X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Alfred Park Budget Accommodation Reviews

207 Cleveland Street, Redfern 2016, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
1340 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 80%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 69%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 68%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Not a bad place, would definitly recomend it for any budget hostler, i would have stayed much longer if i had the time


69%

For our family (8 people) this hostel is nice, far from the center but we can walk about 15 minutes to China Town, on the first day (8 days for our trip) the receptionist allowed us to check in soon, 2 rooms. It's a lovely hostel.

  • 27th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

The beds were fine, but the own bathroom in the 4 bed room was mildly said really unpleasant to use.

  • 26th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


49%

The rooms were not the cleanest and didn't seem like they were maintained. The wifi and internet is brutal and is a hassle to log in - also you only get limited time or MB which is not mentioned on their website.

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Good location just 15 minutes walk south of the CBD and opposite Alfred Park. Pretty basic stuff in terms of facilities, kitchen and common area often quite dirty as some residents seemed unwilling to clean up after themselves. Comfy beds but common area right outside rooms often loud until early hours despite the 10 pm no noise rule. Admittedly this was around the holiday season though so may be better at other times!


80%

Good Hostel with all facilities. Cleaned every day. No problems with the security and staff gives you all informations you want. You can go there with eyes closed


91%

Excellent staff, nice rooms in a very old building. Great location.


49%

Location not good, rooms are claustrophobic 10 pm hostel is dead Internet sucks and only in lobby Got better choices for less money


69%

Nice location, near central station and alfred park (public swimming pool). Wifi is limited and just works near the reception. Good size lockers, outside of the rooms. Old building, in need of some maintenance. The pictures in the hostelword website are much better than the real place. It is okey for the price.


71%

Beds made a lot of noise. Very nice staff. Limited lockers but staff were able to put valuables in storage.


80%

Great place.


86%

You get what you pay for..m it's a great location but it lacks a cosy common area to socialise.

  • 9th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Pretty decent place, generally quiet and clean. Close to central station and supermarket and also a half hour walk to the CBD

  • 3rd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

A bit further away from the attractions and room a bit too small (and air con not working properly), but considering what u pay for, this is still quite a good deal


74%

Reasonably priced hostel, conveniently located for Central Station. I arrived much later than expected, after reception was closed, and the staff were very helpful, providing a phone number and leaving my key in a safe place. On the other hand there were no free lockers available, so not a great place if you have valuables to store.


100%

all the time I've been staying at the hostel, I had not any problems ... everything was perfect ... thanks for the book apartments

  • 17th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

Location is good, opposite nice park and ten minutes from central train station. The building itself could do with a good clean, everything just looks old, worn and a bit grubby. Staff were ok. Wifi was poor and only available near reception. Although it was pretty cheap, when I returned back to Sydney for a few more days I stayed somewhere else (Railway Square YHA) and although more expensive I thought it was much better value.


100%

离Central 火車站非常近 環境很好 被單床單都很乾淨

  • 14th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

This hostel was very good value for money. I had a room with four beds in it - it also had an ensuite. The ensuite was very newly decorated and clean, the room was spotless and the beds were comfortable. The location was good for myself as I didn't want to be right in the centre for a week. The hostel's location near to Surry Hills was ideal; shops and restaurants were close by. Opposite the hostel is a large park which has an amazing outdoor swimming pool - this was a huge bonus! Great value.


54%

Mainly occupied by job seekers or working groups who are staying in permanently. Carpets are old and ripped so as the bed sheets. Consider looking for a relatively nice and clean place within the same price range

  • 4th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(49 results)


View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback