Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Koh Tao Central Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 675 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 675 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.3
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.6
Koh Tao Central Hostel Located at Moo 2, , Koh Tao.
Koh Tao Central Hostel
Thailand
Koh Tao 84360 Moo 2
84% 675
10.0846637 99.8257415
Koh Tao Central Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
19th Aug 2016
9.4

Staff were super helpful and went above and beyond.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
12th Aug 2016
8.6

Great hostel! The staff was very obliging! I had a lower bunk bed right next to the AC but Rolf was already one step ahead and gave me a second blanket to hang right next to my pillow so the air wouldn't blow into my face! So sweet! His recommendations were also always on point and didn't disappoint, very trustworthy staff that shows that backpackers' wellbeing is their priority! Security is also on point! Also the discounts along the street are awesome! Definitely would recommend to stay here!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Aug 2016
6.6

Not a bad place to stay, but a bit quiet. The bar across the road, reef, is used as a communal area but it was mostly empty when we went. About a 15 min walk from Sairee Beach where most of the decent bars are, so not far but still not close. Room was good for sleeping, they only have tiny wall lights and bed lights, but not great for chatting or meeting people.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th Jul 2016
9.4

A bit away from the best bars and stuff but just off from the pier so that was good. Lovely decor and atmosphere, had a really nice, chilled time here and was helped out well by the staff. Incredibly secure and felt safe there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jul 2016
8.9

The staff are so friendly, will do anything for you. Dorms are very safe, no communal area but the bar across the way let's you sit and chill which is nice. Bathrooms basic but usually clean. Good place to stay with only a short walk of about 10 mins to the main strip and literally a 2 minute walk from the pier so no need to get a taxi with heavy bags

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Jul 2016
10.0

Fantastic hostel close to the pier and only a short walk to sairee beach. The hostel itself has everything you need other than a communal area but reef bar over the road makes up for it. By staying at the hostel you get discount for a lot of places round the Island which is really useful and Rolph is a top guy, he'll always help you out with anything you need to know. Will definitely be staying again next year when I come to do my open water diving course! James

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jul 2016
4.6

Not sure why this place has such a high rating. Place smelt funny. Sheets didn't fit the slidy mattress. Aircon was on but not low enough. No lockers for big backpacks only small ones and expected to bring own lock. Most expensive hostel we've stayed in in Thailand and pretty much got given a mattress. A lot further from saree beach then told but otherwise staff were lovely which was the only positive about the place.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi - thank you for your comments and we are sorry to hear your stay did not meet with your expectations. I have addressed your comments below: * The Hostel is disinfected and cleaned every day and our cleaner is on standby every day, all day and if there was a an issue with smell, we would appreciate you telling us at the reception next door. The hostel is busy with new residents leaving and arriving each day. * The sheets are provided by a hotel supplier and are sized for the beds so we are a little confused by the size issue you had, perhaps you would like to message us direct. * Air con is on 24/7 and we are often asked to increase or reduce the settings which we are more than happy to do if you let us know. * Lockers are provided to secure high value personal effects and not for main luggage as advertised on Hostel World. Regarding the lock, we advise residents to obtain their own small lock as this gives them peace of mind and enhances the security of their personal effects. Small locks can be obtained next door to the Hostel. *We are priced mid range and believe we provide a wide range of facilities and give value for money. There are cheaper and more expensive hostels on Koh Tao and we continually review our pricing to remain competitive whilst providing our customers with a safe, secure and positive experience during their stay on Koh Tao. * We do not quite understand your comments regarding a 'mattress'. Perhaps you can take a look at our pictures of the Hostel and satisy yourself that we do indeed provide very comfortable mattresses to all our customers. * Sairee Beach is a 10 minute walk from the Hostel front door which we advertise on our website and Hostel World. We are located in Mae Haad (50m from the main Pier) and based upon customer feedback over many years, we know most customers enjoy a leisurely walk to Sairee Beach nightlife. If you would like to email us direct we would be more than happy to address any further comments you have.

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
22nd Jul 2016
8.3

Really safe clean hostel with really helpful staff. The lack of common room could be a problem for some but our room was super social so there was no problem there . Is good to be so close to the boats but is a 15 min walk to the main area which is fine but can get quite annoying when going back and forth so much like we ended up doing! Would recommend

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
9.1

For starters got an excellent greeting from the person working , introduced us to a free drink at the bar across the road and a load of shops where we got discount, the room was spacious and nicely air conditioned, was comfortable at night with a locker to keep any valuables. Also was covered with CCTV so wasn't worried about anything being stolen , hostel is in a prime location surrounded by tourists places, dive centres, shops and bars. Overall a great experience would recommend to everyone:)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
10.0

Late cancellation for the first night and the staff were very helpful in working around this. Staff are very welcoming and friendly. Decided to re-book for the following week as we enjoyed it that much. Couldn't ask for any more and great value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.