Hostelworld.com

El Hostal de Jackie

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 177 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 177 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • djjsimpson8981
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 25 reviews
19th Feb 2017
8.0

Good hostel, great location to town

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
1st Feb 2017
8.6

Wasn't in love with this hostel but it didn't do anything particularly wrong.... just didn't go the extra mile anywhere. A practical place to stay before cuidad Perdida.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th Jan 2017
8.0

My main concern with the place is that they state they have air conditioning when, at least in the dorm, they don't. I want to mention how awesome and helpful the receptionist from the night shift was, thanks for helping us with the tickets to Tayrona, for the restaurant advice and for the good vibe in general. Oh, and the breakfast WAS included for the dorm and it was very good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Jan 2017
8.9

A good hostel with a cool rooftop terrace right in the centre of town. No complaints! Brand new air con in our private room. Music played quite late but get yourself some ear plugs and you'll be fine.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Jan 2017
7.4

We had a private room with shared bathroom. No AC or hot water (that seems fairly standard for this area). Great breakfast, but waited 25 minutes for ours so get up early if you have places to be. Extremely convenient location!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2017
8.9

The staff was great and helpful. The breakfast was delicious and there was an amazing view. The bed was not so comfortable and the showers were freezing.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jan 2017
9.7

Excellent hostel with very knowledgeable and helpful staff. Just a short walk from the main plaza.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jan 2017
8.9

Lovely staff who are helpful and friendly. We stayed in a 6 bed dorm before and after the Lost City Trek. We stored out bags in the hostel. The dorm was bright and spacious. It was quiet enough at night (even though it is upstairs beside the bar). The beds all have individual fans which is great for keeping you cool at night. Breakfast is good - they are four set options and you pick one. Also the roof top terrace is a lovely spot. Overall a great hostel in an excellent location in Santa Marta.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
8.6

Location is really good, safe and close to bars, restaurants & cafes (try Ikaros, the coffee is the best). Beds are clean and so is the bathroom. Small kitchen with basic cooking utensils that works just fine. Pool on ground floor is clean yet small and nice atmosphere on the rooftop bar. Breakfast is decent. I would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Dec 2016
6.6

Rooms were even with fan incredibly hot so we couldn't sleep. Most other hostels have A/C which this hostel should definitely consider. Pool is small at bottom and mostly in shade - not inviting. Reception staff was unfriendly and not interested. There's better options in town

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.