X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Alfred Park Budget Accommodation Reviews

207 Cleveland Street, Redfern 2016, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
1352 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 79%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 67%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Staff were friendly and helpful. Facilities were alright. Locations was excellent and the price was alright for what you got. Could do with larger fridges as there wasn't enough space for everyone's food.


77%

Good clean hostel.

  • 13th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


74%

Room was smelly, WiFi included only 4 hours but internet speed is Ok, lockers, Staff was friendly

  • 9th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Very good location, accessible to public transport easily; Kitchen area is very uncomfortable during dining hours; should have locate for more washing machines and dryers; shared shower rooms are sufficient for the guests; love the piano as well :)

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

Bedding was damp the whole stay, and there was cockroaches in the bathroom, cut my stay short for these reasons and received a refund for the remaining days that I hadn't stayed. Although they did not refund me for the night I left which I thought was poor. Staff on arrival were very helpful and friendly and location is only 1 train stop from the centre of sydney where everything happens. Overall would not stay here again.

  • 29th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Not a bad place, would definitly recomend it for any budget hostler, i would have stayed much longer if i had the time


69%

For our family (8 people) this hostel is nice, far from the center but we can walk about 15 minutes to China Town, on the first day (8 days for our trip) the receptionist allowed us to check in soon, 2 rooms. It's a lovely hostel.

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

The beds were fine, but the own bathroom in the 4 bed room was mildly said really unpleasant to use.

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

The rooms were not the cleanest and didn't seem like they were maintained. The wifi and internet is brutal and is a hassle to log in - also you only get limited time or MB which is not mentioned on their website.

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Good location just 15 minutes walk south of the CBD and opposite Alfred Park. Pretty basic stuff in terms of facilities, kitchen and common area often quite dirty as some residents seemed unwilling to clean up after themselves. Comfy beds but common area right outside rooms often loud until early hours despite the 10 pm no noise rule. Admittedly this was around the holiday season though so may be better at other times!


80%

Good Hostel with all facilities. Cleaned every day. No problems with the security and staff gives you all informations you want. You can go there with eyes closed


91%

Excellent staff, nice rooms in a very old building. Great location.


49%

Location not good, rooms are claustrophobic 10 pm hostel is dead Internet sucks and only in lobby Got better choices for less money


69%

Nice location, near central station and alfred park (public swimming pool). Wifi is limited and just works near the reception. Good size lockers, outside of the rooms. Old building, in need of some maintenance. The pictures in the hostelword website are much better than the real place. It is okey for the price.


71%

Beds made a lot of noise. Very nice staff. Limited lockers but staff were able to put valuables in storage.


80%

Great place.


86%

You get what you pay for..m it's a great location but it lacks a cosy common area to socialise.

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Pretty decent place, generally quiet and clean. Close to central station and supermarket and also a half hour walk to the CBD

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

A bit further away from the attractions and room a bit too small (and air con not working properly), but considering what u pay for, this is still quite a good deal


74%

Reasonably priced hostel, conveniently located for Central Station. I arrived much later than expected, after reception was closed, and the staff were very helpful, providing a phone number and leaving my key in a safe place. On the other hand there were no free lockers available, so not a great place if you have valuables to store.


1 2 Next » last »
(40 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback