X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Vanderbilt YMCA Reviews

224 East 47th St., NY 10017, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
2975 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Excellent location, but hostel quite dirty. Nothing unthinkable, just some spots on the sheets and room quite dusty. Awesome facilities.


74%

Nous avons séjourné une nuit dans cette auberge pour retrouver des amis qui travaille à New York. Nous n'avons passé qu'une courte nuit dans la chambre. Le chauffage était bruyant mais le rapport qualité prix et plutôt bon.

  • 11th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Security was good; they were strict about showing your room key to the guard. Location is a 5 min walk to Grand Central, 10 min for a group. Staff friendly and professional. Atmosphere very cosmopolitan, lots of British kids, Australian school groups in uniform, smattering of Middle Eastern folks. Cleanliness of bathrooms good, considering how big the place is. Value good, just a necessary place to sleep. Didn't use the gym stuff but it looks nice; was out seeing NYC.

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

It was wonderful experience for me to stay at Vanderbilt YMCA in New York, USA. Being a delegate of United Nation Conference its location makes me easier not only to be at UN HQ in time also approachable to every important lacation of New York City..Would like to stay in future .

  • 6th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

I didn't love the hostel. The heating made weird loud noises throughout the night which kept me awake. There were only two toilets on the level I was on. I found it hard to open the door to the showers, which were hard to operate. I thought some staff were friendly but others not so much. I burnt my arm on the pipe of the heater near the shower, and it is still healing over a week later. I was very frustrated by some completely normal websites being blocked on the internet.

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

I have stayed at Vanderbilt several times when I'm in New York, it's a good location, walking distance to everything you need) and a good price for a single room, bathrooms in the corridore are clean too, so I don't mind sharing


86%

The room was tiny but if you just there for a sleep, it is just fine! The heater is making LOUD noise during the night, so be prepared with earplugs, you can't sleep peaceful without them!! They also vacuum cleaned at 7 am? :D I had a free access to gym centre, there is also a swimming pool and saunas. The shared bathrooms were cleaned every day, so they were very neat! The location is also great, you can easily walk to Time Square.


89%

Excelente ubicación y la atención del personal. La habitación un poco fría y las duchas algunos días no estaban del todo limpias. En general todo muy bien.

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Chile
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Natasha was great checking me in, and she made sure that my sister and I were assigned to very nice adjacent rooms. Shellem ( I think that's how his name is spelled) on the evening shift was very helpful, as he was the last time we stayed at the Vanderbilt.


83%

Muy bueno el hostel, pero no es el clásico hostel de juventud. Si no que al ser de una asociación era un poco diferente, pero tenia todas las comodidades y la ubicación mejor no podría ser. Nosotros estuvimos una sola noche, por lo tanto no tuvimos ningún problema ni nada que resaltar.


100%

Hostel topíssimo!! Não tenho do que reclamar! Gostei de tudo. Recomendadíssimo!


77%

Viel zu wenig Toiletten und Duschen! Jeweils 2 Duschen und Toiletten auf eine Etage mit ca. 80 Zimmern. Zimmer sind ok, sie sind zwar klein aber der Platz reicht aus. Die Matratzen sind für ein Einzelbett breit aber etwas durchglegen. Sehr gutes Fitness inklusive Schwimmbad. Freundliche Mitarbeiter. Gute Lage (nah Grand Central)


83%

Wifi signal strength could be improved. Accessibility gets poor at some locations especially on higher floors. At some locations totally lost it. Otherwise the place is great.


80%

Good hostel, I wasn't lucky with the heat but good overall.


80%

Great stay but the bathrooms were disgusting.

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

Las habitaciones son zulos pequeños en los que no entran ni dos maletas abiertas, aspecto sucio y frio. En ningún sitio se comenta el tamaño de las habitaciones, y el hotel se publicita como fantástico. Los empleados no eran muy amables y no es que hicieran mucho por facilitar tu paso por el hotel. Es el único hotel donde he tenido que pagar porque me permitiesen dejar mis maletas el último día, además de que una vez mas, los trabajadores no fueron agradables a la hora de explicarnoslo.

  • 2nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Zu empfehlen wenn man alleine reist als Mädel. Zimmer sind sehr klein, da man allerdings lediglich zum schlafen da ist, völlig ausreichend und vor allem sauber. Wem die Duschen zu voll sein sollten - nutzt die Baderäume im Untergeschoss, dort gibt es auch die Möglichkeit zu föhnen. Das Personal ist höflich und zuvorkommend. Der Sicherheitsdienst fragt zu jeder Tag und Nachtzeit nach dem roomkey sodass keine Fremden in das Hostel kommen. Innerhalb 5 min an 2 Subway stationen.

  • 2nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback