Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Koh Tao Central Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 720 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 6.9
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 720 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 6.5
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 6.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Jamio2112
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
17th Mar 2017
7.7

Only stayed for two nights, it's in a good location near the pier and not far from the party beach, the hostel had good facilities but it's a shame it doesn't sent have a common area to meet people but the sports bar opposite is really good for that, you also get a discount in some shops and places that the hostel is linked to which was really good

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Mar 2017
10.0

My stay at Koh Tao Central Hostel was fantastic! Best location right in the middle of everything. Really helpful staff. There is no common area but the bar across the street is a nice place to hangout. You even get 10% off all food and drinks as a Hostel guest. I found the dorms to be comfortable and with CCTV I felt really safe as a female traveling on my own. The reception for the Hostel is in a travel agency which comes in handy for booking activities around the island.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Feb 2017
7.1

Positives; The hostel is very secure, with CCTV cameras in the room. Is chilled, so you can get a good nights sleep. Negatives; Aircon is on the whole night, so it can be cold for some, with only a tiny blanket to cover you. No communal area, so the atmosphere isn't good. If a solo traveller, stay elsewhere. The location is good for the pier but quite a far walk from the busy part of the island.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Feb 2017
5.4

I actually had to cancel my second night there. The room was big but the bed completely uncomfortable, the sheets were so small that they didn't fit. The a/c was so cold working so I had to sleep with three blankets and long leggings. The stuff was ok but not really helpful. They give you that 10% card for different places on the island wich the people there don't really accept. The bar across the street is actually more a sports bar, you don't meet anyone for the hostel. The location is good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Feb 2017
8.6

The owner and staff here are really friendly and helpful, not only through our stay but they also helped us book our forward journey and gave us great advice! The dorms are very clean and comfortable and the aircon was great, the only down side to this place is that they don't really have a communal/ chill out area although they make up for this by offering you great discounts in a variety of shops, restaurants and bars around the island. I would happily stay here again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 49 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
8.0

Normal. No hay area comun. Muy seguro.buena ubicacion

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
10.0

Hostel was great, clean and comfortable bed. The owner was really welcoming and helped us organise our onward trip. Great value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Nov 2016
8.3

Stayed one night, bed was the hardest bed we've slept in yet. Staff were absolutely incredible! So helpful and knowledgeable, the owner owns reef bar & the scooter rental..(next door) best scooter rental in Thailand I swear; and you get local prices in numerous spots. Besides the perks the hostel it's self is average for the price. Lockers are good, ctv camera so you feel safe leaving stuff charging or whatever while your out.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th Nov 2016
9.4

Lovely hostel, very clean and really safe! They have cameras in the dorms and lockers too! The location was perfect didn't have to pay for taxis anywhere! Only bad thing is there isn't a common room so no where to socialise or if you want to stay up later than other people in your dorms it means you could disrupt them easily, or vice versa. The staff are really helpful and give you great info on the resort etc. I would defo stay here again if I come back to Koh Tao.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Nov 2016
8.6

Good location and comfy hostel with decent facilities. The guy that owns it is a legend - remembers everyone's name and helps out with everything. Even bought us a beer when we checked out. Wifi can be temperamental and no towel option

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.