Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Railway Square YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 446 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.8
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 446 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 7.6
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • allenejared4883
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
24th May 2017
10.0

What a fantastic location and great clean facilities. The cool looking room and environment is unique. Will stay again for the proximity to the train station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st May 2017
8.3

This is a really well-located hostel, right next to the railway station. The facilities are good: lots of kitchen space, pool table and a nice outdoor area. Some of the dorms are pretend train carriages, which we thought was a fun novelty. On the downside, those carriages let quite a lot of light in from the station, so even at night it doesn't get very dark; and station announcements start at about 6am, so you get persistent wake-up calls after that. Overall, a good place to stay though.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
7.4

The place is very original. The place is literally at the train station. Rooms look like train wagons on the tracks. Air conditioning is great and beds are comfortable. (Not noisy) Only slight downside was the staff that is not exactly the friendliest. But overall it was a good experience.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
6th Apr 2017
8.6

Great hostel! Extremely clean, nice and just perfectly set up for backpackers! The only negative thing is, that it's right next to the train station, which means it can be quite noisy in the mornings due to incoming trains or the loudspeaker. Also, it was really bright in my room from the light of the platform next to the dorm. Still: A wonderful hostel you should stay in!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Mar 2017
6.0

Good location, right near the train station although I actually found Central YHA without even trying before I found this. Bit annoying that the WiFi is free only in the recepetion area and even if you pay it can only be used on one device at a time. Also have to pay for luggage storage which I've never had to do in a hostel before. Basically I ended up payig $10AUD more than I expected for Wifi and luggage storage.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Mar 2017
6.9

Rude staff very unhelpful. Security is really not a priority for them regarding the fact a lots of people from others hostel are spending their evening just in front of the hostel and sometimes inside. Beside, the location is perfect just behind the train station.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Feb 2017
7.4

Jack of all trades-kind of a place. Not bad at anything, but not specially great at anything either.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Feb 2017
6.9

Rude staff at checkin and breakfast counter. Hallways cold but no AC in rooms. Key card access is over done and at every single door in the building.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Feb 2017
10.0

This was a great hostel, so well organised and clean as well. The lockers in the rooms were big enough to fit most backpacks in as well as other junk. The beds were comfy too and each one had a light. The only downsides were the noise from the trains (it's not called Railway Square for nothing!) and there were not that many plugs in the rooms. Other than that, this hostel is definitely in my top 5!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Feb 2017
7.7

Given the fact that it's in a railway station you'd think it would be easy to get a train but the hostel doesn't have easy access to the station. The staff was a lot like most Australian YHA staff, pretty much clueless, though nice. They had good food deals at night. Too many drunken hostelers out front from 8 PM till 2 AM or so for my taste. Kinda Trashy. I thought I was in downtown LA. I'll try across the street at Central YHA next time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.