Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Koh Tao Central Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 725 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.0
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 725 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th May 2017
8.9

I very much enjoyed my stay at the central hostel. I tore my calf muscle and the staff went out there way to get me crutches and didn't even charge me! Can't say a bad word about any of the staff, all very friendly! Beds are good and rooms are air conditioned! Great for meeting People and location is good for beaches and nightlife.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
8.6

Really nice place to stay, really well cleaned and maintained. Only downfall was the lack of common room but they do try and make up for it by giving you discount in surrounding bars.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2017
8.6

Clean bedding, great location, lockers etc showers could do with an upgrade and hooks to hang your stuff but other than that good hostel. They do say no common room so if you're travelling solo and looking to meet people it's not the right place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Mar 2017
9.7

Great hostel and great management! Staff are really friendly and accommodating, beds are comfy and dorms are amazing. I was concerned about a 14 bed dorm but there is CCTV in the room, it's not invasive but it's great to have. Then there are dividing walls which make it feel like 2 beds to a room as it sections the room off in such a great way!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Mar 2017
7.7

Only stayed for two nights, it's in a good location near the pier and not far from the party beach, the hostel had good facilities but it's a shame it doesn't sent have a common area to meet people but the sports bar opposite is really good for that, you also get a discount in some shops and places that the hostel is linked to which was really good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2017
10.0

My stay at Koh Tao Central Hostel was fantastic! Best location right in the middle of everything. Really helpful staff. There is no common area but the bar across the street is a nice place to hangout. You even get 10% off all food and drinks as a Hostel guest. I found the dorms to be comfortable and with CCTV I felt really safe as a female traveling on my own. The reception for the Hostel is in a travel agency which comes in handy for booking activities around the island.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Feb 2017
7.1

Positives; The hostel is very secure, with CCTV cameras in the room. Is chilled, so you can get a good nights sleep. Negatives; Aircon is on the whole night, so it can be cold for some, with only a tiny blanket to cover you. No communal area, so the atmosphere isn't good. If a solo traveller, stay elsewhere. The location is good for the pier but quite a far walk from the busy part of the island.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Feb 2017
5.4

I actually had to cancel my second night there. The room was big but the bed completely uncomfortable, the sheets were so small that they didn't fit. The a/c was so cold working so I had to sleep with three blankets and long leggings. The stuff was ok but not really helpful. They give you that 10% card for different places on the island wich the people there don't really accept. The bar across the street is actually more a sports bar, you don't meet anyone for the hostel. The location is good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Feb 2017
8.6

The owner and staff here are really friendly and helpful, not only through our stay but they also helped us book our forward journey and gave us great advice! The dorms are very clean and comfortable and the aircon was great, the only down side to this place is that they don't really have a communal/ chill out area although they make up for this by offering you great discounts in a variety of shops, restaurants and bars around the island. I would happily stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 49 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
8.0

Normal. No hay area comun. Muy seguro.buena ubicacion

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.