Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Woodquay Hostel Galway City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 1013 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 1013 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Apr 2017
8.0

Staff were helpful and polite. My dorm was fine, but only one extension lead (4 sockets) for the room. No lockers in the rooms. The only light is an overhead fixture. Location is perfect if you want to be in the middle of everything, but it's a busy street outside with lots of pubs, prepare for noise at night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
18th Apr 2017
8.0

the staff was always very helpful and the kitchen is great. we had a room directly next to a bathroom though and the room was extremely damp. good location but check out directions ahead of time, the ones they give are confusing if you dont know the city

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Apr 2017
6.9

Close to the city center but on a side street so that noise from traffic is minimal. However, safety is an issue. You drop your key off with reception any time you leave the hostel, and when you come back, you ask for it and they give it to you. They don't ask for a name, so anybody from the street could grab a key. Also, rooms don't have lockers, and there are only a few small ones (fit a small backpack at most) in the lobby. My room's door didn't close fully, so anybody could've gotten in.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Mar 2017
5.7

Not very clean, especially the ensuite bathrooms. And there are very weird people hanging around, some of them on long-term stay because they work in Galway and don't find any private accommodation.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
23rd Mar 2017
8.9

I enjoyed everything about our stay apart from our private room smelling harshly of mildew. Great location with nice staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Mar 2017
5.1

In my room the walls were all damaged by humidity. No radiator in the room, just an electric heater that was literally falling apart, very unsafe. The bed side lamp and the heater were plugged into an extension causing the floor to be covered in wires and cables. What looked like a blood stain on the bed sheets. Should I continue?

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • CharlynnJ
  • Canada, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th Mar 2017
8.6

Staff gave us a full rundown of things to do in Galway, which was really appreciated! The hostel atmosphere was awesome. Unfortunately, the lack of bathrooms were really the only issue with this hostel. Location is a 3 minute walk from the downtown shopping streets as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th Mar 2017
6.9

Not good value for money - I paid only slightly more for hostels in other Irish cities, and they were much cleaner and had more bathrooms and toilets. I wish I had paid a few extra Euro and stayed somewhere slightly cleaner.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Mar 2017
9.1

A really good hostel. Friendly staff. Great experience at Woodquay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • dmartinez1234
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
28th Feb 2017
8.9

I was only here one night but it was really cool. The people working here are awesome!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.