X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Woodquay Hostel Galway City Reviews

23/24 Woodquay, Galway, Ireland

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
525 Total Reviews
  • 70%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 88%Location
  • 76%Staff
  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 64%Cleanliness
  • 61%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

The toilets were all blocked...that was kind of annoying. All the rest was okay.


91%

Beautiful hostel!!


63%

Cool vibes and good location, but crappy bathrooms and one outlet for an 8 bed dorm. Facilities are old and need a lot of renovations, but the free food cupboard was well stocked which saved us a few euro


46%

We booked a 6 bed hostel and when we arrived there was 9 people booked into the room . We had to waste half an hour to try sort out the problem . The bathroom facilities were extremely dirty and there was only three showers available for the whole hostel of which one person could lock the room containing two of the showers. The toilet seat on one toilet was broken and another toilet wouldn't flush so it was constantly full of poop . The free breakfast was pathetic with only white bread and jam.


86%

The hostel is in downtown, that means that in the night you hear the shouts and chatters of drunken people. Small rooms but less beds, so you have enaugh place, but no hooks for your clothes. Small toilets and shauers. Staff helpful.


100%

We loved our experience! No one should ever complain about it because it was so much fun. Especially breakfast with our big eclectic family. :)

  • 2nd Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

it was the worst hostel I have ever gone, it was dirty and we couldn't sleep in all the night for the people (there were a group people drinking inside) and the washing machine ! horrible!

  • 1st Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

The place is small but very welcoming, the host will sing for you while cooking you breakfast, be there for anything. They're greats tours organised who pick you up at the hostel. This was a great experience !


94%

Great stay with lovely people! we will be back again the lads in kilts

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

It's a nice place to stay for few days, good value, well located, clean and tidy and it's fully decorated with Irish stuff. I like it!


40%

Booked 3 beds, arrived only 2 available. Paid 26 Euros for a mattress on a floor in a room with 8 other people.

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

It was the worst experience in hostel for me. We did a booking for 7 persons, the welcom team wasn't kind not really polite, no smile, she was not helpful for the payment. It was not possible to pay as we want for the total amount No possibility to pay by card and she doesn't try to inform us about the nearest ATM No information about the bedroom, wifi or washroom Absolutely no hot water for the shower during 2 days. Impossible to locked the bathroom on the bedroom. no more space for the rest

  • 18th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

I wish the bathrooms had soap. Staff was Amazing for helping with where to go/ eat. Room only had one working plug in so no one really got to charge their phone. Location great- easy to find and close to pubs.


80%

An enjoyable stay. More expensive than many hostels in other cities. Staff were very helpful and a credit to the establishment.

  • 16th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


60%

Stayed in a private double room with a shared bathroom, which was located on the bottom floor. However it seemed like this was shared by everybody using that floor. The bathroom was used constantly, with just the one shower. We were unable to use it at all in the morning - not even to brush our teeth, because check-in time was strictly adhered to. We opened the wardrobe that was in the room and discovered that it was packed full of sheets and bedclothes. The smell was absolutely disgusting.


46%

Linen was dirty, no laundry services as advertised on hostelworld, kitchen was dirty and had very basic facilities, others we spoke to in the hostel had similar experiences


97%

The staff at the hostel was really helpful and friendly and teh facilities were clean and welcoming. I would definitely recommend this option for a stay in Galway.

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

Pleasant, but very basic. The staff was lovely.

  • 9th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Not too terribly far from the center, but a small walk. Showers could've been better but weren't bad. Overall good hostel.


49%

Firstly there continues to be ongoing loss of guests' food and personal belongings ,I cannot understand why the owner cannot have bedside lockers for guests to lock up their belongings.Even when compared to other hostels such as nimos ,or salmon weir which have no luggage room and bedside lockers the level of guests losing their belongings especially after the rooms are cleaned is alarming.While the owner is polite her cleaner and security man are rude.


« first « Prev 1 2
(35 results)


View all Galway Hostels

Please give us your feedback