X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Koh Tao Central Hostel Reviews

Moo 2, Koh Tao, Thailand

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
295 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Had an amazing time here! Get privacy in rooms but still meet people outside and at the common area reef bar! Rolf the owner is great went for drinks and pool with him! Best place so far! Defiantly will return!

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I had a great time at Koh Tao central, Rolf is the owner goes out of his way to ensure that you are having a good time and keeps you safe at the same time. He mingles with everyone and is a genuine nice/funny guy. Although there isn't a communal area, Reef bar is across the road, you can take your own food and it has a free pool table. I will be staying here again!

  • 15th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great staff, thanks for everything. The semi-private dorm is a double-edged sword, as waking up daily to coed moaning and rustling bedsheets might be the flip side to privacy. Wanted to say, "Get a room". All the best to you.


94%

Had an awesome time at Central Hostel. Rolf, the owner, was amazingly helpful in everything - rearranging beds, adjusting the temperature of the aircon (during the first few nights it was freezingly cold in the dorm), recommending a diving centre, etc. The hostel is very clean, bathroom gets cleaned every day. Met awesome people there just by sitting in front of the entrance :) And the reef bar opposite is great for chilling out and meeting people! Try the chicken over there ;)


83%

This is a good hostel. I like the added privacy of the divider walls between the beds. Bring your own padlock for the lockers. They ask for your passport as deposit. I don't like handing my passport over but there were no issues. The only negative would be the toilets. They really need some ventilation. Doors with a 6 inch gap at the top and bottom or a vent in the door would be better. They're just really musty. Otherwise would stay here again.


100%

thanks rolf for making my stay so confortable and unforgetable at your hostel. i really liked it and enjoyed the time at koh tao...thats why i extended my stay twice! and whatever the people say about your hostel, I have never seen someone like you, spending so much time, hard work and heart into it. your hostel have a high standard of cleanliness. whoever says something different is maybe a prinzess with no travel experience or not made for hosteling!:P warm regards maria dreadlock

  • 23rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Best hostel i have ever been to 10/10 for security, facility's, hot and cold showers, friendly staff, extremely clean, great atmosphere, soft beds, air con, cleans sheets, Ralf the manager is the MAN! He will go out his way to make sure your stay is something to remember very helpful. Big up the reef bar across the road they will stay open till late if football games are playing plus discounts all over the island when staying which helped when on a budget. Defo coming back for a longer stay soon

  • 18th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel location, good layout of rooms and beds. Each bed has got separators. Good nights sleep, air con rooms. Good bar over the road with good food. Owners are great and always willing to help!


97%

It s a very great place to stay if you want both the cheap beds, but also the great location! The staff was friendly and helpful, and it was easy to get to know people there! I would have given you full score if there where a common room to hang out where you could bring food and drinks etc. Also a small minus for the smell in the toilets.

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Outstanding location-4 mins from the pier. Security of every traveller is high on the priority list by Rolf the legend! Very clean, very helpful and very concerned about your stay on phi phi. Free snorkelling equipment which saved us heaps on ridiculous deposits and renting. Originally booked for one night due to bad reviews of no communal area but after spending one night extended to 4!!! It's directly across from bar with free pool and cheap drinks couldn't want for more Safe, clean quirky!! X

  • 10th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

I enjoyed my stay here. Each set of bunk beds is separated by a solid wall so you get lots of privacy. A little far from Sairee beach but still lots around the hostel and if you're diving at a company near the pier it's perfect. Not a very social atmosphere so don't expect to meet many new people there but in terms of a place to sleep, it did the trick. Reception closes very early so it's tough if you're diving all day and need something in the evening it's a bit tough but not really a big deal.


94%

Had an awesome stay here and would reccomend it to anyone. The owner Rolf (spelling) is a great guy and treated us to beers because we were the only guests there. He's also doing a ton of work on the hostel, it's new and impeccably clean. Bathrooms are cleaned frequently, AC is always pumping, never turns it off which is a huge plus. No hang out area but it's no big deal.


83%

Nice place as a Backpacker. Honest owner.Nice bar in front of the hostel

  • 3rd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

It's a nice service to borrow snorkeling equipment for free if you stay in the hostel, but the snorkel didn't work because water streams through the outlet if you are under water. Everything else: just perfect, very great place especially the connection with the Reef-Bar! :-)

  • 28th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Couldn't ask for a better manager, so helpful for any of your needs. One of my favourite stays while traveling asia as the dorm was fully booked and met so many people! Awesome discounts around the island just simply show your key. Reef bar across the road works as the meeting point before nights out and also has the best burgers and chicken on the island! Probably the best western food I had throughout my travels and when you first arrive you get a complimentary drink!!


97%

Close to piers and beach but a bit far from the bar area (Sairee). Lots of privacy and safety with lockers and cameras. Staff is really cool and keen for a beer at the bar accross. I've met great people every night I was there despite the low season and having only one dorm (the other one is being renovated atm). Cleaned like 4 times per day and hot showers! No complaints really, I'd highly recommend!


80%

good clean hostel in a great location.

  • 13th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

The location of the hostel is right at the pier, but a 20 minute walk to Sairee beach, so if you don't kind a walk along the beach to get to the busier area then it's a great location. The rooms are good, there are lockers and the bunk beds have a partition between them for a bit of privacy. The air con is good. The staff are very helpful and friendly and always give good recommendations. The only bad thing about this hostel is the smell at the toilet area- they absolutely stink!


69%

No communal area to hang out

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, But if you would have read the hostel description, You would have seen we do not offer a common room! That's why there is a 10 %discount in Reef bar and a Breakfast place just around the corner.

74%

Staff was really nice with giving tips on activities and flexible with different arriving time. Location is pretty cool, the pier is just few steps away. Walking distance to the area with more action and great place to start your trip around the island from. They offer discounts at stores/bars next door, which is pretty cool. A bit smelly toilets weren't bothering us too much. Aircon in the room-NICE!


« first « Prev 1 2
(37 results)


View all Koh Tao Hostels

Please give us your feedback