X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Woodquay Hostel Galway City Reviews

23/24 Woodquay, Galway, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

69%

Rating
501 Total Reviews
  • 68%Value For Money
  • 70%Security
  • 86%Location
  • 71%Staff
  • 66%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 58%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Great stay with lovely people! we will be back again the lads in kilts

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

It's a nice place to stay for few days, good value, well located, clean and tidy and it's fully decorated with Irish stuff. I like it!

  • 22nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


40%

Booked 3 beds, arrived only 2 available. Paid 26 Euros for a mattress on a floor in a room with 8 other people.

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

It was the worst experience in hostel for me. We did a booking for 7 persons, the welcom team wasn't kind not really polite, no smile, she was not helpful for the payment. It was not possible to pay as we want for the total amount No possibility to pay by card and she doesn't try to inform us about the nearest ATM No information about the bedroom, wifi or washroom Absolutely no hot water for the shower during 2 days. Impossible to locked the bathroom on the bedroom. no more space for the rest

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

I wish the bathrooms had soap. Staff was Amazing for helping with where to go/ eat. Room only had one working plug in so no one really got to charge their phone. Location great- easy to find and close to pubs.


80%

An enjoyable stay. More expensive than many hostels in other cities. Staff were very helpful and a credit to the establishment.

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Stayed in a private double room with a shared bathroom, which was located on the bottom floor. However it seemed like this was shared by everybody using that floor. The bathroom was used constantly, with just the one shower. We were unable to use it at all in the morning - not even to brush our teeth, because check-in time was strictly adhered to. We opened the wardrobe that was in the room and discovered that it was packed full of sheets and bedclothes. The smell was absolutely disgusting.


46%

Linen was dirty, no laundry services as advertised on hostelworld, kitchen was dirty and had very basic facilities, others we spoke to in the hostel had similar experiences


97%

The staff at the hostel was really helpful and friendly and teh facilities were clean and welcoming. I would definitely recommend this option for a stay in Galway.

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Pleasant, but very basic. The staff was lovely.

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Not too terribly far from the center, but a small walk. Showers could've been better but weren't bad. Overall good hostel.


49%

Firstly there continues to be ongoing loss of guests' food and personal belongings ,I cannot understand why the owner cannot have bedside lockers for guests to lock up their belongings.Even when compared to other hostels such as nimos ,or salmon weir which have no luggage room and bedside lockers the level of guests losing their belongings especially after the rooms are cleaned is alarming.While the owner is polite her cleaner and security man are rude.


83%

Good for budget travellers


89%

Great place! Nice people.

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are nice and quite. If you're looking for a long-term stay, this is definitely the best choice in Galway.


74%

Galway is small enough to walk everywhere so location is close but not right by the square or main strip. This is the first hostel in Galway, 180 years old, so it had a lot of charm. The staff was helpful, you could tell they love their city and are eager to share with visitors.


100%

Very friendly & helpful. Thanks!


89%

Good value for money. Well situated and clean.

  • 4th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

I gave the poor on cleanliness because there is visible mold and mildew several places in the hostel. I did enjoy the location and kitchen though.


46%

Rooms and toilets were not clean at all. Rooms : bins full, dirty floor. Toilets : very dirty. The price was high for the hygien (no hygien in rooms and toilets). Landlady not very nice (compare to others hostels).


« first « Prev 1 2
(30 results)


View all Galway Hostels

Please give us your feedback