Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Plaza de Armas Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 980 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 980 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 6.5
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
5th May 2017
6.6

GF and I had a private and best value for money of any hostel I've been to - huge room, private wifi, ensuite, even an amazing view. Hostel kitchen is tiny, poorly equipped and a bit gross; cockroaches pouring out of everywhere! Common space and shared bathrooms looked a bit shabby. BUT, this hostel is right in the main square, so location (aside from being on 6th floor) couldnt be better. Staff is bad in English, so you'll do a lot better If your Spanish is conversational.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Apr 2017
5.7

Location is great, view off the balcony great. We decided to pay more for a private room as we wanted to get some sleep before an early morning flight. There were people outside our door on the balcony making noise until 3.30am when we left for the airport. We had no electricity in the room, no light. There was a taxi service we were told about as we were leaving but it was too late to order one even though I asked at reception the day before how to get to airport at this time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • alicianavetta7109
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
22nd Apr 2017
8.6

Fabulous location next to the Plaza de Armas. Area is a bit sketchy at night, but the building has good security. Huge lockers and good wifi. Breakfast is coffee, toast and jam. Dorm beds are clean and comfy. Kitchen use is a huge plus. Friendly staff. Would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2017
8.6

Great staff, very helpful. The location is the best part. You have an amazing view on the plaza de armas on the balcony. Perhaps the facilities could be a bit better (kitchen and bathrooms), but in overall it's worth it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Apr 2017
7.1

Staff were friendly. They had little English, so it helps to have some Spanish here. Good lockers, fair bathrooms, clean enough. Wi-fi was hopeless and I had to go to an outside cafe to get online to book my next travels. Location is right in the most central part of town; great for access, not so great for noise.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Apr 2017
4.3

On arrival the woman at the desk was incredibly rude and blunt. We were given keys and told our room was two floors below the hostel in a housing complex. We had to find the room ourselves and we weren't shown around the hostel or any facilities. There was no wifi in the room as we were told, it's very misleading. I wouldn't call a slice of bread half toasted with cheap jam "breakfast".

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
1st Apr 2017
8.0

The breakfast is shocking!! A bread roll and a tea or coffee!!(don't ask for more) but the location is great . Most of the staff are rude apart from one guy who actually helped us plan a hike. Private rooms were great, but if staying in the first dorm you can hear everything - including the door buzzer going off every 10 minutes

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Mar 2017
9.1

I had such a fun time with the people running this place, they are easygoing and they invite you to be part of this hostel experience, I highly recommend to stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
21st Mar 2017
8.6

Amazing location, I don't see why this hostel hasn't got a better rating, it has friendly staff, kind of clean and isn't too noisy. Avoid the breakfast as the condiments are in plastic containers (single use plastic is evil) but the kitchen has good-medium rating. We had a twin room overlooking the whole main town square that was fun and not too loud. The staff are helpful and can give you all the info you need re the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
17th Mar 2017
6.9

Really nice property with high ceilings and big terrasse/balcony space along the plaza de armas. But the unisex showers with no privacy and see-through separation walls really put me off. Dorms are spacious.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.