buzz to be let in which felt secure until I had to buzz one time and they didnt even look at me as I entered to make sure i was actually staying there which made me feel a little bit less secure. The style was a little boring and did not support a social atmosphere which was what i was hoping for. More happy hour specials or gatherings at those times would promote this.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel is really nice. The only cons that I'll say are: Location - you can only reach central area by tram / bus; There are no lockers in the rooms.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

If ever there was a chance for renovating the hostel, it would be cool to have a more ergonomic shower, probably place a mat by the shower doors or something. Other than this, the hotel was quite good.

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

It was odd that we had to pay for safety box.

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Iran
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Breakfast was really good and there was many option. the room was big and there where lot of space and beds was okay. Maybe there should have been lockers in the rooms.

  • 5th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


71%

Nice hostel, bit overpriced and very out of the way of the centre although there are good transport links and taxi's aren't too expensive if there are a few of you sharing. Had an incident with a staff member watching us sleep which was a bit disturbing! But overall a good hostel.


69%

Good Breakfast!


86%

The cleaner stole my charger take your small possessions when you vacate your room. The breakfasts are amazing.

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(58 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback