Hostelworld.com

University of Toronto New College Residences

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 277 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 277 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.7
University of Toronto New College Residences Located at 40 Willcocks Street, , Toronto.
University of Toronto New College Residences
Canada
Toronto ON M5S 1C6 40 Willcocks Street
82% 277
43.6615074 -79.4008541
University of Toronto New College Residences
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
15th Aug 2015
8.0

Showers are a bit sketchy (in need of repair), otherwise all good! Air conditioning in the room was a pleasant surprise.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Aug 2015
9.4

The student staff at the front desk and the reservation office were extremely helpful and friendly. The dorm room wasn't on the cleaning staff's schedule so it wasn't ready. But they gave us another room straight away. It was a minor issue. I was pleased with our stay and would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Aug 2015
6.3

I've had better hostels. It's clean and it allows you a place to stay. I would have liked to interact with other travelers and locals more though. The staff is also pretty bad at giving directions. I would recommend staying somewhere that's a but more centrally located. This is close to a lot of public transportation but it's not central. The city itself is pretty spread out and the transit system took a few days to learn to navigate from this location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2015
7.4

When we first arrived the front desk staff were less than competent and not friendly or helpful at all. When asking for a manager the receptionist said I can give you the wifi password and you can google it, which did not help at all. Luckily the friend I was travelling with scouted around and ended up running in to the manager who was more than helpful and accommodating. He ensured we got in to the room for an early checkin and was extremely helpful and friendly to work with.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jul 2015
6.3

It was okay, but it felt like an institution, didn't want to be there more than we absolutely had to. It served the purpose but for the price I would go to a motel next time. Woke up several times during the night because of commotion going on in the hallway.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2015
9.7

The university needs to BUTT OUT of residents' free access to the internet. It is "available" by both cable and wi-fi, but-- the university insists on an agreement to an intrusive regime. It even followed me to a snack place nearby; I couldn't access their wi-fi network until I manually went into my computer preferences and manually deleted any connection to the university's system. . . Despite the price and other positives,I would not stay there again for this reason alone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Jun 2015
7.7

Great location. Uncomfortable bed. Clean washrooms. Insufficient hot water in the showers.Good buffet breakfast. Overall, a good place to stay in toronto.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jun 2015
8.9

Clean, quiet, has everything you need. Not the height of luxury, but certainly at least the equal of my undergrad accommodation, so perfectly comfortable. As with all university residences, the front desk staff know *everything* and were friendly and helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jun 2015
8.3

Comfortable (I was alone in room for two) and quiet. Best value for that price. And I like academical surroundings UofT.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
12th Jun 2015
8.9

bathroom/shower room and toilets there need to be revamped and cleaner. Direction instruction to the residences should be clearer since it's so easy to take a streetcar and take off in front of the building. The subway is also less than 10 minutes walking.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.