Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Bowery House

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
6.2
Good 216 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.4
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 4.8
BOOK NOW
6.2
Good 216 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 5.4
  • Security 7.1
  • Location 6.9
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 5.5
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 4.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
2.0

There aren't enough characters to write a proper review on just how bad this place is. Its dirty, dark, tiny, loud and the showers are cold. Save your money, do not stay here. Everything in the bad reviews is true. This is the worst place I have ever stayed.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Mar 2017
9.4

Can't say a bad word about this place. Great staff, lovely room and amazing roof top garden. Located right near everything! Definitely one of the best hostel I've stayed in...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
23rd Mar 2017
7.1

I didn't expect that as an average 5'3" woman, the bed would feel small. It suited my purposes as I was only in NYC for one night and was going out to explore the city the next day. However, I don't think I would be comfortable staying in the 'cabin' for more than that one night. It was kind of weird. Almost too quiet. Like staying in a dorm, but you couldn't see anybody else.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Dec 2016
9.4

The Bowery House is a great place to stay in New York... it's sexy, clean and well located. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful! The ceiling less rooms, though, are not so great and does little to help drown out the noise of fellow hostel stayers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Dec 2016
8.0

The location of the Bowery House is good. Perfect if you want to visit downtown , midtown ... There's restaurants ,shops and whatever you need. I was suprised from the sizes of the rooms but for 2-3 nights - ok , it's better than sleep outside in any park on a bench

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Dec 2016
8.6

The hostel itself and the staff are wonderful- the girl at the desk was awesome, and recommended a truly great bar. The place is clean, the showers were neat, the area was safe. BUT they are NOT kidding when they say that the rooms and beds are small. Booked the a windowless cabin room, but somehow I had no idea just how small it'd be. I'm a 5'4" female, and when sleeping, my head was all the way up against the wall, and my feet still hung off the bed. It's damned small. Really small.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2016
7.4

Great location. Easy access to subway and buses. Very friendly staff. Small rooms. Could use more bathrooms.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Nov 2016
7.1

Rooms are micro small and beds are short. More like cots for camping. Bathrooms were to small for all the rooms they have.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.