Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Plaza de Armas Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 924 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.2
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 924 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 6.7
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.3
  • Facilities 6.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
9.4

Lovely atmosphere!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Jan 2017
5.7

No ventilation in the rooms, very very hot!! There was no WiFi at all in our private room. Small kitchen. We spoke with the owner about the hot in the room and he said that we can leave the hostel instead to help and find out a solution. Great location on the Plaza the Armas.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jan 2017
6.6

We met the new manager, who is the only one who cared. Cold showers, no fan or air conditioning in an 8 bed dorm, shocking to sleep in! Our 2 nght booking was apparently only 1 night, they stripped our beds after night 1 and we had to move beds. Great location but the rest not so great. Hopefully the new manager sorts it out now.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jan 2017
5.1

The security for our room was a small padlock on flimsy french folding doors. The 'private room' we requested opened into a shared balcony where people were eating, smoking and drinking until late. The was no air conditioning or windows to open to let in air so were forced to sleep with the doors open all night, not very secure. The girls toilets were ok except that the toilet seats were not stuck down. The girls showers were out of order and had to use the boys while men were also in there

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jan 2017
4.0

our private room turned out to be part of an apartment we shared with other people. This apartment was very spacious which was the only positive aspect I can mention about our stay. Our room was separated from the rest by glass doors which resulted in us waking up to the view of an old naked man sleeping in the living room. The beds were extremely dirty, the staff unmotivated and not friendly, the atmosphere everything other than homely and the breakfast is an audacious joke.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
5th Jan 2017
8.6

Positive: location; clean; secure; great view and terrace; food and music events; friendly and helpful staff; decent internet Negative: some showers had been out of order throughout our week stay; hot water if you're lucky; need more kitchen utensils; need more wall sockets

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Dec 2016
8.9

Although its on the main plaza it is not easy to find. Friendly and relaxed atmosphere with a very nice view. There are activities to integrate the guests. A fun hostel for all ages with a helpfull staff.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Dec 2016
8.3

Had a really nice stay here. All our stuff was very secure in the lockers provided and the atmosphere was great. There were only some issues with the facilities as the women's shower was broken and there were a few sinks that weren't working. Would definitely recommend to stay here as it is right in the centre of the cultural hub of Santiago

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • marcha1983
  • Netherlands, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th Dec 2016
7.1

Ofcourse the location was really awesome! The view was nice! The (double) room was spacious and was very tidy. Beautiful high sealings and big Windows. We only were less happy about the position arou d the corner above the shopping street. The people behind the desk were not really motivated and helpfull. Just what you need, no friendly smile but more bored. Only the girl tajine care of the breakfast was really friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
18th Dec 2016
6.6

Nice hostel with lots of good people to chat with. The location is perfect, very easy to find and close to several sights, as well as a metro stop. However, the internet was terrible, most of the time I couldn't even connect to send a quick email to family. Also, only 1 shower in the entire hostel was working, which made it a little difficult in the evenings when 40 guests were all trying to wash up. However, I still had a nice time there and wouldn't discourage others from visiting.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.