Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

El Hostal de Jackie

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 244 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 244 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 9.3
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • sophiaalamig9295
  • Morocco, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
8.3

Great location 1 street away from all the restaurants and bars, very safe. Overall the hostel was clean and the staff helpful, however there was a lizard in the room so make sure you close the windows and doors. On the day we were leaving we found a tiny bug on the bed which was freaky but might have been brought by travellers coming from the Ciudad perdida trek bc the hostel itself is clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Jul 2017
9.4

It was a good hostel close to the square. I was also able to store my stuff when I arrived early.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2017
9.1

Hostal de Jackie was really cool! I stayed in a private room and in a dorm room, and both were clean and comfortable. The staff was nice, the facilities were adequate, and the location is super convenient for accessing all the activity in Santa Marta's historic center. Would definitely recommend for any traveler passing through.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
10th Jul 2017
6.6

The hostel is not exactly cheap and paying this money I would expect air conditioning. The kitchen was not exactly clean.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
9th Jul 2017
8.9

The hostel has a nice pool and a rooftop terrace, but not much of an atmosphere. Breakfast is good and the location is superb, but it was sometimes difficult to get pretty basic questions answered at the reception. However, it was definitely a huge plus that we were able to store our luggage for free while going to Lost City and Minca.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Jul 2017
10.0

Nice hostel, central location, private rooms have AC/Fan and small bathrooms, fairly basic but clean. Nice simple breakfast provided, roof-top bar/lounge area with shade. Good hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jun 2017
8.6

The location is great. The common area on the roof is really nice and the kitchen area is decent. The private rooms are really small but there is a lot of storage. The shower was a small trickle and they ran out of water at one point. The staff were very helpful and some spoke English very well. It's nice that they have water refills but they are kind of pricey.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jun 2017
7.1

If you want comfort for a great price, this is not your hostel. The place itself is fine but my tiny private room was insanely hot! I had to leave the door open which meant crazy blaring music from the bars nearby. I didn't make it through the night. When I asked to switch, they told me the only AC room is double the price at $110,000! I took it out of desperation. In the morning they tried to charge me for both rooms! The front desk staff was very nice though but so many better options nearby!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Jun 2017
9.1

This hostel is a block from the main square, has lockers that can fit your entire bag (unless your bag is huge), a pool that oftentimes has someone inside, three options for breakfast, a rooftop, and fans for each bed. It's a pretty good spot, somewhat quiet but you can get to know people as they hang out around the pool. They let you store your bags while you go on Cuidad Perdida (Lost City Trek). The showers are ok. The staff is very friendly and accommodating.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Jun 2017
8.6

Nice little hostel in good location. Really lovely staff, very friendly and welcoming. Nice pool and nice rooftop area. Private room by the pool was very hot and stuffy and noisy with a lot of light coming in as right next to the pool. Didn't really bother me but might bother some. I'd return again :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.