Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Railway Square YHA

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
9.0
Superb 386 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.3
BOOK NOW
9.0
Superb 386 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.8
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.3
Railway Square YHA Located at 8-10 Lee Street, Sydney NSW 2000, Sydney.
Railway Square YHA
Australia
Sydney New South Wales 2000 8-10 Lee Street, Sydney NSW 2000
90% 386
-33.8837945 151.2043404
Railway Square YHA
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
10.0

We had a group of 15 women stay. The location was fantastic. The train carriage were so private and well insulated in sound from Central station noise. The amenities were very clean and plentiful. Overall we wnjoyed our stay and look forward to bookingvagain for another hirls weekend away.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Jul 2016
8.0

Always good for a sydney stoppover being so close to the railway/airport

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Jul 2016
8.0

Very friendly & helpful staff, secure and very clean rooms. Close to central station and easy walking or train to all the must see places. If you want a social hostel then avoid, next to no atmosphere, everyone stays in their own groups and have no interest in wanting to mix with new people and could be quite rude. Not worth the money you pay for two people over $500 for a week in an 8 bed dorm!! Wouldnt return

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
9th Jul 2016
7.7

Pros: Easy to find, safe and secure and clean. Good open spaces to socialise. Cons: Wifi didn't extend to room without extending to Premium which cost a couple dollars a day. Roommates not particularly nice or sociable, but that's luck of the draw I guess.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2016
8.6

Is a really cool building. Looks brand new. Decent dorms with big lockers. Masses of clean toilets, sinks and showers! Well equipped, large and well maintained kitchen (with dry tea towels!). Closest of the many upmarket hostels in the area to Central Station. Decent free wifi. Odd atmosphere as it was a mix of long-stayers, school groups, elderly couples, middle-aged men, and a few travellers like myself! Not the greatest vibe but everyone pleasant enough and made a change from the usual.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2016
10.0

Excellent location right next to Central Station. Friendly people, clean rooms, pleasant stay :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2016
9.4

It was great. It is one of the best YHA's I have stayed at. It was even better than the new YHA The Rock one which is more expensive. The Railway YHA had awesome security which is one of the most important things to me second probably than getting enough sleep. I was surprised at how good the security was. If I had known how good the Railway YHA was I would have stayed my entire time there instead of also going to the Central City YHA. This Railway YHA did not look so good on the internet.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th May 2016
9.1

First hostel I stayed at and it was a pretty good experience, some days the showers were really warm, others just warm enough, never cold though. Toilets were clean enough, rooms were clean, lockers were spacious, and the beds were pretty good.👌

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
28th Feb 2016
9.1

Fantastic place! Just a matter of Minutes walk from central station. Really big clean place with massive rooms/ common areas/ kitchens/ bathrooms. Really secure and lots of activities for everyone to join in with. Really easy to meet people here. A little pricey though definitely worth it for a luxury stay

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.