Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Woodquay Hostel Galway City

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 775 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 775 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.3
Woodquay Hostel Galway City Located at 23/24 Woodquay, , Galway.
Woodquay Hostel Galway City
Ireland
Galway Galway 23/24 Woodquay
81% 775
53.2759360 -9.0525788
Woodquay Hostel Galway City
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
9.4

Had a fantastic weekend stay in Galway thanks to the Woodquay hostel! Stayed in an 8 bed mixed dorm which was very clean and very comfortable. Staff were incredibly friendly,easy going and helpful. They were happy to offer advice from the best cafes to the the best (and cheapest) parking spots. 24 reception was very handy also. Would 100% stay here again and recommend it to friends. Only small issue was the showers which were scaldingly hot but other than that, a perfect stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
9.4

The hostel was very clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was adequate and the wifi was reliable. I liked that it was a few blocks further from the main strip than some other hostels, it was quiet at night. My only complaint is that the laundry is 4euro to wash and 4 to dry. Appreciated the discount I got on the tour of the Cliffs of Moher, would recommend that. Overall, great place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
8.3

The atmosphere and the people in the hostel were friendly and open. They were great with answering questions and helping out in any way possible. Security wise - the room I stayed in (4) the lock wasn't working properly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jul 2016
8.0

Some of the staff at desk need some lessons in manners, completely plank you if you said hello to them. They also need to get good coffee, the coffee they served was awful other then that it was an alright place to stay, cleaned every day it has a staff member on 24hrs a day so it's pretty much secure and its 2 minutes away from the main streets of Galway City.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Northern Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jul 2016
10.0

It'd be hard to say anything bad about this place! I've been to my fair share of hostels, and this is one of the homiest, and more comfortable of the hostels i've been to stay in! Staff are 10/10, superb bunch of people. They are always prepared to go the extra mile for their guests, and always up the craic if ya fancy a chat! I recommend this place to anyone who wants the full Galway experience; which to me includes a good, friendly atmosphere. I would definitely stay here again! Good job guys

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
10th Jul 2016
9.1

Clean and tidy, friendly, helpful staff. Close to pubs and the nightlife

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jul 2016
8.0

Very friendly staff, clean rooms, but for some reason the showers were scalding hot and it was nearly impossible to use them!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jul 2016
7.7

Pretty good place in general, not a big walk to the main street either. Staff were friendly and happy to help you organise day trips.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • indy_winky2436
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 23 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
8.0

I liked this hostel, the kitchen was good it was an easy walk to everything in Galway. Staff were friendly and helpful and it was nice and bright and seemed pretty clean the whole time I was there. The dorms were a good size too didn't feel like the beds were packed in like in some places. I thought 4euro each for the washing machine and the dryer was a bit much and the shower was strange to get working but otherwise I enjoyed it and I'd definitely stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2016
9.4

My husband and I stayed in an 8 bed room, super clean and comfortable. Great atmosphere. Only bad thing was the showers. As we were walking in to shower someone walking out said, 'be careful, we had to get out because we were getting burned.' And so it was true, too hot to even shower, no temperature setting, just one button. Everything else here was fantastic though!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.