X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Emerald Hostel Budapest Reviews

Kossuth Lajos utca (street) 13, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

75%

Rating
260 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 64%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 74%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Staff was friendly. She helped me with directions for train back to airport.


94%

i was happy with my stay. excellent location, fair prices, free wifi. all i needed was there

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Nothing to complain. Everything was excellent. The room was propably the best I've had for this price range. The hostel picked us up from the airport for a good price and the staff was very friendly.

  • 29th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

This place was a disgusting disaster. We were put in a completely different hostel where the staff didn't have a clue about our reservation and any of the details including price etc. The room was disgusting, uncleaned with unhygienic stains on the bed. We were unable to contact Emerald Hostel when we went to their original hostel they wouldn't answer the door or phone. This happened to another group we met outside Emerald who were trying to contact them. DO NOT EVER BOOK HERE!

  • 25th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
you went somewhere else, you did not stay with us

51%

At the hostel there are no permeable but staff, no reception desk. Upon arrival out room wasn't ready so the woman there asked us to come back later, we did and the room was fine. However it was no 'deluxe' room. There are only 3 rooms in the hostel anyway. There are two bathrooms that only have hot water for part of the morning and a good kitchen. They're clean. We were asked specifically what time we were checking out so someone could come but no one came. We left the keys but missed our train

Owner Comment (Hide)
the room was not ready as you arrived at 10.00 in the morning, and we have check in time after 14.00

86%

The location of the hostel at the main street through old town centre is perfect. Unfortunately we picked this hostel because the hostelworld search function had it listed with parking space. But parking situation was horrible and we wasted a lot of time and money on searching for parking space, parking meters and even a parking ticket.


94%

I'm glad to have been in here. Hostel is perfectly located, close to the center and is in a very silent atmosphere. We had a private double bed, so all those are a quite good necessity. Everything was fine.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
77%

Strange key pick, but it all turned out to be allright, some guy came to bring us our key.

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

We booked a 3 bed private for 2 nights. The first night we were taken down the road to a very old building and given a 5 bed. To get to our room we had to go through another groups room, (toilet and everything) NOT ideal for anyone after a night out, and not exactly private rooms.We were also woken up to leave the room by 10am and go to the initial hostel for the 2nd nights stay.Very annoying. The 2nd night was fine apart from the VERY BAD mattresses and squeaky bunk.Beware of the 1st place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
do not exactly understand why it is a problem to be in a larger room, as long as you are alone in there. we also have dorm room, that is not private, and people go through it. of course it was not ideal for you, as you came back very late screaming after each night out, and others became very angry. this has nothing to do with group rooms, but your behaviour. toilet and everything is shared-as advertised on the webpage also..

60%

Worst beds ever, you feel the springs! Very noisy street, windows (partially broken) don't block anything. Shared bathrooms are very old.


89%

flat turned into a hostel. Very nice. The staff was doing the best. Thanks...


100%

Great stay. loved it

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel is on a great location near the city center. Our room wasn't in the same building where the reception is but it was very close to it so that wasn't a problem. We were in a private four bed room and it had 2 separate beds and one bigger bed for two persons. The only complaint is that the bathtub wasn't that clean. All in all, for the price we paid this hostel was a very good choice

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice, quiet place to stay for a night. The wifi didn't work so great. I was moved to a hostel down the street; I think they don't do private rooms at the Emerald.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello, thank you for the comment. if many people use the wifi, it can slow down. we have more buildings, and only private room except one dorm. you also booked private room, you were given private room -so we believe we do private rooms in here

94%

the hostel gives all we needed for a very fair price. location is very good, free internet, no curfew

  • 24th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

It is a nice and cozy hostel in the heart of Budapest. My host was very kind. It was perfect for staying a night and just relaxing. Recommended.


100%

Superb location, the hostel is close to everything. Staff is also very nice, we could sleep a little longer than the check out. Our room was comfortable enough

  • 5th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

What a shame! we booked a three-bed room for 3 night; when we arrived at the hostel the receptionist told us our room was already occupied by others. so he led us to another hoster on the nearby, where we slept only for two nights. For the 3^ night we had to take back all our things and luggage, moving back to Emerals Hostel, with no apologize. the men was so unpolite!

  • 12th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, If someone is late for 6 hours and does not inform us, we do not keep the room. That is in the policy.

100%

Cool little place. They take card also

  • 1st Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

We had a good stay. Room was ok, free wifi, location is superb. And very cheap!

  • 28th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(160 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback