X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Coogee Beachside Budget Accommodation Reviews

178 Coogee Bay Road, Coogee, Sydney, Australia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

73%

Rating
50 Total Reviews
  • 64%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 63%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 57%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

43%

No free internet, very expensive internet when used, bathroom smells like pee all the time, was full of very unfriendly guests, couldn't cook because the cookware is too cheap and old.

  • 26th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Nice place, great location close to the beach and the Coogee shops. Would stay there again if I am in Sydney again.


66%

Extremely expensive for Internet. $4 for 30mins!!!

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, 30 mins of internet has always only been $2. Internet is fast and reliable. Thanks, CBS.

51%

The room is not bad, with a good sized tv and a fridge in the room which is a real bonus. Apart from that I found that the kitchen was far too small for the amount of people staying in the building. The showers were very weak and due to the toilets being in the same block and this blue mat that they put on the floor to stop people slipping I assumme the place had a real strong smell of urine constantly even though the showers looked clean. Wifi available at huge cost, no drinking I am 30

  • 1st Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for your feedback. Bathrooms are cleaned twice a day - morning and night. CBS

83%

Not a party place, nice clean and quiet!


69%

Not a bad hostel, a bit warm in the evening due to aircon being just a single fan above room door.. Abit pricey for what you get

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for your feedback. It has been a very hot summer this year. Regards, CBS

54%

It was impossible to create any atmosphere as there was no social space. No sitting room or place to chat with other hostel users. The kitchen was very poorly equipt and we had to pay $20 to hire crockery. Teaspoons weren't provided. There was 1 tiny sink in the unisex toilet/shower block to cater for about 16 beds, so most days I had to wash my hands in the kitchen after using the bathroom. Not hygienic at all.Room stifling hot.Wouldn't recommend it, we left a day early.

  • 15th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
The backyard table & chairs is where guests can converse. We hire cutlery out to ensure kitchen is stocked & clean for the next person to use- the $20 was refunded to you upon its return. Please feel free to ask for tsp's. There are also 2 more b/rooms downstairs. We have fans in all our rooms but it's quite hot this time of year. We also have spare fans I would have been happy to put one in your room had I known. It's also nice to leave the window open that way you get a nice ocean breeze! CBS

80%

It was good value for what we wanted, just a place to sleep. If you were planning on spending any length of time in the place probably not the place to choose. Bathrooms were clean as were bedrooms. Had no issues at all, staff were great and very helpful.

  • 14th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Clean pand very good staff. lace

  • 9th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place in a brilliant location. Good balance between socialising/getting rest.

  • 4th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)




View all Sydney Hostels

Please give us your feedback