X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Vanderbilt YMCA Reviews

224 East 47th St., NY 10017, New York, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
2841 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 74%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Noise AC...

  • 24th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

非常不错的青旅,位置好,欢迎好,下次还会选择这个旅店^_^

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Great location for hostel but for the price I felt rooms

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Vanderbilt. We hope to see you again on your next visit.

57%

Cockroach city!!!


71%

La zona está muy bien. Mantienen limpias las habitaciones, camas y sanitarios. La cocina no tiene utensillos, ni tazas, ni platos, ni nada. Sólo la batería de cocina y un microondas. Es un hostel con más de 200 habitaciones y no tiene ningún espacio físico común donde encontrarse con otros huéspedes, excepto una pequeña habitación en el cuarto piso. Donde más te cruzás gente, es en los ascensores!


100%

Thak You for all the staff.......You are very helpfull and very nice

  • 29th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
thank you for your lovely comment and we are glad you enjoyed your visit with us.

69%

Pretty nice location to see nyc for a few days if you are planning to spend most of your time outdoors. The gym is excellent and the facility is actually a fitness center (with some rooms for guests). The rooms are very tiny and with bunker beds. The restrooms are very few in number (only one shower room and 2 wc for a 30 room floor) and that is a major concern. You have to plan for a 10-20 minute wait each morning in front of the shower room.

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

enjoyed the stay because it was in a great location and the staff was very accommodating, plus the price was right!

  • 28th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


57%

It is impossible to sleep without the A/C, however, the A/C is so noisy that it makes it impossible to sleep too. You have to sign a paper in which the hostel takes no responsibility in case of robbery. You can put your passport and small things in a safe, but if you have a laptop there's no way to put it. The luggage room also says the hostel is not responsible for robbery. You need lookers!!!! You also need more toilets/showers Wifi good though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We apologize for the AC being noisy. If you decide to stay with us again, please feel free to report any problems to the front desk staff or security and we will be happy to accommodate you. We are always making improvements to our guest rooms and will strive to make your next visit more comfortable.

51%

I was very disappointed with the staff and how I was treated I also ask if I could stay for a few extra hours because someone was coming to get me and would not be there before a certain time and was told that I would be charged It's the worst stay ever and would never stay at any YMCA ever again Doesn't matter if I have to pay tons of money

  • 27th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We apologize for the staff not being more helpful. We are always striving to make sure our guests are happy and comfortable and it is unacceptable that a staff person did not behave in this manner and it truly does not represent our organization.. Please contact me if you would like to discuss further. My name is janet and the main line is 212-912-2500.

37%

I was shocked at the condition of the rooms , especially for the price charged. They were small,dirty,smelly and the floor had to be washed due to urine smell. The price of over $100. Per room was not justified at all.

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

should provide iron in the utiliti/laundry room. Extended the check out time till 12 oclock. Abolish $2 per bag as storage fee. Should provide more toilet/bathroom

  • 24th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. We do provide an iron in our laundry room on the 3rd floor. We also extend the check out time, if possible. We hope to see you again and meet your expectations. If you have any concerns, please visit the front desk staff and we will be happy to help you.

71%

This is a very big hostel with a massive Gym (that is used mainly by locals). There is not much int he way of communal area - so little 'atmosphere' or chances of meeting people outside of the room share. I had a single room with shared bathroom. Unfortunately the room smelt like armpit from the moment I opened the door. That said - it is the cheapest place to stay in New York....you just don't get much for your money.


63%

fixed time for leave the Room & fixed time to eneter the room when arrival is very sharp and it is not good at all & because the time should be flexible sepcially related to person com from outside USA and releated to Aierway flight 2_nd why take money for logent the back for only 3 hrs to wainting time for airwaytravalling 3_rd why take 5 dollor to call taxi for airport & and taxi take 20 Dollor although should be 17 dollars and alerady I arival to hoseltle from airport only 13 Dollars

  • 23rd Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Bien situer et facille d'acces. Les chambres sont petites et pas en super etat mais a ce prix on ne peut pas tout avoir. Les sanitaires sont propres. Nous ne regrettons pas

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Rooms are cleaned but they smell


89%

My only complaint and i realise they are a religious based organisation, was there quite ridiculous block on wifi which stopped me visiting many of the pages i would have liked to read. Not porn just day to day listings for various events going on in New York. Gay bars, theatre, even the Mermaid Parade in Brooklyn. Quite barmy when you could type in various other searches to take you to porn etc and no block. Gay was definitely a blocked word.


94%

Had a great stay at the Vanderbilt YMCA. It's really good value for the money. Ok, the rooms are small, but I got a TV, fridge, free wi-fi in the room and aircondition. The bed was also one of the best I had in a hostel. I would stay there again if I go back to New York alone. :-)


66%

Buena ubicacion. Habitaciones pequeñas pero limpias. Camas comodas.

  • 17th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Lo bueno, definitivamente su ubicación. Mejor por ese precio, comparado con otros sitios, imposible. Los baños son muy limpios y cómodos. Cocina y el comedor, lavandería, etc. La no tan bueno, las habitaciones son muy pequeñas, y las camas no muy cómodas. Preferiría menos gimnasio, piscina, caminadoras, etc., por un poquito más de espacio en las habitaciones y unos mejores colchones, total, un turista usa los hoteles prácticamente para dormir. En general, muy bueno. Volvería a alojarme allí.

  • 14th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Venezuela
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(110 results)


View all New York Hostels

Please give us your feedback