Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Woodquay Hostel Galway City

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 767 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 767 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.2
Woodquay Hostel Galway City Located at 23/24 Woodquay, , Galway.
Woodquay Hostel Galway City
Ireland
Galway Galway 23/24 Woodquay
81% 767
53.2759360 -9.0525788
Woodquay Hostel Galway City
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2016
8.0

Some of the staff at desk need some lessons in manners, completely plank you if you said hello to them. They also need to get good coffee, the coffee they served was awful other then that it was an alright place to stay, cleaned every day it has a staff member on 24hrs a day so it's pretty much secure and its 2 minutes away from the main streets of Galway City.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
10th Jul 2016
9.1

Clean and tidy, friendly, helpful staff. Close to pubs and the nightlife

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
7.7

Pretty good place in general, not a big walk to the main street either. Staff were friendly and happy to help you organise day trips.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • indy_winky2436
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
8.0

I liked this hostel, the kitchen was good it was an easy walk to everything in Galway. Staff were friendly and helpful and it was nice and bright and seemed pretty clean the whole time I was there. The dorms were a good size too didn't feel like the beds were packed in like in some places. I thought 4euro each for the washing machine and the dryer was a bit much and the shower was strange to get working but otherwise I enjoyed it and I'd definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2016
9.4

My husband and I stayed in an 8 bed room, super clean and comfortable. Great atmosphere. Only bad thing was the showers. As we were walking in to shower someone walking out said, 'be careful, we had to get out because we were getting burned.' And so it was true, too hot to even shower, no temperature setting, just one button. Everything else here was fantastic though!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2016
8.0

I'd call this a pretty average hostel. The building is kind of shabby, but well maintained. It's very close to the city center, but on a quieter street. Wifi only works on the ground floor and nearby rooms. Due to a booking error, I had to switch rooms after one night, but the staff were all very nice and they gave me a discount to make up for it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Jun 2016
7.7

Staff were super friendly and helpful here. The rooms/dorms got a little bit stuffy throughout the night. The interior is a little dated but kitchen is large and there is a common area for people to eat/lounge. Free towel use and good wifi. Would stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Jun 2016
4.9

Not a bad place for one night, but not for a longer stay. Most of the staff were helpful, but one member was slightly off-handed when we checked in and tried to enforce rules. Our private room was basic with no shelves or wardrobe to hang coats/cloves and the bed wasn't properly made. There was no bin in the room or the kitchen or bathroom. We were told a bin was available outside, but not great if cooking! Bathroom was adiquat, but toilet paper wasn't replaced and towells were dirty/smelly!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Jun 2016
10.0

Stayed here for 2 nights with a big group, staff were very friendly and hospitable! Great location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jun 2016
10.0

I can only recommend to all the travelers to Galway!! Both reception and cleaning staff were great, it was a nice place to stay even for the purposes of the conference (not too noisy, but great location.)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.