X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Vanderbilt YMCA Reviews

224 East 47th St., NY 10017, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
2936 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 75%Staff
  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Very clean and very helpful and friendly staff. We were able to walk most places so loved the location.

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

Lastimosamente, la atención para huéspedes latinos no es la mejor (extraño, considerando que quienes atienden son latinos) Los cuartos son limpios, al menos en el que estuve hospedado. La localización es muy buena, hay un Pret muy cerca para desayunar rico y económico. Caminar por las cercanías es seguro, incluso en las madrugadas. El personal de limpieza es muy amable. Mi única queja es con la recepción, que es fría, sin servicio al cliente, con un desinterés absoluto.

  • 31st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Better lighting in the rooms would be appreciated - perhaps wall mounted. It is not comfortable to read with the rather weak ceiling lights. One cannot lie in bed and read under the present conditions.


86%

It would make sense to put men near the men's room and women near the women's room. I had to walk nearly a block to use the men's room in the middle of the night.

  • 22nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Everything was ok. Wish one did not have to wait so late to check in. My room was as far away from the men's facilities as was possible. Paying a little more attention to this situation would be most welcome.

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Fuimos muy bien atendidos por el personal administrativo y de servicios. No así por el personal de custodia que tiene - en general - un estilo auto suficientemente agresivo en el modo de dirigirse a las personas aunque tengan razón en lo que dicen.

  • 20th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Excelente ambiente

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The hotel staff could really do with a smile at the check in. A little friendliness leaves a more positive first impression. Overall, it was OK, though.

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

安排房间时如果能够询问下客人有无特别要求将会非常好!


97%

Muy buen lugar en Manhattan, cerca de todo y con una relación precio-producto espectacular. Muy recomendable, sea que viajes solo o en familia. Hay para todas las alternativas. Volvería sin ninguna duda.

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

YMCA is a great hostel. Just 20 minutes away from Times Square! Free fitness, Sauna and indor swimming pool. The private rooms are small, however you just spend the night there, during the day you enjoy the big apple!

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

The room was moldy, smelled old and humid, not to mention tiny. The decoration was just sad. No good atmosphere at the hostel. No nice common room. Tony kitchen. One bathroom (with 2 toilets) and two showers in each floor that has about 30 rooms if not more. The bathroom smelled of pee. Couldn't even brush my teeth there. The only floor that smelled and looked reasonable was the 10th, which was newer. I checked out after one night, instead of 4.


91%

The hostel is really in a great location. You can even walk to times square:) can get a bit noisy if you have bad luck and are on the same floor like the school trips.

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Enjoyed my stay at the hostel. It's a great location and only a short walk from a lot of attractions. Ladders should be provided for the bunk beds and safety guards installed.

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

A very good location, only 3 blocks form Grand Central. Big building, in the centre of the city - but we could sleep really well, it was not too laud. There are many cafés and places to eat. Really good place to have a breakfast: just in the front of the building: Bread und butter.


100%

Excelente custo benefício. Fica próximo a 5th avenida e Times Square, então é possível andar muito a pé durante a viagem. Em 5-10 minutos você está nos principais pontos turísticos de NYC. Os banheiros não são privativos, porém estão sempre limpos, e cada andar possui 4 chuveiros (não peguei fila nenhuma vez para tomar banho). Apesar do quarto ser bem pequeno, isso não é um problema, já que em NYC o usamos apenas para dormir. P/ completar, o concierge é brasileiro, o que nos ajudou bastante!

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

Algunos de los miembros del personal de recepción eran muy antipáticos. No me parece normal que te traten de esa forma. La limpieza de la habitación era mala y las instalaciones insuficientes: una cocina enana para todo el hostal, pocas duchas, etc......

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

I will always stay here when visiting NYC!


60%

Staff at reception desk refused to help an elderly male get tokens from machine to store his luggage. She was so rude. My daughter who lives in NY was not allowed to come to my room. The room was so small I had to put my case on desk to open it to change my clothes.

  • 19th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


54%

Personnel pas trop agreable. Probleme avec les reservation dès l'arrivée.

  • 18th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(104 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback