X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Emerald Hostel Budapest Reviews

Kossuth Lajos utca (street) 13, Budapest, Hungary

Reviews & Ratings Explained

66%

Rating
250 Total Reviews
  • 60%Value For Money
  • 73%Security
  • 87%Location
  • 73%Staff
  • 53%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 53%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Strange key pick, but it all turned out to be allright, some guy came to bring us our key.

  • 28th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

We booked a 3 bed private for 2 nights. The first night we were taken down the road to a very old building and given a 5 bed. To get to our room we had to go through another groups room, (toilet and everything) NOT ideal for anyone after a night out, and not exactly private rooms.We were also woken up to leave the room by 10am and go to the initial hostel for the 2nd nights stay.Very annoying. The 2nd night was fine apart from the VERY BAD mattresses and squeaky bunk.Beware of the 1st place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
do not exactly understand why it is a problem to be in a larger room, as long as you are alone in there. we also have dorm room, that is not private, and people go through it. of course it was not ideal for you, as you came back very late screaming after each night out, and others became very angry. this has nothing to do with group rooms, but your behaviour. toilet and everything is shared-as advertised on the webpage also..

The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
60%

Worst beds ever, you feel the springs! Very noisy street, windows (partially broken) don't block anything. Shared bathrooms are very old.


89%

flat turned into a hostel. Very nice. The staff was doing the best. Thanks...


100%

Great stay. loved it

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

The hostel is on a great location near the city center. Our room wasn't in the same building where the reception is but it was very close to it so that wasn't a problem. We were in a private four bed room and it had 2 separate beds and one bigger bed for two persons. The only complaint is that the bathtub wasn't that clean. All in all, for the price we paid this hostel was a very good choice

  • 14th Aug 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice, quiet place to stay for a night. The wifi didn't work so great. I was moved to a hostel down the street; I think they don't do private rooms at the Emerald.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello, thank you for the comment. if many people use the wifi, it can slow down. we have more buildings, and only private room except one dorm. you also booked private room, you were given private room -so we believe we do private rooms in here

94%

the hostel gives all we needed for a very fair price. location is very good, free internet, no curfew

  • 24th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

It is a nice and cozy hostel in the heart of Budapest. My host was very kind. It was perfect for staying a night and just relaxing. Recommended.


100%

Superb location, the hostel is close to everything. Staff is also very nice, we could sleep a little longer than the check out. Our room was comfortable enough

  • 5th Jun 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


31%

What a shame! we booked a three-bed room for 3 night; when we arrived at the hostel the receptionist told us our room was already occupied by others. so he led us to another hoster on the nearby, where we slept only for two nights. For the 3^ night we had to take back all our things and luggage, moving back to Emerals Hostel, with no apologize. the men was so unpolite!

  • 12th Apr 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, If someone is late for 6 hours and does not inform us, we do not keep the room. That is in the policy.

100%

Cool little place. They take card also

  • 1st Mar 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

We had a good stay. Room was ok, free wifi, location is superb. And very cheap!

  • 28th Feb 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple
  • (1 review)


66%

Good hostel, but just to sleep... there isn't a common area to meet other people!... the staff wait for our arrived until late (really comprehensive!!!) i recommend this hostel for someone go to visit budapest in a group and stay in the hostel just to sleep!!! and the price is Fair!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi thanks for your comment. as we say in the description, this is not a party hostel, we offer a budget accomodation at a good rate. Also, you arrived very late and left in the morning. How did you want to meet other people at all?

31%

Service was terrible. For 4 days we moved three times in the other rooms in the other hostel.

  • 31st Dec 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
you stayed 10 days. it is in our policy that we cannot guarantee to give the same rooms for all the nights.

86%

Emerald Hostel was a good little place to crash in Budapest. It didn't have the same sort of 'social' feel that other hostels usually have, due to lack of common room space, but that suited me on this ocassion. The bedroom was clean and the bed comfortable; the bathrooms were well maintained and spacious and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. In regards to location, it is easy to walk down to all the key areas, and the 24hr cafe across the street is very convenient!


94%

Excellent location, very nice and helpful staff, very spacious and cozy room for a small group. Definitly worthy to recomend ;)


74%

Good location, helping staff and good value for money.

  • 26th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Romania
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

I was happy with my stay the staff are friendly and helpful


69%

The staff was helpful and friendly, they answered all my questions and gave me advice on where to go for dinner, breakfast, cibercafes, etc. The location of the hostel is really good. Its character and atmosphere are average, but this is according to the kind of hostel it is: a flat with different rooms (and not a dedicated building or big hostel). However, the real draw back was that the pillow smell like not having been cleaned for ages. And the mattress was not in good condition either.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hello, thanks for your comment. you can imagine that we change the bedsheets after every guests. the staff was there and helped you with everything-why did not you ask for another pillow if you are not satisfied? Instead gave a low remark

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(153 results)


View all Budapest Hostels

Please give us your feedback